# Maryland HB 1036: Public Utilities - Generating Stations - Generation and Siting (Renewable Energy Certainty Act)

Maryland HB 1036, Public Utilities - Generating Stations - Generation and Siting (Renewable Energy Certainty Act), is a 2025 Regular Session House bill sponsored by C. T. Wilson (Democratic); status signed, last action 2025-05-20 (Approved by the Governor - Chapter 624); PRIA reads it as touching household money (as of 2026-10-17).

- Canonical: https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MD-HB1036-2025RS
- As of: 2026-10-17
- Plain-text twin of the page above; the HTML and this file carry the same facts.

## Facts
- Bill: Maryland HB 1036
- State: Maryland
- Session: 2025 Regular Session
- Title: Public Utilities - Generating Stations - Generation and Siting (Renewable Energy Certainty Act)
- Status: signed
- Chamber: House
- Introduced: 2025-02-05
- Last action: 2025-05-20, Approved by the Governor - Chapter 624
- Sponsor: C. T. Wilson (Democratic)
- Cosponsors: 1
- Subjects: Utility Regulation, Energy and Climate, Agriculture -see also- Agritourism; Cannabis Prd; Farm; etc., Baltimore City, Bonds -see also- County & Baltimore City Bonds; State Bonds, Boundaries, Building Permits, Classifications and Designations, Committees and Commissions, Complaints, Conservation -see also- Soil Conservation, Construction, Contractors -see also- Construct; Electricians; etc., Contracts -see also- Procurement, Counties -see also- Chartered Counties; Code Counties; etc., Credit, Easements, Electronic Communication, Electronic Government, Energy Administration, Energy Matters -see also- Fuel; NuclearMatt; PwrPlnts; etc., Environmental Incentives, Environmental Matters -see also- Conserv; Nat Resrce; Pollut, Equipment -see also- Charging; Med. Equip.; MV Equip; etc., Erosion -see also- Shore Erosion, Farmland, Fees -see also- Attys' Fees; Devt Fees & Taxes, Fines -see also- Penalties and Sentences, Flood Control, Forests and Parks -see also- MdNatlCapPkPlnCm; Plants; etc., Forms, Hearings, Invasive Species -see also- Animals; Insects; Plants, Labor, Department of, Licenses -see also- AB Lic; Certifications; DrLic; Permits, Low-Income, Maps and Charts, Meetings -see also- Hearings; Open Government, Municipal Corporations -see also- Annap; Balt; Hager; OC, Natural Resources -see also- Coal; For&Pks; Rivers; etc., Natural Resources, Department of, Notices, Nuisances -see also- Noise; Weeds, Open Government, Permits -see also- Building Permits, Planning, Department of, Plants -see also- Invasive Species; Trees; Weeds, Postal Service, Power Plants, Prices -see also- Consumer Price Index, Procurement, Property Tax, Public Buildings and Facilities -see also- Stadiums; St Hse, Public Information, Public Service Commission, Public Works -see also- Brg&Tun; Hwys; PublBlgFac; etc., Renewable Energy Sources -see also- Geotherm; Solar; etc., Reports, Residential Property -see also- Apartments; Condominiums, Rules and Regulations, Safety -see also- Occupational Safety, Sediment Control, Soil Conservation, Solar Energy, Standards and Best Practices, Storage, Studies -see also- Commitees & Commissions; Reports, Subscriptions and Memberships, Sunset, Telephones, Time, Transportation, Department of, Trees, Utilities -see also- Recycl; Refuse; Sewage; Teleph; Water, Warranties, Wholesale Distribution, Zoning and Planning
- Touches household money: yes
- Roll calls: 7 (326 yes, 534 no in all)
- Economic provisions PRIA read: 19

## Summary

No summary available.

## Bill overview: provisions PRIA read

- Unused community solar credits stay available: benefit, low. For community solar systems not owned by an electric company, unsubscribed energy creates banked bill credits. The subscriber group or coordinator can assign these credits to subscribers within 1 year after creation. After that deadline, the electric company must buy the associated generation throu…
- New protections for rooftop solar buyers: benefit, low. Sellers and lessors of residential rooftop solar systems must provide a full 5-year warranty covering installation and parts. They must include manufacturer warranties and disclose the minimum energy output buyers can expect, adjusted for weather. They must also certify compliance with applicable w…
- Earlier solar applications keep transition protections: benefit, low. The law took effect July 1, 2025, but its Section 1 requirements do not apply to qualifying earlier solar applications. The exemption covers construction or modification when a state certificate application or required local permit application was submitted before that date. The law also protects o…
- Faster local approvals for compliant solar: benefit, low. Local governments generally cannot ban covered solar stations or reject site plans that meet the law’s requirements, subject to statutory exceptions. They must speed up review and approval of compliant plans. Stations rated at 5 megawatts or less by inverter alternating-current output receive permi…
- Fewer local barriers for grid storage: benefit, low. The construction-approval rule addressed here now applies only to front-of-the-meter storage, which serves the grid rather than a customer’s meter. It no longer applies to energy storage devices generally. Local governments cannot ban front-of-the-meter projects or deny site plans that meet the sec…
- State maps public land for solar: benefit, low. Maryland’s natural resources agency must work with energy, transportation, and planning agencies to identify state-owned land suitable for solar. The public SMARTDG+ mapping tool must include suitable state land by December 1, 2025. The agencies must complete an analysis of state-owned land by Dece…
- Local automatic solar enrollment authority ends: cost, low. The law removes local governments’ authority under the repealed provisions to create automatic community solar enrollment programs. Those provisions covered guaranteed bill-credit discounts, opt-outs, and electric-company support. This repeal does not state that current subscribers automatically lo…
- Solar owners must fund required bonds: cost, low. Covered solar owners must post a county bond equal to 100% of landscaping costs for the first five years. After five years, an inspection confirming 90% plant survival allows release of half; the rest stays for two more years. A further inspection must confirm continued compliance before final rele…
- New license for rooftop solar contractors: cost, low. The Maryland Department of Labor must create a special license for people who install or maintain residential rooftop solar systems. It must also set minimum qualifications for this work. The law does not specify the qualifications, license fees, or a deadline for creating the license.
- Location limits for larger solar projects: mixed, low. Ground-mounted solar stations above 5 megawatts cannot occupy certain land based on its designation as of January 1, 2025. Covered land includes Tier 1 or Tier 2 mapped local growth areas, medium- or high-density residential areas, and mixed-use areas with homes. Capacity is measured by inverter al…
- More advance notice for solar neighbors: mixed, low. Distributed solar certificate applicants must send the county their application at least 30 days before filing with the Commission. They must send the Power Plant Research Program a copy when filing. Proposed solar stations in areas considered both overburdened and underserved require at least two…
- Solar owners must protect views and soil: mixed, low. Covered solar applications must analyze views from listed scenic, historic, recreation, and preservation places, and owners must reduce visual impacts. Required screens cannot exceed 35 feet in width and must provide four-season screening, achieved within five years. Owners must preserve existing t…
- Solar sites face distance and height limits: mixed, low. Covered solar sites generally need 150 feet from a home’s nearest wall and 100 feet from applicable property lines. Setbacks run to the nearest array or equipment; grid-connection tie lines and facilities are exempt. Sites need specified nonbarbed fencing, and arrays and related facilities cannot o…
- Storage neighbors gain notice and meetings: mixed, low. For proposed front-of-the-meter storage, the Commission must give immediate notice or require the applicant to do so. Notice goes to specified local governments, legislators, and affected communities within 1 mile. In areas considered both overburdened and underserved, the Commission must require a…
- Community solar gets another approval route: mixed, low. Eligible community solar projects outside municipalities can use a new distributed generation certificate instead of the usual state certificate. Projects must exceed 2 megawatts but not 5 megawatts, measured by the inverter’s alternating-current rating. Developers must obtain the certificate befor…
- More solar projects face site checks: mixed, low. Siting rules now cover qualifying wholesale, community solar, and aggregate net-metering stations above 1 megawatt, down from above 2 megawatts. Rooftop, carport, brownfields, and behind-the-meter stations are excluded. Covered stations of 2 megawatts or less need local verification of site complia…
- State sets standard solar approval rules: mixed, low. The Power Plant Research Program must seek public comment and propose standard solar siting, design, and licensing rules. Its proposals are due to the Public Service Commission by July 1, 2026. The standards address environmental protection, stormwater, public safety, grid connections, and related…
- Storage sites face capped design requirements: mixed, low. Covered front-of-the-meter storage outside commercial or industrial locations needs nonbarbed fencing no higher than 20 feet. Barbed wire is allowed around substations and other critical infrastructure. Locally required landscape screens must provide four-season coverage and cannot exceed 25 feet i…
- Solar station tax exemption ends: mixed, low. The law removes the statutory exemption for solar stations from real and personal property taxes. Any resulting tax depends on applicable tax rules and the station’s assessed value. It also removes the specific authority allowing local governments to require payments instead of taxes of up to $5,00…

## Sponsors and cosponsors

- Sponsor: C. T. Wilson (Democratic), House
- Cosponsor: Brian M. Crosby (Democratic), House

