AlaskaHB 28934th Legislature (2025-2026)House

APPROP: SUPPLEMENTAL

Sponsored By: HOUSE RULES BY REQUEST OF THE GOVERNOR

Signed by Governor

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

33 provisions identified: 31 benefits, 2 costs, 0 mixed.

Funding for disaster relief and coastal protection

The law puts $40 million in general funds into Alaska's disaster relief fund. Another $35 million depends on the FEMA match rate remaining at 25% as of June 30, 2026. Natural Resources also gets $6 million in designated program receipts to protect coastal Alaska Native communities in House Districts 1–40. These funds support community relief and protection, but do not set individual payments.

Funding supports wildfire response across Alaska

The law puts $52.9827 million into Alaska's fire suppression fund for firefighting activities. It includes $47.4827 million from the general fund, $5 million from designated program receipts, and $500,000 from interagency receipts. The money supports fire suppression, not individual payments.

Funding to fight and prepare for wildfires

The law adds $98.7159 million in general funds to Alaska's fire suppression fund. It also provides $1.8416 million for wildfire preparedness in fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026. The money supports fire operations and preparedness, not direct household payments.

State funding supports transportation across Alaska

The law provides $69.695087 million in state matching money for federal programs across House Districts 1–40. That includes $9.807384 million for aviation, $58.276155 million for highways, and $1.611548 million for other federal program matches. It also provides $459,000 in unrestricted general fund money: $400,000 for federal transit grants and $59,000 for highway safety grants. The money supports statewide projects, not direct household payments.

Federal funding for rural health transformation

The Department of Health gets an estimated $272.174856 million for the federal rural health transformation program. The funding covers fiscal years 2026, 2027, and 2028, through June 30, 2028. It is limited to federal money received for that program. The law does not set individual payments or eligibility rules.

Funding for Medicaid and behavioral health clinics

Alaska Medicaid gets $395.5168 million for fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026. This includes $34.4367 million in general funds and $361.0801 million in other funds. Health can redirect unused, uncommitted general funds remaining June 30, 2026, from the 2025 Medicaid services appropriation to behavioral health clinics. That transfer cannot exceed the remaining balance or $10 million, and supports services in fiscal years 2026 and 2027. These funding provisions do not themselves change Medicaid eligibility, covered services, or household benefit amounts.

Funding for Alaska higher education and museums

The law transfers an estimated $129.5989 million from general funds to the Alaska Higher Education Investment Fund. The transfer equals the amount taken from that fund under section 49(b) of chapter 10, SLA 2025. The University of Alaska gets $38 million for fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026. That includes $23 million for systemwide budget changes and $15 million for the Troth Yeddha' Campus. The Museum of the North Planetarium gets $8 million in designated program receipts for House Districts 31–35; no tuition or student-aid changes are specified.

Funding to replace child support systems

The state provides $3.651843 million to replace Alaska's Child Support Case Management System. This includes $3.221623 million in general fund/program receipts and $430,220 in federal funds. The project supports administration for families receiving or paying child support. It does not change support amounts or eligibility rules.

Funding for Alaska senior benefit payments

The Senior Benefits Payment Program gets $1.125 million in unrestricted general funds for fiscal year 2026. The funding year ends June 30, 2026. The appropriation supports payments to eligible Alaska seniors. It does not set a new payment amount per person or change eligibility rules.

Funding for nutrition services for families

Alaska's Women, Infants and Children program, known as WIC, gets $4.5 million for fiscal year 2026. The funding year ends June 30, 2026. The money supports WIC services for women, infants, and children. It does not set new individual benefit amounts or expand eligibility.

Funding for public assistance field offices

Public Assistance Field Services gets $26.9419 million for fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026. This is part of a $31.4419 million Public Assistance appropriation. The money supports offices serving applicants and recipients. It does not change who qualifies or how much assistance they receive.

Funding for Alaska students' college aid

The law provides $2.2144 million for Alaska Performance Scholarships and $1.1072 million for Alaska Education Grants. Both use money from the Alaska Higher Education Investment Fund for fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026. These provisions fund aid for eligible students without changing eligibility rules or setting each student's award amount.

Funding for Alaska arts and history

The Alaska State Council on the Arts gets $12,900 in federal funds for fiscal year 2026. The Office of History and Archaeology gets $1.3255 million for the same year, ending June 30, 2026. The money supports these agencies' work without setting household payments or specific changes in service access.

Funding for legal help and courts

The Office of Public Advocacy gets $3.3 million in general funds to address legal and advocacy case backlogs. That money covers fiscal years ending June 30, 2026, and June 30, 2027. Therapeutic Courts get $38,600 in designated program receipts for fiscal year 2026. The Department of Law also gets $32,024 in general funds that year to pay judgments and settlements against Alaska.

Funding for prison operations and health care

For fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026, Corrections gets $20 million in general funds for population management. It also gets $1.1175 million for community residential centers and $2.9525 million for physical health care in custody. Corrections can reuse unused, uncommitted Hiland Mountain intake administration project funds for handheld radios and related equipment. That radio funding cannot exceed the remaining balance or $3.033189 million. These funds support corrections services without creating household payments or changing general health coverage rules.

Longer funding for libraries and museums

The law extends use of Stratton building sale proceeds for state libraries, archives, and museums through June 30, 2027. The building is in Sitka. The money covers maintenance and operations in fiscal years 2025, 2026, and 2027. No dollar amount or direct household payment is stated.

Matching funds for government cybersecurity grants

The state can reuse unused, uncommitted general funds from an Alaska Military Youth Academy construction, contingency, and planning appropriation. Up to $130,000 provides matching funds for the state and local cybersecurity grant program. The amount cannot exceed the remaining balance. Governments, not households, receive the direct program support.

Funding keeps Alaska transportation systems running

Beginning March 1, 2026, the law assigns the capital income fund's unused, uncommitted June 30, 2026 balance to transportation facilities. The amount is unstated and must fund critical overdue maintenance, renovation, and repairs statewide. Beginning June 30, 2026, it redirects an estimated $5.022658 million from specified prior general fund allocations. Those balances must be unused and uncommitted, and fund emergency weather response, catastrophic events, or unforeseen critical maintenance. Certain transportation operating funds now cover January 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, rather than ending December 31, 2026.

Federal grants support Alaska disaster recovery

The law funds Community Development Block Grant disaster recovery programs for fiscal years 2026 and 2027, ending June 30, 2027. Alaska's Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development receives the money. Funding is limited to amounts received from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development for these programs. The provision states no total amount, household eligibility rules, or individual grant amounts.

Funding for oil oversight and data upgrades

The Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission gets $40,900 in unrestricted general funds for fiscal year 2026. That funding period ends June 30, 2026. The law also provides $1.201081 million in commission receipts for phase two of its risk-based data system upgrade. The upgrade applies in House Districts 1–40. These funds support agency work, not direct household benefits.

Funding for regional commercial fisheries management

Commercial fisheries management gets $651,400 for fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026. The funding includes $128,500 for Southeast, $254,600 for Central, and $109,000 for AYK. It also includes $142,700 for Westward and $16,600 for statewide management. This supports fisheries management, not direct payments to fishing households or businesses.

Funding for regional roads and aviation

Highway and aviation operations get $543,300 for fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026. This includes $500,000 for the Central Region and $43,300 for the Northern Region. Measurement standards and commercial vehicle compliance also get $84,000 from capital improvement project receipts. The law does not name specific road projects or add new rules for vehicle operators.

Funding for fuel upgrades and energy assistance

The Alaska Energy Authority gets $25 million in designated program receipts for bulk fuel upgrades in House Districts 1–40. It also gets $5 million in federal funds for high energy-cost bulk fuel grants in those districts. The Electrical Emergencies Program gets $150,870 from the Power Cost Equalization Endowment Fund, also for districts 1–40. Rural Energy Assistance gets $250,000 from the Railbelt Energy Fund for fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026. The law does not set household payment amounts or promise specific fuel or electricity savings.

Funding to administer Alaska dividend payments

The Permanent Fund Dividend Division gets $166,800 from the Permanent Fund Dividend Fund for fiscal year 2026. The funding year ends June 30, 2026. The money supports dividend administration. It does not change the dividend amount, applicant eligibility, or payment schedule.

Funding for Alaska retirement board operations

The Alaska Retirement Management Board gets $150,000 from retirement-related funds for fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026. The money supports board operations. This appropriation does not change pension eligibility, benefits, or payments to retirement-system members.

Funding for health administration and rate review

For fiscal year 2026, Behavioral Health Administration gets $500,000 in designated program receipts. Public Health Administrative Services gets $4.35 million. Health care rate review gets $177,600 in general fund/program receipts. The funding year ends June 30, 2026. These appropriations support administration without setting new health care rates, household payments, or eligibility rules.

Longer funding for SNAP program projects

The law extends $5.954328 million in state general fund money for new SNAP investment projects through June 30, 2028. The Department of Health's Division of Public Assistance manages the funding. The money must support SNAP projects; it does not change household eligibility or grocery benefit amounts.

More time for health cost tools

The law extends funding for Department of Health tools that assign program costs to the right funding sources. Medicaid's $2.2733 million allocation runs through June 30, 2031: $2.046 million federal and $227,300 state match. Senior and Disabilities Services' $1.119 million runs through June 30, 2027: $698,500 federal and $420,500 state match. Both allocations must fund these tools; they do not change eligibility or household benefit amounts.

Federal funding for Alaska housing agency operations

The Alaska Housing Finance Corporation gets $15.3 million in federal funds for fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026. The money supports agency operations. This appropriation does not specify changes to housing eligibility, assistance amounts, or household costs.

Alaska university research funding lasts longer

The law extends $29.8 million in general fund money for University of Alaska COVID-19 economic recovery projects through June 30, 2027. The drone program gets $10 million; critical minerals and rare earth research gets $7.8 million. Heavy oil recovery research gets $5 million; mariculture research, which studies farming marine life, gets $7 million. The money must support these programs and research, not direct payments to students or households.

Emergency funding for Alaska nonpublic schools

Education gets an estimated $65,500 for emergency assistance to nonpublic schools in fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026. The money must come from federal American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 receipts for that purpose. It supports schools, not direct payments to students or families.

Goose Creek prison obligation funding falls

The law reduces general fund money for Goose Creek Correctional Center obligations and fees from $16.170163 million to $14.894358 million. The Department of Administration receives this funding for fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026. The provision does not create a household payment or charge.

Retirement funds pay outside investment fees

The law uses retirement funds managed by the Alaska Retirement Management Board to pay outside investment profit-sharing fees. The Department of Revenue receives the amount needed, estimated at $13.6 million for fiscal year 2026, ending June 30, 2026. This pays investment expenses; it does not specify changes to any participant's benefits or account balance.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • HOUSE RULES BY REQUEST OF THE GOVERNOR

    Affiliation unavailable

Cosponsors

There are no cosponsors for this bill.

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 479 • No: 397

House vote • 3/25/2026

CBRF SECTION(S) FAILED Y22 N18

Yes: 22 • No: 18

Senate vote • 3/25/2026

CBRF SECTION(S) ADOPTED VOTE Y16 N4

Yes: 16 • No: 4

Senate vote • 3/25/2026

CC REPORT ADOPTED Y19 N1 CCS HB 289

Yes: 19 • No: 1

House vote • 3/18/2026

FAILED CONCUR (S) AM Y19 N20 E1

Yes: 19 • No: 20

House vote • 3/16/2026

MOTION TO WITHDRAW FROM RULES, RULE 18, FAILED Y18 N21 E1

Yes: 18 • No: 21

House vote • 3/12/2026

RETURNED TO RULES COMMITTEE Y21 N19

Yes: 21 • No: 19

House vote • 3/12/2026

CBRF SECTION(S) FAILED Y22 N18

Yes: 22 • No: 18

House vote • 3/12/2026

RESCIND ACTION (CONCURRENCE) PASSED Y21 N19

Yes: 21 • No: 19

House vote • 2/25/2026

CBRF SECTION(S) FAILED Y24 N16

Yes: 24 • No: 16

House vote • 2/25/2026

EFFECTIVE DATE(S) ADOPTED Y30 N10

Yes: 30 • No: 10

House vote • 2/25/2026

RETURN TO SECOND FOR AM 9 FAILED Y17 N21 A2

Yes: 17 • No: 21

House vote • 2/25/2026

PASSED ON RECONSIDERATION Y24 N16

Yes: 24 • No: 16

House vote • 2/23/2026

CBRF SECTION(S) FAILED Y24 N16

Yes: 24 • No: 16

House vote • 2/23/2026

EFFECTIVE DATE(S) ADOPTED Y31 N9

Yes: 31 • No: 9

House vote • 2/23/2026

PASSED Y24 N16

Yes: 24 • No: 16

House vote • 2/18/2026

AM NO 8 FAILED Y12 N28

Yes: 12 • No: 28

House vote • 2/18/2026

AM NO 1 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 2/18/2026

AM NO 2 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 2/18/2026

FIN CS ADOPTED Y21 N19

Yes: 21 • No: 19

House vote • 2/18/2026

AM NO 6 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 2/18/2026

AM NO 3 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 2/18/2026

AM NO 4 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

House vote • 2/18/2026

AM NO 7 FAILED Y19 N21

Yes: 19 • No: 21

Bill Text

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation