All Roll Calls
Yes: 205 • No: 10
Sponsored By: Deaton, Dirk (159)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
57 provisions identified: 38 benefits, 10 costs, 9 mixed.
The law provides $143.64 million for community programs and related services for people with developmental disabilities. Spending on non-Medicaid residential services cannot fall below prior-year spending while the person is evaluated as needing those services. The law funds services rather than setting individual cash payments.
The law bars Part 1 scholarship money from supporting students with unlawful immigration status in the United States. The restriction applies to those appropriated funds, not every possible source of scholarship aid.
The law provides $164.82 million for psychiatric rehabilitation, substance-use treatment, behavioral health case management, and community behavioral health organization services. These services support MO HealthNet participants or uninsured people. A separate $101.1 million funds physician and related services from certified community behavioral health organizations. Applied behavior analysis services must be included in those organizations' prospective payment system. The money pays for services rather than direct cash benefits to patients.
The law provides $824.12 million for Medicaid-related program distributions. This includes $32.19 million in supplemental payments for Tier 1 Safety Net Hospitals or affiliated physician groups, requiring federal approval. It also includes $148 million for specified behavioral health services for MO HealthNet participants and uninsured people. Covered services include psychiatric rehabilitation, substance-use treatment, behavioral health case management, and community behavioral health organization services.
The law provides $103 million in federal money for Missouri SuN Bucks summer food benefits. The money funds benefit payments through the Summer Electronic Benefit Transfer program. This appropriation does not state eligibility thresholds or the amount each child receives.
The law transfers $6 million into the Access Missouri Financial Assistance Fund. It authorizes $7.4 million from that fund for student aid through June 30, 2025. Students must qualify under the existing Access Missouri program; the law does not set each student's award.
The law provides $14.71 million for school districts' excess special education costs through June 30, 2025. It also provides $20.79 million for early childhood special education and $537,043 for Missouri's early childhood system. These funds support services for children, rather than setting payments to individual families.
The law provides $16.527 million for First Steps early intervention services through June 30, 2025. That includes $15.209 million from General Revenue and $1.318 million in federal money. It also provides $26.787 million in federal money for Missouri's Special Education Program through the same date. These appropriations support services, not individual cash payments, and do not change special education eligibility.
The law provides $29.03 million for state employee overtime pay. Nonexempt employees identified in Section 105.935 are paid first; remaining money can cover other state employees' overtime. Another $3.4 million funds state workers' compensation benefits and related legal and administrative costs through June 30, 2025. That coverage runs through state self-insurance, a private insurer, or both.
The law provides $69.6 million for Department of Revenue refunds through June 30, 2025. This covers tax overpayments, mistaken tax payments, and other payments credited to the General Revenue Fund. The law does not set each refund amount.
The law provides about $144.87 million for water infrastructure grants and loans through June 30, 2025. The money comes from the Water and Wastewater Loan Revolving Fund. It supports infrastructure projects, not direct household payments. The provision does not set loan terms.
The law transfers $54.794 million from General Revenue to the Social Services Intergovernmental Transfer Fund for mental health payment matching. It also transfers $60.543 million from the Mental Health Federal Fund to General Revenue for the state match. Separately, it provides $5,000 from the Mental Health Federal Stimulus Fund for refunds. These provisions do not set individual benefit or refund amounts.
The law funds uninsured children's coverage with $106.02 million and Show-Me Healthy Babies with $20.43 million. Family premium rates are 0% through 150% of the federal poverty level and 4% above 150% through 185%. Rates are 8% above 185% through 225%, and 14% above 225% through 300%. Premiums cannot exceed 5% of total income, and families above 300% of poverty are ineligible for the children's coverage. The law allows 10% funding flexibility between the programs.
The law provides $545,028 for family planning, pregnancy testing, sexually transmitted disease testing and treatment, and follow-up care. Services are limited to uninsured women who are legal Missouri residents ages 18 through 55. Household Modified Adjusted Gross Income cannot exceed 201% of the federal poverty level. Funds cannot support non-hospital abortion providers or their affiliates. Restrictions also cover specified abortion procedures, referrals, encouragement, and products, except when needed to save the mother's life.
The law provides $49.9 million for consumer-directed personal care and $45.23 million for home and community services. Consumer-directed care payments cannot exceed 60% of the average monthly Medicaid cost of nursing facility care. Eligible Medicaid Personal Care Option participants must be allowed to choose the option that best meets their assessed unmet needs. Funds follow that choice only as needed to meet those needs, without creating benefits beyond those established by statute. The law allows 10% funding flexibility between the two appropriations.
