# Arkansas HB1202: AN ACT FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION - DISBURSING OFFICER APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2025-2026 FISCAL YEAR.

Arkansas HB1202, AN ACT FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION - DISBURSING OFFICER APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2025-2026 FISCAL YEAR., is a 2025 Regular Session House bill sponsored by Joint Budget Committee; status enacted, last action 2025-04-22 (Notification that HB1202 is now Act 1006) (as of 2026-10-19).

- Canonical: https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AR-HB1202-2025
- As of: 2026-10-19
- Plain-text twin of the page above; the HTML and this file carry the same facts.

## Facts
- Bill: Arkansas HB1202
- State: Arkansas
- Session: 2025 Regular Session
- Title: AN ACT FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION - DISBURSING OFFICER APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2025-2026 FISCAL YEAR.
- Status: enacted
- Chamber: House
- Introduced: 2025-01-22
- Last action: 2025-04-22, Notification that HB1202 is now Act 1006
- Sponsor: Joint Budget Committee
- Cosponsors: 0
- Touches household money: no
- Roll calls: 2 (128 yes, 0 no in all)
- Economic provisions PRIA read: 37

## Summary

No summary available.

## Bill overview: provisions PRIA read

- Billions for recovery and infrastructure funding: benefit, high. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $3 billion in American Rescue Plan spending authority. This includes $2 billion for direct federal awards and a separate $1 billion for awards to public entities. It also provides $3.5 billion for Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act expenses. Agen…
- Medical bill help for families: benefit, medium. The law provides $2 million for Baby Sharon’s Children’s Catastrophic Illness grants during July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026. Grants help families responsible for medical bills from a child’s catastrophic illness or injury. The law does not set a grant amount for each family.
- Funding and spending authority for agencies: benefit, medium. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $360 million from agency cash funds, including $10 million for pay adjustments. It separately provides $350 million in additional agency and institution spending authority, plus $2.5 million for transfers of agency-collected cash. The Chief Fiscal Of…
- Funding state worker pay and overtime: benefit, medium. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $103.55 million in supplemental state funding. This includes $88.5 million for pay-plan adjustments, $10 million for overtime, and $3.5 million for extra help. It also includes $550,000 for stipends and $1 million to restore spending authority for re…
- Funding to pay unemployment claims: benefit, low. The law provides $4 million from the Unemployment Compensation Trust Fund to pay claims during July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026. Payments must follow the Employment Security Amendments. This funding does not change who qualifies or how much each claimant receives.
- Marketing grant funding for Arkansas wineries: benefit, low. The law provides $600,000 from the Arkansas Agricultural Marketing Grants Fund for winery grants during July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026. Grants must follow Arkansas’s existing winery grant law. This appropriation does not specify how much each winery receives.
- Funding abuse services and child protection: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $363,767 for university staff costs and expenses addressing abuse and violence. The money supports the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences' child abuse, rape, and domestic violence section. A separate $274,400 funds contracts helping local te…
- Funding Arkansas legal aid organizations: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $641,574 in public legal aid grants. The recipients are Legal Aid of Arkansas and the Center for Arkansas Legal Services. Beginning January 1, 2026, the law removes prior fixed distribution percentages and directs fund support to these organizations.…
- Funding disaster relief grants in Arkansas: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, Arkansas provides $16.25 million for disaster grants and related emergency-services requirements. Grants must be authorized by the Disaster Relief Act of 1974. This appropriation does not set household eligibility or individual grant amounts.
- Funding drug enforcement, education, and treatment: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $5 million for drug-crime grants and $500,000 for task-force operations. A separate $2 million from forfeited assets supports drug enforcement, education, treatment, and purposes allowed by Arkansas Code 5-64-505. Beginning July 1, 2025, a new Drug T…
- Grants fund sheriffs' prevention and education: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the Arkansas Sheriffs' Association receives $450,000 in grant authority. Money is limited to crime prevention, alcohol and drug abuse programs, and a study supporting office administration and education. Monthly installments must be at least one-twelfth of the annual…
- Grants support child and family organizations: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $1.313406 million for listed grants and agency expenses. This includes $400,000 for the Morgan Nick Foundation and $50,000 for Baby Sharon's Children's Catastrophic Illness Grant Program. Funds must cover the listed purposes. This appropriation does…
- Justice funding supports crime victim claims: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $21.00003 million from the State Administration of Justice Fund. This includes $20.00003 million for state programs and agencies and $1 million for government court-cost and filing-fee refunds. The Chief Fiscal Officer can transfer money for crime vi…
- Operating grants for juvenile detention facilities: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $400,000 for local juvenile detention operating costs. Arkansas, Craighead, Crittenden, Independence, Jefferson, Miller, Pulaski, Sebastian, Washington, and Yell County facilities each receive a $31,167 allocation. Benton receives $22,082; Faulkner,…
- Funding for children’s hospital care: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, Arkansas Children’s Hospital receives $3.5336 million in grant spending authority. This includes $1 million for burns, $1.2336 million for intensive care, $700,000 for hospital payments, and $600,000 for reproductive health monitoring. At the hospital’s request, Medi…
- Funding for medical marijuana oversight: benefit, low. The law provides $5 million in spending authority for medical marijuana implementation costs during July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026. The state’s chief fiscal officer can transfer money from the medical marijuana operations fund to agencies. Transfers must cover necessary costs of implementing, administe…
- Funding for pandemic health assistance: benefit, low. The law provides $5 million for emergency assistance and health care response related to the 2020 coronavirus pandemic. State agencies, constitutional offices, and institutions can use the funding during July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026. It does not set individual eligibility rules or direct payment amou…
- Funding prostate cancer detection and research: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the Arkansas Prostate Cancer Foundation receives a $197,750 grant. The money must support prostate cancer detection and research. The appropriation does not establish individual patient payments or coverage.
- Funding public education about organ donation: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $25,000 for public education about organ donation. The Arkansas Regional Organ Recovery Agency, or its successor, receives the funding. It must use the money for educational materials and related public-information costs.
- Funding to expand abuse survivor services: benefit, low. Human Services can provide up to $300,000 to expand the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences’ abuse and violence services. These services address child abuse, rape, and domestic violence. The transfer cannot exceed the available amount certified by the Human Services secretary or the $300,00…
- Funding for technical and vocational colleges: benefit, low. The law provides $35 million in Work Force 2000 funding during July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026. It includes $30 million for technical-college accreditation and $5 million for vocational-technical accreditation. After each institution’s amount is determined by law, funds move to the treasury account supp…
- Arkansas funds contributions to interstate groups: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, Arkansas provides $1.74749 million for contributions to listed interstate organizations. This includes $318,300 for the Multi-State Tax Commission and $235,000 for the Delta Regional Authority. The appropriation funds organizations, not household payments or a change…
- Available funds can pay state debt: benefit, low. The state can consider discretionary American Rescue Plan funds and funds not required for another purpose for existing debt payments. Debt selection can consider the highest interest rates owed. Big River Steel general obligation bonds and GARVEE transportation bonds receive priority. The law does…
- Funding police pensions and fire services: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $75 million for municipal police and fire pension systems. The money pays pension and relief fund taxes; it does not change pension eligibility or individual benefit amounts. A separate $25 million supports Arkansas fire departments. Fire funding mus…
- Funding state technology and innovation projects: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $1 million for the Information Network of Arkansas. It covers operations and technology projects approved by the network's board. The law also creates an innovation appropriation and general-revenue account for the Division of Information Systems. It…
- Funding vehicle purchases for state agencies: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $15 million for state agency vehicle purchases. The money comes from the Motor Vehicle Acquisition Revolving Fund. Purchases must follow Arkansas Code 22-8-201.
- Government employee bond premiums receive funding: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law pays government employee blanket surety bond premiums. It provides $250,000 for the state, $500,000 for counties, $500,000 for municipalities, and $250,000 for public schools. County, municipal, and school funding is limited to participants in their respectiv…
- Governments can use property sale proceeds: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $2.5 million in authority to use government property-sale proceeds. State and local governments can spend or receive net proceeds from sales through the state's property redistribution division. Related agency spending-authority transfers must match…
- Public employee bond budgets gain flexibility: benefit, low. During July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the finance secretary can move spending authority among blanket surety bond program budgets. These budgets cover state, county, municipal, and public school employees. This authority does not change employee eligibility or coverage.
- West Central district joins planning grants: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, metro planning grants are divided evenly among planning and development districts. The distribution includes the West Central Arkansas Economic Development District. This provision does not specify the total funding or each district’s amount.
- Funding state medical marijuana regulation costs: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $5 million for state medical marijuana implementation and regulation. State and federal balances cover expected and unexpected agency expenses. This appropriation does not change patient eligibility, set prices, or provide patient payments.
- Transfers help cover state worker pay: benefit, low. Through June 30, 2026, eligible state entities can request transfers for payroll shortfalls caused by enacted pay or benefit-cost increases. Requests must identify the amount needed and the fund currently paying employees. The Chief Fiscal Officer approves transfers, generally with review by the le…
- Limits on agency spending and staffing: cost, low. From July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, transferred property marketing and redistribution funds cover maintenance and operations, not conferences, travel, or professional services. Covered transfers must follow state budget purposes and rules; transfer spending authority does not authorize equal current g…
- Federal program funding with spending limits: mixed, high. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law authorizes $3 billion for American Rescue Plan programs and $3.5 billion for infrastructure programs. It also authorizes up to $2.1 billion for federal grants and workforce programs, including $100 million for workforce investments. That $2.1 billion authorit…
- Court funding with payment priorities: mixed, low. During July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the justice fund allows maximum allocations totaling $39.309767 million for courts, defense, victims, and related programs. During shortfalls, trial court administrators, the District Court Coordinator, and court reporters receive funding first. Remaining recipien…
- Legal aid funding shares become flexible: mixed, low. Beginning January 1, 2026, the Public Legal Aid Fund no longer uses fixed 45% and 55% shares. The fund continues supporting Legal Aid of Arkansas and the Center for Arkansas Legal Services. The law gives no replacement formula for dividing the money. The fiscal year 2025–2026 appropriation for the…
- Pregnancy support grants with eligibility limits: mixed, low. The law provides $2 million in pregnancy help grants for July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026. Eligible nonprofits or federally tax-exempt groups must have existed by January 1, 2024. They must encourage birth after unintended pregnancy and offer listed nutrition, prenatal, or support services promoting mate…

