# Alabama HB152: University of Alabama; School of Social Work of Alabama repealed

Alabama HB152, University of Alabama; School of Social Work of Alabama repealed, is a 2026 Regular Session House bill sponsored by Danny Garrett (Republican); status enacted, last action 2026-04-08 (Enacted); PRIA reads it as touching household money (as of 2026-10-16).

- Canonical: https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AL-HB152-2026rs
- As of: 2026-10-16
- Plain-text twin of the page above; the HTML and this file carry the same facts.

## Facts
- Bill: Alabama HB152
- State: Alabama
- Session: 2026 Regular Session
- Title: University of Alabama; School of Social Work of Alabama repealed
- Status: enacted
- Chamber: House
- Introduced: 2026-01-13
- Last action: 2026-04-08, Enacted
- Sponsor: Danny Garrett (Republican)
- Cosponsors: 0
- Subjects: Education
- Touches household money: yes
- Roll calls: 4 (224 yes, 22 no in all)
- Economic provisions PRIA read: 1

## Summary

No summary available.

## Bill overview: provisions PRIA read

- Alabama social work school’s founding law repealed: cost, low. Beginning October 1, 2026, the law repeals the state laws establishing the University of Alabama’s School of Social Work. It does not specify changes to school operations, students, or services. It also does not state any funding changes or transition plans.

## Sponsors and cosponsors

- Sponsor: Danny Garrett (Republican), House

## Roll call votes

| Date | Chamber | Motion | Result | Yes | No | Other |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2026-04-01 | Senate | Third Reading in Second House | pass | 34 | 0 |   |
| 2026-04-01 | Senate | Motion to Read a Third Time and Pass - Adopted Roll Call 1047 | pass | 34 | 0 |   |
| 2026-01-29 | House | Third Reading in House of Origin | pass | 80 | 8 | 13 |
| 2026-01-29 | House | Motion to Read a Third Time and Pass - Adopted Roll Call 215 | pass | 76 | 14 | 13 |

## Actions (17)

- 2026-04-08: Enacted (House)
- 2026-04-02: Signature Requested (Senate)
- 2026-04-02: Delivered to Governor (House)
- 2026-04-01: Third Reading in Second House (Senate)
- 2026-04-01: Motion to Read a Third Time and Pass - Adopted Roll Call 1047 (Senate)
- 2026-04-01: Ready to Enroll (House)
- 2026-04-01: Enrolled (House)
- 2026-02-12: Read for the Second Time and placed on the Calendar (Senate)
- 2026-02-11: Reported Out of Committee Second House (Senate)
- 2026-01-29: Third Reading in House of Origin (House)
- 2026-01-29: Motion to Read a Third Time and Pass - Adopted Roll Call 215 (House)
- 2026-01-29: Read for the first time and referred to the Senate Committee on Finance and Taxation Education (Senate)
- 2026-01-29: Pending Committee Action in Second House (Senate)
- 2026-01-20: Reported Out of Committee House of Origin (House)
- 2026-01-20: Read for the Second Time and placed on the Calendar (House)
- 2026-01-13: Read for the first time and referred to the House Committee on Ways and Means Education (House)
- 2026-01-13: Pending Committee Action in House of Origin (House)

## Bill text

- As Introduced: [PDF](https://alison.legislature.state.al.us/files/pdf/SearchableInstruments/2026RS/HB152-int.pdf)
- Enrolled: [PDF](https://alison.legislature.state.al.us/files/pdf/SearchableInstruments/2026RS/HB152-enr.pdf)

## Related bills

- HB67: Voter Information; limit cost of reproducing voter registration list; crime for misuse of personal voter information; created (enacted)
- SB154: State employees, cost-of-living increase for fiscal year beginning October 1, 2026 (enacted)
- SB165: Elections; municipal elections, to set qualification fee amounts, to require indigent candidates to submit documentation for fee exemption (enacted)
- HB317: Firefighter distinctive license plate; fire chaplains included, penalty for violations provided for (enacted)
- SB272: Open Records; use of public records relating to schools for certain solicitation purposes prohibited; redaction of certain information relating to financial tr… (enacted)
- SB190: Sales Tax; to exempt Precision Ocular (enacted)

## Sources
- [As Introduced (PDF)](https://alison.legislature.state.al.us/files/pdf/SearchableInstruments/2026RS/HB152-int.pdf)
- [Enrolled (PDF)](https://alison.legislature.state.al.us/files/pdf/SearchableInstruments/2026RS/HB152-enr.pdf)

## Related
- [HB67: Voter Information; limit cost of reproducing voter registration list; crime for…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AL-HB67-2026rs)
- [SB154: State employees, cost-of-living increase for fiscal year beginning October 1, 2…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AL-SB154-2026rs)
- [SB165: Elections; municipal elections, to set qualification fee amounts, to require in…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AL-SB165-2026rs)
- [HB317: Firefighter distinctive license plate; fire chaplains included, penalty for vio…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AL-HB317-2026rs)
- [SB272: Open Records; use of public records relating to schools for certain solicitatio…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AL-SB272-2026rs)
- [SB190: Sales Tax; to exempt Precision Ocular](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AL-SB190-2026rs)
- [Alabama bills](https://policyrisk.com/states/alabama/bills)
- [Alabama state hub](https://policyrisk.com/states/alabama)
- [All state legislation](https://policyrisk.com/state-bills)

Source: PRIA, https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AL-HB152-2026rs (as of 2026-10-16).
