MinnesotaSF 428294th Legislature, 2025-2026SenateWALLET

Various agency forecast adjustments

Sponsored By: Mary K. Kunesh (Democratic)

Became Law

Education FinanceFinanceWays and Means

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

15 provisions identified: 6 benefits, 6 costs, 3 mixed.

More operating aid for Minnesota schools

Minnesota general education aid rises from $8.509608 billion to $8.550641 billion for fiscal year 2026. For fiscal year 2027, it rises from $8.765730 billion to $8.774520 billion. This money supports school district operations, not direct payments to families. The appropriations include cross-year allocations involving fiscal years 2025 and 2026. The law takes effect the day after final enactment.

More aid for alternative teacher pay

Minnesota alternative teacher compensation aid rises from $88.717 million to $88.756 million in fiscal year 2026. It rises from $87.942 million to $88.744 million in fiscal year 2027. Eligible school districts receive this funding. The law does not specify how much any teacher's pay changes.

More aid for American Indian students

Minnesota American Indian education aid rises from $20.646 million to $20.739 million in fiscal year 2026. It rises from $21.548 million to $21.593 million in fiscal year 2027. Eligible schools or districts serving American Indian students receive the aid. The law does not provide direct payments to families.

More building lease aid for charter schools

Minnesota charter school building lease aid rises from $96.453 million to $97.089 million in fiscal year 2026. It rises from $99.135 million to $99.721 million in fiscal year 2027. The aid supports eligible charter schools' building leases. It does not set a household rent benefit.

More career training aid for schools

Minnesota career and technical education aid rises from $451,000 to $505,000 in fiscal year 2026. It rises from $350,000 to $432,000 in fiscal year 2027. Eligible school districts receive the aid for their programs. The law does not set a payment to students or families.

More transportation aid for nonpublic pupils

Minnesota nonpublic pupil transportation aid rises from $28.123 million to $28.985 million in fiscal year 2026. It rises from $29.359 million to $32.270 million in fiscal year 2027. The funding supports districts providing transportation for nonpublic pupils. The law does not set a per-pupil payment or family savings amount.

Less aid for certain special education placements

Residential disability education aid falls from $2.240 million to $1.944 million in fiscal year 2026. It falls from $2.570 million to $2.310 million in fiscal year 2027. It supports districts serving children with disabilities in local residential facilities when no district of residence can be determined. If either year's funding is insufficient, the other year's appropriation is available. Separately, reimbursement for eligible, unpaid district costs for court-placed children falls from $41,000 to $0 in 2026; 2027 provides $42,000.

Less aid for Tribal contract schools

Minnesota Tribal contract school aid falls from $2.313 million to $1.415 million in fiscal year 2026. It falls from $2.554 million to $1.895 million in fiscal year 2027. Eligible Tribal contract schools receive the funding. The law does not specify resulting changes to school services.

Less education aid for nonpublic pupils

Minnesota nonpublic pupil education aid falls from $25.349 million to $24.188 million in fiscal year 2026. It falls from $27.160 million to $24.879 million in fiscal year 2027. This reduces funding for education services for nonpublic pupils. The law does not specify a family payment or tuition change.

Less literacy and classroom staff training aid

Minnesota literacy aid falls from $40.686 million to $40.106 million in fiscal year 2026. It falls from $40.897 million to $40.799 million in fiscal year 2027. Aid for paraprofessional training compensation falls from $4.721 million to $4.141 million in 2026. That aid falls from $5 million to $4.935 million in 2027. The training aid supports school districts paying paraprofessionals for orientation and professional development.

Less property tax abatement aid for schools

Minnesota school abatement aid falls from $1.929 million to $1.262 million in fiscal year 2026. It falls from $2.340 million to $1.231 million in fiscal year 2027. Eligible school districts receive less state funding. The law does not set a change to any household's tax bill.

Less transportation aid for school choice pupils

Minnesota transportation aid for pupils attending postsecondary institutions or nonresident school districts falls from $25,000 to $23,000 in fiscal year 2026. It falls from $27,000 to $24,000 in fiscal year 2027. The law does not specify changes to individual transportation services or family costs.

