# Missouri HB2003: Appropriates money for the expenses, grants, refunds, and distributions of the Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development

Missouri HB2003, Appropriates money for the expenses, grants, refunds, and distributions of the Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development, is a 2026 Regular Session House bill sponsored by Deaton, Dirk (159); status signed, last action 2026-06-30 (Delivered to Secretary of State (G)); PRIA reads it as touching household money (as of 2026-11-04).

- Canonical: https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB2003-2026
- As of: 2026-11-04
- Plain-text twin of the page above; the HTML and this file carry the same facts.

## Facts
- Bill: Missouri HB2003
- State: Missouri
- Session: 2026 Regular Session
- Title: Appropriates money for the expenses, grants, refunds, and distributions of the Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development
- Status: signed
- Chamber: House
- Introduced: 2026-01-21
- Last action: 2026-06-30, Delivered to Secretary of State (G)
- Sponsor: Deaton, Dirk (159)
- Cosponsors: 0
- Touches household money: yes
- Roll calls: 7 (409 yes, 153 no in all)
- Economic provisions PRIA read: 30

## Summary

No summary available.

## Bill overview: provisions PRIA read

- Funding for kidney care and telehealth: benefit, medium. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, General Revenue provides $1.75 million to the University of Missouri for statewide kidney disease treatment. It provides $1.5 million for up to eight Extension for Community Healthcare Outcomes programs. Four must focus on hepatitis, diabetes, chronic pain management…
- Funding for Missouri student aid: benefit, medium. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law funds three student aid programs; individual awards are not stated. Spending includes about $29.08 million for Academic Scholarships, $83.96 million for Access Missouri, and $61.9 million for A+ Schools. Academic Scholarship fund transfers include about $12.8…
- Help with early college costs: benefit, medium. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $7 million for eligible students' dual-credit reimbursements. Covered costs include qualifying dual-enrollment costs and unpaid dual-credit costs, including for eligible underserved students. It also transfers about $1.28 million from General Revenue…
- Public colleges receive yearly operating support: benefit, medium. For July 2026–June 2027, Missouri State receives about $114.93 million and Central Missouri receives $67.66 million for operations. Southeast Missouri State receives about $56.10 million; Truman State receives $50.94 million. Northwest Missouri State receives about $38.13 million; Missouri Southern…
- University of Missouri receives campus program funding: benefit, medium. For July 2026–June 2027, the law provides about $294.15 million for University of Missouri campuses and programs. Another $110.93 million supports professional doctorate programs in medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, and optometry. The St. Louis campus receives $1 million for inter…
- University research and farm services receive funding: benefit, medium. For July 2026–June 2027, the law provides about $83.67 million for public university research and development. It provides about $30.17 million for University of Missouri agricultural extension services statewide and the required federal match. The Greenley Research Center receives $275,000 for the…
- Funding for veterans' legal help: benefit, low. The law provides $500,000 from General Revenue to the University of Missouri School of Law Veterans Clinic. The money supports legal services for veterans during July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. The appropriation does not state individual eligibility rules or how much help each person receives.
- Compensation for harm from proprietary schools: benefit, low. The law sets aside $200,000 from the Proprietary School Bond Fund for qualifying claims involving improper actions by proprietary schools. Compensation follows section 173.612 of Missouri law. Funding is available July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. The appropriation does not state individual payment amoun…
- Education grants for survivors and students: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law funds three targeted education aid programs. General Revenue provides $495,000 for Veterans’ Survivors Grants and $273,500 for Public Service Officer or Employee Survivor Grants. The Kids’ Chance Scholarship Fund provides another $22,000 for students eligible…
- Environmental literacy participants receive program support: benefit, low. The law provides $36,964 for the Minority and Underrepresented Environmental Literacy Program. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. Participant eligibility follows Missouri law under section 173.240. The appropriation does not state the type or amount of individual assistance.
- Job and living support for autism: benefit, low. The law provides $300,000 from General Revenue for a contract with a Southeast Missouri organization serving people with autism. Services help people build on their strengths, prepare for work, find employment support, and learn independent-living skills. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027.…
- Funding for Missouri's State Historical Society: benefit, low. The law provides about $4.68 million from General Revenue to the University of Missouri for the State Historical Society. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. Up to 3% can move to the community college equity and maintenance pool. The appropriation does not create a household payment.
- Funding to recruit public safety workers: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $6 million for the Public Safety Recruitment and Retention Act. It also transfers $5 million from General Revenue into the program's fund. The transfer supplies the fund; it is not an additional $5 million spending authorization. The law does not ide…
- Funding for spinal cord injury research: benefit, low. The law provides $1.5 million from the Spinal Cord Injury Fund to the University of Missouri for research. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. This supports research, not a promise of treatment or direct payments to patients.
- Funding for Delta farm research: benefit, low. The law provides $1 million from General Revenue to the Fisher Delta Research Center. Another $120,000 goes to the center for the Rice Breeders Association. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. These appropriations support agricultural research, not direct payments to farms or households.
- Job seekers get workforce program funding: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, job training receives about $35.60 million from the Job Development and Training Fund. That amount includes $1 million in one-time funding; another $1 million comes from the Special Employment Security Fund. Precision health and agricultural science workforce partner…
- Lincoln University receives operating and matching funds: benefit, low. For July 2026–June 2027, the law provides about $23.74 million for Lincoln University expenses from general revenue and lottery funds. It provides about $10 million for the university's 1890 land-grant match and $2.81 million for institutional support. Up to 3% of the operating appropriation can mo…
- Show-Me Heroes receives workforce program funding: benefit, low. The law provides $500,000 from the Show-Me Heroes Fund for the Show-Me Heroes workforce program. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. The appropriation does not state individual eligibility rules or payment amounts.
- Southern Missouri education program gets expansion funds: benefit, low. For July 2026–June 2027, Missouri University of Science and Technology receives $250,000 to expand Project Lead the Way. The phased expansion covers ten southern Missouri counties. The money must serve as a state match for federal funding. It also supports pilots in communities meeting the appropri…
- St. Louis nursing program receives funding: benefit, low. The law provides a one-time $400,000 appropriation to St. Louis Community College for a nursing program. The general revenue funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, and expires June 30, 2027. It supports the program rather than setting individual student awards.
- Student loan program receives operating funds: benefit, low. The law provides $400,001 from the Guaranty Agency Operating Fund for the Missouri Guaranteed Student Loan Program. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. This appropriation does not change borrower eligibility, loan terms, or individual loan amounts.
- Targeted workers receive job preparation support: benefit, low. For July 2026–June 2027, the law funds targeted job preparation, including construction pre-apprenticeships for minorities and women. In a city exceeding 400,000 residents and spanning multiple counties, it provides $1.25 million in one-time general revenue funding for construction, information tec…
- Underrepresented workers get statewide apprenticeship preparation: benefit, low. The law provides a one-time $400,000 general revenue appropriation for a nonprofit's statewide construction, manufacturing, and healthcare workforce program. It prepares historically underrepresented workers for joint contractor- and labor-sponsored registered apprenticeships and provides industry-…
- Workers get apprenticeship training program support: benefit, low. For July 2026–June 2027, the law provides about $1.24 million from the State Institutions Gift Trust Fund for apprenticeships and healthcare workforce training. Another $3.01 million from the Job Development and Training Fund expands registered apprenticeships, including pre-apprenticeships, suppor…
- College funding limits for undocumented students: cost, medium. The law bars Part 1 scholarship funds from being spent on students with unlawful immigration status in the United States. Public colleges also cannot spend Part 1 funds if they offer these students tuition below the international-student rate. This is a funding condition on colleges, not a law sett…
- Limits on funding Common Core: cost, low. From July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the higher education department cannot use funds under sections 3.030 and 3.035 to support Common Core Standards. The restriction includes nonfederal donations and funds covered by those sections. Before spending new funds under either section, the department must g…
- State funding barred for diversity-only programs: cost, low. Colleges cannot use state funds for contracts, programs, or jobs focused solely on diversity, equity, and inclusion or similar efforts. The definition covers specified efforts concerning race, sex, color, ethnicity, gender identity, or sexual orientation. Employment training, programs, and activiti…
- Fast Track grants with private-school caps: mixed, medium. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $8 million for Fast Track Workforce Incentive Grants. It transfers $4.3 million from General Revenue and $1 million from Lottery Proceeds into the grant fund. Private four-year school grants cannot exceed University of Missouri-Columbia in-state tuit…
- Community colleges get operating and repair funds: mixed, medium. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides about $166.62 million for community college operations. It adds about $10.04 million for funding adjustments among colleges and $4.40 million for maintenance and repairs. Colleges must match repair money dollar for dollar with local funds. Up to 3% o…
- Refunds applied to college debts: mixed, low. The law provides about $7.16 million from the Debt Offset Escrow Fund for refunds applied against debts under existing law. The money is allocated among named colleges and universities for July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. Applying a refund pays down debt but leaves less refund money available as cash. T…

## Sponsors and cosponsors

- Sponsor: Deaton, Dirk (159)

## Roll call votes

| Date | Chamber | Motion | Result | Yes | No | Other |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2026-05-06 | Senate | Truly Agreed To and Finally Passed | pass | 28 | 5 |   |
| 2026-05-06 | Senate | Senate Adopts Conference Committee Report | pass | 29 | 4 |   |
| 2026-05-06 | House | Third Read and Passed | pass | 109 | 32 | 9 |
| 2026-05-06 | House | House Adopts Conference Committee Report | pass | 119 | 28 | 7 |
| 2026-04-22 | Senate | Third Read and Passed | pass | 22 | 9 |   |
| 2026-03-26 | House | Third Read and Passed | pass | 83 | 66 | 4 |
| 2026-03-12 | House | HCS Reported Do Pass - with a time limit of five and a half hours of debate on Perfection pursuant to Rule 24(4)(d) | pass | 19 | 9 | 3 |

## Actions (59)

- 2026-06-30: Delivered to Secretary of State (G) (House)
- 2026-06-30: Vetoed in Part by Governor (G) (House)
- 2026-05-28: Delivered to Governor (House)
- 2026-05-28: Signed by President Pro Tem (Senate)
- 2026-05-28: Signed by House Speaker (House)
- 2026-05-07: Senate Message (Senate)
- 2026-05-06: Truly Agreed To and Finally Passed - AYES: 28 NOES: 5 PRESENT: 0 (Senate)
- 2026-05-06: Senate Adopts Conference Committee Report - AYES: 29 NOES: 4 PRESENT: 0 (Senate)
- 2026-05-06: Taken Up (Senate)
- 2026-05-06: Motion to Adopt Withdrawn (Senate)
- 2026-05-06: Senate Submits Conference Committee Report (Senate)
- 2026-05-06: House Message (House)
- 2026-05-06: Third Read and Passed - AYES: 109 NOES: 32 PRESENT: 9 (House)
- 2026-05-06: House Adopts Conference Committee Report - AYES: 119 NOES: 28 PRESENT: 7 (House)
- 2026-05-06: House Submits Conference Committee Report (House)
- 2026-05-05: House Distributes Conference Committee Report (House)
- 2026-04-28: Senate Message (Senate)
- 2026-04-28: Senate Conference Committee Appointed - SENATORS BLACK, HUDSON, HENDERSON, MAY, NURRENBERN (Senate)
- 2026-04-27: House Message (House)
- 2026-04-27: House Conference Committee Appointed - REPRESENTATIVES DEATON, DAVIDSON, CHAPPELL, FOGLE, STEINHOFF (House)
- 2026-04-23: Senate Message (Senate)
- 2026-04-23: Senate Refuses to Recede, Grants Conference (Senate)
- 2026-04-23: House Message (House)
- 2026-04-23: House Refuses to Adopt, Requests Senate to Recede or Grant Conference (House)
- 2026-04-23: Taken Up (House)
- 2026-04-23: Reported to the House with... - SS SCS (House)
- 2026-04-22: Third Read and Passed - AYES: 22 NOES: 9 PRESENT: 0 (Senate)
- 2026-04-22: SS Adopted (Senate)
- 2026-04-22: SS Offered (Senate)
- 2026-04-22: Taken Up for Third Reading (Senate)
- 2026-04-20: SCS Reported Do Pass (Senate)
- 2026-04-15: SCS Voted Do Pass (Senate)
- 2026-04-15: Executive Session Held (Senate)
- 2026-04-15: Public Hearing Held (Senate)
- 2026-04-09: Public Hearing Scheduled - CANCELLED: Friday, April 17, 2026, 8:30 a.m., Senate Committee Room 2 - 1st Floor (Senate)
- 2026-04-09: Public Hearing Scheduled - CANCELLED: Thursday, April 16, 2026, 8:30 a.m., Senate Committee Room 2 - 1st Floor (Senate)
- 2026-04-09: Public Hearing Scheduled - AMENDED: Wednesday, April 15, 2026, 9:30 a.m., Senate Committee Room 1 - 1st Floor (Senate)
- 2026-04-09: Public Hearing Scheduled - Tuesday, April 14, 2026, 8:30 a.m., Senate Committee Room 2 - 1st Floor (Senate)
- 2026-03-31: Second read and referred: Appropriations (Senate)
- 2026-03-30: Reported to the Senate and First Read (Senate)
- 2026-03-26: Third Read and Passed - AYES: 83 NOES: 66 PRESENT: 4 (House)
- 2026-03-26: Taken Up for Third Reading (House)
- 2026-03-24: Perfected with Amendments - HA 1, HA 2 (House)
- 2026-03-24: HCS Adopted (House)
- 2026-03-24: Taken Up (House)
- 2026-03-24: Laid Over (House)
- 2026-03-24: Taken Up (House)
- 2026-03-24: Laid Over - HA 1, HA 2, adopted (House)
- 2026-03-24: Taken Up (House)
- 2026-03-23: Laid Over (House)
- 2026-03-23: Title of Bill - Agreed To (House)
- 2026-03-23: Taken Up for Perfection (House)
- 2026-03-12: HCS Reported Do Pass - with a time limit of five and a half hours of debate on Perfection pursuant to Rule 24(4)(d) AYES: 19 NOES: 9 PRESENT: 3 (House)
- 2026-03-11: HCS Voted Do Pass (House)
- 2026-03-11: Executive Session Completed (House)
- 2026-02-17: Public Hearing Completed (House)
- 2026-01-22: Referred: Budget (House)
- 2026-01-22: Read Second Time (House)
- 2026-01-21: Introduced and Read First Time (House)

## Bill text

- Truly Agreed, 2026-05-06: [PDF](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003H.06T.pdf)
- Perfected, 2026-03-24: [PDF](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003H.03P.pdf)
- Committee Substitute, 2026-03-12: [PDF](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003H.03C.pdf), [PDF](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003S.04C.pdf)
- Senate Substitute, 2026-03-12: [PDF](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003H.06S.pdf), [PDF](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003S.05F.pdf)
- Introduced, 2026-01-21: [PDF](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003H.01I.pdf)

## Related bills

- HB1871: Modifies provisions relating to elections (signed)
- HB1867: Authorizes Joplin to increase a transient guest tax for tourism to no more than six percent upon a vote of the people (signed)
- HB1827: Adds licensed occupational therapists to the definition of "other authorized health care practitioner" for purposes of physician's statements required for disa… (signed)
- HB1840: Establishes an alert system to assist in the location of missing persons with developmental disabilities (signed)
- HB1825: Removes the prosecuting attorney and the sheriff from the county salary commission (signed)
- SB1408: Increases the maximum speed limit from 70 to 75 miles per hour on rural interstates and freeways (signed)

## Sources
- [Truly Agreed (PDF)](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003H.06T.pdf)
- [Perfected (PDF)](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003H.03P.pdf)
- [Committee Substitute (PDF)](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003H.03C.pdf)
- [Committee Substitute (PDF)](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003S.04C.pdf)
- [Senate Substitute (PDF)](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003H.06S.pdf)
- [Senate Substitute (PDF)](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003S.05F.pdf)
- [Introduced (PDF)](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2003H.01I.pdf)

## Related
- [HB1871: Modifies provisions relating to elections](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB1871-2026)
- [HB1867: Authorizes Joplin to increase a transient guest tax for tourism to no more than…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB1867-2026)
- [HB1827: Adds licensed occupational therapists to the definition of "other authorized he…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB1827-2026)
- [HB1840: Establishes an alert system to assist in the location of missing persons with d…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB1840-2026)
- [HB1825: Removes the prosecuting attorney and the sheriff from the county salary commiss…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB1825-2026)
- [SB1408: Increases the maximum speed limit from 70 to 75 miles per hour on rural interst…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-SB1408-2026)
- [Missouri bills](https://policyrisk.com/states/missouri/bills)
- [Missouri state hub](https://policyrisk.com/states/missouri)
- [All state legislation](https://policyrisk.com/state-bills)

Source: PRIA, https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB2003-2026 (as of 2026-11-04).
