All Roll Calls
Yes: 105 • No: 23
Sponsored By: Jonathan Dismang (Republican), Matthew J. Shepherd (Republican)
Enacted
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
60 provisions identified: 23 benefits, 15 costs, 22 mixed.
Eligible dependents accepted at Arkansas state-supported or private nonprofit colleges receive help toward their first bachelor’s degree. Armed Forces dependents must apply for federal Survivors’ and Dependents’ Educational Assistance and show acceptance or proof they cannot qualify. State help covers tuition, fees, and other charges left after those benefits, or those charges when federal benefits are unavailable. Private nonprofit awards have a cap tied to state-supported institution maximums. Awards last one academic year and can renew for three more, up to eight semesters, including at most four technical-institute semesters. Recipients generally need a 2.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale and must meet the Division of Higher Education’s continuing eligibility requirements. A recipient who loses eligibility can reapply once after regaining it.
The law creates the Arkansas Heroes Scholarship for eligible dependents of covered public-safety workers, state employees, teachers, and military-related groups. Covered cases include qualifying deaths or permanent and total disabilities, certain disabled veterans, and prisoners of war. Students must meet one listed condition: one year of Arkansas residency before applying, birth before the hero’s death or disability, or pregnancy at that time. The pregnancy condition applies when the hero or the hero’s spouse was pregnant with the student. Adoption must have occurred or begun before the death or disability. Stepchildren must have been tax dependents on both federal and state returns and received more than half their support from the hero. Those under 19 need this history for each of the prior five income years; those 19 or older need five of the prior eight.
The Arkansas Workforce Challenge Scholarship’s annual maximum rises from $800 to $3,000. Eligible students receive no more than their program costs or $3,000 per academic year, whichever is less. Awards can cover expenses included in the certificate program or course of study.
Workforce Challenge expands to public and private vocational-technical schools approved by the higher education division. Schools must meet at least one criterion: eligible training-provider listing, veterans’ education-benefit approval, or private career education listing. Students need Arkansas residency, or an Arkansas-resident parent if under 21, acceptance into an approved high-demand program, and a timely application. They cannot also receive Academic Challenge; the separate workforce occupation-list requirement is removed. The certificate cohort receives up to $5 million, with annual student awards capped at program costs or $3,000, whichever is less, covering tuition, fees, books, materials, and required equipment.
The law creates the Governor’s Higher Education Transition Scholarship for Arkansas students with disabilities in qualifying state-supported college programs. Awards depend on available funds and cannot exceed $2,500 per qualifying semester or the college’s cost of attendance. Money can cover tuition, required and program fees, room and board, supplies, and extended support services. Eligibility ends after eight continuous semesters or when the student earns a credential, whichever comes first.
State-supported colleges cannot excuse absences for political protests, policy advocacy, or attempts to influence government decisions. Institutional standards, professional development, and rules cannot authorize walkouts for those activities. Students can still attend institution-approved curricular or co-curricular activities. Students are liable for institutional property damage they negligently or intentionally cause during political protest or public-policy advocacy. Until a damage judgment is fully paid, the college cannot award a degree or credential or transfer or endorse credits for another state-supported college’s degree requirements.
Unless another law provides an exception, state scholarship applicants must meet one of two paths for in-state status. One path requires graduation from an Arkansas school within nine months of enrollment. The other requires legal Arkansas residency, six continuous months in Arkansas, and intent to stay. Physical presence alone is not enough. If federal student-aid application verification identifies a student as a nonresident, the scholarship must be reduced or canceled.
The law ends the Arkansas Concurrent Challenge Scholarship Program, including its eligibility, funding, and award rules. Students in grades 10–12 can no longer use it for endorsed concurrent-enrollment courses or certificate programs. This ends that scholarship route, not every form of concurrent-credit support.
Students and parents do not pay tuition, fees, or materials for concurrent-credit courses offered through public-school partnerships. Beginning in 2025–2026, schools and colleges agree on tuition for each credit hour. The rate must be 0.5% to 2.5% of the annual state per-pupil amount, capped at the college’s standard tuition and fees. Funding can come from ACCESS scholarships, districts, agreed consideration, or other sources approved by the higher education division. Colleges already receiving vocational center aid cannot also receive this tuition funding for courses at a secondary vocational center.
The Arkansas Future Grant replaces its five-semester limit with a limit of 75 enrolled course credit hours. Eligibility ends when a student earns an associate degree or fails to maintain satisfactory academic progress. Recipients no longer need monthly mentoring or 10 community-service hours each grant semester. The award equals tuition, fees, and other charges, with payment governed by the state’s scholarship stacking policy. The law removes the former formula that expressly subtracted state, federal, and private aid.
Future Grant recipients must remain Arkansas residents for six months, down from three consecutive years. After earning an associate degree or certification, recipients must start Arkansas employment within six months. The higher education division can defer employment when qualifying work is unavailable or special circumstances exist. It makes that determination in consultation with the workforce services division. After a deferral, recipients must begin or resume Arkansas work or face repayment.
Beginning in 2025–2026, eligible colleges must provide annual scholarships to accepted and enrolled Teacher Academy students. Awards cover tuition and fees up to state-set semester maximums, plus the actual cost of one required teaching-license exam. Graduate and community-college support generally ends at two years, four semesters, 60 academic hours, or program completion. Undergraduate support generally ends at four years, eight semesters, 120 academic hours, or program completion; qualifying community-college students get up to two additional undergraduate years or four semesters. Awards follow the state’s stacking policy, and total aid cannot exceed the recognized cost of attendance at a state-supported college.
Arkansas Academic Challenge awards rise from $1,000 to $2,000 per academic year for qualifying full-time four-year college recipients. Those recipients must attend an approved institution and have earned fewer than 27 semester credit hours. First-year awards also rise from $1,000 to $2,000 for full-time recipients at approved two-year colleges, four-year branch campuses, or nursing schools. Their second-year award remains $3,000. Awards depend on available net revenue.
An eligible child can file for an otherwise available education scholarship before turning 21. This applies when the covered employee or heirs missed the filing period for an available death or disability benefit. The child must be an Armed Forces dependent or a dependent of an Arkansas hero with a qualifying injury or death. For the hero-dependent path, the injury must arise from hazardous duty or travel to or from a hazardous situation.
Covered personnel at state-supported colleges cannot force anyone to affirm or adopt political, religious, philosophical, or other ideological views. The law limits unequal treatment based on race, ethnicity, sex, color, or national origin, subject to federal law. Colleges cannot condition class enrollment or attendance on adopting an ideological view. Protected-characteristic conditions are barred unless federal law requires them. Legitimate educational discussion of covered concepts remains allowed when consistent with these rules.
Direct Admissions begins with the 2026–2027 high-school graduating class, offering a common application portal and outreach. Arkansas residents at participating accredited public or private high schools can receive provisional offers based on grades, assessments, and completed courses. A provisional offer is not an acceptance; students can still use colleges’ regular application processes. Public districts and open-enrollment charters can opt in, and participating public schools must share student academic data with the higher education division. Districts and charters must inform all students and cannot actively discourage or bar eligible students from participating.
Students and parents or guardians cannot be charged tuition, fees, or materials for concurrent-credit courses. Students qualify when the college admits them and they meet course prerequisites; nondegree or noncertificate enrollment is no longer required. These courses must award both public high school and in-state college credit, receive normal college approval, and appear in its catalog. They must match the college campus course’s content and learning standards. Accelerated learning also includes pre-Advanced Placement, Advanced Placement, International Baccalaureate, Cambridge, and similar state-approved programs.
Service members stationed in Arkansas under military orders qualify for in-state status for state-funded scholarships. Their dependents receive the same status. This classification does not itself guarantee a scholarship or set an award amount.
Beginning in 2025–2026, every public school district and open-enrollment charter must offer at least four accelerated-learning courses. These courses must cover math, English, science, and social studies. The state can pay all or part of accelerated-learning test fees when appropriated money is available. Schools offering these courses can also receive a one-time grant for equipment and teaching materials. Those grants depend on appropriations and criteria set by the state education division.
Arkansas Heroes Scholarships are unavailable when the hero’s wound, injury, or death was self-inflicted. A child is ineligible for a semester or quarter if already 26 on its first day. A spouse loses eligibility upon remarriage. If enrolled when remarriage occurs, the spouse’s benefits continue through that semester.
Colleges cannot award state aid above the cost of attendance where a student enrolls. Private two-year and four-year colleges also face a comparison limit. Their state aid cannot exceed the cost at a corresponding state-supported two-year or four-year college.
Colleges must use the federal cost-of-attendance method for every student receiving state aid, even without federal aid. The calculation uses the amount the college reports to the state through the federal higher education data system. Costs excluded under the federal method stay excluded, subject to federally permitted allowances. Institutional work study is excluded unless it is need-based.
Colleges can charge Teacher Academy scholarship recipients any tuition and fees left after their scholarship and other aid. The law removes the former ban on charging that gap. It also removes permission to use scholarship money left after tuition and fees for academy costs.
Qualifying Heroes Scholarship awards exceeding the Higher Education Grants Fund Account appropriation use remaining net lottery proceeds. The state first reserves enough to maintain the previous year’s Academic Challenge and Workforce Challenge award levels. A recipient’s total financial aid cannot exceed the recognized cost of attendance at a state-supported college.
State-supported colleges must develop faculty review plans with campus faculty, report them by December 1, 2025, and implement them by January 1, 2026. Annual reviews cover all full-time faculty and include peer, student, and administrator assessments. Reviews can lead to remedial training, tenure removal, or other actions allowed by college policy. Colleges can order immediate reviews for incompetence, repeated duty failures, incomplete post-tenure development, specified violations or convictions, unprofessional conduct, falsified credentials, or other policy-defined causes. Tenured faculty retain due process and can appeal under the college’s review framework.
Arkansas public high-school graduates can qualify through an ACT superscore of at least 19 or an equivalent. Another path requires a 3.0 GPA, at least one college-readiness assessment, and a diploma of merit. Applicants using that path must submit proof with their application. Revised routes also cover private, out-of-state, and home-school graduates, equivalency diploma holders, and certain prior-year college students. Public high-school graduates with disabilities must meet the specified traditional-student requirements.
Both Governor’s Scholars programs require legal Arkansas residency, Arkansas high-school graduation, eligibility for full-time enrollment, and intent to attend an approved Arkansas institution. The higher education division sets exemplary-achievement measures using one or more listed academic records. Options include SAT, CLT, ACT, GPA, class rank, an associate degree earned at high-school graduation, or a diploma of distinction. Extraordinary academic ability requires an ACT superscore of at least 32 or SAT score of at least 1410, plus a 3.5 GPA. The qualifying ACT or SAT score must be earned by February 28 before the application deadline.
The Teacher Opportunity Program allows awards, not just reimbursement, for qualifying added education and dual licensure. For specified added education, awards cannot exceed tuition and fees for six semester credit hours per academic year. Dual licensure must be in a different subject where the teacher does not already hold a license. Recipients must maintain a 2.5 college GPA on a 4.0 scale, or a state-approved equivalent. The separate Dual Licensure Incentive Program ends; Opportunity Program awards depend on priorities, appropriations, and available funds.
Career courses qualify for weighted credit within approved pathways if they exceed regular standards and lead to approved certification or concurrent credit. Students receive that credit after completing the pathway and earning its matching high-value industry credential. The state career education division must publish approved pathways by January 1 each year. Public high school students completing approved vocational or technical pathways must also receive a matching certificate of attainment. That certificate supports apprenticeship acceptance consideration and priority placement, but does not guarantee admission.
State-supported colleges cannot require statements describing views on race, ethnicity, sex, color, or national origin. The ban covers current and prospective students, teachers, employees, contractors, officers, agents, and administrators. It applies to hiring, evaluation, admission, and promotion decisions.
Students at covered private resident or correspondence schools can submit written complaints without a state-prescribed form. Covered disputes involve broken school agreements or enrollment information misrepresented by admissions representatives. If informal resolution fails, request a hearing through the higher education division within one year of completing or leaving school. The Higher Education Coordinating Board hears and resolves these formal disputes as the sole authority under this process. Students cannot pursue the Board process after filing legal action.
The approved-school definition for Governor’s Scholars scholarships includes state-supported institutions and private colleges or universities. It also includes qualifying out-of-state professional programs not offered in Arkansas through the Arkansas Health Education Grant Program. Institutions must meet educational-purpose, nondiscrimination, and academic-freedom requirements. Students still must meet the scholarship’s separate eligibility rules.
Licensed school personnel can count up to 30 hours of accelerated-course teaching training toward professional development; no payment is provided. Accelerated and concurrent-course instructors must meet provider or authorized accreditor requirements, replacing the specified master’s-degree and 18-credit-hour rules. Former Advanced Placement teacher-training provisions are also removed. The college’s academic unit or chief academic officer must approve credentials and experience relevant to its approved syllabus. Postsecondary-employed instructors meeting college or state career division qualifications can teach credit-bearing accelerated courses without the usual 60-consecutive-school-day licensure limit.
Public school districts and open-enrollment public charter schools can excuse absences for social or public policy advocacy. This includes efforts to influence legislation or government policy at the local, state, or federal level. A parent, legal guardian, or person acting in a parent’s place must give written consent. Schools can choose whether to excuse the absence; approval is not required.
Arkansas state-supported colleges must accept the Classic Learning Test to the same extent as the ACT and SAT. Students can use it for admissions and eligibility for state-funded aid. This requirement does not cover aid programs funded by the college itself.
State grants support organizations advancing approved accelerated learning, including advanced placement, International Baccalaureate, Cambridge, and concurrent-credit programs. Organizations no longer need National Math and Science Initiative ties or demonstrated Advanced Placement success to qualify. The state education division determines which measures advance accelerated learning; no grant amount is stated. Counselor service rules now cover accelerated-learning programs rather than only Advanced Placement. Administrative work remains limited to 10% of counselors’ time on student contact days.
School board audit-report training must be led or supervised by an Arkansas-licensed accountant experienced in school district audits. Training must come through an Arkansas college or state education department-sponsored or approved instruction; it can be in person or electronic. Legislative Audit employees can train only groups involving multiple districts. A district’s own auditor can train only organization-sponsored statewide or regional large groups attended by multiple districts.
Arkansas public school districts and open-enrollment public charter schools can earn Purple Star School or School District recognition. They must show a significant commitment to serving students and families connected to the U.S. Armed Forces. The state education division can adopt rules for the designation. The law does not provide a household payment through this recognition.
Beginning in the 2026–2027 academic year, state education divisions must review Arkansas’s common course numbering system. The Division of Higher Education must work with the elementary and secondary education division to recommend additions and changes. They must begin checking alignment with elementary and secondary courses. Higher education officials must also schedule regular course reviews and establish procedures in consultation with the school division.
Social studies and history courses in grades 7–12 that can earn graduation credit must cover required U.S. history knowledge. This covers events from the colonial period to modern times. Advanced Placement courses no longer have an exception from this requirement.
Arkansas public school districts and open-enrollment public charter schools cannot grant excused absences for political protest. This limits attendance options for students who miss school to take part in a protest.
The law ends the Advanced Placement and International Baccalaureate Diploma Incentive Program. Schools lose that program’s equipment and instructional-material grants and subsidized teacher training. The state no longer pays those exam fees through this program, removing that source of help for families. The law also ends Smart Core incentive payments based on the share of graduates completing that curriculum. No lost funding or individual exam-fee amount is stated.
The law ends the Workforce Challenge summer-award route that used money left after regular scholarship distributions. It removes the related summer application and award provisions. This change does not specify the dollar amount of lost support.
Arkansas school ratings must include statewide-test achievement, student growth, and school-level graduation rates. The law removes the requirement to consider at least one extra indicator from a specified list, which included English-learner progress. Rating measures must show meaningful differences among schools. They must also be valid, reliable, comparable, and usable statewide.
The law ends the Arkansas Traveling Teacher Program. Districts can no longer use that program to arrange traveling teacher services for receiving districts. The provision does not establish a replacement service or state a funding amount.
State-supported colleges cannot collect or report diversity, equity, and inclusion information for accreditation, or follow related accreditation requirements. They also cannot follow accreditation requirements that violate this part of the law. They cannot spend state money or accept federal money when receiving that federal money requires such a violation. After Attorney General notice, a college must make reasonable efforts to fix violations and show compliance within a reasonable time, or lose state funding-formula eligibility. To regain eligibility, it must show compliance for at least one fiscal year after the fiscal year it lost eligibility.
A public high school participating in accelerated learning must pay the program provider’s service fee. Schools no longer have the option to participate on a limited basis and pay only for selected services. The provider sets the fee; this provision does not directly charge families.
Academic Support Scholarships use funds left after sufficient allocations for Academic Challenge, Workforce Challenge, and ACCESS to Acceleration scholarships. ACCESS replaces Concurrent Challenge in this funding order. Available support depends on how much money remains after those allocations.
The specified Academic Challenge award no longer must be reduced in proportion to a part-time student’s enrolled credits. The program can still choose to make that adjustment. Applicants also lose the option to exclude credits earned before high-school graduation or an approved equivalency diploma from award calculations. Those earlier credits can affect awards based on earned credit hours.
For students covered by the Arkansas Military Child School Transitions Act of 2021, transfer placement rules list accelerated-learning courses. They also list academic, technical, and career-pathway courses. Honors, International Baccalaureate, and Advanced Placement courses are no longer separately listed. International Baccalaureate and Advanced Placement remain included in the law’s accelerated-learning definition.
Colleges must apply federal aid first, unless federal law sets a different order. Next comes Arkansas Academic Challenge, then other state scholarships not separately listed. Arkansas Future Grants, Teacher Academy Scholarships, and National Guard tuition waivers follow; college-funded aid comes last. If a package includes state aid and exceeds the cost of attendance, the college must return excess state aid in that order. This rule requires repayment by the college, not the student.
Districts no longer must offer pre-Advanced Placement courses or obtain the former state approval for them. For accreditation, a district can substitute an enrolled accelerated course in the same subject when a required course has no students. It must keep a qualified teacher available, teach all other required courses, and provide the required course to later-enrolling students. The district must notify the state after spring registration and immediately after school starts; the state must permit a qualifying substitution. All accelerated courses must meet approved program requirements, and the State Board of Education can reject courses that fail them.
Public secondary schools use the statewide grading scale, except for accelerated-learning courses and courses approved for weighted credit. The state must approve weighted credit for courses exceeding regular standards, matching advanced-course standards, or identified as honors classes. Other honors courses lose their separate exception from numeric grade values. The law removes the local district policy route for weighted college-course credit. It also removes statutory permission to use the secondary scale in elementary schools, without setting a replacement policy.
Students must seek the correct residency status when they register. Participating state-supported colleges must provide an appeal process for residency decisions used for scholarships. Students who knowingly give false information to establish residency are subject to dismissal.
Eligible colleges retain authority to develop teacher-preparation programs for their Arkansas Teacher Academies. The law removes the rule allowing priority for students in grades 11 and 12. It also removes the rule barring exclusion of students in grades 9 and 10. Colleges gain more discretion over grade-level access.
The state education division must create a formula for assigning letter grades to public school districts and education service cooperatives. This provision does not specify the measures or scoring method.
The school safety subchapter now includes open-enrollment public charter schools alongside traditional public schools. The state education commissioner chooses Safe Schools Committee members, replacing the membership list previously set by law. The Arkansas Center for School Safety remains the state’s clearinghouse for school safety. It must work with the state education division, Safe Schools Committee, and Division of Emergency Management. The law removes the previous list of other required partners.
The State Board of Education must set grading rules for accelerated-learning courses and courses approved for weighted credit. The rules cover grade scales, the numbers used to calculate averages, and the extra weight assigned to grades. This provision does not set the final grade values or weights.
The Division of Higher Education alone approves and licenses covered occupational schools, investigates applicants, maintains an approved-school list, and sets course, facility, financial, staffing, and business-practice standards. It administers denial and revocation hearings before the Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board. Driver education joins covered career training, except court-ordered courses for motor vehicle violators. State-supported two- and four-year colleges and qualifying Arkansas-headquartered private nonprofit colleges eligible for Title IV aid are exempt. Out-of-state schools are exempt when they teach outside Arkansas and do not participate in distance education.
Admissions representatives at licensed private career schools no longer need the state license covered by this law. School license applications must still be signed and contain information required by the Division of Higher Education. Applications no longer must be verified or follow Division-prescribed forms and procedures. Failure to follow those forms or procedures is no longer a stated ground for license action.
Jonathan Dismang
Republican • Senate
Matthew J. Shepherd
Republican • House
Brandon Achor
Republican • House
Wade Andrews
Republican • House
Sonia Eubanks Barker
Republican • House
Howard M. Beaty, Jr.
Republican • House
Rick Beck
Republican • House
Keith Brooks
Republican • House
Frances Cavenaugh
Republican • House
Cindy Crawford
Republican • House
Les D. Eaves
Republican • House
Jon S. Eubanks
Republican • House
Brian S. Evans
Republican • House
Zack Gramlich
Republican • House
RJ Hawk
Republican • House
John P. Carr
Republican • House
Karilyn Brown
Republican • House
Matt Brown
Republican • House
Mindy McAlindon
Republican • House
Rick McClure
Republican • House
Jason Nazarenko
Republican • House
Ryan A. Rose
Republican • House
Stephen Meeks
Republican • House
Randy Torres
Republican • House
Steve Unger
Republican • House
Jeff Wardlaw
Republican • House
Carlton Wing
Republican • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 105 • No: 23
House vote • 3/17/2025
House Vote - Monday, March 17, 2025 2:55:12 PM
Yes: 77 • No: 17
Senate vote • 3/13/2025
Senate Vote - Thursday, March 13, 2025 2:30:51 PM
Yes: 28 • No: 6
Notification that SB246 is now Act 340
DELIVERED TO GOVERNOR.
Reported correctly enrolled and ordered delivered to the Governor.
ORDERED ENROLLED
Returned from the House as passed.
Returned to the Senate as passed.
Read the third time and passed and ordered transmitted to the Senate.
Read the first time, rules suspended, read the second time and placed on the CALENDAR.
RECEIVED FROM THE SENATE
Ordered immediately transmitted to the House.
Read the third time and passed.
REPORTED CORRECTLY ENGROSSED
Amendment # 2 read the first time, rules suspended, read the second time and adopted, ordered engrossed.
Placed on second reading for purpose of amendment.
Returned by the Committee with the recommendation that it Do Pass as amended, Amendment # 2
Re-referred to EDUCATION COMMITTEE - SENATE
REPORTED CORRECTLY ENGROSSED
Amendment # 1 read the first time, rules suspended, read the second time and adopted, ordered engrossed.
Withdrawn from Committee and placed on 2nd reading for purpose of amendment # 1
Rules suspended.
Read first time, rules suspended, read second time, referred to EDUCATION COMMITTEE - SENATE
Filed
SB246 - Introduced
2/17/2025
Act Version
HB1265, AN ACT FOR THE UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS AT LITTLE ROCK APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2025-2026 FISCAL YEAR.
HB1686, TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING LICENSES TO CARRY CONCEALED HANDGUNS.
HB1237, TO PROHIBIT MEDICAL PROFESSIONALS FROM SOLICITING INJURED INDIVIDUALS; AND TO SET PENALTIES FOR A VIOLATION OF THE PROHIBITION OF SOLICITATION OF INJURED INDIVIDUALS.
SB440, TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING EMBALMERS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS; TO REGULATE THE USE OF ALKALINE HYDROLYSIS; AND TO REGULATE ALKALINE HYDROLYSIS FACILITIES.
HB1695, TO CLARIFY THE FORECLOSURE PROCESS FOR PROPERTY SUBJECT TO A MUNICIPAL LIEN; TO ALLOW A MUNICIPALITY TO PETITION TO SET ASIDE THE SALE OF PROPERTY TO CERTAIN PERSONS; AND TO PROVIDE FOR THE PRIORITY OF UNRECORDED MUNICIPAL LIENS.
HR1012, TO AMEND THE RULES OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY; TO REQUIRE THAT A MEMBER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES BE SELECTED AS A DESIGNATED SURVIVOR.