OregonSB 15072026 Regular SessionSenateWALLET

Relating to revenue; and prescribing an effective date.

Sponsored By: Sponsor information unavailable

Signed by Governor

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

14 provisions identified: 5 benefits, 3 costs, 6 mixed.

Employers get credits for new jobs

For tax years starting in 2026 through 2031, employers can claim $1,000 per net new Oregon job, up to $10,000 yearly. Jobs must pay at least 150% of the applicable minimum wage, and employers need written Oregon Business Development Department certification. Net new jobs use average annual covered employment for a 12-month period ending June 30 compared with the prior period. The credit cannot exceed tax owed, but unused amounts carry forward for up to three years. A $12.5 million yearly statewide cap triggers proportional reductions when applications exceed it; credits also pass through to S corporation shareholders.

Investors lose Oregon stock gain exclusion

For tax years starting January 1, 2026, or later, Oregon taxes qualified small business stock gains excluded federally. Investors must add those excluded gains back to Oregon taxable income when they sell or exchange the stock.

Retirement credit for public workers’ military service

Public workers who leave qualifying jobs for uniformed service receive retirement protection when they return with federal reemployment rights. The retirement board must provide pension benefits, individual-account contributions, and service credit for qualifying service periods. These amounts cannot exceed federal requirements, using the federal tax rules in effect December 31, 2025.

Bigger earned income credits for workers

For tax years starting January 1, 2026, or later, Oregon raises its earned income credit from 9% to 14% of the federal credit. For taxpayers with a dependent under age three at year-end, the rate rises from 12% to 17%. Eligible residents can use a Social Security number or an individual taxpayer identification number, including those barred only by the federal identification-number rule. Eligible nonresidents get a prorated credit. The credit is refundable within combined refundable-credit limits, and refunds do not earn interest.

Vehicle borrowers lose Oregon interest deduction

For tax years starting January 1, 2026, or later, Oregon does not allow the federal qualified passenger vehicle loan interest deduction. Taxpayers who claim that federal deduction must add the interest back to their Oregon taxable income.

Businesses must delay some equipment deductions

Oregon changes deduction timing for property placed in service in tax years starting January 1, 2026, or later. Taxpayers must add back bonus depreciation above the amount allowed under federal rules dated December 1, 2017. They can subtract those added amounts in the later years when those older rules allow the deductions.

Shareholders can represent qualifying tax businesses

Shareholders can represent qualifying S corporations in specified Oregon revenue department and tax court proceedings. The law uses the federal S corporation definition dated December 31, 2025. Representation under the revenue department route requires the corporation to name a tax matters shareholder in writing.

Precious metal dealers get tax exclusion

Precious metal dealers can exclude qualifying metal purchase costs from Oregon’s Corporate Activity Tax base. Covered metals are gold, silver, platinum, rhodium, and palladium that are smelted or refined and valued by metal content rather than form. The tax also updates its federal-law reference from December 31, 2023, to December 31, 2025, unless Oregon law provides otherwise.

Public workers face retirement benefit limits

Combined yearly additions to a public worker’s individual retirement accounts cannot exceed the lower of $40,000 or 100% of compensation. This counts the Oregon public retirement individual account and other defined-contribution plans maintained by the participating public employer. Combined pension benefits also face the federal annual benefit limit, including applicable IRS cost-of-living adjustments. Both rules use federal provisions dated December 31, 2025.

Updated paid leave rules for self-employment

Oregon paid leave law updates its federal definition of self-employment income to December 31, 2025, from December 31, 2023. The self-employed category includes people with qualifying self-employment income or independent-contractor status under Oregon law. The update does not specify a benefit increase, benefit cut, or definite eligibility change.

Public retirement rollovers and payout rules

Oregon public pension and individual-account payments, including death benefits, must follow federal minimum-distribution rules dated January 1, 2026. The retirement board must adopt rules to carry them out. Members, surviving spouses, and alternate payees can send eligible payments directly to eligible retirement plans, subject to permitted administrative exceptions. A non-spouse designated beneficiary can roll an eligible death benefit into an individual retirement plan or annuity established for that beneficiary. The rollover rules use federal law dated December 31, 2025.

Updated nonprofit rules for matched savings

Oregon updates the nonprofit tax-exemption standard for organizations administering state-funded individual development accounts. The standard now uses federal law dated December 31, 2025, rather than December 31, 2023. Organizations must also be selected under the state program to administer the money. The update does not specify a change to account holders’ benefits or amounts.

Unemployment law updates federal tax reference

Oregon unemployment law now references the federal tax code dated December 31, 2025, rather than December 31, 2023. This provision does not specify a change in unemployment checks, eligibility, or employer tax liability.

Updated tax rules bring retroactive relief

Several Oregon tax rules now reference federal law dated December 31, 2025, instead of December 31, 2023. Covered rules include income taxes, credits, charitable checkoffs, property taxes, and housing-loan credits. Some taxable-income references still follow federal law for the taxpayer’s tax year; specified federal amendments must be made by December 31, 2025, even if operative later. For tax years starting before January 1, 2026, Oregon cancels interest and penalties on deficiencies caused by specified retroactive amendments. Refund portions caused by the specified retroactive amendments are paid without interest.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsors

There is no primary sponsor on record.

Cosponsors

There are no cosponsors for this bill.

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 89 • No: 89

House vote • 2/25/2026

Passed.

Yes: 34 • No: 21

House vote • 2/25/2026

Motion to re-refer to Revenue failed.

Yes: 19 • No: 33

House vote • 2/19/2026

Revenue: Heard and Reported Out

Yes: 4 • No: 2

Senate vote • 2/16/2026

Rules suspended. Motion to substitute Minority Report for Committee Report failed.

Yes: 12 • No: 18

Senate vote • 2/16/2026

Rules suspended. Third reading. Carried by Broadman. Passed.

Yes: 17 • No: 13

Senate vote • 2/9/2026

Finance and Revenue: Heard and Reported Out with Amendments

Yes: 3 • No: 2

Actions Timeline

  1. Effective date, June 5, 2026.

    4/14/2026Senate
  2. Chapter 142, 2026 Laws.

    4/14/2026Senate
  3. Governor signed.

    4/9/2026Senate
  4. Speaker signed.

    3/4/2026House
  5. President signed.

    2/27/2026Senate
  6. Passed.

    2/25/2026House
  7. Motion to re-refer to Revenue failed.

    2/25/2026House
  8. Third reading. Carried by Nathanson.

    2/25/2026House
  9. Second reading.

    2/24/2026House
  10. Recommendation: Do pass.

    2/20/2026House
  11. Work Session held.

    2/19/2026House
  12. Public Hearing held.

    2/18/2026House
  13. Referred to Revenue.

    2/16/2026House
  14. First reading. Referred to Speaker's desk.

    2/16/2026House
  15. Vote explanation(s) filed by Starr.

    2/16/2026Senate
  16. Rules suspended. Third reading. Carried by Broadman. Passed.

    2/16/2026Senate
  17. Rules suspended. Motion to substitute Minority Report for Committee Report failed.

    2/16/2026Senate
  18. Second reading.

    2/16/2026Senate
  19. Minority Recommendation: Do pass with different amendments. (Printed A-Eng. Minority)

    2/13/2026Senate
  20. Recommendation: Do pass with amendments. (Printed A-Eng).

    2/13/2026Senate
  21. Work Session held.

    2/9/2026Senate
  22. Public Hearing held.

    2/4/2026Senate
  23. Referred to Finance and Revenue.

    2/2/2026Senate
  24. Introduction and first reading. Referred to President's desk.

    2/2/2026Senate

Bill Text

  • HREV Amendment -A10 (Proposed)

    2/19/2026

  • HREV Amendment -A11 (Proposed)

    2/19/2026

  • HREV Amendment -A12 (Proposed)

    2/19/2026

  • HREV Amendment -A10 (Proposed)

    2/18/2026

  • HREV Amendment -A11 (Proposed)

    2/18/2026

  • HREV Amendment -A12 (Proposed)

    2/18/2026

  • SFR Amendment -3 (Adopted)

    2/9/2026

  • SFR Amendment -6 (Proposed)

    2/9/2026

  • SFR Amendment -7 (Adopted)

    2/9/2026

  • SFR Amendment -9 (Adopted)

    2/9/2026

  • SFR Amendment -MR8 (Proposed)

    2/9/2026

  • SFR Amendment -3 (Proposed)

    2/4/2026

  • SFR Amendment -4 (Proposed)

    2/4/2026

  • SFR Amendment -5 (Proposed)

    2/4/2026

  • A-Engrossed

  • Enrolled

  • Introduced

  • Minority Report A-Engrossed

  • Senate Amendments to Introduced

  • Senate Minority Amendments to Introduced

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation