All Roll Calls
Yes: 658 • No: 703
Sponsored By: SENATE RULES BY REQUEST OF THE GOVERNOR
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
42 provisions identified: 38 benefits, 0 costs, 4 mixed.
The law provides about $1.081 billion for roads, bridges, paths, ferry facilities, safety work, and rural access. It provides about $122.267 million for federal program matches and match credits, including aviation and highways. Another $64.6778 million supports transit grants, highway safety, commercial vehicle enforcement, reimbursable projects, and emergency relief. These funds follow Alaska's capital-project expiration rules unless another rule applies.
The Alaska Housing Finance Corporation receives $1.5 million for rental help through the Empowering Choice Housing Program. The program serves people displaced by domestic violence. The law does not state individual award amounts or guarantee help to every eligible applicant. Funding is subject to state lapse rules unless otherwise provided.
Village Safe Water and Wastewater Infrastructure Projects receive $272.5 million: $18 million in general funds and $254.5 million in other funds. The law also provides $628,100 for federal water infrastructure grants and $9.457 million for emerging-contaminant grants. Small water systems receive $3 million in assistance grants. Additional clean- and drinking-water grant subsidies include federal infrastructure and emerging-contaminant funding, with amounts not specified here. The money supports community water systems and is subject to state lapse rules unless otherwise provided.
The law provides $12.5466 million to replace Stebbins K-12 School and $6 million to replace Deering K-12 School. It also redirects an estimated $4.95341 million in unused prior funds for a Stebbins replacement grant to Bering Strait School District. Mt. Edgecumbe receives $5.21 million for housing, $5.094 million for the academic building exterior, and $3.14 million for dormitory windows. It receives $10.206 million for dining and kitchen work, $468,000 for furniture, $50,000 for mattresses, and $125,000 for laundry machines. Major Maintenance Grant Fund projects range from $219,588 to $13.190342 million at named schools across Alaska. These include Craig, Sidney C. Huntington, Sand Point, Tri-Valley, Blackwell, East, Service, North Pole, Chevak, Marshall, Nenana, Mears, Arctic Light, and Herman Hutchens. Capital funds are subject to state lapse rules unless another provision applies.
The law provides about $311.438 million for international and rural airport improvements. Projects include runways, taxiways, safety equipment, facilities, planning, and work before construction. This funding follows Alaska's capital-project expiration rules unless another rule applies. The law also provides $150,000 from Rural Airport Receipts for a backup generator at Aniak airport.
The law provides $2 million to acquire the Stratton Library Building and $3.7 million for judiciary deferred maintenance. These funds follow Alaska's capital-project expiration rules unless another rule applies. A separate $2.05 million from unrestricted general funds supports court security only if an oil-price test is met. On December 31, 2026, Alaska North Slope crude's fiscal year 2027 average price to date must reach $80 per barrel.
The law provides $1.85 million for forest inventory and $600,000 for new land-sale subdivisions. State parks improvements receive $1 million, and Land and Water Conservation Fund grants receive $4.8 million. It provides $400,000 for stream gauges and $12 million for cooperative forestry and fire programs. Abandoned mine cleanup receives $4.33 million, and permit modernization and reform receive $4.5229 million. These funds follow Alaska's capital-project expiration rules unless another rule applies.
Beginning June 30, 2026, Cooper Landing Emergency Services can use its existing $92,748 grant for more needs. Allowed uses include firefighting gear, personal protective equipment updates and replacement, building maintenance, and repairs. The change expands grant uses without adding new money.
Fish and Game receives an estimated $150,000 from sales of state-owned vessels and aircraft bought without federal funds. The money supports vessel and aircraft renewal, replacement, and maintenance. Another estimated $200,000 comes from sales of department equipment bought with federal funds for federal projects. That money must support equipment renewal, replacement, and maintenance for those same federal projects. Both appropriations cover qualifying proceeds received during the fiscal year ending June 30, 2027.