The law provides $47.488 million for youth psychiatric services and community programs from state, mental health federal, and children's insurance funds. It also provides $6.629 million for children's room and board in designated Qualified Residential Treatment Program facilities. Daily payment caps are $194.47 for Level II, $239.16 for Level III, and $253.80 for Level IV. Court-ordered residential treatment placements are covered even when an independent assessor did not recommend them. These are service payments, not cash benefits for families.
The law provides $700,000 for Early Childhood Missouri Scholarships through June 30, 2025. None of this appropriation can fund new scholarships. The restriction does not state that existing scholarships end.
The law provides $550,000 for Fast Track Workforce Incentive Grants through June 30, 2025. Private four-year school grants cannot exceed University of Missouri-Columbia in-state tuition and fees. Private two-year school grants cannot exceed the most comparable public program's in-state tuition, fees, and charges. That comparison uses a Missouri public community college or the State Technical College of Missouri.
The law provides $157.443 million for public school distributions through June 30, 2025. This includes $142.443 million for the Foundation Formula and $15 million for the Small Schools Program. The formula's State Adequacy Target cannot exceed $6,760 per pupil. The money cannot support sharing identifiable student data for noneducational purposes, marketing, or advertising.
The Department of Social Services must report every three months on Alternative Care Trust Fund money received for a child. Reports go to the child's parents and guardian ad litem, the child's court-appointed legal representative. Children age 15 or older also receive reports. This rule does not change benefit amounts.
The law sets aside $552,960 to repay over-collected amounts and incorrectly deposited receipts. Only people or entities owed a refund or repayment can receive this money. The law does not set individual refund amounts.
The law provides $14 million in federal money for Home and Community Services grants through Area Agencies on Aging. The money supports services delivered through those agencies. This appropriation does not set individual eligibility, benefit amounts, or a distribution date.
The law transfers $11.682 million from the Veterans, Health, and Community Reinvestment Fund to the Veterans Reinvestment Fund. The money supports veterans' health and care services. Investment earnings stay in the fund. Money left after a two-year budget period also stays there instead of returning to General Revenue. The provision does not set an individual veteran's benefit amount.
The law provides $2.44 million in federal money for refunds administered by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. It also funds qualifying debt-offset refunds: $2,000 at State Technical College of Missouri and $100,000 at University of Central Missouri. Missouri State University receives $50,000 for those refunds. The college refunds must meet the state's debt-offset refund law. These appropriations run through June 30, 2025, and do not state individual refund amounts.
The law provides $15.53 million for Missouri's Vocational Rehabilitation Program through June 30, 2025. The money supports program services for people with disabilities. It does not change eligibility rules or set an individual benefit amount.
The law provides $1.5 million from the Department of Social Services Federal Fund for business enterprise programs for blind people. The provision does not set individual payments or eligibility rules.
The law provides $89,116 for State Highway Patrol equipment and expenses. The money comes from the State Highways and Transportation Department Fund.
The law provides $3 million from the Missouri Arts Council Trust Fund for the Missouri State Council on the Arts. It also provides $250,000 from the Missouri Public Broadcasting Corporation Special Fund for public television and radio station grants.
The law provides $250,000 for law enforcement training related to immigration enforcement through June 30, 2025. The Department of Public Safety must use the money for training consistent with 8 U.S.C. Section 1357(g). This appropriation does not itself create new duties for individuals.
The law provides $3.9 million for corrections safety equipment and services, plus $242,432 for toxicology testing. It also provides $6 million from the Working Capital Revolving Fund for Missouri Correctional Enterprises. Counties receive $30,000 for qualifying correctional prosecution reimbursements through June 30, 2025. These appropriations fund operations and county costs, not household payments.
Part 1 funds can support state-aircraft flights carrying elected officials only when their flight plans are publicly available. The plans must appear through a global aviation data service offering free private and commercial aircraft tracking. The service must have both a website and mobile app.
The law provides $6.770 million for alcohol and drug treatment and $856,000 for grants to local governments affected by opioids. It transfers $11.682 million to the Health Reinvestment Fund and authorizes that amount for addiction and overdose service grants. These grants support evidence-based, low-barrier treatment, overdose prevention and reversal, education, job placement, housing, and counseling. Applicants serving populations with the highest drug-overdose rates receive priority. Investment earnings and money left after each two-year budget period stay in the Health Reinvestment Fund.
The law provides $3.344 million from the Vocational Rehabilitation Fund for Missouri's Disability Determination Program through June 30, 2025. The money funds program operations. It does not change eligibility standards or state how any person's decision or benefits are affected.
The law provides $48.16 million from the Federal Earnings Fund to construct a 200-bed mental health hospital. The project must involve a non-state public acute care hospital operating inpatient behavioral health beds in a state-owned facility. This funds construction, not immediate access to an individual hospital bed.
The law provides $2.668 million for communicable disease control and prevention. Another $492,928 funds COVID-19 testing, vaccinations, reporting, and public health workers. It provides $166,143 for community health and wellness and $225,000 for environmental public health. Health data and disease tracking receive $125,000, while local public health agency support receives $79,976. The funding supports public health services, not individual cash payments.
The law provides $575,615 for Fulton State Hospital and $652,547 for the Northwest Missouri Psychiatric Rehabilitation Center. It provides $554,724 for the Forensic Treatment Center and $343,258 for the Southeast Missouri Mental Health Center. The Center for Behavioral Medicine receives $94,656. These amounts fund facility expenses and equipment. A separate $32,715 supports adult psychiatric services.
The law provides $20.639 million for contracted physical and mental health care for people in Missouri corrections custody. It also provides $1.968 million for substance use treatment and recovery services. That includes $733,850 from General Revenue and $1.234 million from the Opioid Addiction Treatment and Recovery Fund. These appropriations cover the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, and do not set individual payments.
The law provides $873,077 to reimburse attorneys, physicians, and counties for fees tied to involuntary civil commitment proceedings. This money goes to providers and local governments. It does not create a general household payment or impose a new personal payment duty.
The law provides $5.8 million for Comprehensive Literacy Development and $6.097 million for Supporting Effective Instruction grants. Language acquisition programs receive $263,934. State Board of Education-operated programs receive $3 million for expenses and equipment. The Healthy Schools, Successful Students Program receives $65,975. All these amounts are federal funding for the fiscal period ending June 30, 2025.
The law provides $2.701 million in federal money to career and technical education providers through June 30, 2025. Adult Basic Education providers receive $1.554 million in federal money through the same date. Another $330,500 in federal welfare funds supports a nonprofit in a Missouri county with more than one million residents. That nonprofit provides youth and families with mentoring, college preparation, workforce development, and character preparation, virtually or in person. These are provider funds, not individual awards.
The law provides $215,000 for the Downtown Revitalization Preservation Program through June 30, 2025. The money comes from the Downtown Revitalization Preservation Fund. The appropriation does not specify individual awards or household payments.
The law provides about $1.87 million in general revenue for Office of Administration building costs. Covered costs include leases, utilities, furniture, structural changes, and related equipment and expenses. It also transfers about $3.66 million in general revenue to the Facilities Maintenance Reserve Fund.
The law provides $6.59 million for Family Support Division income maintenance field staff and operations. This includes $2.82 million in general revenue and $3.77 million in federal funds. The money supports program administration without changing benefit amounts or eligibility.
The law provides $30.97 million to operate Missouri's Medicaid information system. It also provides $6 million for third-party collections, revenue collection efforts, and cost-avoidance fees. These appropriations support program operations, not direct household payments.
The law moves $2 million from general revenue into the Charter School Revolving Capital Improvement Fund. It authorizes lending that $2 million to new and existing charter schools through June 30, 2025. Loans support capital improvements and acquisitions. The provision does not set loan terms.
The law transfers $530,636 from the nursing student loan and nurse loan repayment fund to the State Board of Nursing Fund. This moves money within the state's nursing loan funding structure. It does not set individual awards, eligibility rules, or repayment terms.
The Department of Natural Resources must give lawmakers written notice at least 60 days before buying land with Section 14.225 funds. Without that notice, the department cannot use those funds for the purchase.
The Department of Natural Resources cannot use Section 14.225 funds to implement or enforce the 2015 federal WOTUS water rule without legislative approval. The law also bars those funds from implementing or enforcing federal carbon pollution guidelines for existing electric utility generating units. These restrictions govern agency spending, not household duties.
Section 14.225 funds cannot pay for work on private land along the Missouri Rock Island Trail Corridor from Windsor to Beaufort. The ban covers maintenance, rehabilitation, restoration, and repairs. It applies inside and outside city, town, or village limits.
Public colleges cannot spend Part 1 funds if they charge students with unlawful immigration status less than international students. This restriction ties access to the appropriation to the college's tuition policy. It does not directly set tuition; any student price change depends on the college's response.
Part 1 funds cannot pay for program distributions tied to Article IV, Section 36(c) of the Missouri Constitution. Spending under Section 14.570 is exempt from this ban. The provision does not name affected recipients or specify a dollar amount.
Covered MO HealthNet physician payments generally cannot exceed January 1, 2024 rates. Community behavioral health organization rates cannot exceed approved Department of Mental Health rates; autism rates use that department's January 1, 2024 ceiling. Independent laboratory payments cannot exceed 90% of the 2023 Medicare allowed rate. Ophthalmologist payments cannot exceed 85% of that rate. These limits do not set patient charges.
Covered provider payments generally cannot exceed January 1, 2024 rates, except for cost-based and actuarially sound substance-use treatment rate changes. Children's qualified residential treatment payments are capped at $194.47 daily for Level II. Daily caps are $239.16 for Level III and $253.80 for Level IV. These caps apply whether or not the qualified program is classified as an institution for mental diseases, including payments under Section 14.540.
Covered home care provider rates generally cannot exceed their January 1, 2024 levels. Private duty nursing payments cannot exceed $15.20 per 15-minute service unit. Reassessments are capped at $100 each, except for providers enrolled in the Value Based Purchasing Reassessment Program. These are provider payment limits, not charges households must pay.
Covered behavioral health provider payments generally cannot exceed January 1, 2024 rates. Certified community clinics' Medicare Economic Index increases cannot exceed 2.86% above that baseline, except for revenue-maximization efforts. Recovery support caps are $34.46 for individual counseling, $44.57 for recovery housing, and $12.60 for care coordination. Peer support is capped at $22.15 and group rehabilitative support at $4.08. These limits govern provider payments, not direct patient charges.
The law provides about $3.06 million for Missouri's Performance Based Assessment Program through June 30, 2025. This money cannot support sharing identifiable student data with the federal government, except for specified reports. Exceptions cover Migrant Education, Vocational Rehabilitation, and Disability Determination reporting. The money also cannot pay Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium license fees or membership dues.
The law provides $2.2 million for a narrowly defined childcare startup program through June 30, 2025. The program must be in a city with more than 27,000 but fewer than 30,000 residents. It must be associated with a nonprofit law enforcement group in a city with more than 8,000 but fewer than 9,000 residents. Both cities must be in counties with more than one million residents. Grant recipients must provide an equal, 50/50 match.
Deaton, Dirk (159)
Affiliation unavailable
There are no cosponsors for this bill.
All Roll Calls
Yes: 205 • No: 10
Senate vote • 3/12/2025
Truly Agreed To and Finally Passed
Yes: 26 • No: 8
House vote • 3/5/2025
Third Read and Passed
Yes: 150 • No: 2
House vote • 2/27/2025
HCS Reported Do Pass
Yes: 29 • No: 0
Delivered to Secretary of State (G)
Approved by Governor (G)
Delivered to Governor
Signed by President Pro Tem
Signed by House Speaker
Senate Message
Truly Agreed To and Finally Passed - AYES: 26 NOES: 8 PRESENT: 0
Taken Up for Third Reading
Reported Do Pass
Voted Do Pass
Executive Session Held
Public Hearing Held
Public Hearing Scheduled - Tuesday, March 11, 2025, 8:30 a.m., Senate Committee Room 2.
Second read and referred: Appropriations
Reported to the Senate and First Read
Third Read and Passed - AYES: 150 NOES: 2 PRESENT: 0
Taken Up for Third Reading
Perfected with Amendments - HA 1, HA 2, adopted.
HCS Adopted
Title of Bill - Agreed To
Taken Up for Perfection
HCS Reported Do Pass - AYES: 29 NOES: 0 PRESENT: 0
HCS Voted Do Pass
Executive Session Completed
Public Hearing Completed
Truly Agreed
3/12/2025
Perfected
3/3/2025
Committee Substitute
2/27/2025
Introduced
2/13/2025
HB3, Appropriates money for the expenses, grants, refunds, and distributions of the Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development
HB8, Appropriates money for the expenses, grants, refunds, and distributions of the Department of Public Safety and the Department of National Guard
HB11, Appropriates money for the expenses, grants, refunds, and distributions of the Department of Social Services
HB10, Appropriates money for the expenses, grants, refunds, and distributions of the Department of Mental Health, the Department of Health and Senior Services, and the Missouri Health Facilities Review Committee
SB79, Modifies provisions relating to health care
SB271, Modifies provisions relating to emergency services