# Arizona HB 2050: radiologic technologists; radiologist assistants

Arizona HB 2050, radiologic technologists; radiologist assistants, is a Fifty-seventh Legislature - Second Regular Session House bill sponsored by Selina Bliss (Republican); status signed, last action 2026-04-13 (Signed by Governor); PRIA reads it as touching household money (as of 2026-11-04).

- Canonical: https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AZ-HB2050-57th-2nd-regular
- As of: 2026-11-04
- Plain-text twin of the page above; the HTML and this file carry the same facts.

## Facts
- Bill: Arizona HB 2050
- State: Arizona
- Session: Fifty-seventh Legislature - Second Regular Session
- Title: radiologic technologists; radiologist assistants
- Status: signed
- Chamber: House
- Introduced: 2026-01-12
- Last action: 2026-04-13, Signed by Governor
- Sponsor: Selina Bliss (Republican)
- Cosponsors: 0
- Subjects: critical access hospitals (s), definition (s), definitions (s), general supervision (s), legislative intent, professions and occupations - title 32, public health and safety - title 36, radiologic technologies, radiologic technologists, radiologist assistants, rural counties (s)
- Touches household money: yes
- Roll calls: 7 (132 yes, 29 no in all)
- Economic provisions PRIA read: 6

## Summary

No summary available.

## Bill overview: provisions PRIA read

- More procedures for bone scan technologists: benefit, low. Arizona rules must allow certified practical bone densitometry technologists to use these machines on a person's hips, spine, and extremities. Radiologic technologists may still operate bone densitometry machines.
- Practitioners avoid extra X-ray license: benefit, low. Arizona no longer requires a separate license for a state-licensed nurse practitioner to use a diagnostic X-ray machine. Nurse practitioners must still follow the rules for their existing license.
- Rural radiologist assistants get broader supervision: benefit, low. Radiologist assistants may work under general supervision in counties with fewer than 500,000 people or at licensed critical access hospitals. Written protocols must be reviewed at least yearly, and assistants must follow them. A radiologist must observe and document their work at least every six m…
- Stronger training and exams for technologists: benefit, low. Schools seeking state approval must meet required standards, including at least 400 classroom hours and 1,650 clinical hours. Programs must cover required subjects and provide at least 80 hours of supervised image critiques. Certification exams cover imaging, patient care, and other required subjec…
- Radiologic licenses lose telehealth status: cost, low. A license under Arizona's radiologic technology chapter no longer qualifies a person as a health care provider under the telehealth chapter. The law does not state how this changes telehealth services, payment, or patient access.
- Imaging technologists face rule-set fees: mixed, low. Applicants and people renewing mammographic or computed tomography technologist certificates pay fees set by the state health department. The former fee was $20, but the new amounts are not stated and may be higher or lower.

## Sponsors and cosponsors

- Sponsor: Selina Bliss (Republican), House

## Roll call votes

| Date | Chamber | Motion | Result | Yes | No | Other |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2026-04-09 | House | Final Reading: Passed | pass | 43 | 10 |   |
| 2026-04-09 | House | Concurrence: Passed | fail |   |   |   |
| 2026-04-07 | Senate | Third Reading: Passed | pass | 28 | 1 |   |
| 2026-03-11 | Senate | Health and Human Services: DP | pass | 7 | 0 |   |
| 2026-02-25 | House | Third Reading: Passed | pass | 37 | 16 |   |
| 2026-02-09 | House | Rules: C&P | pass | 7 | 0 |   |
| 2026-01-22 | House | Health & Human Services: DPA | pass | 10 | 2 |   |

