All Roll Calls
Yes: 127 • No: 1
Sponsored By: Joint Budget Committee
Enacted
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
16 provisions identified: 13 benefits, 0 costs, 3 mixed.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $300,000 for private career school protection claims, expenses, and fees. The money comes from the Private Career School Student Protection Trust Fund; individual payments and eligibility are not specified. The State Board of Private Career Education also gets $312,410 from its dedicated fund and $20,500 from cash funds. The Chief Fiscal Officer determines the cash fund source, and the board can hire two Extra Help workers. Board operating funds do not themselves change student tuition or benefits.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $10.15 million in designated federal funds for TANF programs. TANF is Temporary Assistance for Needy Families. Self-sufficiency and job-training grants get $6.54785 million, while enrollment and education get $3 million. The remaining money pays for staff and operations. This appropriation does not change individual eligibility or set benefit amounts.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $7.11777 million for health education aid at participating out-of-state schools. Dental grants get $2.95 million and dental loans get $987,370; optometry grants get $650,000 and loans get $140,000. Chiropractic aid gets $260,000, podiatry aid gets $130,400, and veterinary aid forgiveness gets $1.75 million. Veterinary medical loan forgiveness gets another $250,000. Eligible Arkansas citizens receive assistance through these programs; individual awards and loan terms are not specified here. Surplus funds can move among the listed programs after certification to, and approval by, the Chief Fiscal Officer.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $4 million for scholarships to historically Black colleges and universities. The money also covers outreach staff and operating costs, as determined by the Division of Higher Education. This provision does not set individual award amounts or eligibility rules.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $71.55 million for student grants and scholarships. Academic Challenge gets $25 million; Governor’s Scholars gets $22 million; Arkansas Future Grants gets $5 million. Arkansas Heroes gets $5.5 million, and National Guard tuition assistance gets $4.4 million. State Teacher Education gets $4 million; Teacher Opportunity gets $2.5 million; minority teacher scholarships for critical geographic needs get $150,000. Governor’s Higher Education Transition Scholarships gets $2 million for students with intellectual or developmental disabilities in transition programs. Single Parent Scholarships and SREB Minority Doctoral Scholars each get $175,000. Washington Center Scholarships and SURF undergraduate research each get $150,000; tuition adjustment gets $350,000. Individual awards follow each program’s rules; this funding provision does not change eligibility or set personal award amounts. Officials can move funds between aid programs to match eligible student numbers. Transfers require the division director’s certification, Chief Fiscal Officer approval, and Legislative Council or Joint Budget Committee review.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $12 million for the Arkansas Teacher Academy Scholarship Program. The money pays for scholarships, staff, and operating costs to create and maintain the program. This provision does not set individual scholarship amounts or eligibility requirements.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $983,244 for AmeriCorps staff, operations, and aid. That amount includes $50,000 for grants and aid. A separate appropriation provides another $2.010704 million for AmeriCorps grants and aid. These provisions do not set individual awards or eligibility rules.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $8 million for workforce education grants and related costs. The Chief Fiscal Officer can transfer money from the Division of Higher Education Fund Account to fund these grants. Transfers cannot exceed the $8 million appropriation and must fund grants identified in the Workforce Initiative law. The law also provides $534,656 in designated federal funds for technical education program staff and operations. These provisions do not set individual awards or eligibility rules.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $10 million from the Graduate Medical Education Fund. Eligible entities receive planning grants to expand medical residency programs or create new ones. The money also covers board expenses and reimbursements. Separately, the law provides $400,000 for student loans and scholarships through the Osteopathic Rural Medical Practice Program.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Northwest Technical Institute gets $5.568196 million in state operating funding. The law also provides $316,156 in designated federal funds and $4.713118 million from cash funds. The money supports staff, operating costs, and cash-funded resale activities. The institute can employ up to 79 regular employees and 135 temporary or part-time Extra Help workers. These provisions do not create direct household payments or set tuition rates.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $7.437405 million for state-supported colleges and universities. The money comes from the Sustainable Building Maintenance Program Revolving Loan Fund. Loans or transfers fund deferred repairs, critical maintenance, or renovations of state-owned property. This provision does not set loan terms or direct household payments.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the Division of Higher Education gets $4.549547 million for general operations. This includes $295,000 for statewide promotion, funded by a transfer from the Higher Education Grants Fund. At least $147,500 must promote Arkansas Future Grants. Separate appropriations provide $715,489 for scholarship administration, $500,000 for web applications, $416,030 for cash-funded operations, and $50,000 for cash-funded scholarships. The Chief Fiscal Officer determines the cash fund source. The division has a ceiling of 52 regular positions and can hire 15 Extra Help workers. These appropriations do not set individual scholarship awards or change student eligibility.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $393,415 in designated federal funds for the Veterans’ Approving Agency. The money pays for staff and operating costs. It does not change veterans’ education benefits, eligibility, or payment amounts.
From July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, public college leaders can request budget and position transfers for reorganization or administrative consolidation. Each institution gets at most two requests; transfers cannot exceed 5% of specified General Revenue and Special Revenue funding, appropriations, and positions. Board approval and prior Legislative Council or Joint Budget Committee approval are required. Academic program transfers need prior division review, must retain their approved purposes, and cannot include Tobacco Settlement funds.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $750,000 for research grants to colleges and universities. It also redirects deposits after the Higher Education Building Maintenance Fund receives $13.2 million. Additional deposits go to the Research Development Fund instead of building maintenance. Research gains those deposits, while building maintenance does not receive money above that threshold through this deposit stream.
From July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, colleges can transfer specified contingency budget authority with division and Chief Fiscal Officer approval. Cash authority stays within cash-funded budgets; State Treasury authority goes to operations funded by the same fund. Tobacco Settlement authority stays within budgets funded by the same Tobacco Settlement accounts. Transfers can add or increase only spending items recommended by the Higher Education Coordinating Board. Requests are due July 1, 2026; the division must report transfers for Legislative Council or Joint Budget Committee review in July.
Joint Budget Committee
Affiliation unavailable
There are no cosponsors for this bill.
All Roll Calls
Yes: 127 • No: 1
House vote • 4/27/2026
House Vote - Monday, April 27, 2026 3:41:26 PM
Yes: 94 • No: 1
Senate vote • 4/23/2026
Senate Vote - Thursday, April 23, 2026 12:21:05 PM
Yes: 33 • No: 0
Notification that SB58 is now Act 138
DELIVERED TO GOVERNOR.
Reported correctly enrolled and ordered delivered to the Governor.
ORDERED ENROLLED
Returned from the House as passed.
Returned To Senate as Passed.
EMERGENCY CLAUSE ADOPTED
Read the third time and passed and ordered transmitted to the Senate.
Considered in the Committee of the Whole, and recommended do pass.
RULES SUSPENDED
Read the first time, rules suspended, read the second time and placed on the CALENDAR.
RECEIVED FROM THE SENATE
Ordered Immediately transmitted to the House.
EMERGENCY CLAUSE ADOPTED
Read the third time and passed.
Rules suspended.
Returned by the Committee, with the recommendation that it Do Pass
Read first time, rules suspended, read second time, referred to JOINT BUDGET COMMITTEE
Filed
SB58 - Introduced
4/6/2026
Act Version
SB31, AN ACT FOR THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF THE COURTS APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2026-2027 FISCAL YEAR.
HB1066, AN ACT FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT - DIVISION OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2026-2027 FISCAL YEAR.
HB1007, AN ACT FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION - DIVISION OF ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION - PUBLIC SCHOOL FUND APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2026-2027 FISCAL YEAR.
SB21, AN ACT FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES - DIVISION OF AGING, ADULT, AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SERVICES APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2026-2027 FISCAL YEAR.
HB1005, AN ACT FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2026-2027 FISCAL YEAR.
HB1103, TO INCREASE THE HOMESTEAD PROPERTY TAX CREDIT.