# Missouri HB2020: Appropriates money for the expenses, grants, refunds, and distributions of the several departments and offices of state government

Missouri HB2020, Appropriates money for the expenses, grants, refunds, and distributions of the several departments and offices of state government, is a 2026 Regular Session House bill sponsored by Deaton, Dirk (159); status signed, last action 2026-06-30 (Delivered to Secretary of State (G)) (as of 2026-11-04).

- Canonical: https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB2020-2026
- As of: 2026-11-04
- Plain-text twin of the page above; the HTML and this file carry the same facts.

## Facts
- Bill: Missouri HB2020
- State: Missouri
- Session: 2026 Regular Session
- Title: Appropriates money for the expenses, grants, refunds, and distributions of the several departments and offices of state government
- Status: signed
- Chamber: House
- Introduced: 2026-01-27
- Last action: 2026-06-30, Delivered to Secretary of State (G)
- Sponsor: Deaton, Dirk (159)
- Cosponsors: 0
- Touches household money: no
- Roll calls: 5 (438 yes, 74 no in all)
- Economic provisions PRIA read: 58

## Summary

No summary available.

## Bill overview: provisions PRIA read

- Public schools receive funding and privacy protections: benefit, high. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $150 million from the coronavirus Revenue Replacement Fund for public schools. It also provides $27 million from the Blind Pension Fund. Together with House Bill No. 2002, Section 2.015, School Foundation distributions total about $4.689 billion. The…
- Child support system receives technology upgrades: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides about $9.12 million to modernize Missouri's automated child support system. The Department of Social Services uses this system to administer child support services. The funding does not change support amounts, who qualifies, or anyone's individual ob…
- Funding repairs local drinking water systems: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law funds two local water projects. It provides $373,206 from the Coronavirus State Fiscal Recovery Health and Economic Impacts Fund for water treatment plant maintenance and repairs. The plant's city must have 2,701–2,999 residents, its county 12,501–13,999, and…
- National Guard aircraft hangar receives expansion: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $3.8 million for a National Guard aircraft maintenance hangar addition. The money covers planning, design, and construction at an Aviation Classification Repair Activity Depot base. The base must be in a city with 160,001–199,999 residents. No local…
- Police and firefighters gain training funding: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $916,399 for proper use-of-force, de-escalation, and constitutional policing training. A basic training center or continuing education provider licensed by the Director of Public Safety must provide it. Training must be available to all Missouri law…
- Prisons receive security and infrastructure funding: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law funds improvements at state correctional facilities. About $2.15 million supports security cameras and related hardware and software, while $73,195 supports radios and related systems. Both equipment allocations cover maintenance, repairs, replacements, emerg…
- Public safety communications receive network upgrades: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, about $4.55 million expands public safety wireless broadband around Jefferson City's Capitol Complex. Another $486,949 adds equipment to reduce load and increase capacity on Missouri's statewide emergency communications network. A separate $801,981 expands network us…
- Sports facility expands for disabled athletes: benefit, low. The law provides $3 million to expand a nonprofit sports training facility for athletes with special needs. The facility must be in a city with 40,001–50,999 residents. That city must lie partly within a county with 70,001–79,999 residents. The funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, and does no…
- Transit funding supports riders needing help: benefit, low. The law provides about $3.588 million for capital costs at agencies eligible for the Transit Program. The money supports transportation for older people, people with disabilities, and people with low incomes. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. The law does not set a fare discount or direct…
- Cape Girardeau veterans home gets upgrades: benefit, low. The law provides about $10.44 million for improvements at the Cape Girardeau Veterans' Home. It funds planning, design, construction, renovations, and upgrades. Funding covers July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, and supports the facility rather than direct payments to veterans.
- Funding supports four crisis care centers: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $60,900 toward construction of four new Behavioral Health Crisis Centers. The Department of Mental Health chooses locations based on areas of need. The funding supports facilities; it does not set patient eligibility or provide household payments.
- Group homes get disability access upgrades: benefit, low. The law provides about $3.077 million to improve accessibility in cottages and group homes. It pays for design, renovation, construction, and related improvements to meet Americans with Disabilities Act standards. Funding covers July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027.
- Mental health facilities get electronic records: benefit, low. The law provides about $13.533 million to buy and implement an integrated electronic health record system. The multi-year system uses ready-made commercial software hosted by a vendor. It serves all Missouri Department of Mental Health hospitals and facilities. The appropriation covers July 1, 2026…
- Nursing facility receives sewer repair funding: benefit, low. The law provides $4,315 for sewer maintenance, repairs, and improvements at a nursing facility. The facility must be in a county with 6,001–6,999 residents. Its county seat must have 401–999 residents. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027.
- Rural Medicaid providers get telehealth funding: benefit, low. The law provides $448,169 for Medicaid providers serving rural counties to buy telehealth equipment and training. The money supports greater telehealth access for MO HealthNet participants. Funding covers July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027; it does not change Medicaid eligibility.
- Social services gets case management technology: benefit, low. The law provides about $2.141 million for the Missouri Department of Social Services to develop a case management system. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. This technology funding does not change benefit amounts or who qualifies.
- St. James veterans home receives upgrades: benefit, low. The law provides about $7.132 million for improvements at the St. James Veterans' Home. Work includes renovations, heating and cooling upgrades, dietary upgrades, construction, and replacements. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. It funds the facility rather than direct payments to resident…
- State health laboratory campus receives funding: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides about $22.8 million for a multi-agency health laboratory campus. The money comes from the Coronavirus State Fiscal Recovery Revenue Replacement Fund. It covers design, construction, laboratory and building space, fixtures, equipment, office furniture…
- Schools get money for lead removal: benefit, low. The law provides about $17.638 million to test, filter, and remove lead from drinking-water sources in education buildings. Buildings must house state-funded early childhood, elementary, or secondary education programs. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027.
- Agriculture department replaces grain licensing system: benefit, low. The law provides $129,144 to replace the Missouri Agriculture Department's Grain Regulatory Services licensing system. The law's funding period is July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. This funding does not add a new household duty or change household benefit eligibility.
- Biofuel infrastructure projects get state funding: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides about $2.785 million for biofuel infrastructure projects. The Agriculture and Small Business Development Authority administers the money from the Coronavirus State Fiscal Recovery Revenue Replacement Fund. The provision does not specify project eligi…
- Downtown nonprofit receives community development funding: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the Budget Stabilization Fund provides $15 million for a downtown community development nonprofit. The Office of Administration handles the funding for the Department of Economic Development. The nonprofit must serve a city with over 400,000 residents spanning multip…
- Funding supports passenger rail facility planning: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $953,455 for Amtrak station planning, design, maintenance, or construction. The station's city must have 3,401–3,799 residents, its county 8,001–8,899, and the county seat 3,301–4,999. Another $237,180 funds streetcar design and environmental studies…
- Qualifying city receives parking garage funding: benefit, low. The law provides about $1.788 million to plan, design, and build a parking garage. The garage must be in a city with 40,001–50,999 residents. It must also be partly in a county with 70,001–79,999 residents. The law's funding period is July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027.
- State broadband work receives staffing funds: benefit, low. The law provides about $6.050 million for state broadband capacity-building work. Funding allows no more than 13 full-time-equivalent staff positions. It covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. This is agency funding, not a household internet discount or payment.
- State government technology receives modernization funding: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides about $10.74 million to modernize Missouri government technology systems. The appropriation limits flexibility in full-time equivalent staffing to no more than 25%. It does not create direct household payments or change benefit eligibility.
- Missouri gets broadband infrastructure funding: benefit, low. The law provides about $88.87 million for broadband infrastructure across Missouri. About $12.93 million comes from the Coronavirus State Fiscal Recovery Broadband Fund. Another $75.94 million comes from the Coronavirus Capital Projects Fund. Funding covers July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027; it d…
