# Iowa HF 1044: A bill for an act relating to and making appropriations for state government administration and regulation, including the department of administrative services, auditor of state, ethics and campaign disclosure board, offices of governor and lieutenant governor, department of inspections, appeals, and licensing, department of insurance and financial services, department of management, Iowa public employees’ retirement system, public information board, department of revenue, secretary of state, treasurer of state, and utilities commission, and providing for properly related matters including the deposit of captive company premium tax revenue. (Formerly HSB 343, HSB 341.) Effective date: 07/01/2025.

Iowa HF 1044, A bill for an act relating to and making appropriations for state government administration and regulation, including the department of administrative services, auditor of state, ethics and campaign disclosure board, offices of governor and lieutenant governor, department of inspections, appeals, and licensing, department of insurance and financial services, department of management, Iowa public employees’ retirement system, public information board, department of revenue, secretary of state, treasurer of state, and utilities commission, and providing for properly related matters including the deposit of captive company premium tax revenue. (Formerly HSB 343, HSB 341.) Effective date: 07/01/2025., is a 91st General Assembly (2025–2026) House bill sponsored by COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS; status signed, last action 2025-06-27 (Explanations of votes.) (as of 2026-10-19).

- Canonical: https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/IA-HF1044-2025-2026
- As of: 2026-10-19
- Plain-text twin of the page above; the HTML and this file carry the same facts.

## Facts
- Bill: Iowa HF 1044
- State: Iowa
- Session: 91st General Assembly (2025–2026)
- Title: A bill for an act relating to and making appropriations for state government administration and regulation, including the department of administrative services, auditor of state, ethics and campaign disclosure board, offices of governor and lieutenant governor, department of inspections, appeals, and licensing, department of insurance and financial services, department of management, Iowa public employees’ retirement system, public information board, department of revenue, secretary of state, treasurer of state, and utilities commission, and providing for properly related matters including the deposit of captive company premium tax revenue. (Formerly HSB 343, HSB 341.) Effective date: 07/01/2025.
- Status: signed
- Chamber: House
- Introduced: 2025-05-09
- Last action: 2025-06-27, Explanations of votes.
- Sponsor: COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS
- Cosponsors: 0
- Touches household money: no
- Roll calls: 3 (120 yes, 108 no in all)
- Economic provisions PRIA read: 14

## Summary

No summary available.

## Bill overview: provisions PRIA read

- Business filers may get fee refunds: benefit, low. From July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, Iowa's secretary of state may refund certain business and nonprofit filing fees. Covered fees are listed in Iowa Code sections 489.122(1), 490.122(1), and 504.113(1). Refunds are optional and follow the secretary's rules. A denial is final and cannot be rev…
- Civil rights office can hire nonprofits: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Iowa's Office of Civil Rights may hire a nonprofit to provide legal help resolving civil rights complaints. The law does not guarantee individual help or set funding amounts or eligibility rules.
- Local governments get cybersecurity support: benefit, low. The law sets aside $325,000 from the Department of Management's technology funding for local government cybersecurity services. Funding covers July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The money supports local government systems, not household payments.
- Care facility oversight information becomes public: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Iowa's Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing must publish health facility oversight information during its website updates. Required information includes inspection counts, oversight budgets and staffing, survey trends, deficiencies, and fines for nursing and ass…
- Enrich Iowa library program gets funding: benefit, low. The law provides about $2.465 million for the Enrich Iowa library program. Funding covers July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The provision does not specify individual benefit amounts or how the money is divided among recipients.
- Record fees support online government access: benefit, low. From July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, the first $750,000 in specified certified vehicle operating-record fees goes to IowAccess. This fund supports online access to government records. Beginning July 1, 2025, all IowAccess transaction fees also enter that fund and may support only IowAccess pro…
- Public pension system gets administration funding: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, the law provides $60 million from Iowa's public employees' retirement fund for a pension administration system. Money not committed by June 30, 2026, remains available through June 30, 2036. This funds pension operations, not larger individual pension payments.
- State purchases must favor Iowa suppliers: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, agencies funded by this law must give first buying preference to Iowa products or Iowa-based producers. U.S. products or U.S.-based producers receive second preference. The rule applies to product purchases and does not specify a spending amount.
- Captive insurance receipts fund insurance oversight: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, captive insurance premium tax receipts under Iowa Code section 432.1A enter the captive insurance oversight fund. Fees, assessments, fines, and administrative penalties under chapter 521J also enter that fund. This directs revenue to oversight rather than changing household…
- Cities and counties get free appraisal manuals: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Iowa's Department of Revenue must prepare and provide state appraisal manuals and updates to cities and counties for free. The provision does not specify local savings or a change in household property tax bills.
- State health plans allow monthly charge: cost, low. Iowa's Department of Administrative Services may charge $2 per health insurance contract each month for plans it administers. This authority runs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The law does not say whether plan members pay the charge.
- Tobacco enforcement funding faces annual cap: cost, low. From July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, a standing general fund appropriation for tobacco-product enforcement cannot exceed $17,525. The cap applies to enforcement under Iowa Code chapter 453D. It does not change household taxes or benefit eligibility.
- Regulators must recover their operating costs: cost, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Iowa's Utilities Commission and Insurance and Financial Services divisions must cover appropriations and state-assessed indirect costs through charges or revenue. The commission may exceed its utility-regulation budget for actual extra expenses only when those expenses are f…
- Licensing fees support enforcement and state: mixed, low. During July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, Iowa's licensing department must collect specified fees under chapters 99B, 137C, 137D, and 137F. For municipalities with section 137F.3 agreements, it must return municipal fees after deducting electronic transaction fees. At least $800,000 of non-municipal fees…

## Sponsors and cosponsors

- Sponsor: COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS

## Roll call votes

| Date | Chamber | Motion | Result | Yes | No | Other |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2025-05-14 | Senate | Passed Senate | pass | 31 | 15 |   |
| 2025-05-13 | House | Passed House | pass | 60 | 31 |   |
| 2025-05-13 | legislature | Motion to suspend rules for immediate consideration of amendment H-1336 | fail | 29 | 62 |   |

## Actions (20)

- 2025-06-27: Explanations of votes. (House)
- 2025-06-27: Explanation of vote. (House)
- 2025-06-11: Signed by Governor. (House)
- 2025-05-30: NOBA: Final (legislature)
- 2025-05-27: Reported correctly enrolled, signed by Speaker and President, and sent to Governor. (House)
- 2025-05-14: Message from Senate. (House)
- 2025-05-14: Immediate message. (Senate)
- 2025-05-14: Passed Senate, yeas 31, nays 15. (Senate)
- 2025-05-14: Substituted for SF 658. (Senate)
- 2025-05-13: Read first time, attached to SF 658. (Senate)
- 2025-05-13: Message from House. (Senate)
- 2025-05-13: Immediate message. (House)
- 2025-05-13: Passed House, yeas 60, nays 31. (House)
- 2025-05-13: Motion to suspend rules failed. (House)
- 2025-05-13: Motion to suspend rules for immediate consideration of amendment H-1336, yeas 29, nays 62. (House)
- 2025-05-13: Point of order raised on amendment H-1336, ruled not germane. (House)
- 2025-05-13: Amendment H-1336 filed. (House)
- 2025-05-13: Amendment H-1330 filed, adopted. (House)
- 2025-05-09: NOBA: House Full Approps (House)
- 2025-05-09: Introduced, placed on Appropriations calendar. (House)

## Bill text

- As Introduced: [PDF](https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGI/91/HF1044.pdf)
- Enrolled: [PDF](https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/91/HF1044.pdf)

## Related bills

- HF 2801: A bill for an act modifying the major economic growth attraction program, and including effective date provisions. (Formerly HSB 785.) Effective date: 10/02/20… (signed)
- SF 2472: A bill for an act relating to state and local government taxes, fees, financial authority, and budgets, by modifying property assessment provisions, divisions… (signed)
- HF 2601: A bill for an act relating to campaign finance, including participation in ballot issue campaigns by foreign nationals and investigations of election misconduc… (signed)
- SF 2471: A bill for an act relating to fees for lifetime fur harvester licenses. (Formerly SF 2317, SSB 3121.) Effective date: 07/01/2026. (signed)
- SF 2399: A bill for an act relating to bail and bond amounts and conditions. (Formerly SSB 3162.) Effective date: 07/01/2026. (signed)
- SF 2299: A bill for an act relating to the district-to-community college sharing or concurrent enrollment program. (Formerly SF 2176.) Vetoed 6-2-26. (vetoed)

## Sources
- [As Introduced (PDF)](https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGI/91/HF1044.pdf)
- [Enrolled (PDF)](https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/91/HF1044.pdf)

## Related
- [HF 2801: A bill for an act modifying the major economic growth attraction program, and i…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/IA-HF2801-2025-2026)
- [SF 2472: A bill for an act relating to state and local government taxes, fees, financial…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/IA-SF2472-2025-2026)
- [HF 2601: A bill for an act relating to campaign finance, including participation in ball…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/IA-HF2601-2025-2026)
- [SF 2471: A bill for an act relating to fees for lifetime fur harvester licenses. (Former…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/IA-SF2471-2025-2026)
- [SF 2399: A bill for an act relating to bail and bond amounts and conditions. (Formerly S…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/IA-SF2399-2025-2026)
- [SF 2299: A bill for an act relating to the district-to-community college sharing or conc…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/IA-SF2299-2025-2026)
- [Iowa bills](https://policyrisk.com/states/iowa/bills)
- [Iowa state hub](https://policyrisk.com/states/iowa)
- [All state legislation](https://policyrisk.com/state-bills)

Source: PRIA, https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/IA-HF1044-2025-2026 (as of 2026-10-19).
