GeorgiaSB 1602025-2026 Regular SessionSenateWALLET

Reckless Stunt Driving; a motor vehicle involved in a second offense of reckless stunt driving; replace the forfeiture penalty

Sponsored By: John Albers (Republican), Jason Anavitarte (Republican), Bill Cowsert (Republican), Jason Esteves (Democrat), Steve Gooch (Republican), Russ Goodman (Republican), Sonya Halpern (Democrat), Emanuel Jones (Democrat), John F. Kennedy (Republican), Kay Kirkpatrick (Republican), Josh McLaurin (Democrat), Nan Orrock (Democrat), Chuck Payne (Republican), Randy Robertson (Republican), Brian Strickland (Republican), Sam Watson (Republican), Rick Williams (Republican)

Signed by Governor

Motor VehiclesPublic SafetyGeneral Bill

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

6 provisions identified: 3 benefits, 3 costs, 0 mixed.

Driving bans for speed-device rule violations

Beginning July 1, 2028, Georgia must revoke a speed-device permit after a conviction for violating a state vehicle-movement law. Provider reports of tampering, missed required monitoring, or early device removal also require revocation. Drivers cannot apply for a license for six months after their first permit revocation, or two years after a later revocation. Permit holders have hearing and appeal rights; mailed notices count as received three days after mailing. When a court revokes probation for violating the permit eligibility certificate, driving privileges are revoked for one year from that date.

Device access for drivers without money

Beginning July 1, 2028, counties, cities, and private groups may buy or lease speed assistance devices for provider centers. When a local government obtains devices from a private company, it must allow participation by drivers a court finds indigent. Those drivers cannot be excluded because they cannot pay device fees or deposits. This access rule does not expressly waive those charges.

Limited driving permits for stunt drivers

Beginning July 1, 2028, drivers suspended for a first or second reckless stunt driving conviction can apply for a limited permit. The permit uses a speed assistance device that prevents driving above a preset speed. Applicants must be at least 21 and hold a current Georgia driver's license. Commercial license holders and drivers with unrelated suspensions or other disqualifying license actions cannot qualify. An administrative suspension for an accident causing injury or death also bars eligibility.

Permit and device fees for drivers

Beginning July 1, 2028, the speed-device limited permit costs $32 and lasts one year. One six-month renewal costs another $32 and is available only after the driver becomes eligible for full license reinstatement. Replacing a lost or destroyed permit costs the same as a Class C license; that amount is not stated here. Providers may also charge state-approved fees to install, remove, and use the device, plus a deposit for its safe return. The law does not set those device fee or deposit amounts.

Warnings and provider choice for drivers

Beginning July 1, 2028, certified installers must attach a state-compliant warning label to each speed assistance device. It warns that tampering, bypassing, or misuse is a misdemeanor and may lead to civil liability. Court, supervision, and law enforcement officers cannot direct drivers to a particular provider, but may give certified-center names when asked. Private misdemeanor probation company personnel, professional bondsmen, and their agents or employees cannot own, run, or work for provider centers.

Licensing costs for speed-device providers

Beginning July 1, 2028, providers of court-required speed devices must meet Georgia licensing rules; manufacturer-built vehicle technology is excluded. Each fixed location needs a license, costing $250 to apply and $100 to renew for four-year terms. Mobile units can operate from a licensed center without a separate license. Each location needs at least $50,000 in liability insurance and a continuous $10,000 surety bond with a $20,000 aggregate liability limit. Bond cancellation requires 30 days' written notice to the state. Providers must meet background-check and lawful-presence rules and pay fingerprinting and background-check costs. The state must certify devices and providers, set accuracy rules, and include applicable federal highway safety standards adopted by state rule. Manufacturers pay device certification costs, which the law does not specify.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsors

  • John Albers

    Republican • Senate

  • Jason Anavitarte

    Republican • Senate

  • Bill Cowsert

    Republican • Senate

  • Jason Esteves

    Democrat • Senate

  • Steve Gooch

    Republican • Senate

  • Russ Goodman

    Republican • Senate

  • Sonya Halpern

    Democrat • Senate

  • Emanuel Jones

    Democrat • Senate

  • John F. Kennedy

    Republican • Senate

  • Kay Kirkpatrick

    Republican • Senate

  • Josh McLaurin

    Democrat • Senate

  • Nan Orrock

    Democrat • Senate

  • Chuck Payne

    Republican • Senate

  • Randy Robertson

    Republican • Senate

  • Brian Strickland

    Republican • Senate

  • Sam Watson

    Republican • Senate

  • Rick Williams

    Republican • Senate

Cosponsors

  • Alan Powell

    Republican • House

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 232 • No: 27

Senate vote • 3/25/2026

AGREE TO HOUSE SUBSTITUTE

Yes: 49 • No: 0 • Other: 3

House vote • 3/16/2026

PASSAGE

Yes: 130 • No: 26 • Other: 9

Senate vote • 3/4/2025

PASSAGE

Yes: 53 • No: 1

Actions Timeline

  1. Effective Date

    7/1/2028
  2. Senate Date Signed by Governor

    5/6/2026Senate
  3. Act 418

    5/6/2026
  4. Senate Sent to Governor

    4/10/2026Senate
  5. Senate Agreed House Amend or Sub

    3/25/2026Senate
  6. House Third Readers

    3/16/2026House
  7. House Passed/Adopted By Substitute

    3/16/2026House
  8. House Committee Favorably Reported By Substitute

    2/24/2026House
  9. House Withdrawn, Recommitted

    4/4/2025House
  10. House Committee Favorably Reported By Substitute

    3/21/2025House
  11. House Second Readers

    3/10/2025House
  12. House First Readers

    3/6/2025House
  13. Senate Third Read

    3/4/2025Senate
  14. Senate Passed/Adopted

    3/4/2025Senate
  15. Senate Read Second Time

    2/21/2025Senate
  16. Senate Committee Favorably Reported

    2/20/2025Senate
  17. Senate Read and Referred

    2/13/2025Senate
  18. Senate Hopper

    2/12/2025Senate

Bill Text

  • SB 160/AP* (v9)

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation