All Roll Calls
Yes: 99 • No: 0
Sponsored By: Jerry W Stevenson (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
47 provisions identified: 38 benefits, 8 costs, 1 mixed.
The law provides about $90.45 million in one-time federal funding for Utah local health departments in fiscal year 2025. The money supports local health services, not direct payments to households.
The law cuts FY 2025 one-time funding for Medicaid Other Services by $220.6286 million. It also cuts non-Medicaid behavioral health treatment and crisis response funding by $1.1467 million. These provisions do not identify specific service cuts, eligibility changes, or changes to patients' costs.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the law directs $795,000 already appropriated under SB 2 toward professional teacher liability insurance premiums. The Division of Risk Management uses the money for this coverage. The provision does not state an individual premium amount or provide direct payments to teachers.
Beginning July 1, 2025, agencies can award eligible state workers extra performance bonuses of up to 1% of annual pay. These are in addition to bonuses authorized by HB 8. Agencies must use savings from turnover, productivity gains, return to workplace, or other efficiency efforts. Bonuses must come from the same budget line where savings occur, and awards are not guaranteed.
The Division of Air Quality can keep up to $28,200 in one-time General Fund money after fiscal year 2025. The money is limited to implementing Environmental Permitting Modifications under House Bill 85. This extends the funding's availability without setting household benefits or costs.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Clearfield City receives a one-time $350,000 grant for fiscal year 2026. The money funds a uniformed mental health police officer pilot program. The award does not create an individual entitlement to services.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the Lieutenant Governor's Office gets one-time General Fund amounts of $18,800 and $11,300. These fund financial disclosure revisions and candidate financial and conflict-of-interest disclosure changes. The office also gets $11,000 from the General Fund to implement election law changes. These appropriations fund state work rather than establishing household financial benefits or new voter eligibility rules.
The law provides Corrections $82,800 from the General Fund for fiscal year 2025. This includes $32,800 for inmate reentry, finances, and debt changes, plus $50,000 for correctional drug enforcement changes. Beginning July 1, 2025, Financial Reporting gets $1,800 to implement Offender Reintegration Amendments. These appropriations do not themselves provide household payments or change who qualifies for services.
For fiscal year 2025, the law provides one-time funding of $321,000 for extraditions and $285,000 for legal defense services. It also provides $43,000 once for court computer work tied to criminal code changes. Beginning July 1, 2025, Financial Reporting gets $1,800 to implement the Indigent Defense Amendments. These appropriations support justice services and systems, not direct household payments or new eligibility rules.
The law directs Transportation to send the remaining $2.85 million to Lehi City in fiscal year 2025. Lehi must use it to study and build a project improving east-west travel near Camp Williams. Another $1 million for Mountain View Highway incident support stays available after fiscal year 2025 ends.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Salt Lake County's Indigent Legal Services Division receives a $100,000 grant for fiscal year 2026. The grant funds Private Adoption Defensive Services. It does not set individual eligibility rules or household payment amounts.
For fiscal year 2025, driver-license programs get $19,300: $15,000 for Driver Records and $4,300 for Driver Services. Beginning July 1, 2025, the Tax Commission gets $2.6956 million from the Uninsured Motorist Identification account for vehicle registration changes. This includes $2.5 million for enforcement. The law also provides one-time funding of $7,800 for motor vehicle division changes, $15,500 for watercraft changes, and $31,000 for commercial vehicle registration changes. Vehicle emissions implementation gets a net $89,700, reflecting $105,600 in funding and a one-time $15,900 reduction; these appropriations do not themselves set household fees or requirements.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah Valley University's Fire and Rescue Training program gets $3.7 million in state funding. The money implements the Firefighter Cancer Amendments. This appropriation does not specify direct firefighter payments or changes to household health coverage or costs.
The Utah Historical Society can keep up to an additional $750,000 in existing General Fund money after fiscal year 2025. That money supports operations, projects, and community outreach. Archaeological and Historic Sites Grants can keep up to $350,000 in existing General Fund money after that year. Those funds are limited to grant-related operations and obligations.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the Government Records Office receives $447,900 from the General Fund. The money funds implementation of Government Records Management Amendments. This appropriation does not specify a direct household payment or change in individual costs.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Friends of the Children - Utah receives a $100,000 General Fund grant. The award funds long-term professional mentoring for children. The law does not set family eligibility rules or individual payments.
For fiscal year 2025, Highway Patrol field operations gets a net $4.5 million increase. Up to $2 million can remain available after that year, but only for Jordan River security. Basic peace officer training gets a one-time $400,000 from the General Fund. Criminal identification services gets a net $1.6 million increase: $2.1 million from the General Fund, offset by $500,000 less from the Concealed Weapons Account. These are service appropriations, not direct household payments.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the State Auditor program gets $462,100 from the General Fund. The office also gets $27,000 for flag display changes and $25,000 for public funds reporting changes. Another $25,000 funds limited-purpose local government changes. Room tax implementation gets $15,900, and tourism tax reporting implementation gets $12,000. These appropriations support state operations; they do not themselves change household taxes, travel costs, or reporting duties.
The law provides $10 million from the State Disaster Recovery account for fiscal year 2025. Beginning July 1, 2025, Emergency Management gets another $20 million for fiscal year 2026 to implement disaster fund changes. That funding is split equally between the State Disaster Recovery and Response, Recovery, and Post-disaster Mitigation accounts. These funds support disaster response, recovery, and prevention of future damage. The appropriations do not set household payment amounts or qualification rules.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Corrections receives $250,000 from opioid litigation proceeds for treatment in re-entry programs. It also receives $1 million once from the Prison Telephone Surcharge Account for post-secondary education. The Medicaid Inspector General receives $6,000 once to implement Correctional Health Amendments: $1,500 in state and $4,500 in federal funds. These appropriations do not set individual benefit amounts or eligibility rules.
The Office of Data Privacy gets a one-time $162,000 from the General Fund for fiscal year 2025. The Legislature intends this money to help counties and cities comply with privacy law. The appropriation does not establish new resident payments or specify changes to privacy rights.
The law provides Parents Empowered $129,600 for fiscal year 2025 and another $129,600 for fiscal year 2026. The 2026 funding begins July 1, 2025. Both amounts come from the Underage Drinking Prevention Media and Education Campaign account. The money supports prevention messages and education for youth, parents, and communities, not household payments.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the Medicaid Inspector General receives $6,000 in ongoing funding to implement Medicaid Doula Services. This includes $1,500 from the General Fund and $4,500 in federal funds. This appropriation does not set eligibility rules, service numbers, or household payments.
The law lets the health department keep up to $1.5 million in FY 2025 Income Tax Fund money after year-end. That money can be used only for the HOME Court Pilot Program. This preserves existing program funding rather than creating direct payments to participants.
For fiscal year 2025, the law adds about $19.25 million in one-time funding for Medicaid accountable care organizations. It also adds about $1.87 million for Community Supports Waiver Services. These increases fund services but do not specify changes to individual eligibility, covered care, or costs.
The law provides $92,500 from the General Fund for FY 2025 to implement housing affordability changes under SB 262. Within the Department of Workforce Services, Community Development receives $17,500 and Housing Development receives $75,000. The provision funds programs rather than setting direct household payments.
The law provides $28,000 in one-time Income Tax Fund money to the University of Utah. Its Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute must use the funds for an Educational Achievement and Workforce Development study. The money supports research, not direct benefits for students or workers.
The law provides $215,000 in one-time Income Tax Fund money for the Utah Private Course Choice Empowerment program. That funding implements SB 137. It also provides $117,400 from the same fund for statewide online education changes under HB 246. These provisions do not state student eligibility, individual awards, or changes to families' costs.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the law provides $5.212 million from the General Fund for internal service rate impacts. This supports implementation of General Government and Appropriations Amendments. The Division of Finance also gets $480,000 for financial information systems. Financial Reporting gets $1,800 to implement Litter Cleanup Amendments. The money supports state operations, not direct household payments or new household duties.
Beginning July 1, 2025, GET Group North America receives a $500,000 grant for fiscal year 2026. The award funds Utah mobile driver's license verification work. It does not set user fees or eligibility rules.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the Chief Information Officer's Administration program receives $2.75 million in one-time General Fund money. The appropriation supports state operations. It does not identify a household-facing service, payment, or cost change.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Financial Reporting receives $1,800 from the General Fund for each of eight 2025 laws. These cover nuclear power, emergency medical services, Utah Fits All scholarships, transient room taxes, and the State Sovereignty Fund. They also cover diaper programs, property loss, and income tax contributions. Another $400 from the General Fund supports implementation of water infrastructure changes. These are state implementation funds, not changes to household benefits, eligibility, or tax rates.
Beginning July 1, 2025, $6,000 for implementing the Disability Coverage Amendments under HB 310 changes from one-time to ongoing funding. The Inspector General of Medicaid Services receives $1,500 from the General Fund and $4,500 in federal funds. This changes the funding schedule, not stated coverage eligibility or household benefit amounts.
Beginning July 1, 2025, State Employee Benefits gets $18,900 to implement Health Insurance Preauthorization Revisions. The total combines ongoing and one-time money from the General Fund and Income Tax Fund. This appropriation supports implementation; it does not itself specify changes to an employee's coverage or costs.
Beginning July 1, 2025, State Employee Benefits receives about $1.19 million from the General Fund. It receives another $688,300 for employee benefit changes: $193,000 General Fund and $495,300 Income Tax Fund. Medication changes receive $408,200: $114,500 General Fund and $293,700 Income Tax Fund. Benefit and insurance changes receive $150,000 once: $139,200 General Fund and $10,800 Income Tax Fund. These appropriations do not state how any employee's coverage or costs change.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah Valley University's Public Service program receives $315,000 in one-time state funding. It also receives $560,000 in ongoing funding and $350,000 in one-time funding to implement the Federalism Amendments under HB 488. These provisions fund the university program, not direct household payments. They do not specify tuition or student eligibility changes.
Beginning July 1, 2025, local impact mitigation implementation gets $95,300 each year and $590,100 once. Major sporting event venue financing implementation gets $447,000 once. Both appropriations come from the State Tax Commission Administrative Charge Account. They fund agency work, not direct household payments or stated changes to household taxes or costs.
Beginning July 1, 2025, restaurant tax implementation gets $59,900 each year and $6,600 once from the tax agency's administrative account. Property tax implementation gets $129,500 each year and $2,700 once from the General Fund. Financial Reporting gets $1,600 for Income Tax Revenue Amendments, and environmental quality implementation gets $1,400 in one-time General Fund money. These appropriations fund state work; they do not themselves specify household tax changes.
The Tax Commission can keep up to $1.5 million after fiscal year 2025 for tax and vehicle systems. Allowed uses include postcard reminders, fraud protection, security, litigation costs, and printing and mailing tax refund warrants. Beginning July 1, 2025, it receives $81,400 once from the General Fund to implement vehicle registration changes. It also receives $431,500 once from its Administrative Charge Account to implement housing and transit reinvestment zone changes. A separate $220,000 funding-source change replaces General Fund support with Administrative Charge Account support for Funds Amendments, without adding net funding.
The law cuts Guardian ad Litem program funding from its restricted account by $110,500 for fiscal year 2025. Beginning July 1, 2025, it cuts funding from that account by $110,600 for fiscal year 2026. These services support children and families in court. The law does not identify affected cases or change household legal duties.
The law cuts Utah's Correctional Health Services funding by $3 million for FY 2025. This reduces the health department's funding for care in correctional facilities. The provision does not set a payment requirement for people receiving care.
The law cuts one-time funding for the State Board of Education's Excellence in Education and Leadership program by $1 million. The reduction comes from the Public Education Economic Stabilization Restricted Account. The provision does not identify which participants or organizations receive less support.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the law cuts $500,000 in General Fund support for the state's Planning Coordination program. The program is within the Governor's Office of Planning and Budget. The law does not identify a specific household service or cost change.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Financial Reporting loses $3,600 in General Fund support related to Wildfire Funding Amendments. It loses another $3,600 related to Railroad and Transportation Amendments. These cuts concern state implementation work, not specified changes to wildfire protection or transportation services.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the law cuts the Division of Finance's Financial Reporting General Fund appropriation by $5,400. The reduction relates to the Funds Amendments under SB 283. The provision does not specify a direct change to household finances or services.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the law cuts FY 2026 Economic Prosperity funding at the Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity. Incentives and grants lose $675,000. A further $30.7687 million cut covers Business Services and incentives and grants, implementing HB 542. The provision does not identify which businesses or organizations lose support.
When closing fiscal year 2025, Finance must move remaining balances from seven accounts to designated agency budgets or accounts. The source accounts lose those balances, while receiving programs gain the money. Named purposes include volunteer services, multicultural affairs, grants, guardian ad litem services, Zion National Park, cancer research, and weatherization training. The law does not state the amounts transferred.
Jerry W Stevenson
Republican • Senate
Val L. Peterson
Republican • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 99 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/7/2025
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Yes: 27 • No: 0
House vote • 3/7/2025
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 72 • No: 0
Governor Line Item Veto
Senate/ to Governor
Senate/ received enrolled bill from Printing
Senate/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from Senate for Enrolling
Senate/ signed by President/ sent for enrolling
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ signed by Speaker/ returned to Senate
House/ passed 3rd reading
House/ 3rd reading
House/ 2nd reading
House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar
House/ 1st reading (Introduced)
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ placed on 2nd Reading Calendar
Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)
Senate/ received bill from Legislative Research
Numbered Bill Publicly Distributed
Enrolled
3/13/2025
Introduced
3/7/2025
S.B. 336, Utah Fairpark Area Investment and Restoration District Modifications
S.B. 333, Major Sporting Event Venue Financing Amendments
S.B. 330, Cosmetology Modifications
S.B. 317, Dietitian Licensing Amendments
S.B. 316, Military Installation Development Authority and Other Development Zone Amendments
S.B. 312, Pharmacy Practice Amendments