School integration aid shifts; transportation aid falls

Minnesota achievement and integration aid falls from $85.619 million to $85.232 million in fiscal year 2026. It rises from $85.222 million to $87.576 million in fiscal year 2027. Transportation grants for integration or desegregation between districts fall from $16.396 million to $15.918 million in 2026. Those grants fall from $18.157 million to $17.628 million in 2027. These changes fund district programs and transportation, not direct payments to families.

School merger aid ends, then increases

Minnesota sets school consolidation transition aid at $0 for fiscal year 2026, down from $572,000. For fiscal year 2027, it rises from $350,000 to $693,000. This aid supports eligible school districts during consolidation. The law does not specify a direct household payment.

School support staffing aid falls, then rises

Minnesota student support personnel aid falls from $44.950 million to $44.869 million in fiscal year 2026. It rises from $45.772 million to $45.806 million in fiscal year 2027. Eligible districts receive the aid. The law does not specify changes to staffing or services for individual students.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • Mary K. Kunesh

    Democratic • Senate

Cosponsors

  • Kresha

    Affiliation unavailable

  • Youakim

    Affiliation unavailable

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 444 • No: 288

House vote • 5/16/2026

Mueller motion Refuse to Adopt

Yes: 62 • No: 72

House vote • 5/16/2026

Repassage, as amended by Conference

Yes: 94 • No: 37

Senate vote • 5/15/2026

Third Reading

Yes: 34 • No: 33

House vote • 5/13/2026

Passage

Yes: 122 • No: 12

Senate vote • 4/21/2026

Amendment: Rarick (A50) amendment

Yes: 33 • No: 34

Senate vote • 4/21/2026

Amendment: Rasmusson (A-4) amendment

Yes: 33 • No: 34

Senate vote • 4/21/2026

Motion that S.F. No. 4282 be re-referred to the Committee on Human Services

Yes: 32 • No: 34

Senate vote • 4/21/2026

Third Reading

Yes: 34 • No: 32

Actions Timeline

  1. Secretary of State Chapter 109

    5/27/2026Senate
  2. Presentment date

    5/20/2026Senate
  3. House adopted SCC report and repassed bill

    5/17/2026Senate
  4. Bill was repassed as amended by Conference vote: 94-37

    5/16/2026House
  5. Third reading as amended by Conference

    5/16/2026House
  6. Motion prevailed

    5/16/2026House
  7. Motion to adopt conference committee report question recurred

    5/16/2026House
  8. Motion did not prevail vote: 62-72

    5/16/2026House
  9. Motion to return bill to conference committee

    5/16/2026House
  10. Motion to adopt conference committee report

    5/16/2026House
  11. Conference committee reportc

    5/16/2026House
  12. Senate adopted conference committee report, bill repassed vote: 34-33

    5/16/2026House
  13. Third Reading Repassed vote: 34-33

    5/15/2026Senate
  14. Senate adopted CC report and repassed bill 2

    5/15/2026Senate
  15. Conference committee reportc

    5/15/2026Senate
  16. House conferees Youakim; Noor; Kresha; Schomacker

    5/14/2026Senate
  17. House conferees Youakim, Noor, Kresha, and Schomacker

    5/13/2026House
  18. House accedes, conference committee of 4 to be appointed

    5/13/2026House
  19. Senate conferees Kunesh, Cwodzinski, Clark, and Rarick

    5/13/2026House
  20. Senate refuses to concur, conference committee of 4 requested

    5/13/2026House
  21. Bill was passed vote: 122-12

    5/13/2026House
  22. Third reading

    5/13/2026House
  23. Senate conferees Kunesh; Cwodzinski; Clark; Rarick

    5/13/2026Senate
  24. Senate not concur, conference committee requested

    5/13/2026Senate
  25. Returned from House with amendmenta

    5/13/2026Senate

Bill Text

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation