UtahH.B. 72025 General SessionHouse

National Guard, Veterans Affairs, and Legislature Base Budget

Sponsored By: Val L. Peterson (Republican)

Signed by Governor

Utah National GuardVeterans AffairsVeterans and Military AffairsLegislative OperationsGovernment Operations (State Issues)AppropriationsDepartment of Veterans and Military Affairs

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

12 provisions identified: 8 benefits, 2 costs, 2 mixed.

Firefighters retirement fund gets more money

Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah provides $5 million from the General Fund to the Firefighters Retirement Trust and Agency Fund. The money is for FY2026. The provision does not specify changes to individual pension amounts or eligibility.

Utah funds veterans services and recipients

Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah provides $4.9977 million for veterans and military affairs programs in FY2026. This includes $855,800 for Administration, $958,000 for Cemetery, and $289,700 for the State Approving Agency. Outreach Services receives $2.3713 million, and Military Affairs receives $522,900. Separately, the department receives $2.3975 million to pass along to recipients: $2.1975 million from the General Fund and $200,000 from the Income Tax Fund. These provisions do not set individual household payments or eligibility.

Utah Guard gets operations and tuition funding

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law provides $77.146 million for Utah National Guard operations in FY2026. This includes $70.0749 million for operations and maintenance and $1.8294 million for administration. It provides $3.0249 million for tuition assistance and $2.2168 million for the West Traverse Sentinel Landscape. The Guard can also add up to three vehicles, paid for with existing funds. The law does not set individual tuition awards or eligibility.

Utah Guard recreation fund gets money

The law immediately adds $899,900 to the National Guard Morale, Welfare, and Recreation Fund for FY2025. Beginning July 1, 2025, it provides $3.7598 million for FY2026. These amounts support the fund, not specified payments to Guard members. The provisions do not specify changes to services or eligibility.

Funding for Utah veterans nursing homes

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law provides $44.7928 million to the Utah Veterans Nursing Home Fund for FY2026. The money supports nursing homes serving veterans. This funding provision does not change who qualifies for care or set residents’ charges.

Utah funds Capitol preservation operations

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law provides $6.7189 million for the Capitol Preservation Board’s FY2026 operations. The money supports Board operations. It does not create direct household payments or change benefit eligibility.

Utah funds lawmakers and legislative offices

The law immediately adds $900,000 for Senate administration and $100 for legislative research and counsel in FY2025. Beginning July 1, 2025, FY2026 administration funding includes $4.7961 million for the Senate and $7.6008 million for the House. Legislative research and counsel receives $15.4692 million. The fiscal analyst receives $5.6703 million, and the legislative auditor receives $8.2581 million. This money supports legislative work, not direct household payments.

Utah legislative services gets more funding

The law immediately adds $1.1772 million to the Office of Legislative Services for FY2025. That includes $259,700 for Administration, $595,000 for Pass Through, $157,500 for Legislative Interns, and $165,000 for Information Technology. Beginning July 1, 2025, the law provides $9.4699 million for FY2026. That includes $2.1892 million for Administration, $667,700 for Pass Through, $578,400 for Legislative Interns, and $6.0346 million for Information Technology. The funding supports office programs, not direct household payments.

Veterans nursing home funding cut

The law cuts the Utah Veterans Nursing Home Fund’s FY2025 budget by $32.6663 million. FY2025 runs from July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2025. The law does not specify changes to residents’ charges, care, or eligibility. These budget changes take effect immediately.

Utah Capitol operations funding falls

The law immediately cuts $381,700 from the Capitol Preservation Board’s FY2025 operations budget. This reduces money for Board operations. The provision does not specify a direct household cost or benefit change.

Utah veterans programs gain and lose funding

The law immediately changes FY2025 funding for Utah’s Department of Veterans and Military Affairs. Administration loses $96,500, and Cemetery loses $142,100. The State Approving Agency gains $15,300, and Outreach Services gains $42,500. Military Affairs gains $2.3435 million. These funding changes do not specify changes to individual benefits or eligibility.

Guard tuition grows, landscape funding falls

For FY2025, the law adds $1.7866 million to Utah National Guard tuition assistance. It also cuts $1.233 million from the West Traverse Sentinel Landscape allocation. The law does not specify changes to individual tuition awards or eligibility. These budget changes take effect immediately.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • Val L. Peterson

    Republican • House

Cosponsors

  • Jerry W Stevenson

    Republican • Senate

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 99 • No: 0

Senate vote • 1/30/2025

Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

Yes: 27 • No: 0

House vote • 1/29/2025

House/ uncircled

Yes: 0 • No: 0

House vote • 1/29/2025

House/ passed 3rd reading

Yes: 72 • No: 0

House vote • 1/28/2025

House/ circled

Yes: 0 • No: 0

House vote • Unknown

House/ circled

Yes: 0 • No: 0

House vote • Unknown

House/ uncircled

Yes: 0 • No: 0

Actions Timeline

  1. Governor Signed

    2/14/2025
  2. House/ to Governor

    2/11/2025House
  3. House/ received enrolled bill from Printing

    2/11/2025House
  4. House/ enrolled bill to Printing

    2/10/2025House
  5. Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate

    2/10/2025
  6. Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared

    2/3/2025
  7. Bill Received from House for Enrolling

    2/3/2025
  8. House/ signed by Speaker/ sent for enrolling

    1/31/2025House
  9. House/ received from Senate

    1/31/2025House
  10. Senate/ to House

    1/30/2025Senate
  11. Senate/ signed by President/ returned to House

    1/30/2025Senate
  12. Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

    1/30/2025Senate
  13. Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

    1/30/2025Senate
  14. Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)

    1/30/2025Senate
  15. Senate/ received from House

    1/29/2025Senate
  16. House/ to Senate

    1/29/2025House
  17. House/ passed 3rd reading

    1/29/2025House
  18. House/ uncircled

    1/29/2025House
  19. House/ circled

    1/28/2025House
  20. House/ 3rd reading

    1/28/2025House
  21. House/ 2nd reading

    1/28/2025House
  22. House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar

    1/28/2025House
  23. House/ 1st reading (Introduced)

    1/21/2025House
  24. House/ received fiscal note from Fiscal Analyst

    1/21/2025House
  25. House/ received bill from Legislative Research

    1/15/2025House

Bill Text

  • Enrolled

    2/10/2025

  • Introduced

    1/14/2025

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation