Section 15. Penalties.
(a) Summary offense.--A person who violates or fails to comply with this act or a rule, regulation or standard promulgated under this act commits a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $300.
(b) Civil penalty.--
(1) Subject to paragraph (2), in addition to any other penalty provided in this act, the board may, by a majority vote of its statutorily authorized membership, levy a civil penalty of up to $2,500 on any licensee who violates any provision of this act or any person who operates a private licensed school without being properly licensed under this act. A civil penalty may only be assessed once per violation. Prior to the collection of the penalty, the licensee or person shall have access to the hearing procedure provided in Title 2 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes (relating to administrative law and procedure).
(2) The board may revise the amount of the civil penalty imposed under paragraph (1) by regulation. Any increase to the civil penalty under this paragraph shall be reasonable and required to deter violations of this act.
((b) amended Nov. 27, 2019, P.L.753, No.110)
(b.1) Unlicensed commercial driving schools.--In addition to any other penalty provided in this act, the board may, by a majority vote of its statutorily authorized membership, levy a civil penalty of up to $25,000 on any person who provides entry level driver training as required by 49 CFR Pt. 380 Subpt. F (relating to entry-level driver training requirements on and after February 7, 2022) without being properly licensed under this act. A civil penalty may only be assessed once per violation. Prior to the collection of the penalty, the person shall have access to the hearing procedure provided in Title 2 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes. ((b.1) added July 20, 2026, P.L.548, No.50)