The law provides $1.0328 million from the Election Fund for a Help America Vote Act election security grant. The Office of the Governor receives the funding; the law does not name grant recipients. Beginning June 30, 2026, the office also can reuse unspent, uncommitted general funds from five fiscal year 2025 appropriations. Those balances support facility repairs, technology upgrades, food security, election equipment and security, and resource development analyses and process reviews. The amount available from those balances is not specified.
Beginning June 30, 2026, the Legislative Council can reuse up to $500,000 from specified unspent, uncommitted general fund appropriations. The money supports training, outreach, and coordination between governments for fiscal years ending June 30, 2026, 2027, and 2028. Balances remaining after that allocation support legislative building repairs, renovations, technology improvements, and other necessary facility projects. The amount remaining for facilities is not specified.
The law provides $825,000 for the Alaska Marine Salmon Program and $3.3 million for Gulf of Alaska Chinook Salmon. It provides $6.8 million for the Pacific Coastal Salmon Recovery Fund. Another $6 million supports wildlife management, research, and hunting access. Sport-fish recreational boating and angler access receive $3 million. These funds follow Alaska's capital-project expiration rules unless another rule applies.
The law provides $5 million for public protection and infrastructure support. It provides $1.75 million for Air National Guard modernization and upkeep, plus $26.7659 million for homeland security grants. Another $32.6 million supports fiscal year 2027 deferred maintenance, replacement, and renewal. National Guard counterdrug support receives $200,000. These funds follow Alaska's capital-project expiration rules unless another rule applies.
The law provides $375,000 for Alaska State Troopers' ballistic protection and $2 million for aircraft engines and safety upgrades. These funds follow Alaska's capital-project expiration rules unless another rule applies. Public Safety also gets estimated sale proceeds of $150,000 for vessel upkeep and $150,000 for aircraft upkeep. Qualifying sales must occur during the fiscal year ending June 30, 2027. Proceeds must come from state-owned vessels or aircraft, including their surplus parts and accessories, and support renewal, replacement, and maintenance.
The law provides $120,000 for Winter Trail Grooming Grants and $750,503 for the Winter Trail Safety Program. The money supports grooming and safety activities for Alaska communities and trail users. These funds follow Alaska's capital-project expiration rules unless another rule applies.
The law extends Xunaa Borough's incorporation deadline for a prior state appropriation. The new deadline is June 30, 2029, instead of December 31, 2025. The borough must incorporate by the new deadline to satisfy the funding condition. The appropriation amount is not stated.
The law provides $500,000 in matching funds for the Code Blue emergency medical services project. The funding supports participating emergency medical services entities. It follows Alaska's capital-project expiration rules unless another rule applies.
The Department of Health can redirect up to $7.125675 million in unused, uncommitted prior funds to build a Medicaid service approval system. Senior and disability assessment capacity receives up to $1.841469 million for fiscal years ending June 30, 2027, 2028, and 2029. That includes up to $780,134 in federal receipts, up to $211,335 in general funds, and up to $850,000 in general funds. The federal assessment funds come after the Medicaid system allocation, and all redirected funding remains limited by available prior balances. These changes fund administration and assessments, not new eligibility rules or benefit amounts.
The law redirects an estimated $272,000 to deferred maintenance at the Alaska Veterans' and Pioneers' Home. The Department of Family and Community Services uses money left from the prior Palmer home roof replacement appropriation. Only unused funds not already committed are available. This funds facility repairs, not payments to residents.
The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development receives federal receipts for community development block grant disaster recovery programs. Funding covers receipts received during the fiscal year ending June 30, 2027. The amount depends on federal money received and is not specified. The law sets no individual household award or eligibility rules.
The Alaska Library Network receives $217,500 for SLED, literacy resources, and online learning programs. The money supports access to learning resources through libraries, not household payments. It is subject to state lapse rules unless otherwise provided.
The University of Alaska receives $32.46 million for deferred maintenance. Fairbanks receives $6.8245 million for a campus transit fleet maintenance facility. Anchorage receives $260,000 for industrial cutting equipment and electrical upgrades, plus $3 million for welding and testing renovations. The money supports campus facilities, not direct student payments, and is subject to state lapse rules unless otherwise provided.
Xunaa Borough receives $600,000 in general funds for organization grants for fiscal years ending June 30, 2027, 2028, and 2029. Community Block Grants receive $6.315 million: $65,000 in general funds and $6.25 million from other funds. An estimated $17.9 million funds National Petroleum Reserve–Alaska impact grants for community capital projects. That funding uses qualifying federal reserve revenues received by the special revenue fund by June 30, 2026. The Alaska Municipal League receives $450,000 to help carry out and sustain federal infrastructure projects; its funding and Community Block Grants follow capital-project expiration rules unless otherwise provided.
The Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute receives $6 million to promote Alaska seafood in domestic and international markets. The funding supports industry marketing, not direct payments to seafood businesses or workers. It follows Alaska's capital-project expiration rules unless another rule applies.
The Alaska Travel Industry Association receives $6 million for tourism marketing in national and international markets. Fairbanks North Star Borough receives $500,000 for Arctic Winter Games planning and support. These grants fund marketing and event preparation, not direct household payments. They follow Alaska's capital-project expiration rules unless another rule applies.
The law provides $37.5 million from the commercial vessel passenger tax account for 16 municipalities. Grants support port and harbor repairs, upgrades, passenger safety, and vessel and passenger services. Allocations are Anchorage $1.575 million; Haines $3 million; Homer $125,000; Hoonah $3 million; Juneau $6 million; Ketchikan $6.875 million; Klawock $125,000; and Kodiak $300,000. They also include Petersburg $125,000; Seward $500,000; Sitka $4.5 million; Skagway $9 million; Unalaska $125,000; Valdez $375,000; Whittier $1.5 million; and Wrangell $375,000. All grants shrink proportionally if the account lacks enough money after other fiscal year 2027 appropriations.
The law makes qualifying receipts above its existing appropriations available for their related program purposes. Covered sources include federal funds, designated program receipts, information services, the Exxon Valdez trust, housing finance, and marine highways. Vaccine assessments, University of Alaska receipts, highway equipment working capital, and commercial fisheries test-fishing receipts also qualify. Receipts must arrive during the fiscal year ending June 30, 2027, and pass the required program review process. State fund balances held on June 30, 2026, are excluded; no dollar amount is specified.
The law directs federal receipts to Natural Resources to create a statewide project permitting dashboard. Funding covers receipts received during the fiscal years ending June 30, 2026, and June 30, 2027. The amount depends on receipts received and is not specified. This funding does not itself change household eligibility or permit requirements.
The law directs received insurance settlements and other loss recoveries from the general fund to a state reserve or agency. Money goes to the state insurance catastrophe reserve account or the appropriate agency to address the loss. The amount depends on proceeds received and is not specified. This provision does not create household insurance payments.
The law provides $6 million for Public Building Fund repairs, renovations, deferred maintenance, and equipment. It also provides $39 million to replace State Equipment Fleet vehicles and equipment. These appropriations follow Alaska's capital-project expiration rules unless another rule applies. After section 1 appropriations, an estimated $2.1948 million from the Alaska capital income fund supports critical statewide repairs and renovations.
The Alaska Energy Authority receives $350,000 for electrical emergencies and $14.594885 million for Round 18 renewable energy grants. These capital grants follow state lapse rules unless otherwise provided. The authority also receives qualifying federal tax-credit receipts arriving during the fiscal year ending June 30, 2027. Those receipts must come from authority-funded renewable energy projects and support renewable projects or matching funds for federal grants. No total receipt amount or household energy savings are specified.
Anchorage receives $15 million to replace the Port of Alaska cargo terminal. The Alaska Energy Authority administers $9.15 million each for electrification at Juneau and Ketchikan cruise ship terminals. The projects support cargo movement and port power infrastructure, not direct household payments. Funding is subject to state lapse rules unless otherwise provided.
The law provides $27.5 million for Alaska Marine Highway System vessel overhauls, annual certification, and shore facility repairs. The funding supports ferry reliability and facilities used by residents and visitors. It follows Alaska's capital-project expiration rules unless another rule applies.
The law provides a $10 million grant to replace an Anchorage Port of Alaska cargo terminal. Funding is available only if Alaska North Slope crude meets the law's oil-price test. On December 31, 2026, the fiscal year 2027 average price to date must be at least $80 per barrel. The project supports cargo infrastructure used by Anchorage and Alaska's broader supply network.
The Alaska Housing Finance Corporation receives $5 million for rural professional housing, $15 million for affordable housing, and $3 million for senior housing. It also receives $4 million for supplemental housing development and $8 million for statewide housing development and access. Federal HOME grants receive $4.75 million, and the HUD Capital Fund receives $3.75 million. Federal and other competitive grants receive $7.5 million, while competitive public housing grants receive $1.35 million. These funds follow state lapse rules unless otherwise provided; the law sets no individual award amounts or new household eligibility rules.
The Alaska Housing Finance Corporation receives $5 million for weatherization: $2 million in general funds and $3 million in other funds. The Alaska Sustainable Energy Corporation receives $35 million for federal and other competitive grants. The money supports weatherization and sustainable-energy programs, with no household eligibility rules or savings amounts stated. These appropriations are subject to state lapse rules unless otherwise provided.
The law provides $5.2 million to the Alaska Teamster-Employer Service Training Trust for construction-driver and commercial driver's license training. Fairbanks Pipeline Training Center receives $4 million to update and expand equipment. Transportation workforce training receives $8 million, and Alaska Vocational Technical Center receives $5.32 million for programs, equipment, and facilities. The Kenai Peninsula Economic Development District receives $1.68 million for its Kenai Instructional Service Center. These funds support training facilities and services, not guaranteed training places or individual payments, and follow state lapse rules unless otherwise provided.
The law sets aside general funds for Revenue Department tax software and related technology updates. Electronic smoking product tax updates receive $250,000, contingent on enactment of SB 24 or similar tax legislation. North Slope natural gas volume-tax updates receive $500,000, contingent on enactment of HB 381, SB 280, or similar legislation. Another $500,000 covers separate tax-law changes requiring system updates, contingent on enactment of those laws. That last allocation excludes the two named taxes; these appropriations do not themselves set tax rates or household tax bills.
The law ties a $25.953844 million capital funding package to Alaska North Slope crude oil prices. Funding requires the fiscal year 2027 average price to date to reach at least $80 per barrel on December 31, 2026. School grants include $7.272005 million for Kasuun and Kincaid roofs, $453,738 for Tanana's playground, and $1.422183 million for Denali school generators. They also include $252,912 for Stellar's fire alarm and $1.253006 million for Klawock's gym roof. The same condition covers $1.25 million for phase I of Anchorage's Alaska Leaders Archives library renovation and $2 million for phase II of Sitka's dock and mariculture training facility.
The law redirects remaining money from the Alaska Energy Authority’s electric vehicle infrastructure plan to support state energy projects. It provides state matching money for federal funds under the U.S. Department of Energy’s State Energy Program. The amount is estimated at $650,000 and is limited to money not already spent or committed. This change does not create a direct household payment.
The law provides $2 million to the Department of Labor and Workforce Development for paid parental leave technology. Funding is available only after the Thirty-Fourth Alaska Legislature passes and enacts House Bill 193 or a substantially similar program law. This appropriation does not itself create paid leave benefits. It sets no household eligibility rules, payment amounts, or benefit start date.
The law provides $250,000 for electronic smoking product tax technology, only after enactment of Senate Bill 24 or a substantially similar law. It provides $500,000 for North Slope gas tax technology, only after enactment of House Bill 381, Senate Bill 280, or a substantially similar law. Both conditions require passage and enactment by the Thirty-Fourth Alaska Legislature. Another $500,000 supports other tax system changes only when enacted laws require them, excluding those smoking-product and gas taxes. These appropriations fund administration; they do not themselves impose taxes or set tax rates.
SENATE RULES BY REQUEST OF THE GOVERNOR
Affiliation unavailable
There are no cosponsors for this bill.
All Roll Calls
Yes: 658 • No: 703
Senate vote • 5/20/2026
CONCUR AM OF (H) Y18 N2
Yes: 18 • No: 2
House vote • 5/16/2026
EFFECTIVE DATE(S) ADOPTED Y39 N1
Yes: 39 • No: 1
House vote • 5/16/2026
PASSED ON RECONSIDERATION Y24 N16
Yes: 24 • No: 16
House vote • 5/15/2026
PASSED Y24 N16
Yes: 24 • No: 16
House vote • 5/14/2026
RESCIND ACTION (FAILING)AM 25 FAILED Y20 N20
Yes: 20 • No: 20
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 21 TAKE FROM TABLE FAILED Y19 N21
Yes: 19 • No: 21
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 11 FAILED Y20 N20
Yes: 20 • No: 20
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 31 FAILED Y19 N21
Yes: 19 • No: 21
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 32 FAILED Y19 N21
Yes: 19 • No: 21
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 23 FAILED Y18 N22
Yes: 18 • No: 22
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 21 TABLED Y21 N19
Yes: 21 • No: 19
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 10 FAILED Y19 N21
Yes: 19 • No: 21
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 34 FAILED Y19 N21
Yes: 19 • No: 21
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 28 AS AMD FAILED Y19 N21
Yes: 19 • No: 21
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 25 AS AMD FAILED Y20 N20
Yes: 20 • No: 20
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 27 FAILED Y19 N21
Yes: 19 • No: 21
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 30 FAILED Y19 N21
Yes: 19 • No: 21
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 33 AS AMD FAILED Y11 N29
Yes: 11 • No: 29
House vote • 5/14/2026
AM NO 24 FAILED Y19 N21
Yes: 19 • No: 21
House vote • 5/13/2026
AM NO 9 ADOPTED Y28 N11 E1
Yes: 28 • No: 11
House vote • 5/13/2026
AM NO 20 FAILED Y18 N21 E1
Yes: 18 • No: 21
House vote • 5/13/2026
AM NO 22 FAILED Y17 N22 E1
Yes: 17 • No: 22
House vote • 5/13/2026
AM NO 12 FAILED Y9 N30 E1
Yes: 9 • No: 30
House vote • 5/13/2026
AM NO 13 FAILED Y13 N26 E1
Yes: 13 • No: 26
House vote • 5/13/2026
FIN HCS ADOPTED Y23 N16 E1
Yes: 23 • No: 16
House vote • 5/13/2026
MOTION TO DIVIDE AM NO 2 FAILED Y11 N28 E1
Yes: 11 • No: 28
House vote • 5/13/2026
AM NO 2 FAILED Y16 N23 E1
Yes: 16 • No: 23
House vote • 5/13/2026
RESCIND ACTION (FAILING)AM 2 PASSED Y20 N19 E1
Yes: 20 • No: 19
House vote • 5/13/2026
AM NO 2 FAILED Y19 N20 E1
Yes: 19 • No: 20
House vote • 5/13/2026
AM NO 5 FAILED Y17 N21 E1 A1
Yes: 17 • No: 21
House vote • 5/13/2026
AM NO 6 FAILED Y18 N21 E1
Yes: 18 • No: 21
House vote • 5/13/2026
AM NO 19 FAILED Y18 N21 E1
Yes: 18 • No: 21
House vote • 5/13/2026
AM NO 18 FAILED Y15 N24 E1
Yes: 15 • No: 24
House vote • 5/13/2026
AM NO 8 AS AMD FAILED Y17 N22 E1
Yes: 17 • No: 22
Senate vote • 4/21/2026
AM NO 2 FAILED Y6 N12 E1 A1
Yes: 6 • No: 12
Senate vote • 4/21/2026
AM NO 1 FAILED Y7 N12 E1
Yes: 7 • No: 12
Enrolled SB 214
5/20/2026
HCS CSSB 214(FIN) am H
5/13/2026
HCS CSSB 214(FIN)
5/11/2026
CSSB 214(FIN)
4/16/2026
SB 214
1/21/2026