KentuckyHB 5032026 Regular SessionHouseWALLET

AN ACT making appropriations for the operations, maintenance, and support of the Legislative Branch of the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

Sponsored By: Jason Petrie (Republican)

Became Law

AppropriationsBudget And Financial AdministrationGeneral AssemblyLegislative Research CommissionState Agencies

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

8 provisions identified: 2 benefits, 5 costs, 1 mixed.

Kentucky funds legislative operations and ethics

Kentucky provides $90.2014 million for legislative operations in fiscal year 2026-27 and $92.8997 million in 2027-28. These totals include General Fund money of $90.1264 million and $92.7247 million, respectively. Restricted funds supply the remaining $75,000 and $175,000. Within these totals, the Legislative Ethics Commission gets $567,700 in General Fund money each year. The commission also gets the $75,000 and $175,000 in restricted funds; these are not extra appropriations.

Legislative staff raises match state employees

Legislative Research Commission employees receive a salary adjustment in each fiscal year of the 2026-28 budget. Each adjustment matches the one provided to State and Executive Branch employees. The law does not state the adjustment amounts.

Conference organizers gain temporary alcohol licenses

The law requires temporary nonprofit alcohol licenses for qualifying nonprofits, organizers, or sponsors of state, regional, or national conferences. Each license lasts no more than 30 days and excludes political campaign fundraisers. License holders and their staff or agents can handle alcohol, sell it by package or drink, and offer free service. Alcohol donations, auctions, and raffles are allowed, and suppliers can donate or deliver products to license holders. Conference locations are not treated as public places for purposes of KRS Chapter 222.

Legislative pension recipients miss July increase

The law blocks a July 1, 2026 pension increase for retirement allowance recipients covered by KRS 6.500–6.577. It does not state the amount of the blocked increase. This restriction concerns an increase, not a cut to existing pension payments.

Kentucky limits distribution of legislative publications

Beginning July 1, 2026, Kentucky suspends distribution of the final issue of the Legislative Record and the interim Legislative Record. The Legislative Research Commission director can also choose electronic-only distribution for certain official publications. These include the Acts of the General Assembly, House and Senate Journals, and official Kentucky statute publications. Electronic-only distribution is optional, not required.

Kentucky policy research center stays suspended

Beginning July 1, 2026, the Kentucky Long-Term Policy Research Center and its governing board remain suspended. The law provides no funding for either fiscal year of the 2026-28 budget. The suspension lasts through June 30, 2028, unless funding is restored earlier.

Kentucky funds a judicial pay study

Kentucky provides $1 million in fiscal year 2026-27 for an outside consultant to study Judicial Branch pay. The study covers elected and nonelected personnel, job classifications, pay levels, and how pay compares with the job market. It must recommend possible adjustments and reach the Interim Joint Committee on Appropriations and Revenue by July 1, 2027. The study does not itself raise anyone's pay.

Kentucky legislators get allowances, limited raises

Kentucky legislators' daily pay and interim expense allowances stay at the levels authorized for 2024-26. Beginning January 1, 2027, adjustments are limited to the salary increase provided to State and Executive Branch employees. The law does not state that increase's amount. At the start of each legislative session, House members receive $350 instead of stationery, and senators receive $650.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • Jason Petrie

    Republican • House

Cosponsors

  • Adam Bowling

    Republican • House

  • Josh Bray

    Republican • House

  • Steven Rudy

    Republican • House

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 333 • No: 60

House vote • 4/14/2026

passed

Yes: 71 • No: 19

Senate vote • 4/14/2026

passed

Yes: 32 • No: 6

House vote • 4/1/2026

passed

Yes: 79 • No: 15

Senate vote • 4/1/2026

passed

Yes: 38 • No: 0

Senate vote • 3/18/2026

3rd reading, passed

Yes: 38 • No: 0

House vote • 3/3/2026

3rd reading, passed

Yes: 75 • No: 20

Actions Timeline

  1. delivered to Secretary of State (Acts Ch. 166)

    4/14/2026
  2. enrolled, signed by President of the Senate

    4/14/2026House
  3. enrolled, signed by Speaker of the House

    4/14/2026House
  4. received in House

    4/14/2026House
  5. passed 32-6

    4/14/2026Senate
  6. vetoes overridden

    4/14/2026Senate
  7. posted for consideration of Governor's line vetoes

    4/14/2026
  8. to Rules (S)

    4/14/2026Senate
  9. received in Senate

    4/14/2026Senate
  10. passed 71-19

    4/14/2026House
  11. vetoes overridden

    4/14/2026House
  12. posted for consideration of Governor's line vetoes

    4/14/2026
  13. taken from Rules

    4/14/2026House
  14. to Rules (H)

    4/14/2026House
  15. received in House

    4/14/2026House
  16. line items vetoed

    4/13/2026
  17. delivered to Governor

    4/1/2026
  18. enrolled, signed by President of the Senate

    4/1/2026House
  19. enrolled, signed by Speaker of the House

    4/1/2026House
  20. passed 79-15

    4/1/2026House
  21. Free Conference Committee report adopted in House

    4/1/2026House
  22. posted for passage for consideration of Free Conference Conference Committee Report

    4/1/2026House
  23. taken from Rules

    4/1/2026House
  24. to Rules (H)

    4/1/2026House
  25. received in House

    4/1/2026House

Bill Text

  • Current

    4/14/2026

  • Introduced

    1/20/2026

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation