UtahS.B. 22025 General SessionSenate

New Fiscal Year Supplemental Appropriations Act

Sponsored By: Jerry W Stevenson (Republican)

Signed by Governor

Public Funds and AccountsPublic BudgetingEducationHigher EducationLegislative OperationsGovernment Operations (State Issues)Appropriations

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

44 provisions identified: 32 benefits, 8 costs, 4 mixed.

Medicaid plans share new drug rules

By January 1, 2026, contracted Medicaid plans must follow one preferred drug list for selected drug classes. The state selects classes based on potential savings; plans must align coverage, approval rules, and clinical criteria. Plans must also use pharmacy payment rates and methods approved in the Medicaid State Plan. The state adjusts payments to plans to reflect estimated spending effects. The law also removes earlier directions for a separate Medicaid drug program planned for July 2026.

Annual grants support Prader-Willi care

Beginning July 1, 2025, annual grants support care management for people with Prader-Willi Syndrome. The University of Utah Department of Pediatrics receives $40,000, and the Prader-Willi Utah Association receives $20,000. Funds cover direct costs only, not indirect costs.

More diaper support for low-income families

Little Lambs Foundation for Kids receives $500,000 in FY 2026 to distribute diapers to low-income families. The law does not set an income cutoff or the number of diapers each family receives.

St. George clinic gets care funding

Doctors' Volunteer Clinic of St. George receives a $100,000 grant for FY 2026. The money supports medical services for underinsured people. The law does not set a per-person benefit.

Great Salt Lake work receives funding

For FY 2026, the Office of the Great Salt Lake Commissioner receives $1 million in one-time General Fund money. It also receives $30 million in federal funds. The money supports the office's Great Salt Lake work.

More funding for air quality planning

Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah adds $93.9296 million to Air Quality Planning for FY2026. The money supports the state's air quality planning program. This funding provision does not specify new emissions rules, household payments, or changes in utility or transportation costs.

More funding for courts and defense

Beginning July 1, 2025, FY2026 funding rises by $1.1607 million for legal defense services for people who cannot afford lawyers. Court security gets $3.9879 million more, and guardian ad litem representation gets $1.1014 million more. The Jury, Witness, and Interpreter program gets $1.47 million more. These provisions fund services without setting new individual payment amounts or eligibility rules.

More funding for crime victim services

Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah adds funding for crime victim services in FY2026. The Office for Victims of Crime gets $6.3115 million more. The Utah Victim Services Commission gets $120,000 more. These funding provisions do not set individual payments or change who qualifies for help.

More funding for fire and aviation

Beginning July 1, 2025, the Department of Public Safety's Aero Bureau gets $1.775 million more for FY2026. Fire Marshal fire operations get $350,000 more. State Fire Management gets $2 million more. These provisions support operations but do not specify new services, locations, or household payments.

More funding for land and conservation

Beginning July 1, 2025, FY2026 Lands Management gets $3.855 million more. Department of Natural Resources agreements with the federal government get $6.3517 million more. Conservation Districts get $10,000 more, and Easements and Loan Projects gets $25,000 more. These provisions do not specify changes to public access, fees, or loan terms.

More funding for patrol and licensing

Beginning July 1, 2025, FY2026 Highway Patrol field operations get $6.0768 million more, and technology services get $100,000 more. Highway Safety gets $100,000 from the Public Safety Motorcycle Education Fund. The Uninsured Motorist program gets $500,000 more. Driver License Administration gets $500,000 in one-time General Fund support. These funding provisions do not change license fees, application rules, or individual insurance coverage.

More funding for state legal work

Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah increases FY2026 funding for the Attorney General's programs. Administration gets $2 million more, criminal prosecution gets $1.195 million more, and the Solicitor General gets $2.295 million more. Contract attorneys receive $675,000 in one-time funding from the Federal Overreach Restricted Account. The provisions do not identify specific cases or direct household payments.

New grants for zoo and arts

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law directs Natural Resources to give Hogle Zoo a $972,000 direct grant in FY2026. Arts and Museums Grants gets $100,000 in one-time General Fund support for eligible organizations. These grants support organizations, not direct household payments. The zoo grant does not specify any change in admission prices.

One-time funding for state prison operations

Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah provides one-time General Fund support for Utah State Correctional Facility operations in FY2026. The supplied source reports $6.5 million in total support but identifies $4.5 million on the prison operations line. It does not explain the difference. The money supports facility operations, not household payments.

Parks and outdoor attractions receive funding

The law provides $11.7154 million from restricted outdoor, boating, and off-highway vehicle accounts for recreation infrastructure and trails. State Parks receives $2.0108 million from its fee account, including $1.0108 million for state golf course upkeep and improvements. Another $2 million in one-time General Fund money buys and installs quagga mussel treatment tanks at Deer Creek Reservoir and Bull Frog Marina. In FY 2026, Garfield County receives $840,000 for off-highway vehicle trails and infrastructure near Butch Cassidy State Monument. Zootah also receives $36,400 in FY 2026.

Public lands policy office receives funding

The Public Lands Policy Coordinating Office receives $1 million in one-time funding for administration. The money comes from the Federal Overreach Restricted Account. This funds the office rather than direct household benefits.

Washington County shuttle receives state grant

Washington County receives a $300,000 grant for a regional shuttle service in FY 2026. The law does not set fares, routes, or rider eligibility.

Wildlife land purchases support public access

Utah can spend up to $12 million from the Wildlife Resources Account to buy land blocks. The purchases must protect public access and wildlife. The stated funding source is higher nonresident hunting and fishing fees included in separate legislation, S.B. 8.

Deer Creek intake receives water grant

In FY 2026, the Provo River Water Users Association receives $4 million for the Deer Creek Intake Structure. The grant agreement must include a lease of 35,000 acre-feet of water for at least 15 years. The lease must be coordinated with relevant state natural resources divisions and offices. The law does not set changes to household water bills.

More funding for drinking water systems

Beginning July 1, 2025, FY2026 drinking water system assistance gets $2.9543 million more. The Drinking Water State Revolving Fund gets $4.9736 million more. Water Quality Protection gets $1.1183 million more, and water quality permitting gets $293,600 more. This money supports water systems and oversight; the provisions do not set loan terms or change household water rates.

More funding for water projects and safety

Beginning July 1, 2025, FY2026 water-resource construction gets $5.4397 million more, and cloud seeding gets $3 million more. The Colorado River Authority of Utah gets $350,000 more. Water-rights adjudication, the process for settling water-rights claims, gets $400,000 more. Dam Safety gets $195,900 more, without naming a particular dam project. These provisions fund water programs but do not guarantee more water or lower household bills.

Funds can delay Medicaid dental transition

Up to $13.9696 million in General Fund health-service money can remain available after FY 2026. The department can use it only to delay the funding change that shifts Medicaid dental services to the University of Utah. The law does not set the delay's length.

Grants build behavioral and autism centers

In FY 2026, Valley Behavioral Health receives $500,000 to build a new home for its programs. Utah Autism Academy receives $1 million to build a community services and treatment center for autistic people. These construction grants do not guarantee individual access to care.

Housing facility receives construction investment grant

The law directs Utah's Department of Health and Human Services to award The Other Side Village $1 million in fiscal year 2026. The direct grant must fund capital investments in a housing facility. It does not guarantee housing placement or payments to any household.

Grants support Utah events and restaurants

Beginning July 1, 2025, the state provides grants for restaurant promotion, sports, and technology events. Taste Utah receives $225,000 in FY 2026 for restaurant promotion and its Restaurant Marketing Campaign. The PGA Korn Ferry Tour receives $75,000 for hosting the tour, and Run Elite receives $200,000 for program support. Utah Tech Week receives $125,000 in FY 2026 for economic development through hosting the event.