## Sponsors and cosponsors

- Sponsor: Joint Budget Committee

## Roll call votes

| Date | Chamber | Motion | Result | Yes | No | Other |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2025-04-15 | Senate | Senate Vote - Tuesday, April 15, 2025 2:29:43 PM | pass | 32 | 0 | 1 |
| 2025-04-14 | House | House Vote - Monday, April 14, 2025 2:23:36 PM | pass | 96 | 0 | 2 |

## Actions (25)

- 2025-04-22: Notification that HB1202 is now Act 1006 (House)
- 2025-04-16: Correctly enrolled and ordered transmitted to the Governor's Office. (House)
- 2025-04-15: TO BE ENROLLED (House)
- 2025-04-15: Returned from the Senate as passed. (House)
- 2025-04-15: Returned to the House as passed. (Senate)
- 2025-04-15: EMERGENCY CLAUSE ADOPTED (Senate)
- 2025-04-15: Read the third time and passed. (Senate)
- 2025-04-14: Read the first time, rules suspended, read the second time and placed on the calendar. (Senate)
- 2025-04-14: Received from the House. (Senate)
- 2025-04-14: EMERGENCY CLAUSE ADOPTED (House)
- 2025-04-14: Read the third time and passed and ordered transmitted to the Senate. (House)
- 2025-04-14: Considered in the Committee of the Whole, and recommended do pass. (House)
- 2025-04-14: RULES SUSPENDED (House)
- 2025-04-10: REPORTED CORRECTLY ENGROSSED (House)
- 2025-04-10: Amendment No. 3 read and adopted and the bill ordered engrossed. (House)
- 2025-04-10: Placed on second reading for the purpose of amendment. (House)
- 2025-04-09: Returned by the Committee with the recommendation that it do pass as amended 3 (House)
- 2025-04-01: REPORTED CORRECTLY ENGROSSED (House)
- 2025-04-01: Amendment No. 2 read and adopted and the bill ordered engrossed. (House)
- 2025-04-01: Placed on second reading for the purpose of amendment. (House)
- 2025-03-12: REPORTED CORRECTLY ENGROSSED (House)
- 2025-03-12: Amendment No. 1 read and adopted and the bill ordered engrossed. (House)
- 2025-03-12: Placed on second reading for the purpose of amendment. (House)
- 2025-01-22: Read the first time, rules suspended, read the second time and referred to the Committee on JOINT BUDGET COMMITTEE (House)
- 2025-01-22: Filed (House)

## Bill text

- HB1202 - Introduced, 2025-01-22: [PDF](https://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/Home/FTPDocument?path=%2FBills%2F2025R%2FPublic%2FHB1202.pdf)
- Act Version: [PDF](https://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/Acts/FTPDocument?path=%2FACTS%2F2025R%2FPublic%2F&file=1006.pdf&ddBienniumSession=2025%2F2025R)

## Related bills

- HB1265: AN ACT FOR THE UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS AT LITTLE ROCK APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2025-2026 FISCAL YEAR. (enacted)
- HB1237: TO PROHIBIT MEDICAL PROFESSIONALS FROM SOLICITING INJURED INDIVIDUALS; AND TO SET PENALTIES FOR A VIOLATION OF THE PROHIBITION OF SOLICITATION OF INJURED INDIV… (failed)
- HB1686: TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING LICENSES TO CARRY CONCEALED HANDGUNS. (failed)
- SB440: TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING EMBALMERS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS; TO REGULATE THE USE OF ALKALINE HYDROLYSIS; AND TO REGULATE ALKALINE HYDROLYSIS FACILITIES. (failed)
- HB1695: TO CLARIFY THE FORECLOSURE PROCESS FOR PROPERTY SUBJECT TO A MUNICIPAL LIEN; TO ALLOW A MUNICIPALITY TO PETITION TO SET ASIDE THE SALE OF PROPERTY TO CERTAIN P… (failed)
- HR1012: TO AMEND THE RULES OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY; TO REQUIRE THAT A MEMBER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES BE SELECTED A… (failed)

## Sources
- [HB1202 - Introduced (PDF)](https://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/Home/FTPDocument?path=%2FBills%2F2025R%2FPublic%2FHB1202.pdf)
- [Act Version (PDF)](https://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/Acts/FTPDocument?path=%2FACTS%2F2025R%2FPublic%2F&file=1006.pdf&ddBienniumSession=2025%2F2025R)

## Related
- [HB1265: AN ACT FOR THE UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS AT LITTLE ROCK APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2025…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AR-HB1265-2025)
- [HB1237: TO PROHIBIT MEDICAL PROFESSIONALS FROM SOLICITING INJURED INDIVIDUALS; AND TO S…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AR-HB1237-2025)
- [HB1686: TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING LICENSES TO CARRY CONCEALED HANDGUNS.](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AR-HB1686-2025)
- [SB440: TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING EMBALMERS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS; TO REGULATE THE US…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AR-SB440-2025)
- [HB1695: TO CLARIFY THE FORECLOSURE PROCESS FOR PROPERTY SUBJECT TO A MUNICIPAL LIEN; TO…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AR-HB1695-2025)
- [HR1012: TO AMEND THE RULES OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AR-HR1012-2025)
- [Arkansas bills](https://policyrisk.com/states/arkansas/bills)
- [Arkansas state hub](https://policyrisk.com/states/arkansas)
- [All state legislation](https://policyrisk.com/state-bills)

Source: PRIA, https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AR-HB1202-2025 (as of 2026-10-19).
