See the following versions: OS 21-1521v1 (HB 2751, Laws 2016, c. 221, § 2) OS 21-1521v2 (HB 2104, Laws 2025, c. 486, § 422)
§21-1521v1. Motor vehicle lease or rental - Payment by false or bogus check. Every person who shall lease or rent, for any period of time whatsoever, any motor vehicle and, with intent to cheat and defraud, who pays the fees for such lease or rental by means of a false, bogus or worthless check written for the sum of Twenty Dollars ($20.00) or less shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than six (6) months,
or both such fine and imprisonment. If the value of the false, bogus or worthless check shall exceed the sum of Twenty Dollars ($20.00) but is less than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), any person convicted pursuant to this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by incarceration in the county jail for not to exceed one (1) year or incarceration in the county jail one or more nights or weekends pursuant to Section 991a-2 of Title 22 of the Oklahoma Statutes, at the option of the court, and shall be subject to a fine of not more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) and ordered to provide restitution to the victim as provided in Section 991a of Title 22 of the Oklahoma Statutes. If the value of the worthless check is One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) or more, any person convicted hereunder shall be deemed guilty of a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for a term not exceeding seven (7) years or by a fine not to exceed Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or both such fine and imprisonment. Added by Laws 1970, c. 84, § 1, emerg. eff. March 27, 1970. Amended by Laws 1973, c. 36, § 1, emerg. eff. April 24, 1973; Laws 1993, c. 147, § 3, eff. Sept. 1, 1993; Laws 1997, c. 133, § 366, eff. July 1, 1999; Laws 1999, 1st Ex. Sess., c. 5, § 258, eff. July 1, 1999; Laws 2016, c. 221, § 2, eff. Nov. 1, 2016. NOTE: Laws 1998, 1st Ex. Sess., c. 2, § 23 amended the effective date of Laws 1997, c. 133, § 366 from July 1, 1998, to July 1, 1999.
§21-1521v2. Motor vehicle lease or rental - Payment by false, bogus or worthless check. Every person who shall lease or rent, for any period of time whatsoever, any motor vehicle and, with intent to cheat and defraud, who pays the fees for such lease or rental by means of a false, bogus or worthless check written for the sum of less than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine not to exceed Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than six (6) months, or both such fine and imprisonment. If the value of the worthless check is One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) or more, any person convicted hereunder shall be deemed guilty of a Class D1 felony offense and shall be punished by imprisonment as provided for in subsections B through F of Section 20N of this title, or by a fine not to exceed Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or both such fine and imprisonment. Added by Laws 1970, c. 84, § 1, emerg. eff. March 27, 1970. Amended by Laws 1973, c. 36, § 1, emerg. eff. April 24, 1973; Laws 1993, c. 147, § 3, eff. Sept. 1, 1993; Laws 1997, c. 133, § 366, eff. July 1, 1999; Laws 1999, 1st Ex. Sess., c. 5, § 258, eff. July 1, 1999; State Question No. 780, Initiative Petition No. 404, § 12, adopted
at General Election held on November 8, 2016, eff. July 1, 2017; Laws 2025, c. 486, § 422, eff. Jan. 1, 2026. NOTE: Laws 1998, 1st Ex. Sess., c. 2, § 23 amended the effective date of Laws 1997, c. 133, § 366 from July 1, 1998, to July 1, 1999.