- Community colleges receive workforce campus funding: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Ozarks Technical receives about $15.062 million for its Center for Workforce and Student Success. East Central College receives about $5.823 million for its Rolla Campus, and St. Charles receives about $3.844 million for a workforce technical campus. St. Louis Commun…
- Missouri universities receive campus construction funding: benefit, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Missouri-Columbia receives $20 million for campus construction, renovation, maintenance, and repairs. Projects cover radiopharmaceuticals, animal science, health care, engineering, student success, and related infrastructure. Missouri–St. Louis receives about $12.878…
- Water systems get grants and upgrades: mixed, medium. The law provides about $122.46 million for water infrastructure grants and inventories of lead service lines. Local governments must provide matching money to qualify; the provision does not specify the required share. Another $9.926 million funds water and wastewater improvements at state parks an…
- County jail grants require equal matches: mixed, low. The law provides about $2.164 million for county jail maintenance and improvements. Each grant requires an equal, 50/50 match from the recipient or a local entity. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027.
- Courts and justice center receive upgrades: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $27,195 for justice center building improvements. The center must be in a city with 51,001–57,999 residents spanning multiple counties. The recipient or local entity must match each grant equally. Another $16,725 goes to the Missouri Supreme Court fo…
- Emergency service grants require local matches: mixed, low. The law provides about $1.83 million for emergency medical providers, fire protection groups, or public safety officers. Local matching funds are required. The provision does not specify the matching share. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027.
- Local libraries and parks receive grants: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $58,265 for library planning, design, maintenance, or construction. The library must be in a city with 6,301–6,999 residents within a county with 200,001–229,999 residents. About $2.11 million funds maintenance and improvements at a roughly 127-acre…
- Local water grants require matching money: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law funds three local water projects. It provides about $4.59 million for sewer upgrades and maintenance in a city with 95,001–104,999 residents. It provides $188,047 for stormwater work in a county with 400,001–499,999 residents; both grants require equal state…
- Regional police facilities receive construction grants: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the Budget Stabilization Fund provides $50 million for a regional police training facility. The nonprofit recipient must serve multiple counties, including at least one with more than 1 million residents. Another $767,994 funds a regional intelligence and information…
- Small grant supports community violence prevention: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $707 for a nonprofit's violence-reduction services, equipment, or supplies. The work must aim to reduce community victimization and strengthen police services. The nonprofit must be in a city with over 400,000 residents spanning multiple counties. A…
- Statewide 911 maps get funding: mixed, low. The law provides about $1.357 million to compile, standardize, and maintain map data for statewide Next Generation 911. Funding requires a 90% state and 10% local share. The appropriation covers July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027.
- Ambulance services get equipment and training: mixed, low. The law provides $100,187 for ambulance equipment, radios, training, and a statewide communications and patient-movement platform. Awards to ambulance services cannot exceed $100,000 per recipient. Funding requires a 90% state and 10% local share. The appropriation covers July 1, 2026, through June…
- Community health centers get matching grants: mixed, low. The law provides about $17.86 million for federally qualified health centers, certified community behavioral health organizations, and community mental health centers. Projects under $5 million require a 60% state and 40% local funding share. Projects over $5 million require equal recipient matchin…
- Targeted hospitals get medical equipment funding: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $197,022 for hospital MRI and ultrasound upgrades, requiring equal state/local funding. The hospital must be in a city with more than 16,000 but fewer than 18,000 people. That city must be partly in a county with more than 35,000 but fewer than 40,00…
- Airport improvement grant requires local match: mixed, low. The law provides $144,211 for improvements at an airport in a county with 22,001–24,999 residents. The county seat must have 2,301–3,999 residents. Any grant requires a 90/10 match involving the recipient or a local entity. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027.
- Broadband towers and pole replacements funded: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, about $13.16 million funds broadband cellular towers, prioritizing unserved and underserved locations. Another $5.13 million reimburses providers for certain necessary pole removal, installation, or replacement costs on state broadband projects. Projects must bring 1…
- Communities receive development and facility grants: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides about $33.202 million for community development and revitalization. Recipients must provide a local match to qualify for that funding. A separate award provides about $1.583 million to plan, design, and build a community facility. That facility must…
- Funding upgrades highways and city streetlights: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the Budget Stabilization Fund supports three road and lighting projects. About $29.69 million funds work on I-35, I-29, and U.S. 169 in Clay, Jackson, and Platte counties; federal funds must match spending. About $4.17 million funds Highway 76 improvements in a city…
- Industrial site grants require local matches: mixed, low. The law provides about $14.388 million for industrial site development from July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. About $5.943 million is reserved for projects covering at least 1,000 connected acres. About $8.445 million funds projects smaller than 1,000 connected acres. Eligible recipients are local govern…
- Local airport repairs require matching money: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $259,665 for local airport repairs and improvements. The airport must be in a city with 3,001–3,399 residents within a county with 15,701–17,599 residents. The county seat must have 3,001–3,599 residents. A local match is required, but the provision…
- Local water projects receive matched funding: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, two city projects receive water infrastructure grants requiring 70% state and 30% local funding. A $108,699 water grant serves a county-seat city with 14,001–15,999 residents, in a county with 120,001–149,999 residents. A $75,071 water and wastewater grant serves a c…
- Port grants fund freight infrastructure upgrades: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides about $7.62 million in Missouri port authority grants requiring local matches. A separate matched grant of about $1.16 million serves a port in a county with 15,701–17,599 residents. That county's seat must have 2,001–2,999 residents. Another $21.65…
- Tourism and entertainment projects receive grants: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, local tourism grants receive about $11.464 million and require equal recipient or local matches. An entertainment district receives $1 million with no local match required, supporting growth, entertainment, and historic character. That district must be in a city with…
- City gets help clearing condemned properties: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides about $8.744 million to remove condemned, vacant, city-owned properties. The city must be outside any county. Local matching money is required, but the provision does not specify the required share. This funds property removal, not payments to homeow…
- Colleges get science and workforce facilities: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Harris-Stowe gets about $26.44 million for a science and technology academic building. That includes $7.75 million in General Revenue and about $18.69 million from the Coronavirus State Fiscal Recovery Health and Economic Impacts Fund. Missouri S&T gets about $23.52…
- Early childhood career program requires local match: mixed, low. The law provides about $1.929 million for an early childhood career education program's construction and programming costs. The program must be in a county with 31,001–35,000 residents. Its county seat must have 10,001–12,999 residents. A 10% local match is required. Funding covers July 1, 2026–Jun…
- Job seekers gain funded service upgrades: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, a workforce-services agency receives about $3.652 million for planning, design, maintenance, or construction. It must serve job seekers, employers seeking a diverse workforce, and youth learning career skills. The agency must be in a county with over 1 million reside…
- Training facilities receive grants with different matches: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Cape Girardeau Career and Technology Center receives $611,955 for equipment and building improvements. Its recipient must provide an equal, 50/50 match. A separate technical school building for advanced workforce training receives about $10.313 million, with no local…
- Universities get building and student-center funding: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Central Missouri gets about $11.2 million for Humphreys Building maintenance, construction, or renovation. Northwest Missouri State gets about $21.94 million to modernize campus energy systems. Missouri State gets about $12.88 million for the Judith Enyeart Reynolds…
- University health sciences projects get funding: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law funds university health sciences buildings and related work. Southeast Missouri State gets $37 million; Lincoln University gets about $12.9 million for a health sciences and crisis center. Missouri State gets about $5.895 million for its life, physical, and h…
- Workforce grants include local funding requirements: mixed, low. For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the Department of Economic Development receives about $12.480 million for workforce development. Vocational education providers receive about $4.515 million, with a required 25% local match. MoExcels receives about $1.645 million for initiatives recommended by the Co…

## Sponsors and cosponsors

- Sponsor: Deaton, Dirk (159)

## Roll call votes

| Date | Chamber | Motion | Result | Yes | No | Other |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2026-05-06 | House | House Adopts - SS SCS | pass | 125 | 26 |   |
| 2026-05-06 | House | Truly Agreed To and Finally Passed | pass | 126 | 23 | 1 |
| 2026-05-06 | Senate | Third Read and Passed | pass | 32 | 1 |   |
| 2026-04-02 | House | Third Read and Passed | pass | 127 | 24 |   |
| 2026-03-26 | House | HCS Reported Do Pass | pass | 28 | 0 |   |

## Actions (35)

- 2026-06-30: Delivered to Secretary of State (G) (House)
- 2026-06-30: Approved by Governor (G) (House)
- 2026-05-28: Delivered to Governor (House)
- 2026-05-28: Signed by President Pro Tem (Senate)
- 2026-05-28: Signed by House Speaker (House)
- 2026-05-06: House Message (House)
- 2026-05-06: Truly Agreed To and Finally Passed - AYES: 126 NOES: 23 PRESENT: 1 (House)
- 2026-05-06: House Adopts - SS SCS AYES: 125 NOES: 26 PRESENT: 0 (House)
- 2026-05-06: Taken Up (House)
- 2026-05-06: Reported to the House with... - SS SCS (House)
- 2026-05-06: Third Read and Passed - AYES: 32 NOES: 1 PRESENT: 0 (Senate)
- 2026-05-06: SS Adopted (Senate)
- 2026-05-06: SS Offered (Senate)
- 2026-05-06: Taken Up for Third Reading (Senate)
- 2026-05-05: SCS Reported Do Pass (Senate)
- 2026-04-29: SCS Voted Do Pass (Senate)
- 2026-04-29: Executive Session Held (Senate)
- 2026-04-29: Public Hearing Held (Senate)
- 2026-04-24: Public Hearing Scheduled - Thursday, April 30, 2026, 8:30 a.m., SCR 2 - 1st Floor (Senate)
- 2026-04-24: Public Hearing Scheduled - Wednesday, April 29, 2026, 8:30 a.m., SCR 2 - 1st Floor (Senate)
- 2026-04-08: Second read and referred: Appropriations (Senate)
- 2026-04-02: Reported to the Senate and First Read (Senate)
- 2026-04-02: Third Read and Passed - AYES: 127 NOES: 24 PRESENT: 0 (House)
- 2026-04-02: Taken Up for Third Reading (House)
- 2026-03-31: Perfected (House)
- 2026-03-31: HCS Adopted (House)
- 2026-03-31: Title of Bill - Agreed To (House)
- 2026-03-31: Taken Up for Perfection (House)
- 2026-03-26: HCS Reported Do Pass - AYES: 28 NOES: 0 PRESENT: 0 (House)
- 2026-03-26: HCS Voted Do Pass (House)
- 2026-03-26: Executive Session Completed (House)
- 2026-02-17: Public Hearing Completed (House)
- 2026-01-28: Referred: Budget (House)
- 2026-01-28: Read Second Time (House)
- 2026-01-27: Introduced and Read First Time (House)

## Bill text

- Truly Agreed, 2026-05-06: [PDF](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2020S.04T.pdf)
- Perfected, 2026-03-31: [PDF](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2020H.02P.pdf)
- Committee Substitute, 2026-03-26: [PDF](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2020H.02C.pdf), [PDF](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2020S.03C.pdf)
- Senate Substitute, 2026-03-26: [PDF](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2020S.04F.pdf)
- Introduced, 2026-01-27: [PDF](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2020H.01I.pdf)

## Related bills

- HB1867: Authorizes Joplin to increase a transient guest tax for tourism to no more than six percent upon a vote of the people (signed)
- HB1871: Modifies provisions relating to elections (signed)
- HB1840: Establishes an alert system to assist in the location of missing persons with developmental disabilities (signed)
- HB1825: Removes the prosecuting attorney and the sheriff from the county salary commission (signed)
- HB1827: Adds licensed occupational therapists to the definition of "other authorized health care practitioner" for purposes of physician's statements required for disa… (signed)
- SB1408: Increases the maximum speed limit from 70 to 75 miles per hour on rural interstates and freeways (signed)

## Sources
- [Truly Agreed (PDF)](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2020S.04T.pdf)
- [Perfected (PDF)](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2020H.02P.pdf)
- [Committee Substitute (PDF)](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2020H.02C.pdf)
- [Committee Substitute (PDF)](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2020S.03C.pdf)
- [Senate Substitute (PDF)](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2020S.04F.pdf)
- [Introduced (PDF)](https://documents.house.mo.gov/billtracking/bills261/hlrbillspdf/2020H.01I.pdf)

## Related
- [HB1867: Authorizes Joplin to increase a transient guest tax for tourism to no more than…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB1867-2026)
- [HB1871: Modifies provisions relating to elections](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB1871-2026)
- [HB1840: Establishes an alert system to assist in the location of missing persons with d…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB1840-2026)
- [HB1825: Removes the prosecuting attorney and the sheriff from the county salary commiss…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB1825-2026)
- [HB1827: Adds licensed occupational therapists to the definition of "other authorized he…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB1827-2026)
- [SB1408: Increases the maximum speed limit from 70 to 75 miles per hour on rural interst…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-SB1408-2026)
- [Missouri bills](https://policyrisk.com/states/missouri/bills)
- [Missouri state hub](https://policyrisk.com/states/missouri)
- [All state legislation](https://policyrisk.com/state-bills)

Source: PRIA, https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/MO-HB2020-2026 (as of 2026-11-04).