More funding for trade and tourism

Beginning July 1, 2025, economic development Incentives and Grants gets $10 million in one-time federal funding for FY2026. Strategic Initiatives gets $2.5 million in one-time General Fund support. The Tourism program gets $371,200 more, and World Trade Center Utah gets $100,000 more. These provisions do not specify grant eligibility or direct household payments.

Oil and gas program receives funding

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law adds $6.68 million for Utah's Oil and Gas Program in fiscal year 2026. The provision does not specify changes to industry rules, energy prices, or household bills.

Southeastern Utah development loans gain funding

Beginning July 1, 2025, the Southeastern Regional Development Agency receives a $500,000 grant. It supports land purchases and infrastructure development through a revolving loan program. The law does not specify loan terms for individual borrowers.

Sundance grant depends on Utah location

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law authorizes a $3.5 million Sundance Institute grant for the film festival. The state cannot pay until the Institute announces the host city for the 2027 festival. The state cannot pay the grant if the Institute chooses to leave Utah.

Higher Medicaid payments for care facilities

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law directs designated funding toward higher Medicaid payment rates for nursing homes. It also funds higher rates for intermediate care facilities serving people with intellectual disabilities. The provision does not state the increase amounts or changes to residents' out-of-pocket costs.

Medicaid gains broader health fund access

For FY 2026, Utah's health department can spend all available money in four health funds, beyond their appropriated amounts. These are the Hospital Provider Assessment, Ambulance Service Provider Assessment, Nursing Care Facilities Provider Assessment, and Medicaid ACA funds. Each fund's existing legal spending limits still apply. The law does not state the available balances.

Housing advocacy group receives education grant

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law directs a $1 million grant to Utah Workforce Housing Advocacy for fiscal year 2026. The Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity must provide the direct award. It funds public education about the benefits of providing first-time and workforce housing, not housing payments to households.

More funding for service fellowships

Beginning July 1, 2025, the One Utah Service Fellowship Program gets $500,000 in one-time funding for FY2026. The provision supports the fellowship program. It does not specify who qualifies or how much participants receive.

Community grant pass-through funding falls

Beginning July 1, 2025, Cultural and Community Engagement pass-through funding falls by $106,000 for FY 2026. The cut includes the Humanitarian Service and National Professional Men's Soccer Team Support of Building Communities accounts. The law does not specify how the cut is divided among supported groups.

Courts and parental defense lose funding

Beginning July 1, 2025, FY 2026 district court funding falls by $100,000. Child Welfare Parental Defense Program funding falls by $9,000. The law does not specify changes to court access or any parent's legal services.

Drinking water program funding falls

Beginning July 1, 2025, Safe Drinking Water Act program funding falls by $35,800 for FY 2026. The law does not specify changes to drinking water standards or customer charges.

State support for county jails shrinks

Beginning July 1, 2025, FY 2026 county jail reimbursement funding falls by $1 million. Department of Corrections jail contract funding also falls by $34,000. Counties have less state reimbursement money for eligible jail costs. The law does not specify changes to jail services or local taxes.

Mental health advisory funding falls

Beginning July 1, 2025, the Substance Use and Mental Health Advisory Council loses $249,900 in FY 2026 funding. The law does not specify changes to individual treatment or benefits.

Farm and hemp program funding falls

Beginning July 1, 2025, FY 2026 Analytical Laboratory funding falls by $395,000. Soil Health funding falls by $13,000, and Industrial Hemp funding falls by $578,600. The law does not specify changes to services, producer requirements, or fees.

Utah tourism marketing funding shrinks

Beginning July 1, 2025, tourism Marketing and Advertising program funding falls by $1.35 million for FY 2026. The law does not directly change household taxes, prices, or benefit rules.

Food and dairy inspection funding falls

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law cuts food and dairy inspection funding for fiscal year 2026. Food Inspection funding falls by $126,000, and Dairy Inspection funding falls by $145,000. The provisions do not specify changes to inspection activity, safety requirements, or consumer prices.

Disability services receive funding and safeguards

For FY 2026, July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, long-term support funding adds $15.9376 million in General Fund money and $658,400 in one-time General Fund money. It also adds $154,300 in dedicated revenue and $36.8584 million in transfers, while cutting federal funds by $55,700 and one-time transfers by $1.8584 million. Program increases include $25.6397 million for Community Supports Waiver Services and $21.9338 million for Disabilities - Other Waiver Services. Separate carried-over disability funds support emergency and added waiver services, direct-care staff raises, and facility work. Those funds also serve people turning 18 and leaving state custody, or people ordered by courts into disability services.

Medicaid changes hospital and provider payments

Beginning July 1, 2026, University of Utah Hospitals and Clinics assessments and related government transfers rise to match a General Fund cut. For FY 2027, that increase must preserve FY 2026 Medicaid inpatient base payments without changing directed payments. The department must pursue urban hospital payments combining diagnosis-based rates and cost-based payments for unusually costly cases, effective July 1, 2028. Until then, annual rate updates offset hospital listed-charge growth; payment adjustments require industry consultation. The department must also seek federal approval to classify Cache County as urban for physician and dental payments, targeting July 1, 2026.

Technical colleges gain funding alongside cuts

Beginning July 1, 2025, the law adjusts four technical college budgets. Ogden-Weber adds $1.6656 million in state funding and $1.1 million from tuition and fees, while losing $630,100 in one-time state funding. Its listed program changes add $1.3269 million for instruction and cut operations and maintenance by $359,900. Southwest adds $119,800 in state funding and $270,000 from tuition and fees. Its listed program increases include $164,000 for instruction and $112,200 for institutional support. Tooele adds $101,800 in state funding. Its listed program cuts include $248,700 for instruction and $304,600 for operations and maintenance. Uintah Basin adds $136,200 in state funding, while its tuition and fee revenue budget falls by $13,700. Its listed program increases include $56,100 for instruction and $35,400 for institutional support. These provisions do not specify changes to student tuition charges or individual student aid.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • Jerry W Stevenson

    Republican • Senate

Cosponsors

  • Val L. Peterson

    Republican • House

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 96 • No: 1

House vote • 3/5/2025

House/ passed 3rd reading

Yes: 70 • No: 0

Senate vote • 3/4/2025

Senate/ floor amendment failed

Yes: 0 • No: 0

Senate vote • 3/4/2025

Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

Yes: 26 • No: 1

Senate vote • Unknown

Senate/ floor amendment failed

Yes: 0 • No: 0

Actions Timeline

  1. Governor Signed

    3/25/2025
  2. Senate/ to Governor

    3/17/2025Senate
  3. Senate/ received enrolled bill from Printing

    3/17/2025Senate
  4. Senate/ enrolled bill to Printing

    3/13/2025Senate
  5. Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate

    3/13/2025
  6. Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared

    3/5/2025
  7. Bill Received from Senate for Enrolling

    3/5/2025
  8. Senate/ signed by President/ sent for enrolling

    3/5/2025Senate
  9. Senate/ received from House

    3/5/2025Senate
  10. House/ to Senate

    3/5/2025House
  11. House/ signed by Speaker/ returned to Senate

    3/5/2025House
  12. House/ passed 3rd reading

    3/5/2025House
  13. House/ 3rd reading

    3/5/2025House
  14. House/ 2nd reading

    3/4/2025House
  15. House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar

    3/4/2025House
  16. House/ 1st reading (Introduced)

    3/4/2025House
  17. House/ received from Senate

    3/4/2025House
  18. Senate/ to House

    3/4/2025Senate
  19. Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

    3/4/2025Senate
  20. Senate/ floor amendment failed

    3/4/2025Senate
  21. Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

    3/4/2025Senate
  22. Senate/ received fiscal note from Fiscal Analyst

    3/4/2025Senate
  23. Senate/ Rules to 2nd Reading Calendar

    3/3/2025Senate
  24. Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)

    3/3/2025Senate
  25. Senate/ received bill from Legislative Research

    3/3/2025Senate

Bill Text

  • Enrolled

    3/13/2025

  • Introduced

    3/2/2025

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation