# South Dakota SB 78: revise the General Appropriations Act for fiscal year 2026.

South Dakota SB 78, revise the General Appropriations Act for fiscal year 2026., is a 101st South Dakota Legislature (2026) Senate bill sponsored by no sponsor on record; status signed, last action 2026-03-30 (Signed by the Governor) (as of 2026-10-19).

- Canonical: https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-SB78-2026
- As of: 2026-10-19
- Plain-text twin of the page above; the HTML and this file carry the same facts.

## Facts
- Bill: South Dakota SB 78
- State: South Dakota
- Session: 101st South Dakota Legislature (2026)
- Title: revise the General Appropriations Act for fiscal year 2026.
- Status: signed
- Chamber: Senate
- Introduced: 2026-01-13
- Last action: 2026-03-30, Signed by the Governor
- Sponsors: no sponsor on record
- Cosponsors: 0
- Subjects: Appropriation, Executive/Judiciary Request, Transfer of Moneys, Uncodified Acts
- Touches household money: no
- Roll calls: 4 (100 yes, 28 no in all)
- Economic provisions PRIA read: 50

## Summary

No summary available.

## Bill overview: provisions PRIA read

- Durfee prison keeps funds through 2028: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, Mike Durfee State Prison can keep specified unspent appropriations available through June 30, 2028. Only unspent funds and spending authority from subsection 2 of section 18 qualify. The caps are $1.128394 million in general funds and $3.690279 million in federal spending a…
- More funding for courts and policing: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 support for court security and law enforcement operations. The State Treasurer must transfer $1.5 million from the general fund to the court security fund. Law Enforcement Training receives $499,793 in federal operating funds, up from zero…
- More funding for emergency communications: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 operating funds for statewide emergency communications. The 911 Coordination Board's other-fund budget rises from about $4.40 million to $6.14 million. State Radio Engineering's general-fund budget rises from about $3.660 million to $3.672…
- National Guard receives more operating funds: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases South Dakota National Guard operating funds for fiscal year 2026. Army Guard general funds rise from about $2.63 million to $3.77 million; federal funds rise from $13.83 million to $17.57 million. Air Guard general funds rise from $335,697 to $342,242; fed…
- State parks receive more improvement funding: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 funding for state park development and improvements. Other-fund operating money rises from about $9.60 million to $12.10 million. The law does not name projects or specify changes in park fees or public access.
- State prisons receive more staffing funds: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases general-fund budgets for three prisons for fiscal year 2026. State Penitentiary staff funding rises from about $28.21 million to $28.97 million; operating funds rise from $9.79 million to $9.90 million. Its authorized staffing rises from 317 to 327 full-ti…
- Veterans cemetery receives more operating funding: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 operating funding for the South Dakota State Veterans' Cemetery. Other-fund operating money rises from $10,000 to $100,475. The law does not create a household payment or change cemetery eligibility.
- Deaf services receive more operating support: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 funding for South Dakota Services for the Deaf. Other-fund staff money rises from $3,912 to $28,912. General-fund operating money rises from $728,996 to $732,634. Other-fund operating money rises from $464,711 to $964,711. The law does not…
- More funding for developmental disability services: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 General Fund operating support for developmental disability services rises from about $134.89 million to $143.44 million. The program also receives about $163.35 million in federal funds and $11.43 million in Other Funds. Redfield Developmental Center General Fund op…
- More money for tobacco prevention programs: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota increases FY2026 Tobacco Prevention operating funding from Other Funds. Funding rises from about $2.02 million to $2.22 million. The law does not specify a new household benefit, eligibility rule, or service level.
- Veterans' home funding and spending time grow: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the State Veterans' Home receives $936,814 in new FY2026 General Fund operating money. Its Other Funds operating money rises from about $3.74 million to $3.93 million. Veterans' Affairs can also keep up to $16.696564 million in unspent General Fund money through June 30, 20…
- More funding for blind students' school: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the School for the Blind and Visually Impaired receives more FY2026 operating funding. General Fund money rises from $643,611 to $649,659. Other Funds money rises from $163,108 to $263,108. The law does not change household eligibility or benefit amounts.
- Agriculture and water offices receive more funding: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 Agriculture and Natural Resources funding. Department administration federal operating funds rise from about $1.27 million to $2.27 million. Office of Water other-fund staff money rises from about $1.19 million to $1.74 million. Its genera…
- Economic development office receives more funding: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases the economic development office's operating budget for fiscal year 2026. General funds rise from about $1.37 million to $1.67 million. Federal funds rise from about $28.68 million to $44.05 million. This funds office operations, not a new household payment…
- More money for state building upkeep: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 funding for statewide maintenance and the State Engineer. Maintenance and repair general-fund operating money rises from about $13.50 million to $24.71 million. The State Engineer's other-fund operating money rises from $385,946 to $419,95…
- Public broadcasting gains funding and time: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, public broadcasting's FY2026 General Fund staff money rises from about $3.99 million to $4.25 million. Other Funds staff money is about $1.34 million. Operating funding is about $1.63 million from the General Fund, $3.64 million in federal funds, and $2.92 million in Other…
- Revenue programs get more operating funds: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases Revenue Department operating funds for fiscal year 2026. Business Tax receives $292,000 in general funds, up from zero. Property Taxes general funds rise from $270,493 to $418,813. Motor Vehicles other funds rise from about $9.02 million to $9.20 million.…
- State agencies can keep unspent funding: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, state agencies can carry this Act's unspent FY2026 appropriations into FY2027. Only money appropriated by this Act and still unspent at the end of FY2026 qualifies. The provision gives no total dollar amount and does not change household program eligibility.
- State compensation pools receive more funding: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law revises fiscal year 2026 funding for state employee compensation and billing pools. General-fund operating money rises from about $1.80 million to $2.55 million. The budget also provides about $1.90 million in federal funds and $4.71 million in other funds. These fu…
- State offices receive modest funding increases: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 general-fund support for three state offices. Hearing Examiners operating money rises from $90,886 to $97,263. Secretary of State operating money rises from $577,781 to $602,581. Legislative Operations funding rises from about $9.458 milli…
- State personnel offices receive more funding: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 other-fund budgets for state personnel and support operations. Central Services operating money rises from about $20.09 million to $20.49 million. Personnel Management and Employee Benefits operating money rises from about $3.60 million to…
- State technology gets modernization and operations funding: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the State Treasurer must transfer $10 million from the general fund to the technology modernization fund. Fiscal year 2026 other-fund operating money for data centers rises from about $8.68 million to $10.62 million. Technology development funding rises from about $2.49 mil…
- Unclaimed property office receives more funding: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law adds $112,500 to fiscal year 2026 Unclaimed Property Operations funding. General-fund operating money rises from $801,675 to $914,175. The law does not change who can claim property or set a new payment amount.
- Health department receives more administrative funding: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases the Health Department's fiscal year 2026 general-fund administration budget. Staff funding rises from about $1.69 million to $2.35 million. Operating money rises from about $1.92 million to $2.22 million. The law does not specify changes in household benef…
- More funding for economic assistance programs: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 operating funding increases for South Dakota's Economic Assistance program. General Fund money rises to about $21.60 million, and federal money rises to about $116.91 million. The law does not change benefit amounts, eligibility, or requirements for recipients.
- Social service agencies add administrative staffing: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law updates fiscal year 2026 administration budgets for Social Services and Human Services. Social Services staff funds total about $7.65 million general and $9.15 million federal; operating funds total $9.81 million general and $14.87 million federal. Its authorized st…
- More funding for colleges and universities: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases FY2026 funding for technical colleges and the Board of Regents Central Office. Technical college operating funds rise from about $41.91 million to $49.28 million. Central Office operating funds rise from about $20.17 million to $39.62 million. Both increas…
- More funding for farm research and outreach: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 funding increases for South Dakota State University Extension and the Agricultural Experiment Station. Extension staff funding rises to about $6.03 million in federal funds and $1.61 million in Other Funds. Its federal operating money rises to about $4.85 million. Th…
- More operating money for two universities: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, two South Dakota universities receive more FY2026 operating money. School of Mines General Fund support rises from about $1.56 million to $1.77 million. Its Other Funds support rises from about $19.65 million to $20.65 million. Dakota State's General Fund support rises from…
- More school resources and education transfers: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 sparsity-payment funding for eligible school districts rises from about $2.616 million to $2.631 million. Federal Education Resources operating funds rise from about $229.68 million to $230.06 million. The Treasurer must also transfer Dakota Cement Trust Fund money t…
- More staff funding at State University: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota State University's FY2026 staff funding from Other Funds rises from about $102.64 million to $104.23 million. General Fund operating money rises from about $7.03 million to $7.60 million. Other Funds operating money rises from about $84.37 million to $90.53 mil…
- Unemployment system receives new modernization money: benefit, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the Treasurer must transfer $3.1 million from the General Fund to the Reemployment Assistance Modernization Fund. The money supports modernization of South Dakota's unemployment assistance system. The transfer itself does not change benefit amounts or who qualifies.
- Agriculture and conservation funding decreases: cost, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, Agricultural and Environmental Services' FY2026 Other Funds staff money falls from about $3.64 million to $3.09 million. Its operating funding is about $4.28 million in federal funds and $2.08 million in Other Funds. Resource Conservation and Forestry's General Fund operati…
- Juvenile community corrections funding falls: cost, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota reduces FY2026 operating funding for Juvenile Community Corrections. General Fund money falls from about $12.52 million to $11.10 million. Federal money falls from about $1.77 million to $1.44 million. The law does not specify individual service or eligibility…
- State courts receive less operating money: cost, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota reduces FY2026 General Fund operating money for the Unified Judicial System. Funding falls from about $6.95 million to $6.69 million. The provision does not specify changes to legal rights, court costs, or access to court services.
- Blind services lose funding and staffing: cost, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 funding decreases for South Dakota Service to the Blind and Visually Impaired. General Fund and federal money decrease for staff and operating costs. Authorized staffing falls from 29.2 to 28.2 full-time-equivalent positions. The supplied provision gives no revised d…
- Children's services receive less operating money: cost, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 funding decreases for South Dakota's Children's Services program. Federal staff funding falls from about $12.33 million to $12.29 million. Operating money falls to about $52.61 million from the General Fund and $41.15 million in federal funds. The law does not specif…
- Less funding for Medicaid medical services: cost, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 operating funding falls for South Dakota's Medical Services program, which includes Medicaid. General Fund money falls to about $384.75 million, a reduction of about $6.96 million. Federal money falls to about $889.46 million, a reduction of about $7.44 million. The…
- Labor department loses federal operating money: cost, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota reduces FY2026 federal operating funding for Labor and Regulation administration. Funding falls from about $9.81 million to $8.95 million. The provision does not identify a specific household program, eligibility change, or service reduction.
- Less funding for South Dakota scholarships: cost, low. Effective June 29, 2026, the law reduces state funding for South Dakota Scholarships in fiscal year 2026. Funding falls from about $6.57 million to $6.51 million, a cut of $62,284. The provision does not specify changes to individual awards, who qualifies, or the number of students receiving schola…
- Less state aid for public schools: cost, low. Effective June 29, 2026, the law reduces South Dakota’s state funding for general public school aid in fiscal year 2026. Funding falls from about $619.83 million to $604.27 million, a cut of about $15.56 million. The law does not specify changes to services or costs for individual school districts…
- Criminal investigations receive more federal funding: mixed, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law shifts fiscal year 2026 funding for the Attorney General's Criminal Investigation program. Federal staff funds rise from about $1.25 million to $1.71 million; federal operating funds rise from $3.40 million to $4.27 million. Other-fund staff money falls from about $…
- Highway Patrol staff funds rise, operations fall: mixed, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota changes the Highway Patrol's FY2026 federal funding. Federal staff money rises from about $1.79 million to $2.05 million. Federal operating money falls from about $2.52 million to $2.40 million. The law does not specify changes to patrol services.
- Inmate services gain funds, lose staffing: mixed, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the law shifts fiscal year 2026 general funds within South Dakota Inmate Services. Staff funding falls from about $20.61 million to $18.95 million. Operating funds rise from about $24.53 million to $26.53 million. Authorized staffing falls from 197.9 to 177.9 full-time equi…
- Behavioral health funding shifts, staffing falls: mixed, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota changes FY2026 behavioral health funding and staffing. General Fund staff money falls to about $42.50 million, and operating money falls to about $94.50 million. Other Funds operating money rises to about $13.05 million. Authorized staffing falls from 554 to 55…
- Long-term care funding rises, staffing shifts: mixed, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota increases FY2026 operating funding for Long Term Services and Supports. Operating money rises to about $161.11 million from the General Fund, $193.88 million in federal funds, and $1.33 million in Other Funds. General Fund staff funding falls to about $3.49 mil…
- Fair and tourism budgets favor staffing: mixed, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the State Fair and Tourism Department shift FY2026 Other Funds money toward staff costs. Fair staff funding rises from about $1.54 million to $1.72 million; operating funding falls from $3.36 million to $3.18 million. Tourism staff funding rises from about $2.76 million to…
- State legal services change funding sources: mixed, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, the Attorney General's Legal Services program changes its FY2026 staff funding sources. Federal money rises from $468,327 to $708,009. Other Funds money falls from about $2.53 million to $2.29 million. The combined staff funding stays unchanged, with no new household paymen…
- Transportation staffing grows as operating funds fall: mixed, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota shifts FY2026 transportation funding from operations to staff costs. Other Funds staff money rises from about $88.24 million to $89.06 million. Other Funds operating money falls from about $117.96 million to $117.14 million. Authorized staffing rises from 1,014…
- University budgets shift staff and operations: mixed, low. Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 budgets shift at three universities and the University of South Dakota's medical school. At South Dakota, Other Funds staff money rises from about $59.92 million to $60.27 million; General Fund operations fall from $4.43 million to $4.12 million, while Other Funds op…

## Sponsors and cosponsors

- (none)

## Roll call votes

| Date | Chamber | Motion | Result | Yes | No | Other |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2026-03-12 | Senate | Do Pass Amended | pass | 26 | 8 |   |
| 2026-03-12 | House | Do Pass Amended | pass | 52 | 15 |   |
| 2026-03-11 | legislature | Do Pass Amended | pass | 13 | 5 |   |
| 2026-02-17 | Senate | Referred to | pass | 9 | 0 |   |

## Actions (14)

- 2026-03-30: Signed by the Governor (Senate)
- 2026-03-12: Delivered to the Governor (Senate)
- 2026-03-12: Signed by the Speaker (House)
- 2026-03-12: Signed by the President (Senate)
- 2026-03-12: Do Pass Amended (House)
- 2026-03-12: First read in House and referral to committee waived pursuant to JR 6D-1 (House)
- 2026-03-12: Do Pass Amended (Senate)
- 2026-03-11: Do Pass Amended (legislature)
- 2026-03-11: Motion to amend (legislature)
- 2026-03-11: Scheduled for hearing (legislature)
- 2026-03-10: Scheduled for hearing (legislature)
- 2026-03-09: Scheduled for hearing (legislature)
- 2026-02-17: Referred to (Senate)
- 2026-01-13: First read in Senate and referred to (Senate)

## Bill text

- Introduced, 2026-01-09: [PDF](https://mylrc.sdlegislature.gov/api/Documents/306732.pdf)

## Related bills

- HB 1245: authorize municipalities to establish a local funding mechanism for capital improvement projects. (signed)
- HB 1193: modify the provisions for a refund of taxes to disabled veterans and surviving spouses under certain property tax relief programs. (signed)
- HB 1148: adopt the respiratory care interstate compact. (signed)
- HB 1149: adopt the athletic trainer licensure compact. (signed)
- HB 1051: revise property tax levies for school districts and to revise the state aid to general and special education formulas. (signed)
- HB 1082: establish parameters for the reimbursement of school districts that provide free or reduced-price meals to students. (signed)

## Sources
- [Introduced (PDF)](https://mylrc.sdlegislature.gov/api/Documents/306732.pdf)

## Related
- [HB 1245: authorize municipalities to establish a local funding mechanism for capital imp…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1245-2026)
- [HB 1193: modify the provisions for a refund of taxes to disabled veterans and surviving…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1193-2026)
- [HB 1148: adopt the respiratory care interstate compact.](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1148-2026)
- [HB 1149: adopt the athletic trainer licensure compact.](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1149-2026)
- [HB 1051: revise property tax levies for school districts and to revise the state aid to…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1051-2026)
- [HB 1082: establish parameters for the reimbursement of school districts that provide fre…](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-HB1082-2026)
- [South Dakota bills](https://policyrisk.com/states/south-dakota/bills)
- [South Dakota state hub](https://policyrisk.com/states/south-dakota)
- [All state legislation](https://policyrisk.com/state-bills)

Source: PRIA, https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/SD-SB78-2026 (as of 2026-10-19).
