AEVA · CIK 0001789029
What Aeva Technologies, Inc. told the SEC could break it.
Aeva's disclosures read as those of an early-stage LiDAR developer that has not yet reached scale: it leans on a handful of customers — its top three were 64% of fiscal 2025 revenue (the top two were 72% in fiscal 2024) — with nearly all revenue from engineering and development work that may never convert into production orders. It also remains deeply unprofitable, posting a $145.4 million net loss in 2025 and depending on continued outside capital, including $100.0 million of 4.375% convertible notes sold to Apollo-affiliated funds in November 2025 and a preferred-stock facility that would sit senior to common shareholders. Rounding out the register are its reliance on offshore third-party manufacturers and sole- or limited-source components, plus tariff exposure (notably China, Canada and Mexico) and layered FDA laser-radiation and vehicle-safety regulation.
4 self-disclosed vulnerabilities, pulled from its own filings, each in the company’s words, with the source. This is the risk register almost nobody reads.
In its own words
What could break it.
Customer concentration
- top three customers = 64% of FY2025 revenue (top two = 72% in FY2024); names not disclosedhigh
Aeva is dependent on a small number of customers with strong purchasing power — its top three customers accounted for 64% of revenue in fiscal 2025 (top two were 72% in fiscal 2024) — and nearly all revenue comes from non-recurring engineering/development arrangements that may never reach production purchase orders; loss of a major customer or failure to be designed into their programs would materially hurt the business. (Customer names not disclosed, so recorded as concentration risk rather than a named edge.)
“In fiscal year 2025, Aeva's top three customers accounted for 64% of revenue. For fiscal year 2024, Aeva's top two customers accounted for 72% of revenue.”
SEC filing →As of 2026
Liquidity & debt
- recurring large net losses (~$145M in 2025); $100M 4.375% Apollo convertible notes; dependence on further capital raises and Facility Agreement advanceshigh
Aeva remains deeply unprofitable — a net loss of $145.4 million in 2025 — and depends on continued capital access; in November 2025 it sold $100.0M of 4.375% Convertible Senior Notes to Apollo-affiliated funds and has a Facility Agreement allowing preferred-stock advances (senior to common) conditioned on winning a ≥50,000-unit OEM program, exposing shareholders to dilution and funding risk.
“In November 2025, we sold $100.0 million aggregate principal amount of our 4.375% Convertible Senior Notes due 2023 (the “Notes”) to certain funds affiliated with Apollo Global S”
SEC filing →As of 2026
Regulatory & policy
- U.S. tariffs (China/Canada/Mexico) plus FDA laser-radiation and Vehicle Safety Act regulation of LiDAR/auto sensorsmedium
Aeva faces proposed/increased U.S. tariffs on imports particularly from China, Canada and Mexico (and foreign retaliation) that could raise costs given its offshore manufacturing, and as a LiDAR (laser) company it is subject to FDA Electronic Product Radiation Control regulations and, as its sensors enter production vehicles, to the National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act — a multi-front regulatory burden.
“President Trump has proposed significantly increased tariffs on foreign imports into the United States, particularly from Canada, China and Mexico.”
SEC filing →As of 2026
Sole-source dependency
- sole/limited-source components and reliance on third-party manufacturers located outside the United Statesmedium
Aeva relies on third-party manufacturers — increasingly outside the United States — to build its 4D LiDAR products, and depends on sole- or limited-source suppliers for certain components; a component shortage, supply interruption or pricing change could leave it unable to develop alternate sources in time, undermining its ability to fill customer orders.
“In the event of a component shortage, supply interruption or material pricing change from suppliers of these components, we may not be able to develop alternate sources in a timely manner or at all in the case of sole or limited sources.”
SEC filing →As of 2026
In the MyPRIA app, this is checked against the companies you actually own.
← World Watch