# Utah H.B. 2: New Fiscal Year Supplemental Appropriations

Utah H.B. 2, New Fiscal Year Supplemental Appropriations, is a 2026 General Session House bill sponsored by Val L. Peterson (Republican); status signed, last action 2026-03-26 (Governor Signed) (as of 2026-10-19).

- Canonical: https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB2-2026GS
- As of: 2026-10-19
- Plain-text twin of the page above; the HTML and this file carry the same facts.

## Facts
- Bill: Utah H.B. 2
- State: Utah
- Session: 2026 General Session
- Title: New Fiscal Year Supplemental Appropriations
- Status: signed
- Chamber: House
- Introduced: 2026-03-01
- Last action: 2026-03-26, Governor Signed
- Sponsor: Val L. Peterson (Republican)
- Cosponsors: 1
- Subjects: Department of Agriculture and Food, Public Funds and Accounts, Public Budgeting, Business, Department of Commerce, Economic Development, Department of Financial Institutions, Education, Higher Education, Environment, Department of Environmental Quality, Natural Resources, Department of Natural Resources, Health and Human Services, Department of Workforce Services, Workforce Services, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services, Department of Corrections, Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice, Veterans and Military Affairs, Legislative Operations, Legislative Organization, Department of Public Safety, Department of Government Operations, Government Operations (State Issues), State Tax Commission, Revenue and Taxation, Transportation, Department of Transportation, Department of Health and Human Services, Appropriations, Cultural and Community Engagement, Agriculture & Food, Department of Cultural and Community Engagement, Department of Veterans and Military Affairs, Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity
- Touches household money: no
- Roll calls: 4 (93 yes, 6 no in all)
- Economic provisions PRIA read: 27

## Summary

No summary available.

## Bill overview: provisions PRIA read

- More funding for Utah water systems: benefit, medium. The law provides $17.4365 million for drinking-water administration, federal drinking-water programs, system assistance, and the revolving fund. A separate drinking-water fund receives $57.0636 million: $50.3086 million in one-time federal funds and $6.755 million in interest income. The water-qual…
- Tuition help for National Guard members: benefit, low. The law provides $1.6 million from the Income Tax Fund for Utah National Guard tuition assistance. The funding covers July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. The program serves eligible Utah National Guard members. This provision does not state individual award amounts or detailed eligibility rules.
- More loan funding for small businesses: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, the law directs two business-financing grants for FY 2027. Nucleus Institute receives $500,000 to provide small, non-recourse loans to qualifying businesses. These loans support businesses preparing for future financing from traditional lenders. The Utah Micro Loan Fund rece…
- More training and help for businesses: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, the law funds business-support grants for FY 2027. Five County Association of Governments receives $175,000 for rural and agricultural businesses' online sales training. Utah Industry Resource Alliance receives $1.4 million to help manufacturers and rural businesses improve…
- Funding helps build the Pioneer Trail: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, the law directs a $5 million grant to the Pioneer Trail Foundation for FY 2027. The money supports construction of the Pioneer Trail. The provision does not set user fees or provide direct household payments.
- Funding improves children's science center facilities: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, the law directs a $2 million grant to Thanksgiving Point for FY 2027. The grant pays for rebuilding and constructing facilities for the Children's Technology and Science Center. It does not provide direct household payments or state changes to admission costs.
- Funding supports Washington County shuttle riders: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, the law directs a $300,000 grant to Washington County for FY 2027. The grant supports the Route 9 Regional Shuttle Service. The provision does not set fares, require service increases, or establish a direct rider subsidy.
- Rural health funding needs federal approval: benefit, low. The law directs rural health funding of up to $12.5 million to Public Safety and $11 million to Agriculture and Food. It directs up to $4.2 million to Environmental Quality for arsenic treatment in Ukon Water Company's system. It also directs up to $700,000 for sulfate treatment in Kane County Wate…
- More funding for agricultural student programs: benefit, low. For FY 2027, the Department of Agriculture and Food awards $695,300 to the Utah FFA Association. The grant supports an agricultural advisor mentor, membership dues, the Agricultural Experience Tracker, and leadership programs. The money goes to the association for these purposes, not directly to ho…
- More funding for Utah Olympic athletes: benefit, low. For budget year 2027, the law directs the Utah Sports Commission to give Run Elite an additional $200,000 grant. The money supports Olympic-level athlete development in Utah and program operations.
- More funding for autism care programs: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, the Insurance Department receives $9 million for its autism coverage program. That amount includes $6.779 million plus $2.221 million in one-time funding from the State Mandated Insurer Payments Restricted Account. The law also transfers $250,000 from the beginning fund bala…
- More money for Utah's Medicaid fund: benefit, low. The law provides $81.5629 million to the Medicaid ACA Fund. This appropriation supports the fund rather than giving enrollees a direct payment. The provision does not state changes to eligibility, covered services, individual benefits, or household costs.
- Counties get money for local appraisals: benefit, low. For budget year 2027, the Utah Association of Counties gets a $500,000 grant for local appraisal work. The law directs the Governor's Office of Planning and Budget to provide the award. It funds appraisal work, not household payments or a stated property tax change.
- Money reserved for unemployment system upgrades: benefit, low. The law reserves $72,600 from the Unemployment Compensation Fund's administration funding for one-time unemployment insurance system upgrades. The state cannot use this money for other purposes. This rule does not change benefit amounts or who qualifies.
- More funding for career training colleges: benefit, low. For FY 2027, Dixie Technical College receives $1.248 million, and Mountainland receives $2.3845 million for general programs. Ogden-Weber receives $2.5358 million for general programs. Salt Lake Community College receives $3.4049 million for career training, and Snow College receives $301,600. Sout…
- More funding for Utah college programs: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, Utah Tech receives $700,000 for instruction, including $200,000 in one-time funds. Utah Valley receives $1.168 million: $500,000 for instruction and $668,000 for public service. Weber State receives $1 million for instruction. Southern Utah receives $4.3179 million for gener…
- More support for women in technology: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, the Women Tech Council gets a $250,000 grant for budget year 2027. The money supports its operations, education, and career opportunities encouraging women in technology. The law does not set individual payments or eligibility.
- Southwest Tech gets ongoing funding support: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, $55,200 in Southwest Technical College funding becomes ongoing instead of one-time. The total amount shown does not change. The law does not set a student payment or change student costs.
- Utah researchers get shared artificial intelligence center: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, the University of Utah gets $15 million in one-time Income Tax Fund money. It funds a dedicated artificial intelligence research data center shared by Utah public colleges and researchers. The money must be used equally over three years: $5 million each year. This funds rese…
- Weber State gets manufacturing training money: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, the law directs a $1.1 million grant to Weber State University for budget year 2027. The grant supports workforce training with Hill Air Force Base in modern and advanced manufacturing. The law does not set participant payments, training costs, or individual eligibility.
- Funding to attract and connect businesses: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, the law directs two economic-development grants for FY 2027. Economic Development Corporation of Utah receives $250,000 to attract businesses and help local businesses. Utah Consular Corps receives $30,000 to support collaboration between business partners and local governme…
- Small business loan funds remain available: benefit, low. USBCI Loan Program funds can remain available after budget year 2027 ends on June 30, 2027. Carried-forward money must still serve the same purpose allowed in that budget year. The law does not state the amount carried forward or change individual loan amounts or terms.
- Tax credits authorized for rural filming: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, Utah can issue up to $3 million total in Rural Film Incentive Program tax credit certificates. The Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity issues the certificates for eligible program applicants. The law does not state each applicant's credit amount or a formula for calcul…
- Homelessness funding requires equal local support: mixed, low. For FY 2027, the law provides $5.0719 million in one-time and $9.4216 million in ongoing Phase II homelessness funding. The department can spend these funds only when local governments provide an equal match. The same match requirement applies to homelessness funding for people who frequently use t…
- Homelessness funding requires equal local support: mixed, low. Beginning July 1, 2026, shelter and housing get $9.4448 million one-time and $2.4942 million ongoing. Homelessness-related mental and behavioral health services get $7.8 million one-time and $1.0769 million ongoing. The state can spend these funds only when local governments provide an equal match.…
- St. George shelter funding has conditions: mixed, low. For budget year 2027, the law allocates $480,000 in federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families funds to St. George Family Shelter operations. The Office of Homeless Services handles the funding. Funds must be available, and Switchpoint Community Resource Center must qualify to receive them. Th…
- Salt Lake college funding falls overall: mixed, low. For budget year 2027, Salt Lake Community College loses $102.507 million in one-time General Fund money and $2.0975 million in Income Tax Fund money. It gains $102.2795 million in one-time Income Tax Fund money, leaving its Education and General funding down $2.325 million. Beginning July 1, 2026,…

## Sponsors and cosponsors

- Sponsor: Val L. Peterson (Republican), House
- Cosponsor: Jerry W Stevenson (Republican), Senate

## Roll call votes

| Date | Chamber | Motion | Result | Yes | No | Other |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2026-03-04 | Senate | Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension | pass | 25 | 0 |   |
| 2026-03-04 | Senate | Senate/ uncircled | fail | 0 | 0 |   |
| 2026-03-03 | House | House/ passed 3rd reading | pass | 68 | 6 |   |
| 2026-03-03 | Senate | Senate/ circled | fail | 0 | 0 |   |

## Actions (26)

- 2026-03-26: Governor Signed
- 2026-03-16: House/ to Governor (House)
- 2026-03-16: House/ received enrolled bill from Printing (House)
- 2026-03-13: House/ enrolled bill to Printing (House)
- 2026-03-13: Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
- 2026-03-06: Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
- 2026-03-06: Bill Received from House for Enrolling
- 2026-03-04: House/ signed by Speaker/ sent for enrolling (House)
- 2026-03-04: House/ received from Senate (House)
- 2026-03-04: Senate/ to House (Senate)
- 2026-03-04: Senate/ signed by President/ returned to House (Senate)
- 2026-03-04: Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension (Senate)
- 2026-03-04: Senate/ uncircled (Senate)
- 2026-03-03: Senate/ circled (Senate)
- 2026-03-03: Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension (Senate)
- 2026-03-03: Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced) (Senate)
- 2026-03-03: Senate/ received from House (Senate)
- 2026-03-03: House/ to Senate (House)
- 2026-03-03: House/ passed 3rd reading (House)
- 2026-03-03: House/ 3rd reading (House)
- 2026-03-03: House/ received fiscal note from Fiscal Analyst (House)
- 2026-03-02: House/ 2nd reading (House)
- 2026-03-02: House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar (House)
- 2026-03-02: House/ 1st reading (Introduced) (House)
- 2026-03-02: House/ received bill from Legislative Research (House)
- 2026-03-01: Numbered Bill Publicly Distributed

## Bill text

- Enrolled, 2026-03-13: [PDF](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2026/bills/enrolled/HB0002.pdf)
- Introduced, 2026-03-01: [PDF](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2026/bills/introduced/HB0002.pdf)

## Related bills

- H.B. 136: Unlicensed Driver Amendments (signed)
- H.B. 101: Firearm Background Check Amendments (signed)
- H.B. 134: Offender Transfer Amendments (signed)
- H.B. 178: School Zone Speeding Amendments (signed)
- H.B. 94: Criminal Accounts Receivable Amendments (signed)
- H.B. 220: Public Safety Data Amendments (signed)

## Sources
- [Enrolled (PDF)](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2026/bills/enrolled/HB0002.pdf)
- [Introduced (PDF)](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2026/bills/introduced/HB0002.pdf)

## Related
- [H.B. 136: Unlicensed Driver Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB136-2026GS)
- [H.B. 101: Firearm Background Check Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB101-2026GS)
- [H.B. 134: Offender Transfer Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB134-2026GS)
- [H.B. 178: School Zone Speeding Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB178-2026GS)
- [H.B. 94: Criminal Accounts Receivable Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB94-2026GS)
- [H.B. 220: Public Safety Data Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB220-2026GS)
- [Utah bills](https://policyrisk.com/states/utah/bills)
- [Utah state hub](https://policyrisk.com/states/utah)
- [All state legislation](https://policyrisk.com/state-bills)

Source: PRIA, https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB2-2026GS (as of 2026-10-19).
