ConnecticutSB 012972025 Regular SessionSenateWALLET

AN ACT CONCERNING MINOR REVISIONS TO THE HIGHER EDUCATION STATUTES CONCERNING THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE CONNECTICUT STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE AND THE BOARD OF REGENTS FOR HIGHER EDUCATION.

Sponsored By: Higher Education and Employment Advancement Committee

Signed by Governor

Summary

To update references in the general statutes to the regional community-technical colleges to Connecticut State Community College and to the Board of Trustees of the Connecticut State University System and the Board of Trustees of the Community-Technical Colleges to the Board of Regents for Higher Education.

higher education and employment advancement

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

15 provisions identified: 12 benefits, 2 costs, 1 mixed.

Tuition waivers help eligible college students

Connecticut State Community College must waive tuition for eligible veterans, Guard members, State Police Academy students, and specified dependents or surviving spouses. Covered families include those of qualifying POW/MIA service members, fallen public employees, terrorist victims, and service members killed in action. The law also covers eligible relatives of the resident killed in the July 29, 2005, Avon crash. Connecticut residents age 62 or older qualify after regular registration when enrollment is sufficient and space remains. Employer education payments reduce waivers; eligible veterans and Guard members keep equal registration status. For eligible veterans seeking federal Post-9/11 aid, the college waives tuition beyond the federal tuition payment. Veterans can use the general waiver after certifying that their federal application was denied or withdrawn. The state annually reimburses specified waiver costs above 5% of tuition revenue, based on the Board's estimated losses.

Regional nonresident students face tuition floor

Nonresident students in the New England Regional Student Program must pay at least 150% of resident tuition for similar programs. The Board of Regents and UConn's board set these rates. This minimum applies to that regional program, not all nonresident students.

College aid funds and textbook access

The Board of Regents must reserve tuition revenue for waivers, tuition reductions, education grants, and student jobs under its tuition policy. It may reserve another 1% of tuition revenue for students with financial need who otherwise would not qualify for aid. Eligible students must be Connecticut residents in full- or part-time degree programs or precollege remedial programs. The extra aid's need test excludes primary-home equity and counts 30% of a dependent student's earnings. The state university system must adopt a policy for students who meet all federal, state, and school aid requirements. It must provide aid by the term's first day or allow pending aid for required campus-store textbooks during the first week.

Service members can repeat interrupted courses

Community college students called to active duty during a semester can repeat courses they paid for but could not finish. They pay no additional tuition, student fees, or related charges for those courses. They must reenroll within four years after release from active duty and cannot have been fully reimbursed for course costs.

Unemployed residents get job training access

The Board of Regents must develop a program giving unemployed Connecticut residents access to short-term community college training. These noncredit programs teach job skills and provide workforce credentials. The law does not specify a cash payment or promise free tuition.

State can take land for campuses

Beginning June 9, 2025, the state can take land or land interests to expand certain educational sites. Covered sites include state universities, the Technical Education and Career System, and technical colleges. State planning requirements apply, and damages are determined under the state's land-taking law. The law names no specific property or payment amount.

College property donors gain liability protection

People donating tangible property to Connecticut State Community College or its campuses gain protection from certain civil claims. It covers damage or injury resulting from the donor's act, error, or omission concerning the property. Donations must occur on or after July 1, 2023, and harm on or after October 1, 2013. Protection does not cover reckless, wilful, or wanton misconduct.

Community college cannot charge graduation fees

The Board of Regents cannot charge Connecticut State Community College students a fee for graduating. The law does not state the amount of the avoided charge.

High school students gain college pathways

Each semester since fall 2020, public-high-school advanced manufacturing certificate programs must enroll eligible 11th- and 12th-graders from districts with required agreements. Students can earn high school and college credits and a certificate. Community college or independent college operators may run programs; adults may attend evenings or weekends with local school-board approval. The J. M. Wright Technical High School pilot offers Norwalk campus courses for college credit within existing budgets and staffing. That pilot runs each school year beginning with the year starting July 1, 2010. Community college campus leaders must also consult regional public high schools to build partnerships, such as career counseling and course alignment.

College magnet schools qualify for grants

The Board of Regents can seek magnet-school grants for eligible college programs, including the Quinebaug Valley and Three Rivers campuses. Broader community college and state university eligibility requires an Education Commissioner finding that programs help meet Sheff school-desegregation obligations. Building grants can reimburse up to 80% of eligible costs; project requirements apply unless waived for good cause. Transportation grants support children attending magnet programs outside their home towns. Operating, supplemental, academic-support, and summer-school grants are available, subject to applicable funding limits; academic-support and summer programs need commissioner approval. Start-up grants for new qualifying Sheff-related programs are capped at $75,000.

Colleges must maintain campus safety systems

State higher-education units and independent colleges must submit current campus security plans to the state emergency services department. They must review plans every two years with campus police or security leaders and submit needed revisions by August 1. Plans must address educating staff to recognize and respond to people at risk of harming themselves or others. Each campus must also have a comprehensively trained threat assessment team able to carry out its safety plan. Presidents select members in consultation with campus police or security leaders; the law removes the former 2013 and 2014 deadlines.

Nursing campuses can fund more faculty

Up to four community college campuses can receive nursing faculty expansion aid for up to two years. Annual aid cannot exceed $75,000 or the campus's secured nonstate funding, whichever is less. Campuses must submit an expansion plan, signed hospital or health-care partner commitments, and funding information. The Board considers the plan's success before providing second-year aid.

Campus funds support scholarships and equipment

Eligible gifts go into separate permanent endowments for community college campuses or the college as a whole. Each year, campuses receive a share of state grants and earnings, including capital gains, proportional to their eligible gifts. Required transfers occur within 30 days after the state grant arrives. Campus parking and traffic fines fund scholarships and libraries after deductions no greater than enforcement costs; fine amounts do not change. The Board of Regents can also receive up to $30,000 in bond proceeds for capital equipment.

Campus leaders gain purchasing and hiring powers

Campus leaders can buy equipment, supplies, and services, make personal-service agreements, and lease personal property without three state officials' approval. They must consult the administrative services commissioner and follow governing-board policies adopted with public input. Those policies remain subject to the law's review requirements. Campus and institution leaders can also create positions and approve filling vacancies within available funds and board policies.

Community college campuses get governance rules

The Board of Regents administers Connecticut State Community College, sets policies and programs, and employs campus staff. It must establish campuses serving southeastern Connecticut, New Britain-Bristol, northeastern Connecticut, northern Connecticut, the lower Naugatuck Valley, and greater Waterbury. The Board also has campus review, quality oversight, and merger or closure authority. Merger or closure recommendations require a two-thirds Board vote and notice to the legislature and its education committee. The law itself does not merge or close a campus. Each campus gets one student advisory committee member; campus student government must elect a replacement within 30 days of a vacancy.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • Higher Education and Employment Advancement Committee

    Affiliation unavailable

Cosponsors

There are no cosponsors for this bill.

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 211 • No: 24

Senate vote • 3/13/2025

Senate Roll Call Vote 100

Yes: 36 • No: 0

Senate vote • 3/13/2025

Senate Roll Call Vote 99

Yes: 11 • No: 24

Senate vote • 3/13/2025

HED Vote Tally Sheet (Joint Favorable Substitute)

Yes: 18 • No: 0

House vote • 3/13/2025

House Roll Call Vote 180

Yes: 146 • No: 0

Actions Timeline

  1. Signed by the Governor

    6/9/2025legislature
  2. Transmitted by Secretary of the State to Governor

    6/3/2025legislature
  3. Transmitted to the Secretary of State

    6/3/2025legislature
  4. Public Act 25-22

    5/30/2025legislature
  5. In Concurrence

    5/22/2025legislature
  6. House Passed

    5/22/2025House
  7. House Calendar Number 518

    5/1/2025House
  8. Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House

    5/1/2025House
  9. Senate Passed

    4/30/2025Senate
  10. Senate Rejected Senate Amendment Schedule A 7622

    4/30/2025Senate
  11. File Number 376

    4/1/2025legislature
  12. Senate Calendar Number 227

    4/1/2025Senate
  13. Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate

    4/1/2025Senate
  14. Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office

    4/1/2025legislature
  15. Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 03/31/25 5:00 PM

    3/25/2025legislature
  16. Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office

    3/17/2025legislature
  17. Joint Favorable Substitute

    3/13/2025legislature
  18. Public Hearing 02/20

    2/14/2025legislature
  19. Referred to Joint Committee on Higher Education and Employment Advancement

    2/13/2025legislature

Bill Text

  • Public Act No. 25-22

    5/30/2025

  • File No. 376

    4/1/2025

  • HED Joint Favorable Substitute

    3/13/2025

  • Raised Bill

    2/13/2025

  • Bill Analysis For File Copy 376

  • Fiscal Note For File Copy 376

  • Fiscal Note for Amendment LCO 7622 (See Fiscal Note Details)

  • HED Joint Fav. Rpt

  • HED Vote Tally Sheet (Joint Favorable Substitute)

  • House Roll Call Vote 180

  • Senate Roll Call Vote 100

  • Senate Roll Call Vote 99

  • Senate Schedule A LCO# 7622 (R)

  • Summary for Public Act No. 25-22

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation