South DakotaHB 1326101st South Dakota Legislature (2026)HouseWALLET

appropriate money for the ordinary expenses of the legislative, judicial, and executive departments of the state, the current expenses of state institutions, interest on the public debt, and common schools.

Sponsored By: Sponsor information unavailable

Signed by Governor

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

18 provisions identified: 16 benefits, 2 costs, 0 mixed.

More funding for developmental disability services

The law adds about $25.054 million for increased use of developmental disability services through Medicaid and other state programs. This includes about $10.774 million in state funds, $12.640 million in federal authority, and $1.640 million from other funds. The money supports increased service use, not a set payment to each person. The provision does not change eligibility.

More money for care and senior meals

The law adds about $10.260 million for increased use of long-term services through Medicaid and other state programs. That includes about $5.113 million in state funds, $5.030 million in federal authority, and $115,749 from other funds. It also adds about $1.412 million for rising costs in Title III senior meal programs. Meal funding includes $476,186 in state funds and $935,937 in federal authority. These provisions do not change eligibility or set individual benefit amounts.

Funding for unclaimed property payments

The law authorizes $20 million from other funds to pay unclaimed property claims. Payments are for people or entities entitled to property held by South Dakota. The provision does not change claim eligibility or set any claimant's payment amount.

Cash benefits partly restored for families

The law provides $854,000 to partly restore Temporary Assistance for Needy Families cash benefits. This includes $427,000 in state funds and $427,000 in federal spending authority. Benefits move toward levels before cuts approved on July 15, 2025. The law does not state each family's increase or when it starts.

Daily pay set for board members

For fiscal years 2027 and 2028, listed state boards, councils, commissions, and advisory bodies have daily compensation rates. Paid bodies generally have a $166 daily rate; some listed bodies have a $0 rate. Board of Pardons and Paroles members receive $200 per day. Pay applies to days spent performing members' duties or responsibilities. Listed members also receive reimbursement for allowable expenses approved by the Board of Finance.

Federal election money released to counties

The law authorizes $262,169 in federal spending for Help America Vote Act funding to South Dakota counties. Counties receive the election funding. The provision does not change voting eligibility or create household payments.

Funding for Black Hills shooting range

The law authorizes $292,740 in federal spending and $147,780 from other funds to operate the new Black Hills shooting range. The provision does not set user fees, household eligibility, or direct financial benefits.

More arts grants for nonprofit groups

The law adds $25,086 in other spending authority for state arts grants to nonprofit organizations. The additional authority lasts through June 30, 2027. The provision does not set individual grant awards or direct household benefits.

More funding for court alternative care

The law provides $365,000 in state funds for possible costs of new participants in the court system's alternative care program. It does not change eligibility or set payments to participants.

More funding for prisons and care

The law provides about $12.104 million in state funds and 117 full-time-equivalent positions for the new Rapid City Correctional Facility. Operations include security, food, clothing, prisoner pay, education, housing management, and building upkeep. It also provides about $1.139 million for expanded correctional medical services and rising care costs. Counties receive an additional $275,000 for housing parolees in jails. That county funding is not a payment to parolees.

More food and lodging safety inspections

The law provides $78,606 in state funds to increase inspections of food and lodging businesses. The increased oversight applies to businesses, not new duties for households. The provision does not state how many additional inspections occur.

More funding for health provider payments

The law funds about $31.191 million in required inflation adjustments for Medicaid and Medicare providers. That includes about $14.072 million in state funds and $17.119 million in federal spending authority. It also funds 1.4% discretionary provider adjustments across social service programs, using about $4.175 million state and $10.081 million federal. The Treasurer must transfer Health Care Trust Fund money to the general fund for Social Services medical services. That transfer depends on the state investment officer's notice; its amount and changes to patient benefits are not stated.

More support for hospitals and clinics

The law adds $2.8 million for critical access hospitals and about $6.908 million for federally qualified community health centers. Hospital funding includes about $1.381 million in state funds and $1.419 million in federal spending authority. The funding supports providers, but does not specify changes to patient eligibility, costs, or services.

New grants for opioid treatment services

The law authorizes $9 million from other funds for grants addressing critical service needs tied to opioid misuse. Grants can establish or expand prevention, treatment, and services addressing related risks and harm. The provision does not set household eligibility or individual payment amounts.

Trust fund money supports school aid

The Treasurer must transfer Dakota Cement Trust Fund money to the general fund for state school aid. The Treasurer must also transfer Education Enhancement Trust Fund money for school aid and Board of Regents college scholarship grants. The amounts depend on notices from the state investment officer and are not stated. These transfers do not set household payments or change scholarship eligibility.

State hemp oversight program ends

The law ends South Dakota's state hemp regulatory program. It removes $350,000 in state funding, $38,000 in other spending authority, and three full-time-equivalent positions. Hemp businesses formerly covered by the program lose that layer of state oversight. The provision does not specify replacement requirements or business savings.

Pierre prison center closes permanently

The law permanently closes the Pierre Minimum Center. It removes about $1.230 million in state funding authority and six full-time-equivalent positions. It also cuts about $2.398 million from Women's Prison medical services because the center is being decommissioned. The law does not state where residents move or how their care changes.

Less federal money for broadband grants

The law cuts $20 million in federal spending authority for South Dakota broadband grants tied to expiring federal infrastructure grants. The reduction applies to grant authority through June 30, 2027. It does not specify changes to household payments or broadband eligibility.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsors

There is no primary sponsor on record.

Cosponsors

There are no cosponsors for this bill.

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 88 • No: 31

House vote • 3/12/2026

Do Pass

Yes: 50 • No: 17

Senate vote • 3/12/2026

Do Pass

Yes: 25 • No: 9

legislature vote • 3/11/2026

Do Pass

Yes: 13 • No: 5

Actions Timeline

  1. Signed by the Governor

    3/30/2026House
  2. Delivered to the Governor

    3/12/2026House
  3. Signed by the President

    3/12/2026Senate
  4. Signed by the Speaker

    3/12/2026House
  5. Do Pass

    3/12/2026Senate
  6. Table amendment

    3/12/2026Senate
  7. First read in Senate and referral to committee waived pursuant to JR 6D-1

    3/12/2026Senate
  8. Do Pass

    3/12/2026House
  9. First read in House and referral to committee waived pursuant to JR 6D-1

    3/12/2026House
  10. Do Pass

    3/11/2026legislature

Bill Text

  • Introduced

    3/11/2026

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation