All Roll Calls
Yes: 102 • No: 0
Sponsored By: David P. Hinkins (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
44 provisions identified: 23 benefits, 3 costs, 18 mixed.
The law provides $139.8019 million to the Wildland Fire Suppression Fund for fire response. It also provides $210,100 to the Wildland Fire Preparedness Grants Fund. Another $1.4908 million supports wildfire prevention, preparedness, and risk reduction where communities meet wildland areas. The provisions do not set household payment amounts or detailed grant eligibility rules.
The law allocates $99.6146 million to wildlife programs, including aquatic resources, habitat, outreach, and law enforcement. That funding includes $1.3 million carried forward from earlier appropriations. It also provides $2 million for wildlife land and water purchases and $6.1088 million for fisheries capital work. The Wild Game Meat Donation Fund receives $50,000. The provisions do not identify who receives donated meat or set household eligibility rules.
For July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, the law adds funding beyond amounts already appropriated. State Parks receives $54.4533 million for operations and $89.7404 million for renovations, land purchases, and capital projects. Outdoor Recreation receives $16.956 million for boating, law enforcement, off-highway vehicles, administration, and operations. Its capital programs receive $85.886 million for infrastructure, trails, boat access grants, off-highway vehicle grants, and conservation. Separately, up to $350,000 in prior funding remains available after fiscal year 2025 only for Bear Lake improvements.
The law provides $28.5178 million for drinking water and $37.9725 million for water quality through the Water Development Security Fund. It also provides $3.8 million to the Water Resources Construction Fund. Another $50 million moves from the Water Infrastructure Restricted Account to the Water Resources Conservation and Development Fund. The Salinity Offset Fund receives $287,900 for projects that offset salt pollution. These funds support water systems and projects, not direct household payments.
Water Resources receives $109.424 million for cloud seeding, construction, planning, projects, and research. This includes $1.386 million for administration and $50.3897 million for planning. Water Rights receives $29.6666 million for water-right decisions, applications, records, dam safety, and field and technical services. The law also transfers $1.6019 million from the General Fund to the Colorado River Authority of Utah Restricted Account. These allocations fund state water services rather than household checks.
Water Resources can keep up to $92.355 million in prior funding after fiscal year 2025. Listed uses include $24 million for aqueduct resilience, $13 million for cloud seeding, and $13 million for water infrastructure. They also include $5 million for Panguitch Dam replacement. Water Rights can keep up to $8.763 million for data systems, water measurements, Great Salt Lake planning, and agency support. Both agencies must follow the listed uses and spending caps; these funds do not directly change household water bills.
For fiscal year 2025, Conservation Administration falls $1.0718 million, Water Quantity $8.9287 million, and Water Quality $2.6735 million. Soil Health also falls $182,800. Conservation Districts gains $1.4505 million, while Easements and Loan Projects gains $85,300. Separately, up to $127.4628 million in prior funding remains available after fiscal year 2025. That money is limited to listed amounts for agricultural water savings, AgVIP, pollinator and soil health work, equipment, training, and incentives.
For fiscal year 2025, the law adds $200,000 to Utah’s Veterinarian Education Loan Repayment Program. This supports education loan repayment for participating veterinarians. The provision does not set individual award amounts or eligibility rules.
The law provides $433,800 for Utah’s Agriculture Loan Program. It also transfers $1 million from the General Fund to the LeRay McAllister Working Farm and Ranch Fund. These funds support eligible agriculture borrowers and working farms and ranches. These provisions do not set individual payment amounts, loan terms, or new eligibility rules.
The law allocates $15.269 million to the Utah Geological Survey. The money supports geologic hazard studies, mapping, groundwater work, and technical services. Funding includes $5.8297 million from the General Fund and $1.2722 million carried forward from earlier appropriations. The provision does not establish direct household payments.
The law allocates $17.4206 million to Great Salt Lake Commissioner Administration for lake management work. It also provides $15 million to the Great Salt Lake Account. That account funding includes $2.5 million from the General Fund and $12.5 million from its starting balance. These allocations support lake programs rather than direct household payments.
The law allocates $10.177 million to the Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure Account. The money supports Utah outdoor recreation infrastructure projects. The provision does not name particular projects or provide direct household payments.
The law provides $3.8135 million to the Waste Tire Recycling Fund. It also allocates $310,900 to the Hazardous Substance Mitigation Fund for cleanup and response efforts. Another $2.3631 million moves from the General Fund to the restricted Environmental Quality account. These allocations support environmental programs; they do not name cleanup sites or establish direct household payments.
The law allocates $19.5903 million to School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration operations. That includes $15.0903 million from the Land Grant Management Fund. Operations include accounting, development, legal services, land management, archaeology, and energy and minerals work. The law also allocates $5 million for capital projects and $852,400 for trust-land stewardship and restoration.
The Great Salt Lake Commissioner's office can keep up to $15.9206 million in prior funding after fiscal year 2025. This includes $10 million for lake investments and $5 million to start a Water Savings Program. It also includes $750,000 for the strategic plan and $170,600 for the Split Season Leasing Project. The money is limited to these uses and amounts, not direct household payments.
The law transfers $1.0424 million from the Land Exchange Distribution Account to the Constitutional Defense Restricted Account. The transfer funds state constitutional defense activities. It does not establish direct household payments or benefits.
The Public Lands Policy Coordinating Office receives an additional $9.1737 million for July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. It supports administration, case preparation, data management, litigation, and planning. The office can also keep up to $4.264 million in prior funding after fiscal year 2025. Listed uses include $1 million for work on federal overreach, $500,000 for a Grand Staircase rangeland study, and $650,000 for rural professional services. Other listed uses and spending caps also apply.
The law allocates $11.1849 million to the Watershed Restoration Initiative. It also keeps up to $5 million in earlier funding available after fiscal year 2025. That carryover money can pay only for projects placed under contract during fiscal year 2025. This preserves funding for those restoration projects rather than letting it expire.
The law provides $118,200 to the Department of Agriculture and Food Laboratory Equipment Fund. The money supports state agriculture and food laboratory operations. The provision does not establish direct household payments.
The law allocates $19.2063 million to the Office of Energy Development for its programs and activities. It also provides $1 million to the Utah Energy Research Fund. The provisions do not set household payments, eligibility rules, or energy-price savings.
The law transfers $458,000 from the General Fund to the Agriculture and Wildlife Damage Prevention Account. It also transfers $4.8463 million from the General Fund to the Rangeland Improvement Account. These accounts support damage prevention and rangeland projects. The provisions do not set direct payments for individual farmers, land managers, or households.
The law allocates $5.2893 million to the Qualified Production Enterprise Fund. The provision does not explain which enterprises qualify or how the money is distributed. It does not establish direct household payments.
The School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration can keep up to $4.5 million in prior funding after fiscal year 2025. The money is limited to upgrading its Land Management Business System. This supports an agency technology project, not direct household payments.
The Office of Energy Development can carry forward up to $8.56 million beyond fiscal year 2025 for specified projects. That includes up to $3 million for rural electric-car charging and $4.395 million to match federal grid resilience funding. It also includes up to $165,000 for administration special projects and $1 million for the Utah San Rafael Energy Research Lab. Separately, the law provides $250,000 in one-time General Fund money for study requirements in Utah’s 2024 S.B. 161. That study money also remains available after fiscal year 2025 and must be used for those requirements.
Utah's Medical Cannabis program can keep no more than one vehicle per six licensed establishments requiring inspection. It can keep one additional vehicle for office staff. The Industrial Hemp program budget falls $263,000 for fiscal year 2025. The law also states legislative intent that the hemp program maintain one vehicle for every inspector. These are agency operating rules, not vehicle requirements for patients or households.
The Colorado River Authority of Utah budget falls $425,700 for fiscal year 2025. This reduces the authority's resources. The provision does not specify a household payment, water-rate change, or new individual duty.
The Utah State Fair Park Authority budget falls $7.4634 million for fiscal year 2025. This includes $1.325 million from the General Fund and $6.1384 million from dedicated credits revenue. The law does not specify changes to admission prices or services.
For fiscal year 2025, Air Quality Administration falls $271,500, Planning $6.8971 million, Compliance $499,400, and Permitting $844,700. Up to $5.5075 million in prior funding remains available after that year for listed air quality projects. Uses include monitoring, charging equipment, emissions reduction, studies, research, lawn equipment exchanges, and wood stove replacements. The Trip Reduction Program also falls $30,000. Separately, up to $23,300 remains available after that year only for the Utah Transit Authority Trip Reduction Program.
The law awards the Bear Lake Commission $100,000 in fiscal year 2025 for natural resource management and coordination. The grant includes $45,000 from the General Fund and $55,000 from the Sovereign Lands Management Account. Idaho must match Utah's funding dollar for dollar.
For fiscal year 2025, federal Superfund cleanup work falls $964,800, petroleum tank cleanup $1.2167 million, and tank compliance $602,600. Tank Public Assistance gains $770,000. Hazardous Waste falls $304,700, Solid Waste $69,000, Radiation $90,800, Low Level Radioactive Waste $134,000, and Used Oil $51,500. Up to $1.56 million in prior funding remains available after that year for database updates, field equipment, and operator certification. Another $650,000 remains available for listed capital work, outreach, data systems, and radiation detection.
For fiscal year 2025, Environmental Quality's executive office administration falls $1.488 million, while Laboratory Services falls $475,700. Up to $1.3 million in prior office funding remains available after that year. It is limited to an administrative law judge, capital improvements, software, document management, equipment, and opposition to high-level nuclear waste. Separately, up to $250,000 in prior funding remains available after that year only for Laboratory Services.
For fiscal year 2025, the law adds $13,400 for Fire Management and $484,500 for Forest Management. It adds $1.269 million for Lone Peak Center and $74,600 for Program Delivery. It cuts Lands Management by $211,300 and Project Management by $26.2233 million. Up to $25.8707 million in earlier funding remains available after fiscal year 2025 for specified projects. Those uses include fire, stewardship, sovereign lands, and Catfire projects.
The Natural Resources budget for funds passed to outside groups falls $6.6307 million for fiscal year 2025. Separately, up to $6.0074 million in prior funding remains available after that year. That money is limited to state wolf management, Utah County fire recovery, and the Utah Lake Authority.
For fiscal year 2025, the law cuts the Natural Resources Executive Director budget by $2.3753 million. It adds $67,300 to the Public Information Office budget. Up to $2.2 million in earlier appropriations remains available after fiscal year 2025 for specified uses. Those uses include equipment, expenses, supplies, work on federal overreach, and a water infrastructure study.
For fiscal year 2025, Water Quality Support falls $830,000 and Water Quality Protection falls $703,800. Drinking Water System Assistance falls $211,800, while the Safe Drinking Water Act program gains $4,100. Up to $1.5506 million in prior funding remains available after that year for monitoring, studies, temporary staff, and a compliance database. Another $200,000 remains available only for drinking water source-sizing requirements. These changes do not set household water rates.
Wildlife Resources can keep $1.3 million in prior funding after fiscal year 2025. It is limited to $700,000 for big-game damage, $400,000 for Great Salt Lake and Utah Lake waterbirds, and $200,000 for predator-plan work. Up to $599,400 also remains available for fish hatchery operations and maintenance. The Species Protection budget falls $400,000 for fiscal year 2025. Separately, up to $400,000 in prior funding remains available after that year only for species protection projects.
The law directs Natural Resources to award Hunter Nation $250,000 in fiscal year 2025 for state wolf management. Payments are available only as reimbursements. Hunter Nation must provide requested reimbursement records without redactions. The grant does not provide direct household payments.
For fiscal year 2025, Animal Health gains $411,900, Meat Inspection $101,000, and the agriculture Analytical Laboratory $2,500. Weights and Measures gains $181,100, Food Inspection $24,600, and Dairy Inspection $161,700. Regulatory Services Administration falls $95,200, while Bedding and Upholstered falls $305,500. After that year, up to $712,400 in prior animal-program funding remains for training, incentives, equipment, supplies, technology upgrades, and projects or studies. Prior funds also remain available: $200,000 for technology staffing and a regulatory computer system, and $20,000 for laboratory training, incentives, equipment, and supplies.
The law awards West Panguitch Irrigation Company a one-time $5 million grant in fiscal year 2025 to replace Panguitch Dam. The replacement must meet minimum standards. The company must keep its water rights in good standing and follow past and present State Engineer water-rights orders. By November 1, 2025, it must install an approved measuring device and stilling well below its lowest diversion. It must also maintain that equipment.
For fiscal year 2025, the agriculture Commissioner's Office gains $87,600, while Administrative Services falls $314,100. Marketing and Development also falls $479,200. Up to $250,000 in prior administration funding remains available after that year for training, incentives, projects, grants, scholarships, supplies, and equipment. Separately, up to $400,000 in prior marketing funding remains available only for employee training and grants.
For fiscal year 2025, Plant Industry Administration falls $330,400, while Feed, Fertilizer, and Seed falls $15,600. Grain Lab gains $112,600, Insect, Phyto, and Nursery gains $177,500, and Organics gains $155,300. Up to $375,000 in prior funding remains available after that year. It is limited to a regulatory database, equipment, and supplies.
For fiscal year 2025, Geological Survey Administration falls $825,200, its Board $500, and Energy and Minerals $678,400. Groundwater falls $52,300 and Technical Services $332,800, while Geologic Hazards gains $296,200. Up to $1.2722 million in prior funding remains available after that year. Project caps are $315,900 for Bonneville Salt Flats restoration, $380,000 for critical minerals, $289,300 for Great Salt Lake groundwater, and $137,000 for grant matching. Support caps are $25,000 for current expenses, $50,000 for equipment and supplies, $50,000 for software, and $25,000 for training and incentives.
For fiscal year 2025, the law adds $261,900 for Oil, Gas, and Mining administration and $698,200 for Minerals Reclamation. It cuts the Coal Program by $820,400 and the Oil and Gas Program by $960,100. It also cuts the division's general carryover budget line by $3.1683 million. Up to $1.15 million in earlier funding remains available after fiscal year 2025 for specified uses. These include board improvements, training, equipment, mining improvements, and special mining projects.
For fiscal year 2025, Rangeland Improvement Projects falls $331,300, while grazing program administration gains $28,800. Invasive Species Mitigation falls $144,100, and Predatory Animal Control falls $101,600. Up to $75,000 in prior funding remains available after that year only for invasive species projects. Another $144,500 remains available only for predator-control equipment and supplies.
David P. Hinkins
Republican • Senate
Stewart E. Barlow
Republican • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 102 • No: 0
House vote • 1/30/2025
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 74 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/29/2025
Senate/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/29/2025
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Yes: 28 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/28/2025
Senate/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • Unknown
Senate/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • Unknown
Senate/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Governor Signed
Senate/ to Governor
Senate/ received enrolled bill from Printing
Senate/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from Senate for Enrolling
Senate/ signed by President/ sent for enrolling
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ signed by Speaker/ returned to Senate
House/ passed 3rd reading
House/ 3rd reading
House/ 2nd reading
House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar
House/ 1st reading (Introduced)
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ uncircled
Senate/ circled
Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ lifted from Rules
Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)
Senate/ received fiscal note from Fiscal Analyst
Enrolled
2/10/2025
Introduced
1/20/2025