All Roll Calls
Yes: 109 • No: 4
Sponsored By: James A. Dunnigan (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
3 provisions identified: 1 benefits, 2 costs, 0 mixed.
The law directs half of the Concealed Weapons Account's yearly revenue above expenses to the Suicide Prevention and Education Fund. The transfer is due within 90 days after each fiscal year ends. This replaces a transfer based on half of the account's total fund balance. The law does not specify a dollar amount or provide a direct household payment.
Beginning May 7, 2025, covered offenders pay $125 annually, up from $100, through June 30, 2026. Payment is due in their birth month each year they must register. Another registering agency may also charge up to $25 annually. People confined in a secure facility or state mental hospital are exempt from these annual fees. Beginning July 1, 2026, the Department of Public Safety sets both fees through state fee-setting procedures. A coordination rule also applies the $125 fee to the registry chapter amended by S.B. 41 when both laws apply.
Through June 30, 2026, Utah's added fee for nonresident concealed firearm applications rises from $10 to $35. The added nonresident renewal fee rises from $5 to $30. These charges are on top of the base application and renewal fees. Beginning July 1, 2026, the Bureau of Criminal Identification sets fees through state fee-setting procedures. This covers applications, renewals, replacements, late filings, provisional permits, and instructor certifications; the law does not specify those future amounts.
James A. Dunnigan
Republican • House
Don L. Ipson
Republican • Senate
All Roll Calls
Yes: 109 • No: 4
Senate vote • 3/7/2025
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Yes: 28 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/28/2025
Senate Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Yes: 6 • No: 0
House vote • 2/24/2025
House/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • 2/24/2025
House/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • 2/24/2025
House/ substituted
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • 2/24/2025
House/ floor amendment
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • 2/24/2025
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 70 • No: 0
House vote • 2/14/2025
House Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Yes: 5 • No: 4
House vote • Unknown
House/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • Unknown
House/ floor amendment
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • Unknown
House/ substituted
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • Unknown
House/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Governor Signed
House/ to Governor
House/ received enrolled bill from Printing
House/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from House for Enrolling
House/ signed by Speaker/ sent for enrolling
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ signed by President/ returned to House
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ Rules to 2nd Reading Calendar
Senate/ 2nd Reading Calendar to Rules
Senate/ Rules to 2nd Reading Calendar
Senate/ 2nd Reading Calendar to Rules
Senate/ placed on 2nd Reading Calendar
Senate/ committee report favorable
Senate Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Senate/ to standing committee
Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ passed 3rd reading
Enrolled
3/14/2025
Amended 2/24/2025 17:02:486
2/24/2025
Substitute #2
2/24/2025
Substitute #1
2/6/2025
Introduced
2/5/2025