AlaskaHB 5334th Legislature (2025-2026)HouseWALLET

APPROP: OPERATING BUDGET; CAP; SUPP

Sponsored By: HOUSE RULES BY REQUEST OF THE GOVERNOR

Signed by Governor

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

114 provisions identified: 100 benefits, 6 costs, 8 mixed.

Lower early intervention thresholds for children

The law states that the Department of Health should direct Infant Learning Program grantees to expand services. The stated thresholds are at least a 25% developmental delay in one area or 20% in two areas. The earlier threshold was at least a 50% delay in one area. The provision does not set a start date or dollar value for services.

Medicaid funding includes adult dental care

The law provides about $3.006 billion for Alaska Medicaid in FY2026. This includes about $2.979 billion for Medicaid Services and $27.0045 million for adult preventive dental care. The money supports covered care for eligible patients and payments to providers. This appropriation does not change who qualifies or set each person's benefit amount.

State funding supports public school students

For fiscal year 2026, the public education fund receives about $1.112 billion for school formula aid. Sources include $35.07 million from the school trust fund and about $1.077 billion from the general fund. A separate formula appropriation, estimated at $172.1768 million after another appropriation, uses a $6,640 base student allocation and adjusted enrollment. District grants also receive 50% of qualifying fiscal year 2026 donations, estimated at $461,000, divided by adjusted enrollment. Through June 30, 2026, the education department can use federal funds received above its original appropriation for support and administration.

Permanent Fund earnings move into budget

The law transfers about $3.799 billion from the Permanent Fund earnings reserve to Alaska's general fund. This adds money to the general fund while removing the same amount from the earnings reserve. This provision does not specify how the money is spent or create a household payment.

Eligible Alaskans get a $1,000 dividend

The law funds a $1,000 Permanent Fund dividend for each eligible person. A household's total equals $1,000 times its number of eligible recipients. The estimated $685.3 million appropriation also covers administrative and related costs. The funding applies through June 30, 2026.

Funding supports rural power bill relief

For fiscal year 2026, the Alaska Energy Authority gets up to $48.0498 million for Power Cost Equalization. The money comes from the program's endowment fund and cannot exceed the statutory funding limit. The program helps eligible recipients with power costs. This appropriation ends June 30, 2026, and does not set a per-household payment.

Insurance support for eligible surviving dependents

The law provides an estimated $50,000 for the peace officer and firefighter survivors’ fund in FY2026, ending June 30, 2026. The money pays medical insurance premiums for surviving dependents eligible under AS 39.60.040. It also covers Department of Public Safety administration costs. No payment amount is stated for each dependent.

Extra funding keeps fishermen's benefits flowing

The law provides additional fishermen's fund money when benefit payment needs exceed the original appropriation. The extra appropriation covers the amount needed, with no dollar cap stated. It applies to the fiscal year ending June 30, 2026.

Extra funding keeps injury benefits flowing

The law provides extra funding when workers' compensation guaranty fund benefit costs exceed the original appropriation. It provides the same backup funding from the second injury fund for that fund's benefit payments. Each fund supplies its own additional money, with no fixed dollar cap stated. Both provisions apply to the fiscal year ending June 30, 2026.

Teachers get certification reimbursements and incentives

The law provides $554,000 for eligible Alaska teachers' national board certification reimbursements and incentive payments. Authorized reimbursements are paid first. Any remaining money pays incentives on a first-come, first-served basis. Payments depend on available funding, which ends June 30, 2026.

State funding supports wildfire response

The law puts $13.1417 million from the general fund into fire suppression. It separately provides $77.3384 million: $74.3384 million from the general fund and $3 million from designated receipts. The fire suppression fund also receives estimated federal receipts of $20.5 million for the year ending June 30, 2026. These funds support wildfire response, not direct household payments.

Funding keeps Alaska ferries and airports operating

The law provides $170.7801 million for Alaska Marine Highway operations from January 1 through December 31, 2026. This includes $86.8526 million in general funds and $83.9275 million in other funds. The money covers vessels, fuel, engineering, overhauls, reservations, marketing, and shore operations. It also provides $620,400 in rural airport receipts for highways, aviation, and facilities from July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2025. That airport funding is split between the central and northern regions.

More money for Permanent Fund principal

For FY2026, the law deposits an estimated $368.2 million into Permanent Fund principal to meet Alaska’s constitutional requirement. It adds an estimated $79.5 million from the general fund to meet a separate statutory deposit requirement. These deposits are not direct household payments. Separately, $23,300 from the dividend fund supports the dividend office in FY2025 without changing individual dividend amounts.

Funding keeps Alaska Medicaid services running

The law provides $228.599 million for Medicaid services from July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2025. This includes $14.2 million in state matching funds and $214.399 million in other funds. It also assigns federal Medicaid money received during FY2026 to Medicaid services that year, ending June 30, 2026. These funding provisions do not change eligibility or set a per-person benefit.

Continued funding for housing assistance systems

Through June 30, 2026, estimated federal housing stimulus funding rises from $127 million to $131 million. It supports rental relief, homelessness programs, and other housing programs allowed by federal stimulus laws. An estimated $40 million in corporation-received program receipts also continues for housing and energy administration on behalf of municipalities, tribal housing authorities, or other third parties. Homelessness information systems receive up to $750,000 from unused, uncommitted June 30, 2023, Health Department funds: $375,000 in program receipts and up to $375,000 in general funds. These provisions do not set household eligibility or payment amounts.

Funding supports Alaska housing loan programs

For FY2026, the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation receives $800 million in corporate receipts for housing loans it does not subsidize. That money is split between its housing finance and senior housing revolving funds. Another $30 million from arbitrage earnings funds corporation-subsidized housing loans and projects. Both appropriations apply through June 30, 2026. They do not set borrower eligibility, loan terms, or household assistance amounts.

More funding for public worker pensions

For FY2026, the state adds $79.807 million to the public employees’ defined benefit retirement plan. It adds $138.982 million to the teachers’ defined benefit retirement plan. Retirement and employee-benefit funds also provide $512,900 for Retirement Management Board operations in FY2025. Up to $500,000 covers FY2026 benefit calculation and actuarial costs above section 1 funding, after allowable retirement-fund payments. These appropriations do not change individual benefit formulas or eligibility.

Limits on Medicaid funding for abortions

Medicaid appropriations can pay for abortions only when those services are mandatory under AS 47.07.030(a). Department of Health appropriations are limited to required Medicaid services and optional state-plan services approved by federal health officials. The law includes an exception for new precedent from a U.S. Supreme Court decision. These limits govern agency spending, not a new payment requirement for individuals.

State reserves grow or cover shortfalls

Beginning July 1, 2025, FY2026 unrestricted general fund revenue above $6.3 billion triggers a Budget Reserve Fund deposit. The deposit is capped at $700 million after accounting for appropriations from revenue above that threshold. A June 30, 2025 fallback covers a FY2025 general fund shortfall only if section 50(a)’s appropriation was not enacted. It draws up to $100 million from development authority reserves, then any remainder from the higher education investment fund. The shortfall calculation follows the prior section 55 appropriation and excludes section 56 appropriations in chapter 7, SLA 2024.

University funding grows while state support falls

For July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2025, the law provides a net $133.3275 million for the University of Alaska. The adjustment reduces general funds by $28.2825 million and provides $161.61 million in other funds. The provision supports university operations but does not specify changes to tuition, student aid, or eligibility.

Funding for low-income residents’ legal help

The law directs an estimated $312,600 from the general fund to Alaska’s civil legal services fund. This equals 10 percent of court filing fees received in FY2024. The fund supports groups providing civil legal help to low-income people. The law does not set individual service amounts.

More funding for crime victim compensation

Alaska’s crime victim compensation fund gets $1.6825 million from dividends withheld because of conviction or incarceration under existing eligibility rules. It also receives an estimated $85,000 in qualifying FY2026 donations, recoveries, and reimbursements for earlier awards. The money supports compensation awards for eligible crime victims. These appropriations do not set individual award amounts.

Child care funding helps eligible families

The law provides $61.3434 million for Child Care Benefits in FY2026. Beginning July 1, 2025, it authorizes another $6.0922 million tied to SB 95. That amount includes $225,100 in federal funds, $225,100 in state matching funds, and $5.642 million in general funds. The added funding requires SB 95 to become law without a veto, unless its substance becomes part of another measure. These appropriations do not set each family's benefit or change eligibility.

Energy assistance helps eligible Alaska households

The law provides $14.665 million for Alaska's Energy Assistance Program in FY2026. The funding helps eligible households with energy costs. This appropriation does not change eligibility requirements or set each household's payment.

Energy bill help for eligible households

The law provides $5 million for Alaska's Energy Assistance Program for July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2025. The money supports energy assistance for eligible households. This appropriation does not set household payment amounts or eligibility thresholds.

Funding helps seniors and care residents

The law provides $23.5423 million for Alaska's Senior Benefits Payment Program in FY2026. It also provides $33.9643 million for Pioneer Homes Payment Assistance. The money supports payments to qualifying older residents and helps eligible Pioneer Homes residents with their costs. These appropriations do not set individual payment amounts or new eligibility thresholds.

Funding keeps household assistance programs running

For FY2026, the law provides $21.8669 million for Alaska Temporary Assistance and $63.7869 million for Adult Public Assistance. It also provides $605,400 for General Relief Assistance. Permanent Fund Dividend Hold Harmless assistance receives $17.7915 million; this is separate from regular dividend funding. These appropriations support eligible residents without setting individual payments or changing eligibility for the first three programs. The hold-harmless appropriation does not state its recipient conditions.

Pharmacy funding for Pioneers’ Homes residents

The law funds Alaska Pioneers’ Homes pharmacy operations using receipts from medicines provided to residents during FY2026. Spending cannot exceed $4 million and applies through June 30, 2026. The provision supports pharmacy services but does not specify a change in residents’ medicine costs.

Support for foster and adoptive families

The law provides $41.6745 million for foster care payments in FY2026. That includes $27.0259 million for base payments, $4.3239 million for augmented payments, and $10.3247 million for special needs. It also provides $45.6065 million for adoption and guardianship subsidies. The funds support eligible care providers and families, but do not set a payment amount for each child or family.

WIC funding supports women and children

The law provides $23.4484 million for Alaska's Women, Infants and Children program in FY2026. The money supports WIC services for eligible women, infants, and children. It does not set an amount for each household.

Covered state workers get agreement bonuses

The law funds bonuses and other pay terms in qualifying fiscal year 2026 collective bargaining letters of agreement. The payments cover executive branch employees included in those agreements. Individual payment amounts are not stated. The funding runs through June 30, 2026.

Funding to correct retirement account contributions

The law provides up to $2.67946 million for corrective retirement account contributions in FY2025 and FY2026. The Department of Administration receives only the amount needed, within that cap. The provision does not identify affected account holders or set individual contribution amounts.

Pay adjustments for Alaska public employees

The FY2026 budget funds pay and benefit adjustments for state officials, employees, court staff, legislative staff, and legislators. It also funds adjustments for University of Alaska employees outside unions and the money terms of listed union agreements. Funding is adjusted proportionately for state union agreements that members do not approve. University union agreements require both member approval and Board of Regents approval; otherwise, their funding is adjusted proportionately. FY2026 runs July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026; individual pay amounts are not stated.

Retirement payments for elected officers

The law provides $1.175573 million for FY2026 benefits earned under the elected public officers’ retirement system. Payments support eligible members and survivors of eligible members. The law does not set individual payment amounts.

Scholarship and grant funding helps students

For FY2026, the law provides $17.014 million for Alaska Performance Scholarships and $8.507 million for Alaska Education Grants. For July 1, 2024–June 30, 2025, it provides $650,000 for the scholarships and $325,000 for education grants. The money supports awards to eligible students. These appropriations do not set individual award amounts or change FY2026 eligibility rules.

Alaska adds money for disaster relief

The law adds $29 million from the general fund to Alaska’s disaster relief fund. This supports the state’s disaster relief capacity. The provision does not set household eligibility, individual payment amounts, or an end date.

Arts plate fees fund administration

The Alaska State Council on the Arts receives estimated arts license plate receipts of $80,000 to administer the program. The money comes from fiscal year 2025 fees after plate issuance costs are subtracted. The appropriation ends June 30, 2026.

Boat receipts support boating safety programs

The boating safety program receives 60% of qualifying boat receipts collected in fiscal year 2025. The fiscal year 2026 appropriation is estimated at $272,819 and cannot exceed $300,000. The money supports boating safety rather than direct household payments.

Boat receipts support safer waterways

The Alaska Marine Safety Education Association receives 40 percent of fiscal year 2025 boat receipts for safety education. The grant is estimated at $181,879, capped at $200,000, and ends June 30, 2026. The derelict vessel prevention fund receives estimated qualifying fiscal year 2026 receipts of $44,500. Those receipts include fees, penalties, vessel sales, and donations, after the specified motor vehicle division allocation.

Bond money funds land cleanup work

For fiscal year 2026, Natural Resources receives Cook Inlet Energy cleanup bond interest, estimated at $150,000, for the bond's purposes. It also receives an estimated $30,000 from the mine reclamation trust fund operating account for authorized purposes. Qualifying cleanup bond claim settlements, estimated at $50,000, fund restoration of affected state, federal, or private land. Settlement funding depends on proceeds being received, and work can include plugging or repairing wells.

Certificate fees support children's grants

The Alaska Children's Trust grant account receives an estimated $16,000 from qualifying fees collected through June 30, 2026. The fees come from heirloom birth and marriage certificates and Children's Trust license plates. Specified supply and issuance costs are subtracted before the transfer. The law does not set individual family payments.

Community assistance receives endowment money

The law transfers $13.3333 million from the power cost equalization endowment fund to the community assistance fund. It does not specify payments to individual communities or households.

Community initiatives receive matching grant funding

The law provides $861,700 for Community Initiative Matching Grants in fiscal year 2026. The appropriation does not identify the services funded or establish direct household payments.

Election fund receives operating support

The law adds $327,272 to Alaska's election fund: $54,545 from the general fund and $272,727 from federal receipts. It also directs estimated interest earnings of $200,000 back into the fund. The money supports election administration under the federal Help America Vote Act, not changes to voting eligibility.

Funding helps run Alaska statewide elections

The law provides $2.8703 million to the Division of Elections for statewide primary and general election costs. The funding covers the fiscal years ending June 30, 2026, and June 30, 2027. It supports election administration, not payments to voters.

Funding supports correctional facilities and care

For fiscal year 2026, the law provides an estimated $16.170163 million for Goose Creek Correctional Center obligations and fees. For July 1, 2024–June 30, 2025, it provides $2.7675 million for corrections physical and behavioral health care. Community residential centers receive $2.0348 million, and electronic monitoring receives $134,200 for that same earlier year. Facility improvement unit operations receive $84,700, and corrections information systems receive $86,100, also for that earlier year. These appropriations fund operations and services, not payments to households.

Funding supports land cleanup oversight

Reclamation bond settlements fund land cleanup through the Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission, with receipts estimated at $150,000. Cleanup includes plugging or repairing wells on affected state, federal, or private land. The commission also gets $30,000 in federal operating funds for July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2025. For the year ending June 30, 2026, estimated mine reclamation trust income of $30,000 moves to its operating account. That transfer is limited to the trust's legally allowed purposes.

Funding supports tribal assistance and families

For fiscal year 2026, the law provides $5 million for the Tribal Child Welfare Compact. It also provides $14.2346 million for Tribal Assistance Programs. The funding supports participating programs and the people they serve. These appropriations do not set direct household payment amounts.

Judicial oversight gets counsel funding

The Alaska Commission on Judicial Conduct gets up to $75,000 from the general fund for special counsel. The funding covers the fiscal year ending June 30, 2026.

Legislative Council receives targeted operating funding

The law sets aside $80,000 for Legislative Council and subcommittee operations for fiscal year 2026, starting July 1, 2025. Funding is contingent on HB 57 becoming law without a veto, unless another measure includes its substance. This appropriation does not establish a household benefit or duty.

Receipts support wildlife and subsistence work

The fish and game fund receives estimated fiscal year 2026 receipts of $1.273 million. Sources include shooting-range fees, waterfowl stamp print sales, sanctuary permits, and specified access-site fees. The law also provides $50,000 in designated receipts for subsistence research and monitoring from July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2025. These appropriations do not specify new fees or household payments.

State funds ongoing childhood litigation

The law provides $4 million from the general fund to the Department of Law for ongoing litigation. The case was brought by A Better Childhood, Inc. Funding covers fiscal years 2025 through 2027, ending June 30, 2027. The appropriation does not decide the case's outcome.

State funds spill prevention and response

The oil and hazardous substance prevention account receives an estimated $1.0471 million in unused mitigation-account money. It also receives fiscal year 2025 surcharge collections estimated at $6 million and $6.4 million. The response account receives an estimated $700,000 in unused mitigation-account money and $1.5 million in fiscal year 2025 surcharges. Both unused balances are measured on June 30, 2025. The money supports prevention and response work, not household payments.

State money funds disaster relief

The law provides $23.3448 million from the general fund for Alaska's disaster relief fund. It also directs estimated federal disaster relief receipts of $9 million received during the year ending June 30, 2026. This funding does not set household payment amounts or eligibility rules.

Targeted grants support sporting programs

Alaska SCTP receives an estimated $7,000 from fiscal year 2025 National Rifle Association specialty plate fees. The grant supports youth shooting programs and travel to national collegiate competitions. Arctic Winter Games events receive an estimated $10,000 from the Team Alaska trust fund, using its statutory calculation. Both appropriations end June 30, 2026.

Funding supports community water projects

For FY2026, the clean water fund receives estimated federal funding of $20.2586 million after specified costs. Its estimated $3.7972 million match includes $1.075 million in bond receipts and up to $2.7222 million in general funds. The drinking water fund receives estimated federal funding of $32.6661 million after specified costs. Its estimated $5.6225 million match includes $1.0255 million in bond receipts and up to $4.597 million in general funds. Federal awards or receipts must occur by June 30, 2026; matches are limited to what is needed for eligible loans or assistance.

Community grants fund local human services

The law provides $1.387 million for the Human Services Community Matching Grant program in FY2026. Eligible community organizations receive support through the grant program. The appropriation does not state how much any organization or household receives.

Funding for SNAP projects serving families

The law provides $5.954328 million in general funds for new SNAP investment projects during FY2025 and FY2026. The Division of Public Assistance receives the money. This funds program projects through June 30, 2026, without changing household benefit amounts or eligibility.

Funding supports behavioral health treatment

For FY2026, the law provides $16.3846 million for behavioral health treatment and recovery grants. It also provides $1.9429 million for prevention and early intervention grants. For July 1, 2024–June 30, 2025, it provides $3.1 million for treatment and recovery grants. It also provides $3 million for Alaska Psychiatric Institute operations and services during that same period. These funds support services, not direct household checks.

Longer funding for Alaska’s COVID response

The law extends a $40 million federal appropriation for Alaska’s COVID-19 public health response through June 30, 2027. The Division of Public Health’s emergency programs receive the funding. Use is limited to public health matters arising from COVID-19. This is an extension of existing funding, not a direct household payment.

Vaccine program receipts fund vaccines

The law directs estimated vaccine assessment receipts of $25 million to the vaccine assessment fund. The receipts must be collected during the year ending June 30, 2026. This provision funds the program but does not specify changes to individual vaccine coverage or costs.

Conditional funding for schools and teacher housing

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law sets aside $313,300 in general funds for School Finance and Facilities for FY2026. The money supports HB 174 measures concerning the REAA fund, Mt. Edgecumbe, and teacher housing. Funding depends on HB 174 becoming law without a veto, unless another measure incorporates its substance. This appropriation does not establish direct household payments.

Donations fund education and dividend raffle

The law directs 25 percent of donations received under the dividend donation law to the education endowment fund. Another 25 percent goes to the dividend raffle fund. Each allocation is estimated at $230,500. These transfers do not guarantee household payments or identify which education programs receive support.

Funding supports regional and small schools

The law adds $22.8844 million to the regional educational attendance area and small municipal school district school fund. The money supports those districts, not direct payments to students or families.

Land sale money supports Mt. Edgecumbe

Proceeds from selling state-owned Mt. Edgecumbe High School land in Sitka fund the school's maintenance and operations. The law does not state how much the sale brings in. This funding ends June 30, 2026.

School districts get student transportation funding

The law provides about $67.812273 million for student transportation in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2026. It also provides $6.7812 million in grants to districts that run student transportation systems. Each district's grant share follows its share of state transportation funding. These grants end June 30, 2026, and support services rather than payments to families.

Disaster receipts fund relief for fisheries

The Department of Fish and Game receives designated program receipts collected for fisheries disasters during FY2026. The money funds fisheries disaster relief through June 30, 2028. The law does not set a total, individual eligibility rules, or payment amounts for fishing operations or households.

Extra receipts fund Alaska Aerospace operations

Alaska Aerospace Corporation can use FY2026 federal and corporate receipts above its section 1 appropriation for FY2026 operations. The amount depends on receipts received during that year. The law does not set a total or provide household payments.

Extra receipts support state agency operations

The budget office can use up to $5 million in unused FY2025 funds for FY2025–FY2026 central agency costs. This applies only when approved service-cost receipts fall below chapter 7, SLA 2024 funding. Sections 34(c)–(d) of that chapter and sections 12(a)–(b) of this law must be applied first. Separately, specified FY2026 program receipts above this law’s appropriations fund their program purposes, subject to Alaska’s program-review requirements. State fund balances held on June 30, 2025 do not count toward that extra-receipts authority.

Federal land receipts support public endowments

Qualifying federal land receipts go to the Permanent Fund and public school trust fund. The power cost equalization endowment also receives a share when AS 37.05.530(g) applies. Receipts already appropriated for grants under AS 37.05.530(d) are excluded. The provision states neither a total amount nor each fund’s share.

Federal payments support Alaska local governments

Eligible home rule, first class, and second class cities, federally organized municipalities, and regional education areas share unused forest income. Their shares follow their proportions of FY2026 forest income distributions, instead of the money lapsing on June 30, 2026. Federal forest receipts also cover required FY2026 forest payments above the section 1 appropriation. Separately, federal receipts cover FY2026 payments in lieu of taxes above section 1 funding for unorganized borough cities. The provisions set no total amounts and pay local recipients, not households.

Fisheries disaster funding gets more time

The law keeps qualifying fisheries disaster receipts available for relief through June 30, 2027. The receipts must have been received for fisheries disasters during the year ending June 30, 2025. Those receipts are estimated at $0. The extension gives more time to use qualifying money but does not promise payments.

Funding for seafood marketing and associations

The Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute gets $10 million for a comprehensive marketing plan covering FY2025 through FY2027. For FY2026, qualified salmon enhancement associations receive an estimated $4.5 million matching 2024 salmon enhancement taxes. Qualified seafood development associations receive an estimated $2.3 million matching 2024 seafood development taxes. Their funds support regional promotion, industry improvements, education, research, marketing, and related seafood activities. The qualified dive fishery association for the collection area receives an estimated $455,000 matching FY2025 management assessments.

Funding for state insurance reserve accounts

The Department of Administration receives amounts needed from the working and insurance catastrophe reserves for their legally authorized uses. At FY2026’s end, available unused salary and benefit funds replenish the working reserve toward a $5 million unobligated balance. After working-reserve and group health and life benefit transfers, available unused appropriations replenish the catastrophe reserve toward $50 million. Each replenishment is limited to the amount needed and funds available to lapse. These are state account transfers, not household payments.

Programs can carry unused receipts forward

Appropriations from designated program receipts include qualifying balances left on June 30, 2025. The money must be unspent, not already committed, and collected for the relevant program purpose. This carries eligible money into the program's appropriation. No dollar amount or household payment is stated.

State accounts receive past spending corrections

The law approves listed past spending and increases FY2025 appropriations to fix negative state account balances. It adds $2.9237 million for Health accounts, $382,369 for Natural Resources accounts, and $32.5 million for the university's systemwide account. The covered spending comes from fiscal years 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2022, and 2024. These corrections do not create household payments.

State advances keep airport projects funded

The general fund covers temporary federal receipt shortfalls for International Airports System projects already approved for federal funding. The advance equals the amount needed, with no fixed dollar amount stated. It must be repaid as soon as additional federal receipts arrive. Federal receipts deposited in the airport revenue fund cover the amount needed to reimburse the general fund for airport project costs.

State covers property and garage obligations

For fiscal year 2026, the law provides estimated general fund money of $2.8935 million for state property financing. It pays lease costs and trustee fees tied to certificates of participation, a form of property financing. Another $3.3035 million pays the Linny Pacillo Parking Garage's obligation to the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation. These payments cover state obligations, not household housing assistance.

State funds payment and administrative costs

The law makes up to $2 million available for central services funding shortfalls in fiscal years 2026 and 2027. It uses unspent, uncommitted money otherwise expiring June 30, 2026, after the specified prior appropriations. Funding applies only when receipts from approved cost-allocation methods fall below budgeted amounts. For fiscal year 2026, agencies also receive the amounts needed to pay revenue collectors, trustees, and card-processing providers. Those payments come from accounts holding collected revenue; no fixed processing or collection amount is set.

State pays local project debt

The law provides $2.792217 million for fiscal year 2026 debt payments on authorized public and utility projects. University of Alaska facilities receive $1.218193 million, and Eielson Air Force Base schools receive $341,500. Harbor allocations are $214,855 for False Pass, $189,625 for Valdez, $108,178 for Akutan, and $368,686 for Unalaska's LSA Harbor. Copper Valley Electric Association cogeneration projects receive $351,180.

Transportation agencies get longer funding deadline

Agencies get more time to use highway and aviation allocations from the cited 2024 appropriation. The deadline moves from August 31, 2025, to June 30, 2026. Unused allocations then return to the general fund. The law does not state their dollar amount.

Unused state money funds maintenance grants

The law directs up to $30 million to Alaska’s major maintenance grant fund for FY2025. Only unused, uncommitted general funds available to expire on June 30, 2025, can be used. The transfer follows the earlier appropriations in sections 34(c) and (d), chapter 7, SLA 2024. No specific maintenance projects or household grants are identified.

Funding supports Alaska health insurance oversight

The law assigns federal receipts received during FY2026 to Alaska’s reinsurance program through June 30, 2027. No total amount is specified for that program. It also provides $1 million from insurance program receipts for actuarial work through June 30, 2027. These appropriations support insurance oversight and the market but do not set household premiums or benefits.

Airport revenue covers bond obligations

For fiscal year 2026, the law uses $1 million in federally approved passenger facility charges for international airport bonds. Estimated International Airports Revenue Fund money of $22.935675 million also covers bond payments and trustee fees. Another estimated $10 million from that fund covers early repayment of legally authorized airport bonds. Early repayment costs include principal, interest, repayment premiums, and trustee fees.

Backup funding supports ferries and replacement

The state provides up to $5 million for ferry operations if calendar year 2026 federal receipts fall below the appropriation. This backup funding covers operations from January 1 through December 31, 2026. Marine highway asset sale proceeds from the fiscal year ending June 30, 2026, go to the vessel replacement fund. The law does not state how much those sales bring in.

Water funds cover bond payments

For fiscal year 2026, clean water fund interest earnings provide an estimated $1.08 million for its bond payments. Drinking water fund interest earnings provide an estimated $1.0305 million for its bond payments. The money covers principal, interest, early repayment premiums, and trustee fees through each fund's bond repayment account.

Federal funding supports Alaska’s green bank

The law provides $20 million in federal receipts to support Alaska’s green bank during FY2026 through FY2028. The money goes to the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation’s Alaska Sustainable Energy Corporation. Funding runs through June 30, 2028. The provision does not set borrower eligibility, household payments, or savings amounts.

Loan receipts support Alaska development funds

Alaska’s development authority can use FY2026 unrestricted loan interest, loan commitment fees, other unrestricted receipts, and asset income. The money supports its legally authorized activities. Board procedures divide it among revolving, sustainable energy, and Arctic infrastructure development funds. No total amount or direct household benefit is specified.

