All Roll Calls
Yes: 38 • No: 0
Sponsored By: Sponsor information unavailable
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
15 provisions identified: 2 benefits, 2 costs, 11 mixed.
The law cuts Fiscal Year 2026 funding for Financing and Other by $173.4 million. It removes $92.4 million from Workforce Investments and $95 million from Repayment of Loans and Interest. The law does not specify changes to a person’s loan payments or employment services.
In Fiscal Year 2026, the law directs the District to move $150 million from its Fiscal Stabilization Reserve to the General Fund’s unassigned balance. The money is available under the approved Fiscal Year 2027 budget plan. The law does not provide a direct household payment or specify a change to services.
The law adds $25 million for an additional bridge housing location. It cuts $40 million from Single Shelter Replacement 5 and $56.3 million from the Housing Authority’s Development and Rehabilitation project. The law does not say how many households or properties are affected.
The law lets the Deputy Mayor for Planning and Economic Development issue one or more grants to Children’s National Hospital. Grant money can pay only for site assessments for a new hospital campus. The law sets no grant amount and does not require the Deputy Mayor to award a grant.
The law adds $40 million to the Capital One project budget for Fiscal Year 2026. It does not explain the project’s purpose or identify who benefits.
The law cuts $16.3 million from Fiscal Year 2026 Enterprise and Other Funds. The reductions include $10 million from the Housing Production Trust Fund, about $3 million from the University of the District of Columbia, and about $3.3 million from the Washington Convention and Sports Authority. The law does not specify which services will change.
The law adds $15.1 million in local funding to District public safety and justice agencies for Fiscal Year 2026. The Metropolitan Police Department gets $18.7 million more, and the Department of Corrections gets $2.8 million more. Other agencies in the group have funding cuts.
The law adds $27.6 million for Benning Road bridges and transportation improvements. It also cuts $61 million from the H Street Bridge budget. The law does not say how these changes affect construction or travel.
The law adds $28.6 million to District operations and infrastructure funding for Fiscal Year 2026. The Department of Public Works receives $36.3 million in local funds. Several agencies, including the District Department of Transportation, have net funding cuts.
The law adds $18.9 million to District government support funding for Fiscal Year 2026. The Board of Elections gets $2.5 million, and the Department of General Services gets about $16.2 million. The Office of Campaign Finance receives $5 million, while other agencies have funding cuts.
The law directs the District’s Chief Financial Officer to move specified balances and revenue from designated accounts into the General Fund during Fiscal Year 2026. Examples include money from health, long-term care, transportation, and energy funds. The transfers support the revised Fiscal Year 2026 budget and the approved Fiscal Year 2027 budget plan.
The law cuts $48.2 million in local funding from the Human Support Services portfolio for Fiscal Year 2026. The Department of Health Care Finance loses $47.3 million, while the Department of Health and the Department of Human Services receive smaller increases. The law does not change a person’s eligibility or benefit amount.
The law adds $20.5 million for the Housing Authority Payment in Fiscal Year 2026. It cuts $10 million from the Housing Production Trust Fund Subsidy and reduces some other agency funding. The overall portfolio increase does not mean every housing program gets more money.
The law adds about $7 million for heating and air-conditioning replacement in District public schools. It cuts $25 million from Shaw-Howard University infrastructure. The law does not identify the schools or facilities affected or say how student services or costs change.
The law adds $64.5 million in local funding to the District’s public education system for Fiscal Year 2026. The Office of the State Superintendent of Education receives $35.6 million, and public charter schools receive $33.1 million. Cuts to other accounts partly offset these increases.
There is no primary sponsor on record.
Phil Mendelson
Democratic • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 38 • No: 0
House vote • 9/22/2026
Final Reading, CC
Yes: 12 • No: 0 • Other: 1
House vote • 6/23/2026
First Reading
Yes: 13 • No: 0
House vote • 6/23/2026
Other
Yes: 13 • No: 0
Act A26-0425 Published in DC Register Vol 73 and Page 013465
Returned from Mayor
Signed by the Mayor and Enacted with Act Number A26-0425
Transmitted to Mayor, Response Due on Oct 20, 2026
Legislative Meeting
Notice of Intent to Act on B26-0663 Published in the District of Columbia Register
Legislative Meeting
Retained by the Council with comments from the Committee of the Whole
B26-0663 Introduced by Chairman Mendelson at Office of the Secretary
Enrollment
9/22/2026
Amendment
6/23/2026
Engrossment
6/23/2026
Introduced
4/20/2026
B26-0047, Funeral Directors Licensing Reform Amendment Act of 2025
B26-0181, Short-Term Disability Insurance Benefit Protection Clarification Amendment Act of 2025
B26-0735, Special Education for Young Adults in the Custody of the Department of Corrections Temporary Amendment Act of 2026
B26-0760, Medical Cannabis Licensing and Unlicensed Establishment Enforcement Clarification Temporary Amendment Act of 2026
B26-0661, Fiscal Year 2027 Budget Support Act of 2026
B26-0526, Leading Education Access for Reentry and Necessary Success (LEARNS) Amendment Act of 2025