OklahomaHB 1027Oklahoma 2026 Regular SessionHouseWALLET

Retirement; Oklahoma Law Enforcement Retirement System; term; references; purchase price calculation; service credit; leaves of absence; emergency.

Sponsored By: Mike Kelley (Republican)

Became Law

Senate Committee

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

3 provisions identified: 1 benefits, 0 costs, 2 mixed.

More officers qualify for law enforcement pensions

The law includes three groups in the Oklahoma Law Enforcement Retirement System. Active commissioned or CLEET-certified agents qualify when hired by the Oklahoma Attorney General’s Office or Military Department beginning July 1, 2024. CLEET-certified police officers at the University of Oklahoma or Oklahoma State University qualify through participation under Section 2-314. Grand River Dam Authority lake patrolmen and dispatchers qualify through participation under Section 2-315.

Officers can buy disability leave pension credit

System members can buy pension service credit for leave caused by duty-related sickness or temporary disability. They must receive temporary total disability benefits under Title 85A and finish buying credit within three years after benefits begin. The price uses actual paid base salary immediately before the illness or disability, minus vacation or sick-leave payments received during it. Members suspended without pay pay the combined employer and member contribution rates, totaling 19%. Other eligible members pay the 8% member rate. Their employer must pay its applicable contribution share within three months after the purchase is completed.

Pension funding and payment rules for officers

Participating employers must contribute 11% of each member’s actual paid base salary to the law enforcement pension fund. Members must contribute 8%; actual paid base salary excludes leave pay and uniform allowances. These contributions support retirement benefits, but the law does not state how the employer rate compares with prior requirements. For payments in calendar years after 2023, the System must account for an additional update to federal retirement distribution rules. That update does not state a specific change to individual payments or taxes.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • Mike Kelley

    Republican • House

Cosponsors

  • Jerry Alvord

    Republican • Senate

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 152 • No: 3

Senate vote • 4/28/2025

THIRD READING

Yes: 41 • No: 2

Senate vote • 4/8/2025

Committee vote: Retirement & Government Resources

Yes: 6 • No: 0

House vote • 3/13/2025

THIRD READING

Yes: 85 • No: 1

House vote • 3/4/2025

DO PASS

Yes: 12 • No: 0

House vote • 2/6/2025

DO PASS

Yes: 8 • No: 0

Actions Timeline

  1. Becomes law without Governor's signature 05/06/2025

    5/6/2025House
  2. Sent to Governor

    4/29/2025House
  3. Enrolled measure signed, returned to House

    4/29/2025Senate
  4. Enrolled, signed, to Senate

    4/29/2025House
  5. Referred for enrollment

    4/28/2025House
  6. Engrossed measure signed, returned to House

    4/28/2025Senate
  7. Measure and Emergency passed: Ayes: 41 Nays: 2

    4/28/2025Senate
  8. General Order, Considered

    4/28/2025Senate
  9. Placed on General Order

    4/10/2025Senate
  10. Reported Do Pass Retirement and Government Resources committee; CR filed

    4/8/2025Senate
  11. Second Reading referred to Retirement and Government Resources

    4/1/2025Senate
  12. First Reading

    3/17/2025Senate
  13. Engrossed, signed, to Senate

    3/17/2025House
  14. Referred for engrossment

    3/13/2025House
  15. Third Reading, Measure and Emergency passed: Ayes: 85 Nays: 1

    3/13/2025House
  16. General Order

    3/13/2025House
  17. Authored by Senator Alvord (principal Senate author)

    3/4/2025House
  18. CR; Do Pass Judiciary and Public Safety Oversight Committee

    3/4/2025House
  19. Policy recommendation to the Judiciary and Public Safety Oversight committee; Do Pass Civil Judiciary

    2/6/2025House
  20. Referred to Civil Judiciary

    2/4/2025House
  21. Second Reading referred to Judiciary and Public Safety Oversight

    2/4/2025House
  22. Authored by Representative Kelley

    2/3/2025House
  23. First Reading

    2/3/2025House

Bill Text

  • Enrolled (final version)

    4/29/2025

  • Floor (Senate)

    4/9/2025

  • Senate Committee Report

    4/8/2025

  • Engrossed

    3/17/2025

  • Floor (House)

    3/10/2025

  • House Committee Report

    3/4/2025

  • House Policy Committee Report

    2/6/2025

  • Introduced

    2/5/2025

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation