All Roll Calls
Yes: 304 • No: 2
Sponsored By: Ronny Johns (Republican)
Became Law
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
48 provisions identified: 2 benefits, 1 costs, 45 mixed.
Service Oklahoma must restore Veterans of Foreign Wars plates issued before November 1, 2021. People who held an Oklahoma plate of this type on October 31, 2021, must receive reimbursement for replacement fees. The provision does not state a reimbursement amount.
The law authorizes plates supporting Deer Creek Schools Foundation, Crossings Christian School in Oklahoma City, and Hilldale Education Foundation. Part of Deer Creek plate fees goes to its foundation's dedicated revolving fund. Deer Creek plates allow one to seven letters and numbers. Licensing agreements can pay Crossings and Hilldale up to $20 each per plate issued. Their plates are designed with input from school or foundation administrators; those caps do not state the driver's total price.
The law removes the University of Kansas special plate from this list of authorized plates. This ends that authorization. The provision does not explain how existing holders are treated or whether another authorization applies.
The law authorizes a plate supporting Oklahoma's aviation and aerospace industries. It allows one to seven letters and numbers. Of the collected fee, $24 goes to the Oklahoma Department of Aerospace and Aeronautics Revolving Fund. Buyers pay specialty fees beyond regular registration costs; the full plate price is not stated.
Drivers can buy Adoption Creates Families or Choose Life plates. Adoption Creates Families directs $25 of each fee to a Department of Human Services revolving fund. That money supports the Investing in Stronger Oklahoma Families Act specifically for created families. Choose Life directs part of fees to its assistance program fund for organizations encouraging adoption as a positive choice. Total plate prices and the Choose Life funding share are not stated.
Drivers can buy Animal Friendly, Oklahoma Quarter Horse, or Oklahoma City Zoo plates. Animal Friendly buyers direct $20 to either the Oklahoma Pet Overpopulation Fund or the Animal Friendly Revolving Fund. Those funds support dog and cat population control, including education and sterilization. Portions of the other fees go to the Quarter Horse or Oklahoma Zoological Society revolving funds, respectively. Those designs use input from the Quarter Horse Association or Zoological Society; total plate prices are not stated.
Drivers can choose Oklahoma History, Route 66, or Oklahoma Educational Television Authority supporter plates. Portions of fees support Historical Society education, the Route 66 Museum in Clinton, or the educational television revolving fund. Route 66 motorcycle plates can use the Oklahoma Route 66 Association's design through licensing payments capped at $20 per plate. The television plate is designed with input from the Authority. The $20 cap is not the driver's plate fee; these provisions do not state total plate prices.
Drivers can buy State Parks, Scenic Rivers, Urban Forestry and Beautification, or Color Oklahoma plates. State Parks directs $23 of each fee to the Tourism and Recreation Department's revolving fund, solely for state parks. Scenic Rivers directs $25 to the Grand River Dam Authority for Scenic Rivers operations. Portions of the other fees support urban forestry and beautification, or wildflower and native plant preservation, planting, and education. These provisions do not state total plate prices.
Drivers can buy Crime Victims Awareness or Safe Kids Oklahoma plates. Part of Crime Victims Awareness fees goes to the Attorney General's revolving fund. The Attorney General uses that money to contract with a statewide nonprofit serving crime victims. Part of Safe Kids fees goes through the Children's Hospital–Safe Kids Oklahoma revolving fund to the Safe Kids Oklahoma program. These provisions do not state total plate fees or funding shares.
Drivers can buy a plate showing support for Oklahoma residents who are deaf. The plate allows one to seven letters and numbers. Part of its fee goes to the Oklahoma Association for the Deaf License Plate Revolving Fund. The provision does not state the total fee or the amount deposited.
Drivers can buy Olympic and Paralympic, Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon, or Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame supporter plates. Olympic and Paralympic plates carry the official committee logo and allow one to seven letters and numbers. Logo licensing payments are capped at $25 per Olympic and Paralympic plate and $20 per Marathon plate. A Hall of Fame agreement can provide up to $20 per plate, with its administration helping design the plate. These caps do not state the driver's total plate fee.
Drivers can buy Patriot, Global War on Terrorism, or Support Our Troops plates. Patriot plates support deployed Oklahoma National Guard members, allow one to seven letters and numbers, and fund the Patriot revolving fund. Global War on Terrorism plates honor Oklahoma military and Guard members who served, allow one to six characters, and fund the Guard Museum. Support Our Troops plates carry the group's logo, allow one to six characters, and provide it $25 per plate through licensing. Total plate prices and the first two funding shares are not stated.
Drivers can buy Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, Boys and Girls Clubs of America, or Lions Club logo plates. Each allows one to seven letters and numbers. Licensing agreements can pay Boy Scouts and Boys and Girls Clubs up to $20 per plate each. Girl Scouts payments are capped at $20 to Magic Empire Council on behalf of Oklahoma councils; Lions payments are capped at $10 to Oklahoma Lions Service Foundation. These payment caps do not state the driver's total plate fee.
The law authorizes Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and Down Syndrome Association of Central Oklahoma supporter plates. The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation helps design its plate and can receive up to $20 per plate through a licensing agreement. Part of the Down Syndrome Association plate fee goes to its License Plate Revolving Fund; the share is not stated. Buyers pay specialty fees beyond regular registration costs; full prices are not stated.
The law authorizes a plate supporting restoration of the Oklahoma State Capitol. Friends of the Capitol and the State Capitol Preservation Commission help design it. Buyers pay plate fees, with part going to the Oklahoma Friends of the Capitol License Plate Revolving Fund. This provision does not state the allocation amount.
The law creates a Transportation to Transportation plate, designed with the Association of County Commissioners of Oklahoma. Buyers pay the applicable plate fee. Of that fee, $20 goes to the highway fund in the county where the plate is purchased. This provision does not state the full plate price.
The law authorizes a Remembering Fallen Heroes plate supporting Concerns of Police Survivors, Inc. The Oklahoma chapter helps design the plate. Part of the fee goes to the Oklahoma Concerns of Police Survivors License Plate Revolving Fund. Buyers pay specialty fees beyond regular registration costs; the full price and fund share are not stated.
Since January 1, 2022, drivers must pay vehicle-registration and special-plate fees together for one registration period. Service Oklahoma must set adjustment rules for drivers who already paid registration during that 12-month period. Licensed operators process applications, check eligibility, collect fees, and give receipts. Through June 30, 2025, operators kept the vehicle-registration fee for this work. Application and renewal operator fees came from the Service Oklahoma Reimbursement Fund through that date.
The law authorizes an Eagle Scout plate for applicants who prove they earned that rank. A licensing agreement can send up to $20 per plate to an Oklahoma local area council chosen by the applicant. Buyers pay specialty fees beyond regular registration costs; the full price is not stated.
Eligible career, retired, volunteer, and paid firefighters can get plates for up to four vehicles rated at one ton or less, or for a motorcycle. They must prove fire department membership; retired firefighters provide proof only with their first application, not annually. A surviving spouse who has not remarried can get one qualifying vehicle or motorcycle plate after proving the deceased firefighter's membership. Part of the fees supports the Oklahoma State Firefighters Museum and the Oklahoma Fallen and Living Firefighters Memorial. The full plate price and allocation amount are not stated here.
The law authorizes Former Oklahoma Legislator plates for people who previously served in the Oklahoma House or Senate. Each former member can possess no more than two at once. Part of the fee goes to the Oklahoma Historical Society Capital Improvement and Operations Revolving Fund. Buyers pay specialty fees beyond regular registration costs; the full price and fund share are not stated.
Beginning November 1, 2025, the law authorizes a plate supporting golf in Oklahoma. The South Central Section of the Professional Golfers' Association of America helps design it. A licensing agreement may pay that section up to $20 per plate. Buyers pay applicable plate fees, but this provision does not state the full price.
The law authorizes a Greenwood Historical District plate with one to seven letters and numbers. For each plate, $25 from the fee goes to the Tulsa Juneteenth Festival. Another $2 goes to the Public School Classroom Support Revolving Fund. Buyers pay specialty fees beyond regular registration costs; the full price is not stated.
Licensed emergency medical technicians can apply for plates after providing proof of a valid license. Each eligible vehicle must have a rated carrying capacity of one ton or less. Nurses licensed under the Oklahoma Nursing Practice Act can apply with current-license documents required by Service Oklahoma. Portions of fees support the Emergency Medical Personnel Death Benefit Revolving Fund or Oklahoma Nurses License Plate Revolving Fund, respectively. These provisions do not state total fees or funding shares.
Beginning November 1, 2025, the law authorizes a Blue Star Mothers plate requiring proof of Oklahoma chapter membership. A Disabled American Veterans plate is available to members of its Oklahoma organization. Female veterans of any U.S. military branch can choose a plate supporting the Oklahoma Women Veterans Organization. Licensing agreements may pay each designated group up to $20 per plate. Buyers pay applicable plate fees, but these provisions do not state full prices.
The law reauthorizes Sooner State ABATE plates effective November 1, 2019, and authorizes ABATE of Oklahoma and Downed Bikers Association plates. All three offer motorcycle options and one-to-seven-character combinations of letters and numbers. Licensing agreements can send up to $20 per plate to the matching organization. Downed Bikers Association plates are designed with its Central Oklahoma Chapter. Buyers pay specialty fees beyond regular registration costs; full prices are not stated.
Environmental Awareness plates support the statewide Environmental Education Program; wildlife conservation plates send part of their fees to the Wildlife Diversity Fund. Both allow personalization, with one to seven letters and numbers specified for Environmental Awareness plates. Dealers can use the Environmental Awareness design after paying required specialty and vehicle registration fees. Ducks Unlimited and Monarch Butterfly plates can send up to $20 each to Ducks Unlimited or The Nature Conservancy of Oklahoma, respectively. Ducks Unlimited helps design its plate; Monarch Butterfly allows one to seven characters, and full prices for these optional plates are not stated.
For plates authorized on or after July 1, 2004, Service Oklahoma needs 100 prepaid applications within 180 days of authorization. It cannot develop or issue the plate before reaching that threshold. If the threshold is missed, the authority to issue the plate ends and applicants must receive refunds.
The law retains the paramedic plate's November 1, 2022, reauthorization date. Applicants must prove they hold a paramedic license. Plates are available for vehicles rated to carry one ton or less, or motorcycles. They show “PM” followed by four random or applicant-requested numbers. Buyers pay applicable fees, with $20 per plate going to the Emergency Medical Personnel Death Benefit Revolving Fund; the full price is not stated here.
Drivers can choose an Eastern Red Cedar Tree plate to support tree removal and marketable uses for harvested trees. Exactly $23 of each plate fee goes to the Eastern Redcedar Revolving Fund. That money can be spent only for purposes of the Eastern Redcedar Management Act. The full plate price is not stated here.
Honorably discharged veterans with proof of service can buy motorcycle plates that send part of their fees to the Oklahoma National Guard Museum Fund. Buffalo Soldier plates, designed with the Lawton-Fort Sill association, send part of their fees to the Buffalo Soldier revolving fund. The Folds of Honor supporter plate was reauthorized November 1, 2019, with one to six letters or numbers and a motorcycle option. Its licensing agreement may pay Folds of Honor Incorporated $25 per plate. Full plate prices and the museum and Buffalo Soldier allocation amounts are not stated here.
Special-plate holders must renew annually through Service Oklahoma or a licensed operator, unless Service Oklahoma allows a longer period. You cannot transfer your plate to another person. You can move it to another vehicle after registering that vehicle for the current year with a licensed operator.
Retired Oklahoma Highway Patrol officers can get special plates and prove eligibility only when first applying, not every year. Surviving spouses qualify if they have not remarried, or their remarriage ended by death, divorce, or annulment. Part of the plate fee goes to the Oklahoma Law Enforcement Retirement Fund. The provision does not state the fee or funding share.
Beginning November 1, 2025, the law authorizes supporter plates for The Church Studio and the Ralph Ellison Foundation. Each licensing agreement must provide a payment to its sponsor of no more than $20 per plate. The Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame plate was reauthorized November 1, 2019, and is available to organization members. Its agreement may pay the organization up to $20 per plate. Buyers pay applicable fees, but these provisions do not state full plate prices.
The Chiefs of Police plate was reauthorized November 1, 2015, for vehicles and motorcycles. It allows one to seven numbers and letters. A licensing agreement may pay the Oklahoma Association of Chiefs of Police up to $20 per plate. Buyers pay applicable specialty-plate fees in addition to regular registration.
The law authorizes an Oklahoma Tennis Foundation plate, designed with the foundation. A licensing agreement can send up to $20 per plate to the foundation. Buyers pay specialty fees beyond regular registration costs; the full price is not stated.
The law authorizes a plate supporting the Tulsa Air and Space Museum and Planetarium. It adds $15 per renewal year to other vehicle fees. Of that amount, $8 goes to the applicable state reimbursement fund, and $7 follows the state's plate-fee distribution rules. Service Oklahoma must receive 100 prepaid applications within 180 days of the authorization's effective date. Otherwise, the plate authority ends and applicants receive refunds.
The law authorizes a Prisoner of War and Missing in Action supporter plate, designed with Rolling Thunder Oklahoma. Part of its fee goes to the related License Plate Revolving Fund; the share is not stated. Veterans of Foreign Wars and VFW Auxiliary plates require Oklahoma residency and proof of membership in the matching Oklahoma organization. Licensing agreements can send up to $20 per plate to the matching veterans or auxiliary organization. Buyers pay specialty fees beyond regular registration costs; full prices are not stated.
Drivers can choose Pancreatic Cancer Research, Fight Cancer, or Childhood Cancer Awareness plates and pay applicable plate fees. Pancreatic plates allow one to six letters and numbers; part of fees supports the University of Oklahoma Foundation's research fund. Fight Cancer directs $20 of each fee to the Oklahoma Central Cancer Registry's revolving fund. Its American Cancer Society logo can be used only to support that registry. Childhood Cancer plates are designed with the Oklahoma Children's Cancer Association, which can receive licensing payments up to $20 per plate.
Drivers can buy plates supporting Alzheimer's research, juvenile diabetes research, hospice and palliative care, or March of Dimes. Parts of fees go to dedicated funds for those purposes. The March of Dimes allocation supports preventing birth defects, premature birth, and infant deaths. Designs use input from Oklahoma's Alzheimer's Association chapter, Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation chapters, and Hospice and Palliative Care Association, respectively. These provisions do not state total plate prices or funding shares.
Child abuse prevention plates send part of their fees to the Child Abuse Prevention Fund. Prevent Blindness Oklahoma plates send part of their fees to its revolving fund for schoolchildren's vision screenings. The Lupus Awareness and Education plate was reauthorized November 1, 2018. Part of its fees supports the Oklahoma Lupus revolving fund and the Oklahoma Chapter of the Lupus Foundation of America. Buyers pay optional plate fees; these provisions do not state full prices or allocation amounts.
The law authorizes supporter plates for state-supported and private colleges and universities, with part of the fees distributed by law. It also authorizes Pride of Oklahoma marching band and Pittsburg State University plates, designed with those groups. Licensing agreements can send up to $20 per plate to the band's fund at the University of Oklahoma Foundation. Pittsburg State University can also receive up to $20 per plate under an agreement. These optional plates add specialty fees to regular registration costs; full prices are not stated.
The law authorizes an Oklahoma License to Educate plate, designed with the Oklahoma State Department of Education. Part of its fee goes to the Oklahoma Teacher Recruitment Revolving Fund. An Extraordinary Educators plate supports Oklahoma public school education and allows one to seven letters and numbers. Part of that fee goes to the Extraordinary Educators License Plate Revolving Fund. Buyers pay specialty fees beyond regular registration costs; full prices and fund shares are not stated.
The law authorizes Techlahoma Foundation and FIRST in Oklahoma Robotics supporter plates. The Techlahoma plate allows one to seven letters and numbers; the robotics plate is designed with the program's administration. Licensing agreements can send up to $20 per plate to the matching organization. Buyers pay specialty fees beyond regular registration costs; full prices are not stated.
The law authorizes Jenks Trojans, Bixby Spartans, Woodward Boomers, Clinton Public School Foundation, Navajo School Foundation, and Bethany Public Schools Foundation plates. Licensing agreements can send up to $20 per plate to the named district or foundation. Piedmont Education Foundation and Elk City Education Foundation plates send part of their fees to their separate license plate funds. Designs for all but Elk City require consultation with the named school or foundation. Specialty fees are added to regular registration costs; full prices and the Piedmont and Elk City fund shares are not stated.
Drivers choosing a Support Education plate pay an added fee; $23 goes to education and teacher-retirement funds. Of that $23, 5% each goes to the Education Reform, State Regents for Higher Education, and State Career-Technology funds. The Teachers' Retirement Benefit Fund receives 85%. Once an annual actuarial valuation finds retirement funding reaches 70%, the $23 instead splits equally among the three education funds. This provision does not state the full plate price.
Drivers can buy Oklahoma Four-H Club plates, including personalized plates, with part of the fees supporting the OSU Extension Service fund. Agricultural awareness plates direct part of their fees to the Department of Agriculture's Ag in the Classroom Education Program. Beginning November 1, 2025, the law authorizes a Star Spencer High School supporter plate. Its licensing agreement must provide a payment to the school of no more than $20 per plate. These provisions do not state full plate prices or the Four-H and agricultural allocation amounts.
The law authorizes plates for Owasso Rams, Collinsville Cardinals, Sperry Pirates, Skiatook Bulldogs, and Rejoice Christian Eagles supporters. It also authorizes East Central Cardinals and Southeast Spartans plates. These plates allow one to seven letters and numbers. Part of each plate fee goes to the Education Reform Revolving Fund. Specialty fees are added to regular registration costs; these provisions do not state the full price or fund share.
Ronny Johns
Republican • House
Avery Frix
Republican • Senate
Nikki Nice
Democratic • Senate
Pittman
Affiliation unavailable
Waldron
Affiliation unavailable
All Roll Calls
Yes: 304 • No: 2
Senate vote • 5/29/2025
OVERRIDE
Yes: 45 • No: 0
House vote • 5/29/2025
OVERRIDE
Yes: 89 • No: 1
Senate vote • 5/5/2025
THIRD READING
Yes: 47 • No: 0
Senate vote • 4/7/2025
Committee vote: Aeronautics & Transportation
Yes: 10 • No: 0
House vote • 3/25/2025
THIRD READING
Yes: 86 • No: 1
House vote • 2/27/2025
DO PASS
Yes: 16 • No: 0
House vote • 2/13/2025
DO PASS
Yes: 11 • No: 0
Filed with Secretary of State
Measure returned to House
Veto overridden: Ayes: 45 Nays: 0
To Senate
Veto overridden: Ayes: 89 Nays: 1
Vetoed 05/09/2025
Sent to Governor
Enrolled measure signed, returned to House
Enrolled, signed, to Senate
Referred for enrollment
Engrossed measure signed, returned to House
Measure passed: Ayes: 47 Nays: 0
General Order, Considered
Coauthored by Senator Nice
Placed on General Order
Reported Do Pass Aeronautics and Transportation committee; CR filed
Second Reading referred to Aeronautics and Transportation
First Reading
Engrossed, signed, to Senate
Referred for engrossment
Third Reading, Measure passed: Ayes: 86 Nays: 1
General Order
Authored by Senator Frix (principal Senate author)
Coauthored by Representative(s) Pittman, Waldron
CR; Do Pass Commerce and Economic Development Oversight Committee
Enrolled (final version)
5/6/2025
Floor (Senate)
4/8/2025
Senate Committee Report
4/7/2025
Engrossed
3/27/2025
Floor (House)
3/3/2025
House Committee Report
2/27/2025
House Policy Committee Report
2/13/2025
Introduced
1/15/2025
SB 423, Medical records; access; eliminating certain health care provider duties; authorizing certain fees. Effective date.
SB 633, Children; Children's Code; enacting Leo's Law; fentanyl testing; child endangerment; appropriating funds. Effective date.
SB 1618, Criminal procedure; creating the Public Protection Act; conditions of release; public safety reports. Effective date.
SB 1543, Driving under the influence; authorizing aggregation of certain offenses; creating felony offense. Effective date.
SB 1687, Driver licenses; adding certain age requirement to qualification for certain license; permitting certain persons to proctor certain examination. Effective date.
SB 1264, Crimes and punishment; Class A3 and B3 offenses; assault and battery; modifying certain definition; repealers. Effective date.