## Roll call votes

| Date | Chamber | Motion | Result | Yes | No | Other |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2025-04-07 | Senate | Third Reading Passed | pass | 35 | 11 | 1 |
| 2025-04-05 | House | Third Reading Passed | pass | 97 | 40 |   |
| 2025-04-04 | House | Floor Amendment {693126/1 (Delegate Ghrist) Rejected | fail | 38 | 97 | 3 |
| 2025-04-04 | House | Floor Amendment {213622/1 (Delegate Ghrist) Rejected | fail | 39 | 98 | 1 |
| 2025-04-04 | House | Floor Amendment {983526/1 (Delegate Chisholm) Rejected | fail | 40 | 95 | 3 |
| 2025-04-04 | House | Floor Amendment (Delegate Ghrist) Rejected | fail | 38 | 98 | 2 |
| 2025-04-04 | House | Floor Amendment {823823/1 (Delegate Ghrist) Rejected | fail | 39 | 95 | 4 |

## Actions (23)

- 2025-05-20: Approved by the Governor - Chapter 624
- 2025-04-07: Returned Passed (House)
- 2025-04-07: Third Reading Passed (35-11) (Senate)
- 2025-04-07: Second Reading Passed (Senate)
- 2025-04-07: Favorable Adopted (Senate)
- 2025-04-07: Favorable Report by Education, Energy, and the Environment (Senate)
- 2025-04-05: Rereferred to Education, Energy, and the Environment (Senate)
- 2025-04-05: Referred Rules (Senate)
- 2025-04-05: Third Reading Passed (97-40) (House)
- 2025-04-05: Motion Vote Previous Question (Delegate J. Lewis) Adopted (House)
- 2025-04-04: Second Reading Passed with Amendments (House)
- 2025-04-04: Floor Amendment {983526/1 (Delegate Chisholm) Rejected (40-95) (House)
- 2025-04-04: Floor Amendment {213622/1 (Delegate Ghrist) Rejected (39-98) (House)
- 2025-04-04: Floor Amendment {823823/1 (Delegate Ghrist) Rejected (39-95) (House)
- 2025-04-04: Floor Amendment {693126/1 (Delegate Ghrist) Rejected (38-97) (House)
- 2025-04-04: Floor Amendment (Delegate Ghrist) Rejected (38-98) (House)
- 2025-04-04: Motion Vote Previous Question (Delegate J. Lewis) Adopted (House)
- 2025-04-04: Floor Amendment {113822/1 (Delegate Ghrist) (House)
- 2025-04-03: Motion Special Order until 04/04 (Delegate Crosby) Adopted (House)
- 2025-04-03: Favorable with Amendments {403123/1 Adopted (House)
- 2025-04-03: Favorable with Amendments Report by Economic Matters (House)
- 2025-02-10: Hearing 2/28 at 1:30 p.m. (House)
- 2025-02-05: First Reading Economic Matters (House)

## Bill text

- Enacted, 2025-05-20: [PDF](https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2025RS/Chapters_noln/CH_624_hb1036t.pdf)
- Third Reading, 2025-04-04: [PDF](https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2025RS/bills/hb/hb1036t.pdf)
- First Reading, 2025-02-05: [PDF](https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2025RS/bills/hb/hb1036f.pdf)

## Related bills

- HB 0384: Maryland Disability Service Animal Program - Established (vetoed)
- SB 0227: Workers' Compensation - Payment From Uninsured Employers' Fund - Revisions (vetoed)
- HB 0482: Occupational Licensing and Certification - Criminal History - Predetermination Review Process (vetoed)
- SB 0157: Maryland Disability Service Animal Program - Established (vetoed)
- HB 1294: Commercial Law - Credit Regulation - Earned Wage Access and Credit Modernization (became law)
- HB 0228: Maryland Veterans Trust – Assistance to Members of the Maryland National Guard (signed)

## Sources
- [Enacted (PDF)](https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2025RS/Chapters_noln/CH_624_hb1036t.pdf)
- [Third Reading (PDF)](https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2025RS/bills/hb/hb1036t.pdf)
- [First Reading (PDF)](https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2025RS/bills/hb/hb1036f.pdf)

## Related
- [HB 0384: Maryland Disability Service Animal Program - Established](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MD-HB0384-2025RS)
- [SB 0227: Workers' Compensation - Payment From Uninsured Employers' Fund - Revisions](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MD-SB0227-2025RS)
- [HB 0482: Occupational Licensing and Certification - Criminal History - Predetermination…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MD-HB0482-2025RS)
- [SB 0157: Maryland Disability Service Animal Program - Established](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MD-SB0157-2025RS)
- [HB 1294: Commercial Law - Credit Regulation - Earned Wage Access and Credit Modernization](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MD-HB1294-2025RS)
- [HB 0228: Maryland Veterans Trust – Assistance to Members of the Maryland National Guard](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MD-HB0228-2025RS)
- [Maryland bills](https://policyrisk.com/states/maryland/bills)
- [Maryland state hub](https://policyrisk.com/states/maryland)
- [All state legislation](https://policyrisk.com/state-bills)

Source: PRIA, https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MD-HB1036-2025RS (as of 2026-10-17).
