(a) An individual may not hold himself or herself out to the public as a professional bondsman or a professional surety bondsman, operate as a recovery agent, or use any term, title, or abbreviation that expresses, infers, or implies that the individual is licensed as a professional bondsman unless the individual at the time holds a valid license as a professional bondsman as provided in this article. (b) All applicants shall pass an examination, unless exempted by this article, based on criteria established by the Alabama Professional Bail Bonding Board and established under Section 15-13-203 and shall comply with the continuing education requirements established by this article. (c) The board may issue an apprentice license, which expires 180 days after issuance, to any applicant who satisfies all criteria for licensure except passing the examination. The board may require an applicant for a license as an apprentice to sign an affidavit, on a form provided by the board, attesting that the applicant has no felony convictions. An apprentice license shall only be issued once, and a licensee who has previously possessed a professional license may not receive a subsequent apprentice license. The board, by rule, may also provide an age exception to allow any applicant who is 19 or 20 years of age to work as an apprentice until he or she reaches 21 years of age. Before the expiration of his or her apprentice license, an apprentice who is 19 or 20 years of age shall complete an eight-hour continuing education instructional course conducted by an educational provider approved by the Alabama Professional Bail Bonding Board, at no cost to the apprentice. The board may charge a fee, not exceeding fifty dollars ($50), for an apprentice license. (d) An apprentice may perform all duties without direct supervision, except for the apprehension of a fugitive. An apprentice shall have his or her license available at all times. (Act 2019-409, §3; Act 2021-499, §1; Act 2026-542, §1.)