# Utah H.B. 496: Revisor's Technical Corrections to Utah Code

Utah H.B. 496, Revisor's Technical Corrections to Utah Code, is a 2025 General Session House bill sponsored by Moss, Jefferson; status signed, last action 2025-03-25 (Governor Signed); PRIA reads it as touching household money (as of 2026-10-17).

- Canonical: https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB496-2025GS
- As of: 2026-10-17
- Plain-text twin of the page above; the HTML and this file carry the same facts.

## Facts
- Bill: Utah H.B. 496
- State: Utah
- Session: 2025 General Session
- Title: Revisor's Technical Corrections to Utah Code
- Status: signed
- Chamber: House
- Introduced: 2025-02-13
- Last action: 2025-03-25, Governor Signed
- Sponsor: Moss, Jefferson
- Cosponsors: 1
- Subjects: Revisor Legislation, Legislative Operations, Sunsets and Repealers
- Touches household money: yes
- Roll calls: 9 (120 yes, 0 no in all)
- Economic provisions PRIA read: 24

## Summary

No summary available.

## Bill overview: provisions PRIA read

- Disorderly conduct pleas change firearm classification: benefit, low. Utah law excludes specified disorderly conduct convictions or adjudications from its stated federal misdemeanor domestic-violence classification. The outcome must result from a plea agreement after an original charge for a covered domestic-violence offense. This provision addresses classification,…
- More time for property tax relief: benefit, low. Counties must give qualifying property tax deferral or abatement applicants one extra year to apply. Applicants qualify through a prior-year deferral approval or a county finding of hardship. Grounds include illness or injury preventing filing, an immediate family member's death during the deadline…
- Students receive school activity eligibility notices: benefit, low. Athletic associations must notify Utah's commission when a student needs its eligibility decision for a gender-designated interscholastic activity. This applies when the activity's designation differs from the student's birth-certificate sex designation or the student reports a gender transition. A…
- Council directs Great Salt Lake spending: benefit, low. The Division of Forestry, Fire, and State Lands must use specified deposited money for the Great Salt Lake. The Great Salt Lake Advisory Council directs that use under the referenced law. No dollar amount is stated.
- Volunteer emergency workers' insurance program ends: cost, medium. Utah ends its Volunteer Emergency Medical Service Personnel Health Insurance Program on July 1, 2027. This ends the statutory insurance program for eligible volunteers. The supplied text does not explain coverage transitions for current participants.
- Families' education savings incentive program ends: cost, medium. Utah's Education Savings Incentive Program ends July 1, 2028. Participating households lose access to this statutory program. The supplied text does not state incentive amounts or transition rules.
- Future teachers' loans and stipends end: cost, medium. The Terrel H. Bell Teaching Incentive Loans program ends July 1, 2027. Its repealed rules cover eligibility, loan cancellation, and repayment when recipients do not meet program requirements. The Stipends for Future Educators Grant Program ends July 1, 2028. The supplied text does not explain how e…
- Veterans' free state park pilot ends: cost, low. The pilot giving veterans free Utah state park admission ends July 1, 2025. Veterans no longer receive free admission through this program. The repeal does not specify replacement discounts.
- Patient record fees track inflation: cost, low. The Utah State Treasurer adjusts specified patient record fees for inflation each January 1. This includes the maximum charge for an electronic copy. The Treasurer must certify the adjusted amounts by January 30.
- State workers' infant workplace pilot ends: cost, low. Utah's Infant at Work Pilot Program ends June 30, 2026. Participating state employees lose this program's option to bring infants to work. The repeal does not specify a replacement or compensation.
- Road rage prevention funding account ends: cost, low. The Road Rage Awareness and Prevention Restricted Account ends July 1, 2028. The supplied text does not state its funding level or identify supported projects and recipients.
- School drinking water provision ends: cost, low. The law repeals Utah's provision titled 'Drinking water quality in schools' on July 1, 2027. The supplied text does not describe its requirements. It therefore does not establish which school water practices or protections change.
- West Desert water study funding ends: cost, low. Beginning July 1, 2030, the required Land Exchange Distribution Account funding for specified West Desert water studies ends. The distribution supports Utah Geological Survey test wells and other hydrologic studies. The supplied text gives no amount or replacement funding.
- Local civics education pilot ends: cost, low. The Local Innovations Civics Education Pilot Program ends July 1, 2025. The supplied text does not identify participating schools, funding, or a replacement program.
- School energy and water pilot ends: cost, low. The pilot for managing energy and water use by education entities ends July 1, 2028. The supplied text does not state its funding or any effect on household utility bills.
- Teacher training grants and mentoring end: cost, low. The professional learning grant and elementary teacher preparation grant end July 1, 2025. The Mentoring and Supporting Teacher Excellence and Refinement Pilot Program ends July 1, 2028. The supplied text gives no award amounts or replacement programs.
- Autism account distribution duty removed: cost, low. The law removes this section's duty for the state superintendent to distribute Autism Awareness Restricted Account money. It does not state the account balance or how other laws handle the money.
- Airport weapon reporting requirement ends: mixed, low. Utah's airport dangerous-weapon-possession reporting requirement ends December 31, 2031. The supplied text does not identify who reports or what information they provide. The repeal concerns reporting, not a stated change to weapon-possession rules.
- Chapter standards and enforcement provisions repealed: mixed, low. Effective May 7, 2025, the law repeals three provisions covering a chapter's purpose, basis for standards, and enforcement. The supplied text does not identify the chapter's subject. It also does not explain whether other standards or enforcement powers remain.
- Drug and alcohol evidence retention narrowed: mixed, low. The specified biological-evidence preservation requirement does not cover evidence collected solely for toxicology in covered impaired-driving investigations or prosecutions. The exception covers listed state offenses and similar local ordinances. It removes this preservation duty, rather than requ…
- Public safety network charge ends: mixed, low. The statutory charge provision for maintaining Utah's public safety communications network ends July 1, 2033. This removes the charge provision and its maintenance funding mechanism. The supplied text does not identify who pays, the amount, or replacement funding.
- Educator evaluation rules end in 2029: mixed, low. The educator evaluation provision and its joint committee end July 1, 2029. The repeal removes evaluation requirements along with related mentoring, review, and privacy provisions. The supplied text does not describe replacement rules or changes to individual educators' employment.
- State gains lake recovery property authority: mixed, low. The law expands what counts as public use for state action affecting Great Salt Lake mineral-recovery property. It covers removing or ending all or part of solar evaporation ponds, related property rights, and other recovery facilities. These facilities recover minerals or elements on or from the l…
- Estheticians' supervision shifts to laser procedures: mixed, low. For master-level estheticians, the specified supervision rule covers cosmetic laser procedures rather than the other procedures previously referenced. Covered procedures include hair removal, anti-aging resurfacing, photo rejuvenation, and tattoo removal. Cosmetic supervisors must stay within their…

## Sponsors and cosponsors

- Sponsor: Moss, Jefferson
- Cosponsor: Kirk A. Cullimore (Republican), Senate

## Roll call votes

| Date | Chamber | Motion | Result | Yes | No | Other |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2025-02-28 | Senate | Senate/ passed 3rd reading | pass | 25 | 0 |   |
| 2025-02-27 | Senate | Senate/ passed 2nd reading | pass | 25 | 0 |   |
| 2025-02-27 | Senate | Senate/ circled | fail | 0 | 0 |   |
| 2025-02-27 | Senate | Senate/ uncircled | fail | 0 | 0 |   |
| 2025-02-25 | House | House/ substituted | fail | 0 | 0 |   |
| 2025-02-25 | House | House/ passed 3rd reading | pass | 70 | 0 |   |
|   | House | House/ substituted | fail | 0 | 0 |   |
|   | Senate | Senate/ circled | fail | 0 | 0 |   |
|   | Senate | Senate/ uncircled | fail | 0 | 0 |   |

## Actions (30)

- 2025-03-25: Governor Signed
- 2025-03-17: House/ to Governor (House)
- 2025-03-17: House/ received enrolled bill from Printing (House)
- 2025-03-14: House/ enrolled bill to Printing (House)
- 2025-03-14: Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
- 2025-03-04: Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
- 2025-03-04: Bill Received from House for Enrolling
- 2025-02-28: House/ signed by Speaker/ sent for enrolling (House)
- 2025-02-28: House/ received from Senate (House)
- 2025-02-28: Senate/ to House (Senate)
- 2025-02-28: Senate/ signed by President/ returned to House (Senate)
- 2025-02-28: Senate/ passed 3rd reading (Senate)
- 2025-02-28: Senate/ 3rd reading (Senate)
- 2025-02-27: Senate/ passed 2nd reading (Senate)
- 2025-02-27: Senate/ uncircled (Senate)
- 2025-02-27: Senate/ circled (Senate)
- 2025-02-27: Senate/ 2nd reading (Senate)
- 2025-02-27: Senate/ Rules to 2nd Reading Calendar (Senate)
- 2025-02-26: Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced) (Senate)
- 2025-02-25: Senate/ received from House (Senate)
- 2025-02-25: House/ to Senate (House)
- 2025-02-25: House/ passed 3rd reading (House)
- 2025-02-25: House/ substituted (House)
- 2025-02-25: House/ 3rd reading (House)
- 2025-02-20: House/ 2nd reading (House)
- 2025-02-20: House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar (House)
- 2025-02-18: House/ received fiscal note from Fiscal Analyst (House)
- 2025-02-13: House/ 1st reading (Introduced) (House)
- 2025-02-13: House/ received bill from Legislative Research (House)
- 2025-02-13: Numbered Bill Publicly Distributed

## Bill text

- Enrolled, 2025-03-14: [PDF](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/enrolled/HB0496.pdf)
- Substitute #1, 2025-02-24: [PDF](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/introduced/HB0496S01.pdf)
- Introduced, 2025-02-13: [PDF](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/introduced/HB0496.pdf)

## Related bills

- S.B. 199: Guardianship Amendments (signed)
- H.B. 562: Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Amendments (signed)
- H.B. 493: Medical Examiner Amendments (signed)
- H.B. 482: Health and Human Services Reporting Requirements (signed)
- S.B. 197: Property Tax Amendments (vetoed)
- S.B. 3: Appropriations Adjustments (signed)

## Sources
- [Enrolled (PDF)](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/enrolled/HB0496.pdf)
- [Substitute #1 (PDF)](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/introduced/HB0496S01.pdf)
- [Introduced (PDF)](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/introduced/HB0496.pdf)

## Related
- [S.B. 199: Guardianship Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-SB199-2025GS)
- [H.B. 562: Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB562-2025GS)
- [H.B. 493: Medical Examiner Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB493-2025GS)
- [H.B. 482: Health and Human Services Reporting Requirements](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB482-2025GS)
- [S.B. 197: Property Tax Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-SB197-2025GS)
- [S.B. 3: Appropriations Adjustments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-SB3-2025GS)
- [Utah bills](https://policyrisk.com/states/utah/bills)
- [Utah state hub](https://policyrisk.com/states/utah)
- [All state legislation](https://policyrisk.com/state-bills)

Source: PRIA, https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB496-2025GS (as of 2026-10-17).
