# South Dakota HB 1326: appropriate money for the ordinary expenses of the legislative, judicial, and executive departments of the state, the current expenses of state institutions, interest on the public debt, and common schools.

South Dakota HB 1326, appropriate money for the ordinary expenses of the legislative, judicial, and executive departments of the state, the current expenses of state institutions, interest on the public debt, and common schools., is a 101st South Dakota Legislature (2026) House bill sponsored by no sponsor on record; status signed, last action 2026-03-30 (Signed by the Governor); PRIA reads it as touching household money (as of 2026-10-12).

- Canonical: https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1326-2026
- As of: 2026-10-12
- Plain-text twin of the page above; the HTML and this file carry the same facts.

## Facts
- Bill: South Dakota HB 1326
- State: South Dakota
- Session: 101st South Dakota Legislature (2026)
- Title: appropriate money for the ordinary expenses of the legislative, judicial, and executive departments of the state, the current expenses of state institutions, interest on the public debt, and common schools.
- Status: signed
- Chamber: House
- Introduced: 2026-03-11
- Last action: 2026-03-30, Signed by the Governor
- Sponsors: no sponsor on record
- Cosponsors: 0
- Touches household money: yes
- Roll calls: 3 (88 yes, 31 no in all)
- Economic provisions PRIA read: 18

## Summary

No summary available.

## Bill overview: provisions PRIA read

- More funding for developmental disability services: benefit, medium. The law adds about $25.054 million for increased use of developmental disability services through Medicaid and other state programs. This includes about $10.774 million in state funds, $12.640 million in federal authority, and $1.640 million from other funds. The money supports increased service us…
- More money for care and senior meals: benefit, medium. The law adds about $10.260 million for increased use of long-term services through Medicaid and other state programs. That includes about $5.113 million in state funds, $5.030 million in federal authority, and $115,749 from other funds. It also adds about $1.412 million for rising costs in Title II…
- Funding for unclaimed property payments: benefit, low. The law authorizes $20 million from other funds to pay unclaimed property claims. Payments are for people or entities entitled to property held by South Dakota. The provision does not change claim eligibility or set any claimant's payment amount.
- Cash benefits partly restored for families: benefit, low. The law provides $854,000 to partly restore Temporary Assistance for Needy Families cash benefits. This includes $427,000 in state funds and $427,000 in federal spending authority. Benefits move toward levels before cuts approved on July 15, 2025. The law does not state each family's increase or wh…
- Daily pay set for board members: benefit, low. For fiscal years 2027 and 2028, listed state boards, councils, commissions, and advisory bodies have daily compensation rates. Paid bodies generally have a $166 daily rate; some listed bodies have a $0 rate. Board of Pardons and Paroles members receive $200 per day. Pay applies to days spent perfor…
- Federal election money released to counties: benefit, low. The law authorizes $262,169 in federal spending for Help America Vote Act funding to South Dakota counties. Counties receive the election funding. The provision does not change voting eligibility or create household payments.
- Funding for Black Hills shooting range: benefit, low. The law authorizes $292,740 in federal spending and $147,780 from other funds to operate the new Black Hills shooting range. The provision does not set user fees, household eligibility, or direct financial benefits.
- More arts grants for nonprofit groups: benefit, low. The law adds $25,086 in other spending authority for state arts grants to nonprofit organizations. The additional authority lasts through June 30, 2027. The provision does not set individual grant awards or direct household benefits.
- More funding for court alternative care: benefit, low. The law provides $365,000 in state funds for possible costs of new participants in the court system's alternative care program. It does not change eligibility or set payments to participants.
- More funding for prisons and care: benefit, low. The law provides about $12.104 million in state funds and 117 full-time-equivalent positions for the new Rapid City Correctional Facility. Operations include security, food, clothing, prisoner pay, education, housing management, and building upkeep. It also provides about $1.139 million for expande…
- More food and lodging safety inspections: benefit, low. The law provides $78,606 in state funds to increase inspections of food and lodging businesses. The increased oversight applies to businesses, not new duties for households. The provision does not state how many additional inspections occur.
- More funding for health provider payments: benefit, low. The law funds about $31.191 million in required inflation adjustments for Medicaid and Medicare providers. That includes about $14.072 million in state funds and $17.119 million in federal spending authority. It also funds 1.4% discretionary provider adjustments across social service programs, usin…
- More support for hospitals and clinics: benefit, low. The law adds $2.8 million for critical access hospitals and about $6.908 million for federally qualified community health centers. Hospital funding includes about $1.381 million in state funds and $1.419 million in federal spending authority. The funding supports providers, but does not specify cha…
- New grants for opioid treatment services: benefit, low. The law authorizes $9 million from other funds for grants addressing critical service needs tied to opioid misuse. Grants can establish or expand prevention, treatment, and services addressing related risks and harm. The provision does not set household eligibility or individual payment amounts.
- Trust fund money supports school aid: benefit, low. The Treasurer must transfer Dakota Cement Trust Fund money to the general fund for state school aid. The Treasurer must also transfer Education Enhancement Trust Fund money for school aid and Board of Regents college scholarship grants. The amounts depend on notices from the state investment office…
- State hemp oversight program ends: benefit, low. The law ends South Dakota's state hemp regulatory program. It removes $350,000 in state funding, $38,000 in other spending authority, and three full-time-equivalent positions. Hemp businesses formerly covered by the program lose that layer of state oversight. The provision does not specify replacem…
- Pierre prison center closes permanently: cost, low. The law permanently closes the Pierre Minimum Center. It removes about $1.230 million in state funding authority and six full-time-equivalent positions. It also cuts about $2.398 million from Women's Prison medical services because the center is being decommissioned. The law does not state where re…
- Less federal money for broadband grants: cost, low. The law cuts $20 million in federal spending authority for South Dakota broadband grants tied to expiring federal infrastructure grants. The reduction applies to grant authority through June 30, 2027. It does not specify changes to household payments or broadband eligibility.

## Sponsors and cosponsors

- (none)

## Roll call votes

| Date | Chamber | Motion | Result | Yes | No | Other |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2026-03-12 | House | Do Pass | pass | 50 | 17 |   |
| 2026-03-12 | Senate | Do Pass | pass | 25 | 9 |   |
| 2026-03-11 | legislature | Do Pass | pass | 13 | 5 |   |

## Actions (10)

- 2026-03-30: Signed by the Governor (House)
- 2026-03-12: Delivered to the Governor (House)
- 2026-03-12: Signed by the President (Senate)
- 2026-03-12: Signed by the Speaker (House)
- 2026-03-12: Do Pass (Senate)
- 2026-03-12: Table amendment (Senate)
- 2026-03-12: First read in Senate and referral to committee waived pursuant to JR 6D-1 (Senate)
- 2026-03-12: Do Pass (House)
- 2026-03-12: First read in House and referral to committee waived pursuant to JR 6D-1 (House)
- 2026-03-11: Do Pass (legislature)

## Bill text

- Introduced, 2026-03-11: [PDF](https://mylrc.sdlegislature.gov/api/Documents/306741.pdf)

## Related bills

- HB 1245: authorize municipalities to establish a local funding mechanism for capital improvement projects. (signed)
- HB 1193: modify the provisions for a refund of taxes to disabled veterans and surviving spouses under certain property tax relief programs. (signed)
- HB 1149: adopt the athletic trainer licensure compact. (signed)
- HB 1148: adopt the respiratory care interstate compact. (signed)
- HB 1051: revise property tax levies for school districts and to revise the state aid to general and special education formulas. (signed)
- HB 1082: establish parameters for the reimbursement of school districts that provide free or reduced-price meals to students. (signed)

## Sources
- [Introduced (PDF)](https://mylrc.sdlegislature.gov/api/Documents/306741.pdf)

## Related
- [HB 1245: authorize municipalities to establish a local funding mechanism for capital imp…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1245-2026)
- [HB 1193: modify the provisions for a refund of taxes to disabled veterans and surviving…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1193-2026)
- [HB 1149: adopt the athletic trainer licensure compact.](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1149-2026)
- [HB 1148: adopt the respiratory care interstate compact.](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1148-2026)
- [HB 1051: revise property tax levies for school districts and to revise the state aid to…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1051-2026)
- [HB 1082: establish parameters for the reimbursement of school districts that provide fre…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1082-2026)
- [South Dakota bills](https://policyrisk.com/states/south-dakota/bills)
- [South Dakota state hub](https://policyrisk.com/states/south-dakota)
- [All state legislation](https://policyrisk.com/state-bills)

Source: PRIA, https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1326-2026 (as of 2026-10-12).
