All Roll Calls
Yes: 223 • No: 0
Sponsored By: Jordan D. Teuscher (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
7 provisions identified: 2 benefits, 2 costs, 3 mixed.
Beginning January 1, 2026, owners and lessors can perform listed management tasks on property they own or lease without a license. An owner's immediate family can also perform listed tasks on that owner's property. Assistants qualify for limited support work; workers doing only maintenance, repairs, bookkeeping, or accounting are also exempt. Rental-agency regional managers and corporate officials qualify only when they do not perform covered property management acts. Regular salaried common interest association employees can manage property covered by the association's declaration, without the former one-association limit.
Beginning January 1, 2026, property managers can fill out forms, contracts, and leases tied to renting and managing property. They can seek referrals, pay unlicensed people for prospective-client referrals, and accept referral fees from licensed or unlicensed people. They can advertise rentals, arrange services, pay bills, and act for owners as their management agreements allow. These permissions cover property management, not buying, selling, exchanging, or offering those transactions for someone else.
Beginning January 1, 2026, property manager applicants must submit fingerprints, sign a waiver, and consent to state and federal background checks. They must pay a fingerprint-related fee when applying; the law does not state the amount. Utah checks the records and requests fingerprint retention in the FBI's Rap Back service for ongoing criminal-history monitoring. Sales agents, principal brokers, associate brokers, and property managers renewing or reinstating licenses must also submit fingerprints, consent, and pay a fee. That renewal or reinstatement requirement applies only to applicants not already under ongoing criminal-history monitoring.
Beginning January 1, 2026, paid property managers need a Utah property manager license unless a legal exemption applies. Covered work includes arranging rentals, collecting rent, and signing leases or tenant add-ons for another owner's property, including advertised services. Hotel and motel management, tourist stays under 30 consecutive days, and certain mineral or oil and gas work are excluded. The Real Estate Commission can set management and licensing rules with Division approval, following state rulemaking law and this law. Utah also ends authority to issue specialty-limited sales and property management licenses and removes the related property management sales agent designation.
Beginning January 1, 2026, property managers must use at least one trust account at a Utah bank or credit union. It holds deposits, rent, owner reserves, unexpected-expense funds, and other designated client money, unless the management contract changes the arrangement. Accounts normally earn no interest. Interest-bearing accounts require written agreements allowing interest and naming who receives it when the contract finishes or fails, plus compliance with agency rules. Managers can skip the trust account if a security bond protects at least 30% of estimated client funds in their bank accounts.
Beginning January 1, 2026, the Division can reinstate expired Utah real estate licenses during the first 30 days after expiration. Reinstatement is also available after that period until one year after expiration. Applicants must pay renewal and applicable late fees. Restoring an active license also requires acceptable proof of required continuing education or demonstrated competence.
Beginning January 1, 2026, property manager applicants generally need at least 24 hours of Division-set training and a licensing exam. Each exam topic's share of questions must match its share of training hours. Out-of-state property manager license holders can receive a state-specific course with hours set by rule; exam changes require Commission approval and out-of-state licensing, relevant experience, or good cause. Active brokers, associate brokers, and sales agents can get the license without the property manager training or exam. Initial licenses, renewals, and exam admission carry nonrefundable fees, but the law does not state dollar amounts.
Jordan D. Teuscher
Republican • House
Calvin R. Musselman
Republican • Senate
All Roll Calls
Yes: 223 • No: 0
House vote • 3/3/2025
House/ concurs with Senate amendment
Yes: 71 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/28/2025
Senate/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 23 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/27/2025
Senate/ passed 2nd reading
Yes: 22 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/27/2025
Senate/ floor amendment
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/20/2025
Senate Comm - Amendment Recommendation
Yes: 4 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/20/2025
Senate Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Yes: 4 • No: 0
House vote • 2/13/2025
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 71 • No: 0
House vote • 2/5/2025
House Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Yes: 14 • No: 0
House vote • 2/5/2025
House Comm - Substitute Recommendation
Yes: 14 • No: 0
Senate vote • Unknown
Senate/ floor amendment
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Governor Signed
House/ to Governor
House/ received enrolled bill from Printing
House/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from House for Enrolling
House/ signed by Speaker/ sent for enrolling
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ signed by President/ returned to House
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ concurs with Senate amendment
House/ placed on Concurrence Calendar
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House with amendments
Senate/ passed 3rd reading
Senate/ 3rd reading
Senate/ passed 2nd reading
Senate/ floor amendment
Senate/ 2nd reading
Senate/ placed on 2nd Reading Calendar
Senate/ comm rpt/ amended
Senate Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Enrolled
3/11/2025
Amended 2/27/2025 15:02:489
2/27/2025
Amended 2/21/2025 12:02:641
2/21/2025
Substitute #1
2/5/2025
Substitute #2
2/5/2025
Introduced
1/27/2025