All Roll Calls
Yes: 170 • No: 0
Sponsored By: Evan J. Vickers (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
14 provisions identified: 4 benefits, 6 costs, 4 mixed.
Beginning May 7, 2025, Utah's unified licensing checks require fingerprints and consent to state, regional, and national criminal-history checks. The requirements cover listed licenses and certifications, including renewals, reinstatements, relicensure, and recertification. Applicants pay state and FBI processing fees, in addition to other licensing fees; amounts are not stated. If a check after licensing finds inaccurate criminal-history disclosures, the Division may notify the licensee of immediate, automatic revocation. The licensee has a right to challenge that revocation at an administrative hearing.
Covered pharmacist, endorsement, intern, and technician applicants no longer face the listed qualification requiring freedom from specified criminal convictions. They still must complete background checks, meet related state standards, and disclose requested criminal history. Pharmacy license applicants must ensure the pharmacist-in-charge completes these steps for each license other than class D. For class D pharmacies, each pharmacy manager must complete them.
Master residential, journeyman, and residential journeyman electricians can qualify through an expedited route set by commission rule. With the director's agreement, those rules must require proof of the knowledge and skills needed for the license. Starting in their fourth training year, licensed apprentices can work unsupervised for up to eight hours in any 24-hour period. On residential projects, one licensed supervisor can oversee up to three licensed apprentices, unless commission rules allow more.
Division rules must allow extra time on the clinical social worker exam when an eligible applicant requests it. Eligibility includes foreign-born legal U.S. residents whose second language is English. Enrolled members of federally recognized Native American tribes also qualify. The law does not specify how much extra time applicants receive.
The nursing section no longer makes new licenses or certifications conditional while background checks are pending. It also removes that section's immediate automatic-revocation rule for inaccurate criminal-history disclosures. These removals do not eliminate background checks or the separate revocation authority under the unified licensing law.
Physician and surgeon applicants may authorize an optional records service approved by the Division and licensing board. It can coordinate and verify application records. A separate pathway requires 12 months of approved post-degree residency and successful participation in an approved Utah progressive residency. Applicants enter that Utah program in their second or third postgraduate year and agree to surrender their license upon losing good standing. Revocation for losing good standing is now discretionary rather than automatic.
Covered health and massage applicants must complete Utah's unified background check, meet related state standards, and disclose requested criminal history. Coverage includes nursing, nurse midwifery, physical therapy and assistants, occupational therapy and assistants, and osteopathic physicians, including covered endorsement applicants. It also covers massage therapists, apprentices, assistants, and assistants-in-training. Checks now cover all physician and surgeon applicants and all occupational therapy applicants, not just those seeking compact participation. Beginning May 7, 2025, dentists, dental hygienists, anesthesiologist assistants, naturopathic physicians, chiropractors, and all physician assistant applicants are covered. Physical therapy requirements include covered applicants educated abroad or licensed in another U.S. jurisdiction.
Clinical and certified social workers, marriage and family therapists, and clinical mental health counselors must complete unified background checks. This includes associate therapist and counselor applicants, master addiction counselors, and associate master addiction counselors. Covered psychologists, psychology residents, and certified or provisional prescribing psychologists must also complete the checks. All covered applicants must meet related Division standards and disclose requested criminal history on approved forms.
Alarm agents, armed and unarmed private security officers, and armored car security officers must complete unified background checks. Deception detection examiners, interns, and examination administrators must do the same. Covered applicants must meet related state standards and disclose requested criminal history. The Division can set FBI review timing by rule for security-services license applications and renewals; this law sets no schedule.
Contractor applicants must complete background checks, meet related state standards, and disclose requested criminal history. For business applicants, this also covers the individual qualifier and each person with at least a 10% voting interest. Alarm, armored car, and contract security companies must collect identifying information and fingerprints from covered leaders directly managing Utah operations. Covered leaders include officers, owners, proprietors, trustees, and responsible managers. Those leaders must also complete the checks, meet related standards, and disclose requested criminal history.
Unincorporated licensed contractors must report owners who each hold less than 8% and work or will work in Utah construction. Those with more than five such owners file every 30 days; those with five or fewer file with license renewal. Unincorporated entities supplying construction labor through an owner must file an ownership list before that owner starts work. Those entities then file status reports every 30 days. A Division-set fee applies when a filing shows a reportable ownership change, and the Division may audit reports.
Social Security numbers submitted under specified contractor and alarm-company application requirements are private records. The Division may also classify applicants' identity evidence as private. The amended background-check section removes its express ban on sharing state and FBI criminal-history records outside the Division. That removal does not itself say when records may be shared or who may receive them.
Covered medical and osteopathic practice citations become final unless the cited person requests a hearing within 20 calendar days after service. After that deadline, no further agency review is available. The Division may extend the contest period for cause. It cannot issue a covered citation more than one year after receiving the violation report.
With board agreement, the director may use the Physician Education and Enforcement Fund for professional and controlled-substance training. Training can serve specified licensed professionals, Division staff, and board members. Money can also support medical, osteopathic, and naturopathic enforcement, including investigations, legal representation, and renewal-compliance monitoring. Beginning May 7, 2025, naturopathic licensing penalties must go into this fund; those penalties can reach $10,000. The law states no new appropriation or distribution amount.
Evan J. Vickers
Republican • Senate
A. Cory Maloy
Republican • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 170 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/20/2025
Senate/ concurs with House amendment
Yes: 25 • No: 0
House vote • 2/19/2025
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 68 • No: 0
House vote • 2/5/2025
House Comm - Substitute Recommendation
Yes: 9 • No: 0
House vote • 2/5/2025
House Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Yes: 9 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/24/2025
Senate/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 25 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/23/2025
Senate/ passed 2nd reading
Yes: 28 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/22/2025
Senate Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Yes: 6 • No: 0
Governor Signed
Senate/ to Governor
Senate/ received enrolled bill from Printing
Senate/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from Senate for Enrolling
Senate/ signed by President/ sent for enrolling
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ signed by Speaker/ returned to Senate
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ concurs with House amendment
Senate/ placed on Concurrence Calendar
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ passed 3rd reading
House/ 3rd reading
House/ 2nd reading
House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar
House/ return to Rules due to fiscal impact
House/ comm rpt/ substituted
House Comm - Favorable Recommendation
House Comm - Substitute Recommendation
Enrolled
2/27/2025
Substitute #1
2/5/2025
Introduced
12/27/2024
S.B. 3, Appropriations Adjustments
S.B. 336, Utah Fairpark Area Investment and Restoration District Modifications
S.B. 333, Major Sporting Event Venue Financing Amendments
S.B. 330, Cosmetology Modifications
S.B. 317, Dietitian Licensing Amendments
S.B. 316, Military Installation Development Authority and Other Development Zone Amendments