State backs municipal bond reserve losses

Available municipal bond bank receipts for the year ending June 30, 2025, go to the authority’s reserve fund. Those receipts are estimated at $0. When a borrower defaults and the authority draws from its reserve, general funds replace the amount used. This supports the bond bank reserve, not direct household payments.

State funds bonds and project advances

For the year ending June 30, 2026, the law funds state general obligation bond payments and related fees and rebates. General fund allocations by bond series are: 2010B, $144,127; 2013A, $26,268; 2015B, $9.793875 million; 2016A, $6.247375 million; 2016B, $6.226875 million. Further allocations are: 2020A, $6.971625 million; 2023A, $18.39875 million; 2024A, $5.504 million; 2024B, $4.147 million; 2025A, $3.956229 million. Other specified payments use federal subsidies or bond investment earnings, and the law covers additional necessary debt payments and accrued interest. Temporary general fund advances cover approved projects when issued bond proceeds fall short; they must be repaid when more proceeds arrive.

State maintains its catastrophe insurance reserve

The law uses unused, uncommitted appropriations available to expire at FY2025’s end to maintain the state catastrophe insurance reserve. It provides only the amount needed for a $50 million uncommitted balance on June 30, 2025. This follows sections 34(c) and (d), chapter 7, SLA 2024, and section 12(a) of this law. It does not create payments to household policyholders.

Claims reserve supports public employee benefits

The law transfers unused, uncommitted appropriations available to expire at the end of FY2026 into the group health and life benefits fund. This transfer follows funding for the working reserve account. It is limited to maintaining a minimum target claims reserve of 1.5 times outstanding claims, estimated at $10 million. It does not set individual benefits.

Housing receipts support state loan programs

Alaska Housing Finance Corporation can use FY2026 unrestricted mortgage interest, loan commitment fees, other unrestricted receipts, and asset income. These receipts support its authorized housing programs. Board procedures divide the money between housing finance and senior housing revolving funds. The provision sets no total amount, new borrower eligibility rule, or individual benefit.

Funding for state labor contract negotiations

The Department of Law gets $1 million for labor contract negotiations and arbitration support in FY2025 through FY2027. This funds the state’s negotiation work. The appropriation itself does not set wages or change worker rights.

Funding supports job information and training

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law authorizes $31,600 in general funds for FY2026 labor market information. That funding requires HB 57 to become law without a veto, unless its substance becomes part of another measure. Qualifying FY2026 contributions above the main budget amount also fund Alaska Vocational Technical Center operations through June 30, 2026. The law states no amount or cap for those extra contributions.

Medical loan repayments support education savings

The law directs an estimated $575,000 in WWAMI medical education loan repayments to Alaska's higher education investment fund. Only repayments received by the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education supply this money. The provision does not forgive loans or pay borrowers or students.

School funding supports buildings and services

For FY2026, the law provides $34.88215 million in state aid for eligible school construction costs. That includes $11 million from the School Fund and $23.88215 million from the general fund. Beginning July 1, 2025, it authorizes $494,600 in inter-agency receipts for Mt. Edgecumbe High School. This school funding requires HB 57 to become law without a veto, unless its substance becomes part of another measure. The law also provides $42,400 for student and school achievement services for July 1, 2024–June 30, 2025.

State funding supports job training schools

For fiscal year 2026, specified vocational institutions receive 66% of technical and vocational education account revenue, estimated at $14.5962 million. Their shares follow the law's institution-specific percentages. Galena Interior Learning Academy receives 4%, estimated at $884,600, for operations. University operations receive 30%, estimated at $6.6346 million: 25% of account revenue for the University of Alaska and 5% for Southeast. For July 1, 2024–June 30, 2025, the law funds $518,500 for workforce board activities and $839,900 for the Alaska Vocational Technical Center.

Student loan fees fund loan account

Alaska’s postsecondary education commission directs loan origination fees collected in FY2026 to the education loan fund’s origination fee account. The account supports uses allowed by AS 14.43.120(u). The provision does not raise fees or change individual loan terms. No total amount is specified.

Federal funding supports Alaska farm development

The law provides $3.2 million in federal receipts for Alaska agricultural development from July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2025. The money supports Department of Natural Resources agricultural development programs. It does not establish direct payments or eligibility rules for individual farmers.

Funding supports big game guide permits

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law allocates $341,600 in general fund program receipts for the big game guide permit program. The allocation covers fiscal year 2026 operations through Mining, Land and Water. Funding is contingent on SB 97 becoming law without a veto, unless its substance is incorporated into another measure. This appropriation does not itself change permit fees.

Funding supports professional licensing work

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law allocates $172,600 in receipt-services funds for professional licensing work during fiscal year 2026. The money supports SB 54, covering architects, engineers, surveyors, and registered interior designers. Funding is contingent on SB 54 becoming law without a veto, unless its substance is incorporated into another measure. This appropriation itself sets no new licensing requirements or fees.

Funding supports digital business tax administration

Beginning July 1, 2025, the Tax Division receives a fiscal year 2026 allocation of $261,800 from the general fund. It supports SB 113's work on how digital businesses divide taxable income among jurisdictions. Funding is contingent on SB 113 becoming law without a veto, unless its substance is incorporated into another measure. This appropriation itself does not change household tax bills.

Tax revenue goes to communities and ports

FY2026 local revenue refunds include an estimated $17.908 million in fisheries business taxes and $5.994 million in landing taxes. Other estimated shares are $4.436 million in cooperative taxes, $790,000 in liquor license fees, and $0 in cost-recovery fisheries. Payments cover only eligible recipients’ shares of collections; local governments also receive full qualifying FY2026 aviation tax or surcharge refunds, estimated at $150,000. The first seven ports of call receive an estimated $28.71 million from passenger taxes collected in calendar year 2025. Port payments shrink proportionately if that year’s tax-derived account balance is insufficient; none of these provisions creates household refunds.

Smaller grant for Arctic Winter Games

The law cuts the Arctic Winter Games Team Alaska grant from $150,000 to $140,000. The grant supports the team and event participation during FY2025 and FY2026. Funding applies through June 30, 2026. The provision does not state a change in participant fees.

Alaska pays state judgments and settlements

The law uses $3.1027 million from the general fund to pay judgments and settlements against Alaska in FY2025. The provision does not identify recipients. It does not create a general household payment or a new household fee.

Gasline receipts cannot automatically expand spending

For FY2026, Alaska Gasline Development Corporation's extra receipts cannot increase appropriation items through the specified budget adjustment process. The restriction covers additional federal receipts and statutory designated program receipts. It limits agency funding flexibility, not household payments or duties.

Program budgets shrink with receipt adjustments

During FY2026, ending June 30, 2026, program appropriations adjust to actual federal and other receipts. When receipts fall below the budgeted amount, the affected appropriation falls by the shortfall. When receipts exceed the budgeted amount, state-funded appropriations fall by the excess, as federal law allows. These rules do not themselves change household eligibility or require household payments.

Alaska pays its SNAP program penalty

The law funds the amount needed to pay Alaska’s federal FY2023 SNAP penalty, estimated at $5.954328 million. General fund money covers the payment in state FY2025 and FY2026. This pays a state penalty, not a charge to SNAP recipients. The provision does not change household SNAP benefits or eligibility.

Prison funding rises despite federal reduction

For July 1, 2024–June 30, 2025, the law provides a net $3.5474 million for corrections population management. This reflects $11.0474 million in general funds and a $7.5 million reduction in federal receipts. The funding supports corrections operations, not direct household payments.

Development funds help cover state budget

The law allocates the remaining balance of a $20 million Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority dividend to the general fund. Capital-purpose appropriations are deducted first for FY2026. Sources include the authority's unrestricted revolving, sustainable energy, and Arctic infrastructure development funds. The general fund gains the balance, while those authority funds give it up. This is not a household dividend.

Energy grants gain money from endowment

The law transfers $6.315507 million from the power cost equalization endowment to the renewable energy grant fund. This adds grant resources while taking the same amount from the endowment. The provision does not identify grant recipients, award amounts, or changes to household energy bills.

State bond payments shift between series

For FY2025, the law sets both federal-credit and general-fund payments for the state's 2010A bond series to $0. It reduces estimated general-fund payments for the 2015B, 2016A, and 2016B series to $11.4615 million, $9.358 million, and $9.579375 million. It adds $3.623467 million for the 2024A series and $1.912228 million for the 2024B series. Related trustee fees for the new series are also covered. These are state debt payments, not new household benefits.

Housing funds cover debt and budget

Alaska Housing Finance Corporation has an estimated $37.785 million available from its adjusted change in net assets for FY2026. It must retain an estimated $3.185 million for debt payments on bonds authorized in 2004. Specified operating and capital appropriations also come out first. The remaining balance moves to the general fund, rather than staying with the housing corporation. The final transfer amount is not stated.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • HOUSE RULES BY REQUEST OF THE GOVERNOR

    Affiliation unavailable

Cosponsors

There are no cosponsors for this bill.

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 1,601 • No: 1,363

House vote • 8/2/2025

GOVERNOR VETO OVERRIDDEN Y45 N14 E1

Yes: 45 • No: 14

House vote • 5/20/2025

CBRF SECTION(S) FAILED Y22 N18

Yes: 22 • No: 18

Senate vote • 5/20/2025

CC REPORT ADOPTED Y17 N3 CCS HB 53

Yes: 17 • No: 3

Senate vote • 5/20/2025

CBRF SECTION(S) ADP VOTE Y18 N2

Yes: 18 • No: 2

House vote • 5/20/2025

EFFECTIVE DATE(S) ADOPTED Y27 N13

Yes: 27 • No: 13

House vote • 5/20/2025

CC REPORT ADOPTED Y23 N17 CCS HB 53

Yes: 23 • No: 17

House vote • 5/9/2025

FAILED CONCUR (S) AM Y11 N27 E2

Yes: 11 • No: 27

Senate vote • 5/7/2025

PASSED Y16 N4

Yes: 16 • No: 4

Senate vote • 5/7/2025

AM NO 6 ADOPTED Y19 N1

Yes: 19 • No: 1

Senate vote • 5/7/2025

AM NO 5 FAILED Y6 N14

Yes: 6 • No: 14

Senate vote • 5/7/2025

AM NO 2 FAILED Y6 N14

Yes: 6 • No: 14

House vote • 4/16/2025

EFFECTIVE DATE(S) FAILED Y25 N15

Yes: 25 • No: 15

House vote • 4/16/2025

CBRF SECTION(S) FAILED Y21 N19

Yes: 21 • No: 19

House vote • 4/16/2025

PASSED Y21 N19

Yes: 21 • No: 19

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 78 AS AMD FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 36 AS AMD ADOPTED Y25 N15

Yes: 25 • No: 15

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 37 FAILED Y18 N22

Yes: 18 • No: 22

House vote • 4/15/2025

MOTION TO WITHDRAW AM NO 51 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 42 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 43 FAILED Y20 N20

Yes: 20 • No: 20

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 59 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 64 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 40 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 51 NOT TABLED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

RULED OUT OF ORDER MOTION FAILED Y20 N20

Yes: 20 • No: 20

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 51 FAILED Y20 N20

Yes: 20 • No: 20

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 57 ADOPTED Y38 N2

Yes: 38 • No: 2

House vote • 4/15/2025

RESCIND ACTION (FAILING) AM 67 FAILED Y20 N20

Yes: 20 • No: 20

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 60 FAILED Y17 N23

Yes: 17 • No: 23

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 61 FAILED Y17 N23

Yes: 17 • No: 23

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 74 AS AMD FAILED Y17 N23

Yes: 17 • No: 23

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 76 FAILED Y20 N20

Yes: 20 • No: 20

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 38 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 63 FAILED Y18 N22

Yes: 18 • No: 22

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 44 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 47 ADOPTED Y37 N3

Yes: 37 • No: 3

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 62 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

RESCIND ACTION (FAILING) AM 51 PASSED Y28 N12

Yes: 28 • No: 12

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM 1 TO AM 36 ADOPTED Y32 N8

Yes: 32 • No: 8

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 67 FAILED Y20 N20

Yes: 20 • No: 20

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 72 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM 1 TO AM 50 FAILED Y16 N24

Yes: 16 • No: 24

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 50 AS AMD FAILED Y20 N20

Yes: 20 • No: 20

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 58 ADOPTED Y32 N8

Yes: 32 • No: 8

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 65 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 51 FAILED Y15 N25

Yes: 15 • No: 25

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 73 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 49 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/15/2025

AM NO 35 FAILED Y17 N23

Yes: 17 • No: 23

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 7 NOT TABLED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 20 AS AMD ADOPTED Y21 N19

Yes: 21 • No: 19

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 23 ADOPTED Y24 N16

Yes: 24 • No: 16

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 9 FAILED Y14 N26

Yes: 14 • No: 26

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 26 FAILED Y17 N23

Yes: 17 • No: 23

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 17 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 7 ADOPTED Y21 N19

Yes: 21 • No: 19

House vote • 4/14/2025

RESCIND ACTION (ADOPTING) AM 1 FAILED Y20 N20

Yes: 20 • No: 20

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 14 FAILED Y13 N27

Yes: 13 • No: 27

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 32 FAILED Y10 N30

Yes: 10 • No: 30

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 33 AS AMD TABLED Y36 N4

Yes: 36 • No: 4

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 15 FAILED Y16 N24

Yes: 16 • No: 24

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 30 ADOPTED Y26 N12 A2

Yes: 26 • No: 12

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 13 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 10 FAILED Y20 N20

Yes: 20 • No: 20

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 25 FAILED Y17 N23

Yes: 17 • No: 23

House vote • 4/14/2025

RESCIND ACTION (FAILING) AM 10 FAILED Y20 N20

Yes: 20 • No: 20

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 5 ADOPTED Y34 N6

Yes: 34 • No: 6

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 28 TABLED Y22 N17 A1

Yes: 22 • No: 17

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 11 ADOPTED Y26 N14

Yes: 26 • No: 14

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 12 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 27 FAILED Y11 N29

Yes: 11 • No: 29

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 6 ADOPTED Y35 N5

Yes: 35 • No: 5

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 4 ADOPTED Y36 N4

Yes: 36 • No: 4

House vote • 4/14/2025

AM NO 22 FAILED Y19 N20 A1

Yes: 19 • No: 20

House vote • 4/11/2025

AM NO 1 ADOPTED Y20 N17 E3

Yes: 20 • No: 17

House vote • 4/11/2025

MOTION TO ADJOURN FAILED Y16 N21 E3

Yes: 16 • No: 21

House vote • 4/11/2025

DEADLINE FOR ALL AMS AT 5:00 P.M. MONDAY 4/14 Y21 N16 E3

Yes: 21 • No: 16

Actions Timeline

  1. (S) DPS INTENT LANGUAGE REPORT

    1/20/2026Senate
  2. (H) DPS INTENT LANGUAGE REPORT

    1/20/2026House
  3. (H) FISCAL NOTE MEMO TRANSMITTED TO GOVERNOR 10/01/25

    10/15/2025House
  4. (H) LEG FINANCE APPROPRIATION MESSAGE 9/30/25

    10/15/2025House
  5. (S) LEG FINANCE APPROPRIATION MESSAGE 9/30/25

    10/15/2025Senate
  6. (H) TO LEGAL SERVICES

    8/2/2025House
  7. (H) GOVERNOR VETO OVERRIDDEN Y45 N14 E1

    8/2/2025House
  8. (H) EFFECTIVE DATE(S) OF LAW SEE CHAPTER

    7/30/2025House
  9. (H) LINE ITEM VETO AND REDUCTIONS

    7/30/2025House
  10. (H) SIGNED INTO LAW 6/12 CHAPTER 10 SLA 25

    7/30/2025House
  11. (H) FISCAL NOTE PACKET TRANSMITTED TO GOVERNOR 5/27/25

    7/30/2025House
  12. (H) MANIFEST ERROR(S)

    7/30/2025House
  13. (H) 11:30 A.M. 5/27/25 TRANSMITTED TO GOVERNOR

    7/30/2025House
  14. (H) VERSION: CCS HB 53(BRF SUP MAJ FLD H)

    5/20/2025House
  15. (H) EFFECTIVE DATE(S) ADOPTED Y27 N13

    5/20/2025House
  16. (H) ...CHANGES TITLE OF LEGISLATION

    5/20/2025House
  17. (H) CBRF SECTION(S) FAILED Y22 N18

    5/20/2025House
  18. (H) CC REPORT ADOPTED Y23 N17 CCS HB 53

    5/20/2025House
  19. (H) CC REPORT TAKEN UP

    5/20/2025House
  20. (S) EFFECTIVE DATE(S) SAME AS PASSAGE

    5/20/2025Senate
  21. (S) CBRF SECTION(S) ADP VOTE Y18 N2

    5/20/2025Senate
  22. (S) CC REPORT ADOPTED Y17 N3 CCS HB 53

    5/20/2025Senate
  23. (S) CC REPORT TAKEN UP

    5/20/2025Senate
  24. (S) CC REPORT READ

    5/19/2025Senate
  25. (S) TECHNICAL TITLE CHANGE

    5/19/2025Senate

Bill Text

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation