All Roll Calls
Yes: 340 • No: 2
Sponsored By: Karl Oliver (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
22 provisions identified: 16 benefits, 0 costs, 6 mixed.
For fiscal year 2027, the law funds the education department and sends about $3.1 billion to the Student Funding Formula. The formula uses a $7,201.77 base amount per unit. The law also provides $16 million for school buildings and buses, $25 million for learning materials, and $11.3 million for testing. Funding runs from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027.
A school district may choose to pay all health plan premiums for a retired Public Employees’ Retirement System member it employs as a bus driver. The district must use local funds, not state funds. The law does not require districts to offer this benefit.
School Attendance Officers and academic teachers at the Mississippi School for the Deaf and the Mississippi School for the Blind receive annual salary increments; the law does not state the amount. The law also sets aside at least $24.08 million for National Board Certification, including $700,000 for teacher instruction and help. Another $3.5 million supports the Mississippi Teacher Residency Program. Funding applies during fiscal year 2027.
The law provides $2 million for school policing grants through the Mississippi Community Oriented Policing Services in Schools program. Up to 1% of the funds can pay for training and program oversight, including audits.
The law provides $92.5 million in general funds and $22.7 million in special funds for vocational and technical education. It also funds extended-year programs, career and technical grants, WorkKeys testing, and advanced coursework. Up to $1.5 million supports farm technology, computer science, engineering, and elementary science programs; up to $1 million supports K–12 computer science lessons and teacher training. Other funding supports the Future Farmers of America Center and soil conservation equipment.
For fiscal year 2027, the law provides $6.8 million for the Literacy Initiative and Assessment and $5 million for school math coaches. It also provides $2.2 million to operate the State-Wide Synchronous Instructional Project for participating schools and students. These funds support school programs, not direct household payments.
The law directs at least $7,383,704 to school attendance services and student success and graduation coaches. Staffing must include one attendance officer for every 4,000 children of compulsory school age.
Room and board costs $500 per semester at the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science and the Mississippi School of the Arts. The fee is waived for students enrolled in the State Children’s Health Insurance Program.
For fiscal year 2027, the law provides $21.2 million for Early Learning Collaboratives, $13 million for other public-school early learning programs, and $3.3 million for early learning coaches. Collaboratives must receive at least $2,500 per full-day student and $1,250 per half-day student. State law requires local matching funds, so districts share some program costs.
Employees who meet the National Board requirements receive the full supplement. The supplement is paid in prorated amounts through monthly paychecks. The law does not state the supplement amount.
The law directs $3.06 million from the Mississippi Department of Health to a public school nurse program. It also provides $126,472 for the Mississippi Eye Screening Program from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. The law does not name the schools or students served.
For fiscal year 2027, the law provides $1.1 million from the Education Enhancement Fund and $1 million in trust-fund income for the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science. It also provides $927,632 for the Mississippi School of the Arts and $1,557,037 for the Mississippi School for the Deaf and Blind. The money supports the schools, not direct household payments.
The law requires $7,837,500 in transfers to named education and related programs for fiscal year 2027. Major recipients include detention centers, Magnolia Speech School, Algebra Nation, Sight Savers, ACT Prep, and Reading Clinic. Recipients must spend the money under state law and are responsible for improper spending.
Elementary computer science classes can be taught by certified teachers or by teachers trained by their district in computer science instruction. The law does not state an effective date or end date.
The law directs at least $5,014,826 to the Education Scholarship Account Program and says the Department of Education and Governor’s Office should not reduce that amount. The law also allocates $5,014,826 for students with special needs and the programs serving them. These are program funds, not a set payment to each household.
The Department of Education gives the Mississippi Industries for the Blind preference when two or more competitive bids match in price, quality, and service. A similar preference applies to purchases made without competitive bids.
The law directs $700,000 to the Mississippi Board of Health by December 31, 2026. It does not state how the board will use the money or identify a direct household benefit.
At least $17.6 million must support the Educable Child Program for the year beginning July 1, 2026. The state funding formula counts only billable days paid for with state money, not district money. The funding is protected from legislative or gubernatorial Department of Education budget cuts through June 30, 2027.
For fiscal year 2027, the law provides $21.6 million to eligible Chickasaw Cession counties for lost school lands. It also reallocates $62,191 among school districts in the area using the fiscal year 1985 method. The county money runs from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. Residents do not receive direct payments.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Department of Education can loan school districts up to $5 million total. Districts must repay loans by June 30, 2027. A district receiving Save the Children funds may also provide an optional 10% match from local funds.
For fiscal year 2027, the covered Department of Education personnel budget is capped at $42.4 million and allows 506 positions, including 52 new jobs. The agency covered by Section 9 has a $4.1 million personnel cap and 53 authorized positions. Vacancy funds can fill authorized vacancies but cannot pay for promotions or salary increases for current employees. The agencies cannot move personal-services funds to other spending categories or annualize personnel actions above the appropriation, subject to the stated exception for escalated funds.
A school district cannot spend its School Ad Valorem Reduction Grant unless its public budget lists the grant amount and includes a statement about the tax reduction. This makes the grant and stated tax reduction easier for residents to see. The law does not set any household’s property tax change.
Karl Oliver
Republican • House
William Tracy Arnold
Republican • House
Randy P. Boyd
Republican • House
John W. Hines, Sr.
Democratic • House
Vince Mangold
Republican • House
Steve Massengill
Republican • House
John Read
Republican • House
Rob Roberson
Republican • House
Donnie Scoggin
Republican • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 340 • No: 2
House vote • 3/30/2026
Conference Report Adopted
Yes: 120 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/29/2026
Conference Report Adopted
Yes: 48 • No: 2
Senate vote • 3/12/2026
Passed As Amended
Yes: 51 • No: 0
House vote • 2/19/2026
Passed
Yes: 121 • No: 0
Approved by Governor
Enrolled Bill Signed
Enrolled Bill Signed
Motion to Reconsider Tabled
Motion to Reconsider Entered (Oliver)
Conference Report Adopted
Conference Report Adopted
Conference Report Filed
Conference Report Filed
Conferees Named Hopson,DeBar,Blackwell
Conferees Named Oliver,Cockerham,Roberson
Decline to Concur/Invite Conf
Returned For Concurrence
Passed As Amended
Amended
Title Suff Do Pass As Amended
Referred To Appropriations
Transmitted To Senate
Passed
Title Suff Do Pass
DR - TSDP: AP To A4
DR - TSDP: A4 To AP
Referred To Appropriations E;Appropriations A
As Introduced
As Passed
Committee Amendment No 1 (Adopted)
Enrolled
HB 1653, Local Improvements Project Fund and IHL Capital Improvements Fund; revise certain projects funded with monies from.
HB 1924, Appropriation; Attorney General.
SB 3051, Appropriation; Finance and Administration, Department of.
SB 3110, Tax credits; authorize for contributions by certain taxpayers to certain hospitals.
SB 2917, Budget; provide for various transfers of funds, and create various special funds.
SB 3071, Appropriation; Gulf Coast Restoration Funds to the Mississippi Development Authority.