All Roll Calls
Yes: 190 • No: 37
Sponsored By: Chuck Hall (Republican)
Became Law
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
10 provisions identified: 8 benefits, 0 costs, 2 mixed.
For the year ending June 30, 2026, the law allocates about $3.977 billion from House Bill 2766 to education. This includes about $3.121 billion for public school financial support and $838.104 million for benefits and programs. Another $18.145 million supports Education Department administration. Employee health benefit allowances receive about $410.851 million for certified staff and $247.723 million for support staff. The law also allocates $6.5 million to the public school paid maternity leave fund. School lunch matching receives about $3.140 million. These are program budgets, not payment amounts for individual households.
For the year ending June 30, 2026, required education budget categories total about $4.618 billion. They include $22.628 million for pay, $33.645 million for service contracts, $3.927 billion for operations, and $634.935 million in federal funds. The agency must set outcome measures for each category. The superintendent can request early tax transfers to the Education Reform Revolving Fund to address cash-flow problems. If House Bill 2766 funding falls short, eligible districts must take proportional cuts outside the public school financial support allocation. The State Board can reduce or withhold State Aid to enforce compliance. The department can request budget-limit exemptions for unexpected federal awards after July 1, 2024, subject to notice and approval requirements. The law names July 1, 2025, as its effective date, but its emergency clause makes it effective upon passage and approval.
The law directs about $1.560 million to Advanced Placement incentives under the existing program law. Student assistance is limited to students in financial need. District grants support starting new Advanced Placement programs, and funding also supports expanded educator training. The law does not state award amounts for individual students, districts, or educators.
The law directs $14 million to Oklahoma’s statewide Alternative and High Challenge Education system under existing law. The funding also encourages districts to take part in innovative alternative education programs. Street School separately receives $200,000. The law does not state an individual student or household payment amount.
The law transfers about $16.725 million to the Early Intervention Revolving Fund, Fund 250. SoonerStart funding is intended for direct services to eligible infants, toddlers, and their families. The Education Department cannot contract for, pay, or reimburse specified administrative and indirect costs that violate existing law. Another $14 million funds the Early Childhood Initiative under its existing program law. These allocations do not set household payment amounts.
The law directs $4.5 million from Education Leadership Oklahoma to funds for annual certification bonuses. The National Board Certification Revolving Fund receives $250,000. The national certification fund for school psychologists, speech-language pathologists, and audiologists receives $4.25 million. The law also deposits $5 million into the Grow Your Own Educator Revolving Fund under Senate Bill 235. Student teacher compensation receives $2.65 million; the law does not state individual bonus or participant payment amounts.
The law transfers $3.25 million from House Bill 2766 to Oklahoma’s School Consolidation Assistance Fund. The money supports assistance for eligible school districts. This transfer does not require districts to consolidate or set household payment amounts.
The law directs $17.5 million to the Strong Readers literacy program under its existing rules. It directs about $13.406 million to statewide student assessments for grades 3–12. Textbooks and instructional materials receive $45.19 million. Related learning allocations include $2 million for Oklahoma Imagination Library and $1 million each for Imagine Math and Imagine Reading. The law also funds Oklahoma Arts Institute at $320,000, Great Expectations at $500,000, and career readiness assessments at $250,000. Civil Rights Curriculum receives $50,000, and Ag in the Classroom receives $38,000.
The law transfers $35 million for employee retirement contribution credits to the Teachers’ Retirement System of Oklahoma. It separately transfers $3.25 million from House Bill 2766 to the system’s Dedicated Revenue Revolving Fund. These transfers support retirement funding without setting an individual credit amount or changing retirement benefit terms.
If retirement credit funding cannot cover employee credits invoiced by the retirement system, the Education Department can cut specified programs. Cuts must use the same percentage across those allocations and cannot exceed the amount needed to cover the shortfall. Affected programs include alternative education, Education Leadership Oklahoma, Advanced Placement incentives, Strong Readers, and required assessments. The list also includes Street School, Ag in the Classroom, Imagine Math, Imagine Reading, and Oklahoma Imagination Library. Oklahoma Arts Institute, Great Expectations, career readiness assessments, and Civil Rights Curriculum are also subject to these cuts.
Chuck Hall
Republican • Senate
John Haste
Republican • Senate
John Kane
Republican • House
Trey Caldwell
Republican • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 190 • No: 37
House vote • 5/22/2025
THIRD READING
Yes: 80 • No: 7
Senate vote • 5/20/2025
EMERGENCY
Yes: 38 • No: 6
Senate vote • 5/20/2025
THIRD READING
Yes: 31 • No: 15
House vote • 5/19/2025
DO PASS
Yes: 25 • No: 2
Senate vote • 5/19/2025
Committee vote: Joint Committee on Appropriations and Budget
Yes: 16 • No: 7
Becomes law without Governor's signature 05/29/2025
Sent to Governor
Signed, returned to Senate
Enrolled, to House
Referred for enrollment
Signed, returned to Senate
Third Reading, Measure and Emergency passed: Ayes: 80 Nays: 7
JCR adopted
General Order
Second Reading, direct to Joint Calendar
First Reading
Engrossed to House
Referred for engrossment
Emergency passed: Ayes: 38 Nays: 6
Measure passed: Ayes: 31 Nays: 15
JCR adopted
Reported Do Pass, amended by committee substitute Joint Committee on Appropriations and Budget committee; JCR filed
Second Reading referred to Joint Committee on Appropriations and Budget
Coauthored by Representative Kane
Coauthored by Representative Caldwell (Trey) (principal House author)
Coauthored by Senator Haste
Authored by Senator Hall
First Reading
Enrolled (final version)
5/22/2025
Floor (House)
5/22/2025
Engrossed
5/20/2025
Senate Joint Committee Report
5/19/2025
Introduced
3/31/2025
SB 423, Medical records; access; eliminating certain health care provider duties; authorizing certain fees. Effective date.
SB 633, Children; Children's Code; enacting Leo's Law; fentanyl testing; child endangerment; appropriating funds. Effective date.
SB 1618, Criminal procedure; creating the Public Protection Act; conditions of release; public safety reports. Effective date.
SB 1543, Driving under the influence; authorizing aggregation of certain offenses; creating felony offense. Effective date.
SB 1687, Driver licenses; adding certain age requirement to qualification for certain license; permitting certain persons to proctor certain examination. Effective date.
SB 1264, Crimes and punishment; Class A3 and B3 offenses; assault and battery; modifying certain definition; repealers. Effective date.