# Utah H.B. 8: State Agency and Higher Education Compensation Appropriations

Utah H.B. 8, State Agency and Higher Education Compensation Appropriations, is a 2025 General Session House bill sponsored by Walt Brooks (Republican); status signed, last action 2025-03-25 (Governor Signed); PRIA reads it as touching household money (as of 2026-10-17).

- Canonical: https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB8-2025GS
- As of: 2026-10-17
- Plain-text twin of the page above; the HTML and this file carry the same facts.

## Facts
- Bill: Utah H.B. 8
- State: Utah
- Session: 2025 General Session
- Title: State Agency and Higher Education Compensation Appropriations
- Status: signed
- Chamber: House
- Introduced: 2025-01-24
- Last action: 2025-03-25, Governor Signed
- Sponsor: Walt Brooks (Republican)
- Cosponsors: 1
- Subjects: Health Insurance, Public Funds and Accounts, Public Budgeting, Education, Higher Education, Health and Human Services, Public Retirement and Insurance, Judicial Administration, Judicial Operations, Legislative Operations, Government Operations (State Issues), Appropriations, Public Employees' Health Program, Public Employees Insurance and Benefits, Public Employees Retirement
- Touches household money: yes
- Roll calls: 8 (94 yes, 1 no in all)
- Economic provisions PRIA read: 30

## Summary

No summary available.

## Bill overview: provisions PRIA read

- State workers get retirement matching funds: benefit, low. Eligible Utah state employees get a $26 employer retirement match each pay period. This applies from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The provision does not give further eligibility details or the number of pay periods.
- Utah sets governor and judge salaries: benefit, low. For July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, the Governor’s salary is $193,100. The law states an intended district court judge salary of $219,250. Other judicial and constitutional officers’ salaries follow existing legal formulas and round to the nearest $50. The provisions do not show changes from p…
- Utah funds alcohol law enforcement: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah provides $130,900 to the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act Enforcement Fund. The money comes from dedicated program revenue and includes one-time funding. This funds existing enforcement rather than creating new household duties or direct payments.
- Utah funds correctional industry operations: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah funds Utah Correctional Industries. The schedule lists 247,200 from dedicated program revenue, including one-time funding, without stating a unit. The appropriation does not change household payments, eligibility, or legal duties.
- Utah funds hazardous substance cleanup work: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah funds its Hazardous Substance Mitigation Fund. The schedule lists 5,600 from dedicated program revenue and interest, including one-time funding, without stating a unit. The provision does not identify cleanup locations or households receiving help.
- Utah funds heritage and arts programs: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah funds its Heritage and Arts Foundation Fund. The schedule lists 3,900 from dedicated program revenue and revenue transfers, without stating a unit. The provision does not set household eligibility or direct payments.
- Utah funds legal defense resources: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah transfers General Fund money to the Indigent Defense Resources Account. The schedule lists 93,200, including 6,300 in one-time funding, without stating a unit. Spending from the account requires an appropriation. The transfer does not change who qualifies for legal repr…
- Utah funds National Guard recreation: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah funds the National Guard Morale, Welfare, and Recreation Fund. The schedule lists 18,300 from dedicated program revenue, including one-time funding, without stating a unit. The provision does not change military benefit amounts or eligibility.
- Utah funds outdoor recreation facilities: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah provides $15,100 for its Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure Account. The money comes from interest and designated sales tax revenue and includes one-time funding. The provision does not name specific projects or create household payments.
- Utah funds river and salinity work: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah funds salinity-offset work and the Colorado River Authority’s restricted account. The schedule lists 3,900 in revenue transfers for the Salinity Offset Fund, including one-time funding. It also transfers 36,400 from the General Fund to the authority’s account, including…
- Utah funds the Navajo trust: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, the Utah Navajo Trust Fund receives $37,300 from Trust and Agency Funds. This includes $14,500 in one-time funding. The provision does not explain distribution rules, recipient eligibility, or direct household payments.
- Utah funds amusement ride safety: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah funds its Amusement Ride Safety program. The schedule lists 6,700, including money from the restricted Amusement Ride Safety Account, without stating a unit. The provision supports safety oversight and does not create household payments.
- Utah funds consumer and mortgage protections: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah funds consumer education and real estate and mortgage education, research, and recovery programs. The schedule lists 12,400 for consumer education from license and fee revenue, and 900 for the real estate fund. Mortgage programs receive a listed 8,900 from interest and…
- Utah funds brain and spinal injury support: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah funds its Brain and Spinal Cord Injury Fund. The schedule lists 11,100 from the General Fund and dedicated program revenue, including one-time funding, without stating a unit. The provision does not set eligibility rules, benefit amounts, or specific services.
- Utah funds disease prevention and readiness: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah provides about $2.10 million for public health programs. The money supports disease tracking, prevention, emergency readiness, public health systems, and work on emerging infections. The funding does not set individual payments or change eligibility.
- Utah funds family and youth services: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Children, Youth, & Families programs receive about $6.57 million. This supports child and family services, domestic violence services, and children with special health needs. Juvenile Justice & Youth Services receives about $3.87 million for secure care, youth services, and…
- Utah funds health care in corrections: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah provides about $1.65 million for Correctional Health Services. The money supports health care in correctional settings. It does not establish a new individual right to care or a household payment.
- Utah funds veterans nursing home services: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah provides $25,800 in federal money to the Veterans Nursing Home Fund. The allocation includes one-time funding. It does not change resident eligibility or set individual payment amounts.
- Utah funds beauty profession licensing programs: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah funds programs for cosmetologists, barbers, estheticians, and electrologists. The schedule lists 7,800 from license and fee revenue, including one-time funding, without stating a unit. The provision does not change license requirements or fee levels.
- Utah funds production and patient enterprises: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah funds its Qualified Production Enterprise and Qualified Patient Enterprise funds. The schedule lists 106,700 for the production fund and 83,200 for the patient fund, without stating units. Both use dedicated program revenue and include one-time funding. The provisions d…
- Utah funds public telecommunications support: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah funds its Universal Public Telecommunications Service Support program. The schedule lists 8,200 from dedicated program revenue, including one-time funding, without stating a unit. It does not identify households receiving assistance or set household payments.
- Utah funds road upkeep and transportation: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah funds road upkeep, construction, engineering, regional management, support services, and aeronautics. The schedule lists 4,819,200 for operations and upkeep, 1,090,900 for engineering, and 1,016,400 for Regions 1–4 management. It lists 575,400 for support services, incl…
- Utah funds state buildings and energy: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah provides $322,500 to its facilities construction and management division. The money supports administration, the Energy Program, and the Governor’s Residence. It does not create a direct household benefit.
- Utah funds support and debt collections: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, the Office of Recovery Services receives about $1.74 million. It supports child support, children-in-care collections, medical collections, and related operations. The State Debt Collection Fund receives a listed 55,500 in dedicated program revenue, including one-time fundin…
- Utah funds treasury and trust advocacy: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah provides $89,900 for money management, treasury investment, and unclaimed property operations. The Treasurer’s Advocacy Office also receives $10,000 from the Land Trusts Protection and Advocacy Account. That amount includes $5,000 in one-time funding. These allocations…
- Funding for Utah investor education: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, the law funds Utah’s securities investor education, training, and enforcement activities through licenses and fees. The listed amount is 7,900, including some one-time funding; the source does not state the unit. This appropriation does not set a direct household payment or…
- Funding for Utah’s education network: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah’s Education and Telehealth Network gets $602,700 for administration, teaching support, and technical services. Its Digital Teaching and Learning Program also gets $4,600 from the Income Tax Fund. These funds support program operations, not direct household payments. The…
- Funding for Utah farm loans: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, the law funds Utah’s Agriculture Loan Program. Money comes from the Agriculture Resource Development Fund and Utah Rural Rehabilitation Loan State Fund. The listed amount is 12,900, including some one-time funding; the source does not state the unit. This provision does not…
- Funding for Utah small business credit: benefit, low. Beginning July 1, 2025, the law funds Utah’s State Small Business Credit Initiative Program Fund using interest income. The listed amount is 8,100, including some one-time funding; the source does not state the unit. This provision does not set business eligibility, loan terms, or an amount each bu…
- Utah agency budgets gain and lose: mixed, low. For July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2025, the law adds about $18.96 million for operating and capital budgets. It also adds $74,900 for expendable funds, $219,400 for business-like activities, and $76,100 for restricted fund transfers. Some itemized agency budgets decrease even though the overall fu…

## Sponsors and cosponsors

- Sponsor: Walt Brooks (Republican), House
- Cosponsor: Scott D. Sandall (Republican), Senate

## Roll call votes

| Date | Chamber | Motion | Result | Yes | No | Other |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 2025-03-05 | Senate | Senate/ uncircled | fail | 0 | 0 |   |
| 2025-03-05 | Senate | Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension | pass | 21 | 1 |   |
| 2025-03-04 | House | House/ passed 3rd reading | pass | 73 | 0 |   |
| 2025-03-04 | House | House/ substituted | fail | 0 | 0 |   |
| 2025-03-04 | Senate | Senate/ circled | fail | 0 | 0 |   |
|   | Senate | Senate/ circled | fail | 0 | 0 |   |
|   | Senate | Senate/ uncircled | fail | 0 | 0 |   |
|   | House | House/ substituted | fail | 0 | 0 |   |

## Actions (27)

- 2025-03-25: Governor Signed
- 2025-03-17: House/ to Governor (House)
- 2025-03-17: House/ received enrolled bill from Printing (House)
- 2025-03-13: House/ enrolled bill to Printing (House)
- 2025-03-13: Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
- 2025-03-05: Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
- 2025-03-05: Bill Received from House for Enrolling
- 2025-03-05: House/ signed by Speaker/ sent for enrolling (House)
- 2025-03-05: House/ received from Senate (House)
- 2025-03-05: Senate/ to House (Senate)
- 2025-03-05: Senate/ signed by President/ returned to House (Senate)
- 2025-03-05: Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension (Senate)
- 2025-03-05: Senate/ uncircled (Senate)
- 2025-03-04: Senate/ circled (Senate)
- 2025-03-04: Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension (Senate)
- 2025-03-04: Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced) (Senate)
- 2025-03-04: Senate/ received from House (Senate)
- 2025-03-04: House/ to Senate (House)
- 2025-03-04: House/ passed 3rd reading (House)
- 2025-03-04: House/ substituted (House)
- 2025-03-04: House/ 3rd reading (House)
- 2025-03-03: House/ 2nd reading (House)
- 2025-03-03: House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar (House)
- 2025-01-31: House/ received fiscal note from Fiscal Analyst (House)
- 2025-01-27: House/ 1st reading (Introduced) (House)
- 2025-01-27: House/ received bill from Legislative Research (House)
- 2025-01-24: Numbered Bill Publicly Distributed

## Bill text

- Enrolled, 2025-03-13: [PDF](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/enrolled/HB0008.pdf)
- Substitute #2, 2025-03-03: [PDF](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/introduced/HB0008S02.pdf)
- Substitute #1, 2025-03-02: [PDF](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/introduced/HB0008S01.pdf)
- Introduced, 2025-01-24: [PDF](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/introduced/HB0008.pdf)

## Related bills

- S.B. 199: Guardianship Amendments (signed)
- H.B. 562: Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Amendments (signed)
- H.B. 493: Medical Examiner Amendments (signed)
- H.B. 482: Health and Human Services Reporting Requirements (signed)
- S.B. 197: Property Tax Amendments (vetoed)
- S.B. 3: Appropriations Adjustments (signed)

## Sources
- [Enrolled (PDF)](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/enrolled/HB0008.pdf)
- [Substitute #2 (PDF)](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/introduced/HB0008S02.pdf)
- [Substitute #1 (PDF)](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/introduced/HB0008S01.pdf)
- [Introduced (PDF)](https://le.utah.gov/Session/2025/bills/introduced/HB0008.pdf)

## Related
- [S.B. 199: Guardianship Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-SB199-2025GS)
- [H.B. 562: Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB562-2025GS)
- [H.B. 493: Medical Examiner Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB493-2025GS)
- [H.B. 482: Health and Human Services Reporting Requirements](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB482-2025GS)
- [S.B. 197: Property Tax Amendments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-SB197-2025GS)
- [S.B. 3: Appropriations Adjustments](https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-SB3-2025GS)
- [Utah bills](https://policyrisk.com/states/utah/bills)
- [Utah state hub](https://policyrisk.com/states/utah)
- [All state legislation](https://policyrisk.com/state-bills)

Source: PRIA, https://policyrisk.com/state-bill/UT-HB8-2025GS (as of 2026-10-17).