## Actions (15)

- 2026-04-13: Signed by Governor (Governor)
- 2026-04-09: Final Reading: Passed (House)
- 2026-04-09: Concurrence: Passed (House)
- 2026-04-07: Third Reading: Passed (Senate)
- 2026-04-02: Committee of the Whole: do pass amended (Senate)
- 2026-03-16: Rules: PFC (Senate)
- 2026-03-11: Health and Human Services: DP (Senate)
- 2026-03-03: Senate Second Reading (Senate)
- 2026-03-02: Senate First Reading (Senate)
- 2026-02-25: Third Reading: Passed (House)
- 2026-02-24: Committee of the Whole: do pass amended (House)
- 2026-02-09: Rules: C&P (House)
- 2026-01-22: Health & Human Services: DPA (House)
- 2026-01-13: House Second Reading (House)
- 2026-01-12: House First Reading (House)

## Bill text

- Chaptered Version: [HTML](https://www.azleg.gov/legtext/57leg/2R/laws/0037.htm), [PDF](https://apps.azleg.gov/BillStatus/GetDocumentPdf/542359)
- House Engrossed Version (02/25/2026): [HTML](https://www.azleg.gov/legtext/57leg/2R/bills/HB2050H.htm), [PDF](https://apps.azleg.gov/BillStatus/GetDocumentPdf/538784)
- Introduced Version: [HTML](https://www.azleg.gov/legtext/57leg/2R/bills/HB2050P.htm), [PDF](https://apps.azleg.gov/BillStatus/GetDocumentPdf/533008)
- Senate Engrossed Version (04/07/2026): [HTML](https://www.azleg.gov/legtext/57leg/2R/bills/HB2050S.htm), [PDF](https://apps.azleg.gov/BillStatus/GetDocumentPdf/542022)

## Related bills

- SB 1630: home; community-based services; mental illness (signed)
- SB 1552: ADOT; revisions. (signed)
- SB 1563: barbering and cosmetology board; continuation (signed)
- SB 1497: classical learning; tests; examinations (signed)
- SB 1336: state land department; continuation; oversight (signed)
- SB 1215: firefighters; occupational disease; cancers (signed)

## Sources
- [Chaptered Version (HTML)](https://www.azleg.gov/legtext/57leg/2R/laws/0037.htm)
- [Chaptered Version (PDF)](https://apps.azleg.gov/BillStatus/GetDocumentPdf/542359)
- [House Engrossed Version (02/25/2026) (HTML)](https://www.azleg.gov/legtext/57leg/2R/bills/HB2050H.htm)
- [House Engrossed Version (02/25/2026) (PDF)](https://apps.azleg.gov/BillStatus/GetDocumentPdf/538784)
- [Introduced Version (HTML)](https://www.azleg.gov/legtext/57leg/2R/bills/HB2050P.htm)
- [Introduced Version (PDF)](https://apps.azleg.gov/BillStatus/GetDocumentPdf/533008)
- [Senate Engrossed Version (04/07/2026) (HTML)](https://www.azleg.gov/legtext/57leg/2R/bills/HB2050S.htm)
- [Senate Engrossed Version (04/07/2026) (PDF)](https://apps.azleg.gov/BillStatus/GetDocumentPdf/542022)

## Related
- [SB 1630: home; community-based services; mental illness](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AZ-SB1630-57th-2nd-regular)
- [SB 1552: ADOT; revisions.](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AZ-SB1552-57th-2nd-regular)
- [SB 1563: barbering and cosmetology board; continuation](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AZ-SB1563-57th-2nd-regular)
- [SB 1497: classical learning; tests; examinations](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AZ-SB1497-57th-2nd-regular)
- [SB 1336: state land department; continuation; oversight](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AZ-SB1336-57th-2nd-regular)
- [SB 1215: firefighters; occupational disease; cancers](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AZ-SB1215-57th-2nd-regular)
- [Arizona bills](https://policyrisk.com/states/arizona/bills)
- [Arizona state hub](https://policyrisk.com/states/arizona)
- [All state legislation](https://policyrisk.com/state-bills)

Source: PRIA, https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/AZ-HB2050-57th-2nd-regular (as of 2026-11-04).
