All Roll Calls
Yes: 101 • No: 0
Sponsored By: Brady Brammer (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
16 provisions identified: 11 benefits, 1 costs, 4 mixed.
For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, Utah provides $218.214 million for courts and related services. Court administration gets $180.9252 million, while contracts and leases get $22.1883 million. The budget includes $11.7499 million for guardian ad litem services, $3.3498 million for jury and witness fees, and $800 for grand jury costs. The law also provides $4.0727 million for court programs for the year ending June 30, 2025. These budgets fund services and payments; they do not set new individual payment rates.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah provides $119.5751 million for Emergency Management and $10 million for Emergency and Disaster Management. The law also makes $150,000 in carried-over funds available for National Guard response. It transfers $2 million from the General Fund to the Emergency Medical Services System Account. The local emergency-response loan fund lists a $7.9975 million opening balance and $200,000 in interest income, with an $8.1975 million closing balance. Those loans serve eligible local governments, not households; these provisions do not create direct household payments.
The law provides about $32.1 million to the Utah Communications Authority for July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. This includes $10 million for the 911 Division and about $22.1 million for the Administrative Services Division. The money supports statewide emergency communications used by residents and public safety agencies. This funding does not specify changes to individual fees or payments to households.
For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, Utah provides $215.6642 million across four public safety budgets. Driver licensing gets $4.1308 million, officer training $6.5776 million, programs and operations $187.4529 million, and criminal identification $17.5029 million. Beginning July 1, 2025, additional program budgets provide $2.8219 million for aviation, $5.5511 million for department grants, and $3.9388 million for fire operations. Commercial vehicle patrol gets $5.8095 million, safety inspections $1.261 million, and the DNA Specimen Account receives a $216,000 transfer. For the year ending June 30, 2025, licensing receives $1.6998 million, highway safety $42,800, operations $3.6003 million, and criminal identification $1.7149 million. Officer training funding is reduced by $109,900 that year. These appropriations do not establish new household fees.
For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, Utah provides $58.1932 million across Attorney General, Children's Justice Centers, contract attorney, and prosecution council budgets. Beginning July 1, 2025, internal service budgets provide $41.9591 million for civil work, $13.8323 million for child protection, and $13.0182 million for criminal division work. Separate funds receive $2.0364 million for litigation, $1.225 million for financial-crimes work, and $115,100 for crime and violence prevention. For the year ending June 30, 2025, Attorney General programs receive a net $1.2043 million, contract attorneys $650,000, and the prosecution council $150,000. Children's Justice Centers receive a net reduction of $255,500 that year. The law also adds $486,100 to the litigation fund for that year. These budgets fund state legal services rather than direct household payments.
For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, Utah provides $477.7374 million for corrections. This includes $53.896 million for administration, $54.9689 million for jail contracts, and $117.1515 million for probation and parole. Prison operations get $212.2683 million, while reentry and rehabilitation get $39.4527 million. Separate budgets provide $18.9951 million for Correctional Industries and $88,000 for the Indigent Inmate Trust Fund. For the year ending June 30, 2025, administration receives $3.4398 million and jail contracting receives $565,800. That year's county jail contracting reserve falls by $500,000.
The law directs Utah Corrections to give My Story Matters $450,000 for its Captain Your Story initiative. The grant uses money provided in House Bill 2, 2024 General Session, Item 6. It funds the initiative, not direct payments to households.
For fiscal year 2025, Utah Public Safety must give YWCA Utah $500,000 for security infrastructure. It must also provide $250,000 total in grants to rape crisis centers for sexual assault prevention. The Utah Office for Victims of Crime helps with the prevention grants. Funding comes from House Bill 3, 2024 General Session: Item 137 for security and Item 139 for prevention. These grants go to organizations, not directly to households.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah transfers $1.5 million from the General Fund to the Employment Incentive Restricted Account. The account also lists a $4.5 million opening balance. The provision does not identify recipients, explain eligibility, or establish direct household payments.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah provides $9.2478 million for local alcohol law enforcement and treatment. The money comes from the Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement and Treatment Account. The Alcoholic Beverage Control Act Enforcement Fund receives $8.195 million beginning July 1, 2025. It also receives $1.9699 million for the year ending June 30, 2025. These appropriations do not change consumer prices, access rules, or individual treatment eligibility.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah transfers $9.6352 million to the Indigent Defense Resources Account. Money in that account can be spent only through an authorized appropriation. The law provides $2.0247 million for appeals defense: $156,300 from the General Fund and $1.8684 million from that account. It also provides $7,500 for the Child Welfare Parental Defense Fund for July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026. These provisions fund legal defense services but do not set new eligibility rules or individual award amounts.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah provides $40.9597 million for driver records, driver services, motorcycle safety, and uninsured-motorist programs. The amounts are $11.8378 million, $25.8187 million, $670,000, and $2.6332 million, respectively. The law also provides $10.1103 million for highway safety and transfers $50,000 to the road-rage awareness and prevention account. These budgets fund services and safety programs without changing license eligibility, insurance rules, or household payment amounts.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Utah transfers $12 million to the Victim Services Restricted Account. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, the law also provides $10.2049 million for the Crime Victim Reparations Fund. These funds support victim services and help for eligible crime victims. The provisions do not set new eligibility rules, individual award amounts, or specific service allocations.
The law provides $600,000 for Board of Pardons and Parole operations for the year ending June 30, 2025. For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, it provides $8.165 million. The money supports board operations, not direct household payments.
The law cuts Utah Correctional Industries funding by $572,500 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. It does not state how the cut changes activities or affects people in correctional facilities.
For July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, Utah provides $72.2656 million across Governor's Office criminal justice budgets. This includes $12.7791 million for jail reimbursement, $50.5246 million for criminal and juvenile justice commission programs, and $8.9619 million for indigent defense commission programs. Beginning July 1, 2025, the law also provides $301,400 for pretrial release programs without changing who qualifies for release. For the year ending June 30, 2025, adjustments total $9.6726 million. They include $8.2824 million for commission programs, $773,500 for indigent defense, and $724,500 for jail reimbursement. Funding for factual innocence payments falls by $107,800.
Brady Brammer
Republican • Senate
Gwynn, Matthew H.
Affiliation unavailable
All Roll Calls
Yes: 101 • No: 0
House vote • 1/30/2025
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 74 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/29/2025
Senate/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/29/2025
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Yes: 27 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/28/2025
Senate/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • Unknown
Senate/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • Unknown
Senate/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Governor Signed
Senate/ to Governor
Senate/ received enrolled bill from Printing
Senate/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from Senate for Enrolling
Senate/ signed by President/ sent for enrolling
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ signed by Speaker/ returned to Senate
House/ passed 3rd reading
House/ 3rd reading
House/ 2nd reading
House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar
House/ 1st reading (Introduced)
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ uncircled
Senate/ circled
Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ lifted from Rules
Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)
Senate/ received fiscal note from Fiscal Analyst
Enrolled
2/10/2025
Introduced
1/20/2025