All Roll Calls
Yes: 389 • No: 4
Sponsored By: Pat McGeehan (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
6 provisions identified: 6 benefits, 0 costs, 0 mixed.
The law provides about $146.24 million from West Virginia's unused general revenue surplus for education in fiscal year 2026. That year ends June 30, 2026, and the law takes effect upon passage. Funding includes about $24.61 million for Hope Scholarships, $13.65 million for increased enrollment, and $5.72 million for early literacy. It also includes an $8 million Hancock County school financial stability loan program and about $9.26 million for technology network tools and support. The law carries eligible unspent fiscal year 2025 funds into fiscal year 2026, without stating the amount. This covers Unclassified, Current Expenses, Center for Professional Development, Attendance Incentive Bonus, National Teacher Certification, Hope Scholarships, Assessment Programs, Benedum Professional Development Collaborative, Governor's Honors Academy, High Acuity Special Needs, IT Academy, School Based Truancy Prevention, Communities in Schools, Communities in Schools–Surplus, 21st Century Learners, and 21st Century Technology Infrastructure Network Tools and Support.
The law sets aside $120,000 from the education department's Unclassified funds to help low-income students pay exam fees. Help is limited to Advanced Placement (AP) and College-Level Examination Program (CLEP) exams. The law does not state how much each student gets or set a specific income cutoff.
For fiscal year 2026, the law reserves $2 million from the education department's Current Expenses funds for child hunger efforts. The money supports its Child Nutrition Program–Non-traditional Child Hunger Solutions. The law does not set a direct household payment or say which households qualify.
The law provides about $7.24 million for Safe Schools in fiscal year 2026. Of that amount, $2.9 million must be used for school mapping. This funds school services, not direct payments to households.
The law directs $716,250 in Educational Program Allowance funds to named schools and a learning program. Morgan County's Paw Paw Schools gets $100,000. Randolph County's Pickens School gets $250,000, and Harman School gets $100,000. Preston County's Aurora School and Fayette County's Meadow Bridge each get $100,000. Project-based learning in science, technology, engineering, and math gets $66,250; these are program funds, not individual student payments.
The law requires about $39.83 million in Teachers' Retirement Savings Realized funds to move out of the education department's account. The money goes to the Employee Pension and Health Care Benefit Fund. The transfer does not specify a change in any employee's benefit amount.
Pat McGeehan
Republican • House
There are no cosponsors for this bill.
All Roll Calls
Yes: 389 • No: 4
Senate vote • 3/14/2026
Constitutional Rule Suspended (Roll No. 619)
Yes: 34 • No: 0
House vote • 3/14/2026
Effective from passage (Roll No. 592)
Yes: 96 • No: 1
House vote • 3/14/2026
Constitutional Rule Suspended (Roll No. 590)
Yes: 94 • No: 3
Senate vote • 3/14/2026
Effective from passage (Roll No. 621)
Yes: 34 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/14/2026
Passed Senate (Roll No. 620)
Yes: 34 • No: 0
House vote • 3/14/2026
Passed House (Roll No. 591)
Yes: 97 • No: 0
Chapter 51, Acts, Regular Session, 2026
Filed for introduction
Introduced in House
Reference dispensed
Immediate consideration
Read 1st time
Constitutional Rule Suspended (Roll No. 590)
Read 2nd time
Read 3rd time
Passed House (Roll No. 591)
Effective from passage (Roll No. 592)
Ordered to Senate
Introduced in Senate
Committee reference dispensed
Immediate consideration
Read 1st time
Constitutional Rule Suspended (Roll No. 619)
Read 2nd time
Read 3rd time
Passed Senate (Roll No. 620)
Effective from passage (Roll No. 621)
Communicated to House
Completed legislative action
To Governor 3/14/2026 - Senate Journal
Approved by Governor 3/17/2026 - Senate Journal
Enrolled
Introduced Version
HB 5353, To bring virtual currency kiosks within the purview of money transmission licensure and create disclosure requirements and daily transaction limitations for new and existing customers.
HB 4452, To remove Mortmain restrictions on religious organizations
HB 4390, Relating to the temporary payment to a kinship parent of a subsidy equal to that of a foster parent
HB 4354, Relating to necessity allowance
HB 4191, Relating to providing child care generally
HB 4138, Relating to persons convicted of a crime