South DakotaSB 78101st South Dakota Legislature (2026)Senate

revise the General Appropriations Act for fiscal year 2026.

Sponsored By: Sponsor information unavailable

Signed by Governor

AppropriationExecutive/Judiciary RequestTransfer of MoneysUncodified Acts

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

50 provisions identified: 32 benefits, 9 costs, 9 mixed.

Durfee prison keeps funds through 2028

Beginning June 29, 2026, Mike Durfee State Prison can keep specified unspent appropriations available through June 30, 2028. Only unspent funds and spending authority from subsection 2 of section 18 qualify. The caps are $1.128394 million in general funds and $3.690279 million in federal spending authority. This extends the spending window; it does not create a household payment.

More funding for courts and policing

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 support for court security and law enforcement operations. The State Treasurer must transfer $1.5 million from the general fund to the court security fund. Law Enforcement Training receives $499,793 in federal operating funds, up from zero. Criminal Justice Services other-fund operating money rises from about $2.62 million to $2.78 million. These changes do not establish new household payments or legal duties.

More funding for emergency communications

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 operating funds for statewide emergency communications. The 911 Coordination Board's other-fund budget rises from about $4.40 million to $6.14 million. State Radio Engineering's general-fund budget rises from about $3.660 million to $3.672 million. The law does not specify changes in emergency service or household charges.

National Guard receives more operating funds

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases South Dakota National Guard operating funds for fiscal year 2026. Army Guard general funds rise from about $2.63 million to $3.77 million; federal funds rise from $13.83 million to $17.57 million. Air Guard general funds rise from $335,697 to $342,242; federal funds rise from about $4.118 million to $4.137 million. These funds support Guard operations, not household payments.

State parks receive more improvement funding

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 funding for state park development and improvements. Other-fund operating money rises from about $9.60 million to $12.10 million. The law does not name projects or specify changes in park fees or public access.

State prisons receive more staffing funds

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases general-fund budgets for three prisons for fiscal year 2026. State Penitentiary staff funding rises from about $28.21 million to $28.97 million; operating funds rise from $9.79 million to $9.90 million. Its authorized staffing rises from 317 to 327 full-time equivalent positions. Women's Prison staff funding rises from about $7.71 million to $9.33 million, operating funds from $3.22 million to $3.76 million, and staffing from 89 to 105.4 full-time equivalent positions. Mike Durfee State Prison operating funds rise from about $11.80 million to $12.28 million.

Veterans cemetery receives more operating funding

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 operating funding for the South Dakota State Veterans' Cemetery. Other-fund operating money rises from $10,000 to $100,475. The law does not create a household payment or change cemetery eligibility.

Deaf services receive more operating support

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 funding for South Dakota Services for the Deaf. Other-fund staff money rises from $3,912 to $28,912. General-fund operating money rises from $728,996 to $732,634. Other-fund operating money rises from $464,711 to $964,711. The law does not change household eligibility or payment amounts.

More funding for developmental disability services

Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 General Fund operating support for developmental disability services rises from about $134.89 million to $143.44 million. The program also receives about $163.35 million in federal funds and $11.43 million in Other Funds. Redfield Developmental Center General Fund operating support rises from about $2.799 million to $2.801 million. The center also receives about $2.87 million in federal funds and $1.12 million in Other Funds. These provisions do not change individual eligibility or set per-person payments.

More money for tobacco prevention programs

Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota increases FY2026 Tobacco Prevention operating funding from Other Funds. Funding rises from about $2.02 million to $2.22 million. The law does not specify a new household benefit, eligibility rule, or service level.

Veterans' home funding and spending time grow

Beginning June 29, 2026, the State Veterans' Home receives $936,814 in new FY2026 General Fund operating money. Its Other Funds operating money rises from about $3.74 million to $3.93 million. Veterans' Affairs can also keep up to $16.696564 million in unspent General Fund money through June 30, 2028. Only money from the appropriation named in subsection 1 of section 17 qualifies for that extension. These provisions do not change veterans' eligibility or individual payments.

More funding for blind students' school

Beginning June 29, 2026, the School for the Blind and Visually Impaired receives more FY2026 operating funding. General Fund money rises from $643,611 to $649,659. Other Funds money rises from $163,108 to $263,108. The law does not change household eligibility or benefit amounts.

Agriculture and water offices receive more funding

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 Agriculture and Natural Resources funding. Department administration federal operating funds rise from about $1.27 million to $2.27 million. Office of Water other-fund staff money rises from about $1.19 million to $1.74 million. Its general-fund operating money rises from $449,048 to $474,048. The law does not specify household water service, price, or eligibility changes.

Economic development office receives more funding

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases the economic development office's operating budget for fiscal year 2026. General funds rise from about $1.37 million to $1.67 million. Federal funds rise from about $28.68 million to $44.05 million. This funds office operations, not a new household payment or specified business benefit.

More money for state building upkeep

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 funding for statewide maintenance and the State Engineer. Maintenance and repair general-fund operating money rises from about $13.50 million to $24.71 million. The State Engineer's other-fund operating money rises from $385,946 to $419,954. The law does not name the maintenance projects or assets receiving money.

Public broadcasting gains funding and time

Beginning June 29, 2026, public broadcasting's FY2026 General Fund staff money rises from about $3.99 million to $4.25 million. Other Funds staff money is about $1.34 million. Operating funding is about $1.63 million from the General Fund, $3.64 million in federal funds, and $2.92 million in Other Funds. Up to $11.209269 million in unspent General Fund money remains available through June 30, 2028. That extension applies only to the broadcasting appropriation named in subsection 4 of section 4.

Revenue programs get more operating funds

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases Revenue Department operating funds for fiscal year 2026. Business Tax receives $292,000 in general funds, up from zero. Property Taxes general funds rise from $270,493 to $418,813. Motor Vehicles other funds rise from about $9.02 million to $9.20 million. These appropriations do not change tax bills, property assessments, tax-relief eligibility, or household vehicle fees.

State agencies can keep unspent funding

Beginning June 29, 2026, state agencies can carry this Act's unspent FY2026 appropriations into FY2027. Only money appropriated by this Act and still unspent at the end of FY2026 qualifies. The provision gives no total dollar amount and does not change household program eligibility.

State compensation pools receive more funding

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law revises fiscal year 2026 funding for state employee compensation and billing pools. General-fund operating money rises from about $1.80 million to $2.55 million. The budget also provides about $1.90 million in federal funds and $4.71 million in other funds. These funds support state operations, not a specified individual pay raise.

State offices receive modest funding increases

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 general-fund support for three state offices. Hearing Examiners operating money rises from $90,886 to $97,263. Secretary of State operating money rises from $577,781 to $602,581. Legislative Operations funding rises from about $9.458 million to $9.493 million. These changes fund operations without changing household rights, taxes, or benefits.

State personnel offices receive more funding

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases fiscal year 2026 other-fund budgets for state personnel and support operations. Central Services operating money rises from about $20.09 million to $20.49 million. Personnel Management and Employee Benefits operating money rises from about $3.60 million to $3.97 million. Risk Management Administration operating money rises from about $9.324 million to $9.341 million. These appropriations do not themselves change employee benefits or household insurance coverage and costs.

State technology gets modernization and operations funding

Beginning June 29, 2026, the State Treasurer must transfer $10 million from the general fund to the technology modernization fund. Fiscal year 2026 other-fund operating money for data centers rises from about $8.68 million to $10.62 million. Technology development funding rises from about $2.49 million to $2.72 million, and administration funding rises from $4.60 million to $5.70 million. Telecommunications Services operating money rises from about $20.70 million to $20.80 million. The law does not specify household service changes, prices, or new payments.

Unclaimed property office receives more funding

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law adds $112,500 to fiscal year 2026 Unclaimed Property Operations funding. General-fund operating money rises from $801,675 to $914,175. The law does not change who can claim property or set a new payment amount.

Health department receives more administrative funding

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases the Health Department's fiscal year 2026 general-fund administration budget. Staff funding rises from about $1.69 million to $2.35 million. Operating money rises from about $1.92 million to $2.22 million. The law does not specify changes in household benefits, eligibility, or service levels.

More funding for economic assistance programs

Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 operating funding increases for South Dakota's Economic Assistance program. General Fund money rises to about $21.60 million, and federal money rises to about $116.91 million. The law does not change benefit amounts, eligibility, or requirements for recipients.

Social service agencies add administrative staffing

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law updates fiscal year 2026 administration budgets for Social Services and Human Services. Social Services staff funds total about $7.65 million general and $9.15 million federal; operating funds total $9.81 million general and $14.87 million federal. Its authorized staffing rises from 201.2 to 205.2 full-time equivalent positions. Human Services staff funds total about $1.66 million general and $1.53 million federal; operating funds total $265,894 general and $219,163 federal. Its staffing rises from 30 to 31 full-time equivalent positions; these provisions do not change household benefit eligibility or payments.

More funding for colleges and universities

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law increases FY2026 funding for technical colleges and the Board of Regents Central Office. Technical college operating funds rise from about $41.91 million to $49.28 million. Central Office operating funds rise from about $20.17 million to $39.62 million. Both increases come from the General Fund. The law does not set new tuition rates or student aid amounts.

More funding for farm research and outreach

Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 funding increases for South Dakota State University Extension and the Agricultural Experiment Station. Extension staff funding rises to about $6.03 million in federal funds and $1.61 million in Other Funds. Its federal operating money rises to about $4.85 million. The Experiment Station's federal operating money rises from about $15.37 million to $16.67 million. Its Other Funds operating money rises from about $13.34 million to $14.84 million.

More operating money for two universities

Beginning June 29, 2026, two South Dakota universities receive more FY2026 operating money. School of Mines General Fund support rises from about $1.56 million to $1.77 million. Its Other Funds support rises from about $19.65 million to $20.65 million. Dakota State's General Fund support rises from about $1.05 million to $1.28 million; Other Funds rise from about $20.39 million to $20.72 million. The law does not specify tuition or student aid changes.

More school resources and education transfers

Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 sparsity-payment funding for eligible school districts rises from about $2.616 million to $2.631 million. Federal Education Resources operating funds rise from about $229.68 million to $230.06 million. The Treasurer must also transfer Dakota Cement Trust Fund money to the General Fund for state education aid. The investment officer's notice sets that transfer amount under the state Constitution; the law gives no dollar amount. These provisions do not set payments for individual districts or families.

More staff funding at State University

Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota State University's FY2026 staff funding from Other Funds rises from about $102.64 million to $104.23 million. General Fund operating money rises from about $7.03 million to $7.60 million. Other Funds operating money rises from about $84.37 million to $90.53 million. Authorized staffing rises from 1,580.7 to 1,599.7 full-time-equivalent positions. The law does not specify student tuition or aid changes.

Unemployment system receives new modernization money

Beginning June 29, 2026, the Treasurer must transfer $3.1 million from the General Fund to the Reemployment Assistance Modernization Fund. The money supports modernization of South Dakota's unemployment assistance system. The transfer itself does not change benefit amounts or who qualifies.

Agriculture and conservation funding decreases

Beginning June 29, 2026, Agricultural and Environmental Services' FY2026 Other Funds staff money falls from about $3.64 million to $3.09 million. Its operating funding is about $4.28 million in federal funds and $2.08 million in Other Funds. Resource Conservation and Forestry's General Fund operating money falls from $427,967 to $402,967. Its Other Funds operating money is about $1.56 million. The law does not specify changes to household costs or services.

Juvenile community corrections funding falls

Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota reduces FY2026 operating funding for Juvenile Community Corrections. General Fund money falls from about $12.52 million to $11.10 million. Federal money falls from about $1.77 million to $1.44 million. The law does not specify individual service or eligibility changes.

State courts receive less operating money

Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota reduces FY2026 General Fund operating money for the Unified Judicial System. Funding falls from about $6.95 million to $6.69 million. The provision does not specify changes to legal rights, court costs, or access to court services.

Blind services lose funding and staffing

Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 funding decreases for South Dakota Service to the Blind and Visually Impaired. General Fund and federal money decrease for staff and operating costs. Authorized staffing falls from 29.2 to 28.2 full-time-equivalent positions. The supplied provision gives no revised dollar totals and does not change individual eligibility.

Children's services receive less operating money

Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 funding decreases for South Dakota's Children's Services program. Federal staff funding falls from about $12.33 million to $12.29 million. Operating money falls to about $52.61 million from the General Fund and $41.15 million in federal funds. The law does not specify changes to families' eligibility, services, or benefits.

Less funding for Medicaid medical services

Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 operating funding falls for South Dakota's Medical Services program, which includes Medicaid. General Fund money falls to about $384.75 million, a reduction of about $6.96 million. Federal money falls to about $889.46 million, a reduction of about $7.44 million. The law does not specify changes to covered care, eligibility, or household benefit amounts.

Labor department loses federal operating money

Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota reduces FY2026 federal operating funding for Labor and Regulation administration. Funding falls from about $9.81 million to $8.95 million. The provision does not identify a specific household program, eligibility change, or service reduction.

Less funding for South Dakota scholarships

Effective June 29, 2026, the law reduces state funding for South Dakota Scholarships in fiscal year 2026. Funding falls from about $6.57 million to $6.51 million, a cut of $62,284. The provision does not specify changes to individual awards, who qualifies, or the number of students receiving scholarships.

Less state aid for public schools

Effective June 29, 2026, the law reduces South Dakota’s state funding for general public school aid in fiscal year 2026. Funding falls from about $619.83 million to $604.27 million, a cut of about $15.56 million. The law does not specify changes to services or costs for individual school districts or families.

Criminal investigations receive more federal funding

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law shifts fiscal year 2026 funding for the Attorney General's Criminal Investigation program. Federal staff funds rise from about $1.25 million to $1.71 million; federal operating funds rise from $3.40 million to $4.27 million. Other-fund staff money falls from about $4.04 million to $3.58 million. Other-fund operating money falls from about $3.43 million to $3.38 million. Together, these changes add $812,090 to program funding.

Highway Patrol staff funds rise, operations fall

Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota changes the Highway Patrol's FY2026 federal funding. Federal staff money rises from about $1.79 million to $2.05 million. Federal operating money falls from about $2.52 million to $2.40 million. The law does not specify changes to patrol services.

Inmate services gain funds, lose staffing

Beginning June 29, 2026, the law shifts fiscal year 2026 general funds within South Dakota Inmate Services. Staff funding falls from about $20.61 million to $18.95 million. Operating funds rise from about $24.53 million to $26.53 million. Authorized staffing falls from 197.9 to 177.9 full-time equivalent positions. The law does not specify resulting changes in inmate services.

Behavioral health funding shifts, staffing falls

Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota changes FY2026 behavioral health funding and staffing. General Fund staff money falls to about $42.50 million, and operating money falls to about $94.50 million. Other Funds operating money rises to about $13.05 million. Authorized staffing falls from 554 to 550 full-time-equivalent positions. The law does not specify changes to individual benefits or eligibility.

Long-term care funding rises, staffing shifts

Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota increases FY2026 operating funding for Long Term Services and Supports. Operating money rises to about $161.11 million from the General Fund, $193.88 million in federal funds, and $1.33 million in Other Funds. General Fund staff funding falls to about $3.49 million. Other Funds staff funding rises to $53,581. The law does not change individual eligibility or set a household payment.

Fair and tourism budgets favor staffing

Beginning June 29, 2026, the State Fair and Tourism Department shift FY2026 Other Funds money toward staff costs. Fair staff funding rises from about $1.54 million to $1.72 million; operating funding falls from $3.36 million to $3.18 million. Tourism staff funding rises from about $2.76 million to $2.90 million; operating funding falls from $21.42 million to $21.28 million. Each program's combined funding stays unchanged. The law does not set new admission prices or tourism service levels.

State legal services change funding sources

Beginning June 29, 2026, the Attorney General's Legal Services program changes its FY2026 staff funding sources. Federal money rises from $468,327 to $708,009. Other Funds money falls from about $2.53 million to $2.29 million. The combined staff funding stays unchanged, with no new household payment or eligibility rule.

Transportation staffing grows as operating funds fall

Beginning June 29, 2026, South Dakota shifts FY2026 transportation funding from operations to staff costs. Other Funds staff money rises from about $88.24 million to $89.06 million. Other Funds operating money falls from about $117.96 million to $117.14 million. Authorized staffing rises from 1,014.3 to 1,025.3 full-time-equivalent positions. The law does not specify changes to transportation services.

University budgets shift staff and operations

Beginning June 29, 2026, FY2026 budgets shift at three universities and the University of South Dakota's medical school. At South Dakota, Other Funds staff money rises from about $59.92 million to $60.27 million; General Fund operations fall from $4.43 million to $4.12 million, while Other Funds operations rise from $44.44 million to $47.54 million. At Northern State, those same lines change from $13.48 million to $13.90 million, $1.304 million to $1.292 million, and $13.08 million to $13.38 million. At Black Hills State, they change from $15.05 million to $15.98 million, $1.063 million to $1.036 million, and $13.87 million to $15.84 million. The medical school shifts $52,433 from General Fund staff costs to operations, leaving those lines at about $27.42 million and $4.40 million.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsors

There is no primary sponsor on record.

Cosponsors

There are no cosponsors for this bill.

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 100 • No: 28

Senate vote • 3/12/2026

Do Pass Amended

Yes: 26 • No: 8

House vote • 3/12/2026

Do Pass Amended

Yes: 52 • No: 15

legislature vote • 3/11/2026

Do Pass Amended

Yes: 13 • No: 5

Senate vote • 2/17/2026

Referred to

Yes: 9 • No: 0

Actions Timeline

  1. Signed by the Governor

    3/30/2026Senate
  2. Delivered to the Governor

    3/12/2026Senate
  3. Signed by the Speaker

    3/12/2026House
  4. Signed by the President

    3/12/2026Senate
  5. Do Pass Amended

    3/12/2026House
  6. First read in House and referral to committee waived pursuant to JR 6D-1

    3/12/2026House
  7. Do Pass Amended

    3/12/2026Senate
  8. Do Pass Amended

    3/11/2026legislature
  9. Motion to amend

    3/11/2026legislature
  10. Scheduled for hearing

    3/11/2026legislature
  11. Scheduled for hearing

    3/10/2026legislature
  12. Scheduled for hearing

    3/9/2026legislature
  13. Referred to

    2/17/2026Senate
  14. First read in Senate and referred to

    1/13/2026Senate

Bill Text

  • Introduced

    1/9/2026

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation