District of ColumbiaB26-0662Council Period 26 (2025-2026)HouseWALLET

Fiscal Year 2026 Revised Local Budget Emergency Act of 2026

Sponsored By: Sponsor information unavailable

Signed by Governor

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

4 provisions identified: 1 benefits, 0 costs, 3 mixed.

District cuts budget while shifting service funding

The law cuts the District’s fiscal year 2026 budget by about $101.26 million overall. It adds $20.46 million for Housing Authority payments but cuts the housing production subsidy and enterprise funding by $10 million each. It cuts health care finance by $47.30 million and child and family services by $5 million. Human services gets about $4.78 million more, while Workforce Investments loses $92.39 million. Charter schools get $33.1 million more, and the state education office gets about $35.56 million more. University funding falls about $2.98 million, and library funding falls $1.25 million. Police get $18.7 million more, corrections gets $2.8 million more, and public works gets about $36.34 million more. Transportation loses about $3.88 million, motor vehicles loses $2.12 million, and general services gains about $16.22 million. The law also cuts loan and interest repayment funding by $95 million while adding about $22.01 million for cash reserve repayments. These are agency funding changes, not stated changes to household benefit amounts or eligibility. The emergency law takes effect upon mayoral approval or Council override and lasts 90 days.

District moves reserves into its general budget

In fiscal year 2026, the District’s chief financial officer must move $150 million from its Fiscal Stabilization Reserve Account. The money goes to the General Fund’s balance that is not set aside for a specific purpose. It is available as directed by the approved fiscal year 2027 Budget and Financial Plan. The law also moves certified balances and revenues from designated program accounts into the General Fund for 2026 and 2027 budgets. These include about $5.50 million from Healthy DC and $3.5 million from the Nursing Home Quality of Care Fund. Health insurance affordability loses about $2.15 million, and inpatient and outpatient hospital payment funds transfer $631,000 and $724,000. Other transfers include about $3.69 million from renewable energy, $2.76 million from solid waste fees, and $2.02 million from the Circulator fund. Parking-related accounts and additional health, housing, business, and safety accounts also transfer money. These moves increase general budget funds but reduce reserves and money set aside for specific programs; residents receive no direct payment.

District shifts bridge and shelter project funding

The law changes fiscal year 2026 funding for the capital projects listed in its funding chart. It cuts $40 million for Single Shelter Replacement 5 and about $56.27 million for Housing Authority development and rehabilitation. H Street Bridge funding falls $61 million, while Benning Road bridges and transportation improvements gain about $27.56 million. The law adds $40 million for the project named Capital One and $25 million for another bridge housing location. These changes fund specific projects; they do not provide direct household payments.

Children’s hospital can get campus assessment grants

The District’s Deputy Mayor for Planning and Economic Development can issue one or more grants to Children’s National Hospital. The grants support site assessments for a new hospital campus. The law does not state a grant amount or provide money directly to households.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsors

There is no primary sponsor on record.

Cosponsors

  • Phil Mendelson

    Democratic • House

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 52 • No: 0

House vote • 6/23/2026

Other

Yes: 13 • No: 0

House vote • 6/23/2026

Final Reading

Yes: 13 • No: 0

House vote • 6/23/2026

Other

Yes: 13 • No: 0

House vote • 6/23/2026

Other

Yes: 13 • No: 0

Actions Timeline

  1. Act A26-0377 Published in DC Register Vol 73 and Page 011085, Expires on Oct 23, 2026

    8/7/2026House
  2. Returned from Mayor

    7/28/2026House
  3. Signed by the Mayor and Enacted with Act Number A26-0377, Expires on Oct 23, 2026

    7/27/2026House
  4. Transmitted to Mayor, Response Due on Jul 24, 2026

    7/10/2026House
  5. Legislative Meeting

    6/23/2026House
  6. Retained by the Council with comments from the Committee of the Whole

    4/21/2026House
  7. B26-0662 Introduced by Chairman Mendelson at Office of the Secretary

    4/20/2026House

Bill Text

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation