All Roll Calls
Yes: 93 • No: 7
Sponsored By: Heidi Balderree (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
45 provisions identified: 25 benefits, 17 costs, 3 mixed.
For fiscal year 2026, eligible full-time educators get a $10,350 salary adjustment when Utah Fits All is funded and active. Otherwise, the amount is $5,175; part-time educators get a prorated amount. Educators must hold the required license and a qualifying position. Unsatisfactory ratings on the three most recent evaluations bar the adjustment. Later adjustments retain at least the prior amount, with increases limited by school-funding growth, inflation, and budget constraints.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the state board must distribute available mental health screening funds based on need. This replaces a formula that assigned 90% by student attendance and reserved 10% for additional need. Only participating school agencies with approved screening programs qualify, and funding is limited to legislative appropriations. Funds can support screening and help qualifying parents pay for resources unavailable at school. Parental consent is required for screening.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the state board must set student and personnel data standards for deaf and blind schools. It must use a centralized data system where practicable and reconcile information from different sources. The schools must identify benchmarks and report assessment-data comparisons. The board must report on implementation by August 15, 2026.
The law adds $14.467 million for Teaching and Learning in fiscal 2026, running July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026. Beginning July 1, 2026, it adds $14.739 million for Teaching and Learning in fiscal 2027. It also adds $3.3 million for education Contracts and Grants in fiscal 2027. These provisions fund education programs but do not set individual student or household awards.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law adds $5 million for the Grow Your Own Teacher and Counselor Pipeline. It also adds $2.4 million in one-time funding for STEM Endorsement Incentives through educator licensing. Both amounts are for fiscal 2027. The law does not set individual awards or incentive amounts.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law adds $2.5169 million for Child Nutrition programs in fiscal 2027. This is one-time funding from the Public Education Economic Stabilization Restricted Account. The provision does not set an individual family's benefit amount.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law provides $1.9 million for the Education Technology Management System in fiscal 2027. It also provides $3.6 million for School Data Collection and Analysis. Another $9.3102 million provides one-time funding for technology contracts. These funds support education systems and agencies rather than direct household payments.
The law adds $4.2197 million for special education in fiscal 2026, running July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026. It also adds $4.2197 million for fiscal 2027, beginning July 1, 2026. The money supports special education programs and the schools serving these students. These provisions do not set direct payments to families.
For fiscal 2026, the law provides one-time Income Tax Fund money for State Board of Education operations. It provides $18.3189 million for Financial Operations and adds $150,400 for Policy and Communication. That budget year runs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. Beginning July 1, 2026, it provides $832,900 for Board and Administration operations in fiscal 2027. These amounts fund agency work, not direct payments to families.
The law adds $539,600 for career and technical education in fiscal 2026, running July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026. Beginning July 1, 2026, it adds $427,900 for career and technical education in fiscal 2027. It also adds $35 million for the CTE Catalyst Center in fiscal 2027. These amounts fund education programs, not direct payments to students or families.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law adds $300,000 for the Utah Anti-Bullying Coalition in fiscal 2027. It also adds $75,000 for student suicide prevention. The money supports prevention work, but these provisions do not set service amounts for individual students.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law adds $13.6667 million for college and career counseling in fiscal 2027. This equals 2,806 weighted pupil units, a measure used to fund schools. It also adds $3.8 million for the Student Credential Account. The Legislature states its intent for the State Board of Education to award that amount directly to YouScience LLC. The intended grant funds the SCA Statewide Usage program, not individual student payments.
For fiscal 2026, running July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law provides $49,600 in one-time Utah Fits All funding. It also transfers that same amount from the Income Tax Fund to the scholarship program's restricted account. Beginning July 1, 2026, it adds $49,600 for fiscal 2027 scholarships and program administration. These provisions do not set individual scholarship amounts or change scholarship eligibility.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law adds $2.339 million for the Necessarily Existent Small Schools program. The fiscal 2027 allocation equals 480 weighted pupil units, a measure used to fund schools. The money supports participating schools through the budget year ending June 30, 2027.
The online education program must report yearly to the Education Interim Committee on students, courses, completion, progress, and finances. Providers face performance reviews, annual compliance audits, and at least one site visit each academic year. The state board must post required program and manager information by July 1, 2025, and keep it updated. When the manager's contract ends or the manager cannot perform required duties, the Department of Government Operations temporarily takes over. It keeps essential services running and coordinates the transition only as long as needed to secure a new manager.
For fiscal 2026, the law adds $57.5796 million in one-time federal funds for Student Support Services. That budget year runs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. Beginning July 1, 2026, it adds $57.5756 million for Student Support Services in fiscal 2027. It also adds $24.8332 million for the Students At-Risk add-on, equal to 5,099 weighted pupil units. These allocations fund programs and schools, not set payments to individual families.
For fiscal 2026, running July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law adds funding for deaf and blind students. It adds $10.0578 million for Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind support services. It adds $7.7003 million for the School for the Deaf and $3.9206 million for the School for the Blind. The Utah State Instructional Materials Access Center receives another $892,200. Beginning July 1, 2026, a one-time $4.8 million transfer moves from the Public Education Economic Stabilization Restricted Account to the Permanent Fund for the School for the Blind Trust.
For fiscal year 2027, beginning July 1, 2026, the law states legislative intent for direct education grants. Intended awards total $6.121 million for arts outreach, $5.6669 million for science outreach, and $1.5 million for Junior Achievement's 3DE program. The arts awards name Ballet West, Nora Eccles Harrison Museum of Art, Plan-B Theatre, Repertory Dance Theatre, Ririe-Woodbury Dance Company, Springville Museum of Art, Spy Hop, Tanner Dance, Utah Festival Opera and Musical Theatre, Utah Film Center, Utah Museum of Contemporary Art, Utah Museum of Fine Art, Utah Opera, Utah Shakespeare Festival, and Utah Symphony. The science awards name Clark Planetarium, Discovery Gateway, Hawkwatch International, Loveland Living Planet Aquarium, Natural History Museum of Utah, Ogden Nature Center, Red Butte Gardens, Thanksgiving Point, Utah's Hogle Zoo, and Utah State University Extension. These are intended organizational grants, not direct household payments.
Beginning July 1, 2026, qualifying school agencies receive college and career counseling funding, subject to legislative appropriations. The formula provides a base for the first 400 students and per-student funding for additional students up to 1,200. Agencies need approved readiness plans, approved student success frameworks, and the state board's required counselor-to-student ratio. Enrollment uses the previous fiscal year's October 1 count. Funding units and distributions adjust annually with statewide enrollment changes.
The online program manager can use at most 8% of annual funding for administration when funding is $10 million or less. When annual funding exceeds $10 million, the cap is 5%. These caps limit overhead; they do not set a student's course payment.
The online program's course-review process cannot require funded providers to change their beliefs, practices, admissions policies, hiring, or curriculum. This protection includes religious courses and content. It limits the program's authority over providers accepting program money.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law transfers $42.8336 million from the Uniform School Fund to an education reserve. The receiving fund is the Public Education Economic Stabilization Restricted Account. Spending from that account requires an appropriation. The transfer itself does not provide household payments or authorize program spending.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law provides two school technology investments for fiscal year 2027. Up to $1 million in one-time funding supports a state board review of school software and artificial intelligence uses with state data systems. The review covers student outcomes and needs, overlapping technology, and possible savings, with a report due October 15, 2028. Scrible receives a $1.4 million direct grant for its Research, Writing, and Responsible AI Solution program.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law adds funding for State Board of Education operations in fiscal year 2027. It adds $1.064 million for financial operations, $100,100 for policy and communication, and $167,100 for School Trust operations. These increases fund agency work, not direct household payments.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law transfers $49,600 from the Income Tax Fund to the Utah Fits All scholarship account. Spending from the account requires an appropriation. This transfer alone does not guarantee a scholarship or set an individual award amount.
The law ends the statutory salary supplement for National Board-certified teachers. It also ends the statutory reimbursement for National Board certification costs. For fiscal year 2027, beginning July 1, 2026, funding for National Board-certified teachers falls by $296,300. The provisions do not state how much each eligible teacher loses.
Beginning July 1, 2027, eligible scholarship students participating in Utah Private Course Choice Empowerment must use scholarship funds to participate. The law does not set a payment amount in this provision.
Beginning July 1, 2027, the law repeals the statutory small-school course-access pathway. Students relying on that pathway lose its statutory support. The provision does not name replacement services or state an individual financial loss.
The law ends charter school allocations used to adjust initial enrollment estimates. It also removes authority to move money between budget items for those adjustments. Beginning July 1, 2026, statewide charter school training funding falls by $200,000 for fiscal year 2027. The provisions do not state replacement funding or direct family costs.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law cuts Adult Education funding by $300,000 for fiscal 2027. Programs have less money available to serve participants. The provision does not specify changes to anyone's eligibility, fees, or services.
For fiscal year 2026, July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, two one-time early literacy allocations shrink. Software license funding falls by $3.1216 million, and Early Literacy Outcomes Improvement funding falls by $4.2827 million. For fiscal year 2027, beginning July 1, 2026, early literacy software funding falls by $10.6314 million. Reading assessment software funding falls by $100,000, and UPSTART funding falls by $45,100 that year. The law does not specify changes to individual children's services or family costs.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law cuts Fine Arts Outreach Subsidy Program funding by $54,000 for fiscal year 2027. The provision does not specify changes to services or household fees.
For fiscal 2026, the law cuts one-time school support staff bonus funding by $11.125 million. That budget year runs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. Beginning July 1, 2026, fiscal 2027 educator salary adjustment funding falls by $4.8 million. Funding for salary supplements for highly needed educators also falls by $2 million. These cuts do not set individual bonus amounts or require individual salary cuts.
For fiscal 2026, the law cuts one-time Student Achievement funding by $25,000 and Assessment and Accountability funding by $1.024 million. That budget year runs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. Beginning July 1, 2026, it cuts Competency-Based Education Grants by $2.0811 million for fiscal 2027. These provisions do not specify service changes for individual students or schools.
Beginning July 1, 2026, several school improvement and accountability funding pools shrink for fiscal year 2027. School Turnaround and Leadership Development funding falls by $1 million, and Assessment and Accountability funding falls by $257,800. Student Achievement funding falls by $25,000, and Supplemental Educational Improvement Matching Grants fall by $2,700. The provisions do not set direct household payments or specify individual service changes.
Beginning July 1, 2026, Student Health and Counseling Support Program funding falls by $1.3 million for fiscal year 2027. This reduces the funding pool for school-based support. The law does not specify changes to individual students' services, eligibility, or family costs.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law cuts school transportation funding by $6.5 million for fiscal 2027. The cut affects the Pupil Transportation To & From School program. It does not specify route cuts, service changes, or higher charges for families.
Beginning July 1, 2027, the law ends Utah's statutory Personalized, Competency-based Learning Grants Program. Participating and prospective recipients lose access to that grant program. The provision does not identify replacement funding or a replacement program.
The law ends the statutory Digital Teaching and Learning Grant Program. For fiscal year 2027, beginning July 1, 2026, digital teaching program funding falls by $18.3524 million. Digital teaching administration funding falls by $541,700, and Computer Science Initiative funding falls by $244,100. Early Learning Training and Assessment funding also falls by $300,000. These provisions do not identify which school services change or set new family charges.
Beginning July 1, 2026, Informal Science Education Enhancement funding falls by $598,100 for fiscal year 2027. This reduces the program's funding pool. The provision does not specify changes to participants' services, household costs, or individual benefits.
Beginning July 1, 2026, comprehensive guidance programs are excluded from career and technical education funding and funding-unit rules. Funding remains restricted below grade 9, except for work-based learning programs. For fiscal year 2027, the career education add-on falls by $13.6667 million, equal to 2,806 weighted pupil units. These units are used to calculate school funding.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Statewide Online Education Program's budget allocation falls by $328,700 for fiscal year 2027. The law also changes the source of $2.339 million in program funding to the Public Education Economic Stabilization Restricted Account. The source change is separate from the cut. These provisions do not specify new student fees or family payments.
Subject to legislative funding, the online program for private-school students gets separate funding, adjusted for expected enrollment increases. Providers get 60% of the course fee at enrollment and 40% when the student completes the course. Providers lose the final 40% if the student misses the provider's completion deadline. Payments must be processed within 30 days of the relevant deadline. Transaction fees cannot be passed on to providers.
Online course providers must post accurate course details, including fees, course lengths, and completion and withdrawal deadlines. They must report enrollment and withdrawal data within five business days. The program manager regularly renews course and provider approvals using an at least 80% completion rate and family reviews. The manager can revoke approvals for noncompliance or poor performance.
For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind administration funding falls by $10.4843 million. Transportation and Support Services funding falls by $8.2226 million for that same period. For fiscal year 2027, beginning July 1, 2026, administration falls by $15.3601 million and Transportation and Support Services by $6.5732 million. Support Services rises by $9.9734 million, and the Instructional Materials Access Center rises by $892,200. The School for the Deaf rises by $7.7003 million, and the School for the Blind rises by $3.9206 million.
Heidi Balderree
Republican • Senate
Stephen L. Whyte
Republican • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 93 • No: 7
House vote • 3/4/2026
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 70 • No: 1
Senate vote • 3/3/2026
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Yes: 23 • No: 6
Senate vote • 3/3/2026
Senate/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/2/2026
Senate/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Governor Signed
Senate/ to Governor
Senate/ received enrolled bill from Printing
Senate/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from Senate for Enrolling
Senate/ signed by President/ sent for enrolling
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ signed by Speaker/ returned to Senate
House/ passed 3rd reading
House/ 3rd reading
House/ 2nd reading
House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar
House/ 1st reading (Introduced)
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ uncircled
Senate/ received fiscal note from Fiscal Analyst
Senate/ circled
Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ placed on 2nd Reading Calendar
Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)
Enrolled
3/12/2026
Introduced
3/2/2026