VermontS.3232025-2026 SessionSenateWALLET

An act relating to miscellaneous agricultural subjects

Sponsored By: Sponsor information unavailable

Signed by Governor

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

15 provisions identified: 6 benefits, 4 costs, 5 mixed.

Farm and forestry businesses can seek loans

Beginning July 1, 2026, Vermont's Agricultural Credit Program provides direct loans and shares in loans for eligible farm and forestry projects. Financing covers ownership, operating, and refinancing needs, including credit needs conventional lenders do not fully meet on reasonable terms. Farmers, forest-products businesses, and qualifying entities can apply; applicable entity rules require at least 20% farmer, forest-business, or nonprofit ownership. Applicants need experience or training, creditworthiness, security, insurance, legal compliance, and enough projected cash flow to repay. A borrower's total outstanding principal across all Authority loans cannot exceed $5 million.

Farm permit holders get operating fee relief

Beginning July 1, 2026, the law removes the requirement to pay the covered $2,500 large-farm annual operating fee. It also removes the covered $1,500 annual fee for medium-farm permit or coverage holders. Fees collected under these provisions go into the Agricultural Water Quality Special Fund.

Hemp businesses get recognition, registration and fees

Effective on passage, the law replaces Vermont's old hemp chapter with Cannabis Control Board oversight and recognizes hemp as an agricultural product. Growers must register and follow Required Agricultural Practices; processors, including cannabinoid traders and processing intermediaries, must get licenses. Before Vermont sales, products containing or reasonably expected to contain more than 0.4 mg THC must be registered. Each application or annual renewal costs $50 for producers, $500 for processors, or $75 per product. Low-risk, shelf-stable products can get longer registrations at the same yearly rate; fees and civil penalties support the Cannabis Regulation Fund. The Board can deny applications for legal violations, refused inspections, missing requested information, or unpaid fees.

Tobacco-free hemp products get tax exemption

The law exempts qualifying hemp and hemp products from the specified state tax when they contain no tobacco. Products containing tobacco do not qualify. The provision does not state the tax rate or promise a specific price reduction for buyers.

Dairy farmers can challenge lost buyers

Beginning July 1, 2026, Vermont dairy producers gain hearing rights when contracted buyers plan to stop purchases. Refusals based on oversupply or other reasonable grounds require 90 days' written notice. Producers with verbal or written contracts can request a hearing within 90 days after receiving notice. A challenged refusal cannot take effect until the Secretary of Agriculture holds a hearing and rules for the buyer.

Conservation districts gain borrowing and property powers

Beginning July 1, 2026, conservation districts can borrow money and mortgage, sell, lease, or otherwise dispose of district property. These actions must support the purposes of the governing law. The law removes the ban on mortgaging real estate. Districts no longer need the Governor's written consent to dispose of real property.

Local food grants help schools and childcare

Beginning July 1, 2026, the Rozo McLaughlin Farm-to-School Program supports local food purchases, child nutrition, and farm education. Schools, districts, consortia, registered or licensed childcare providers, and assisting organizations can receive grants or contracts. Each award generally cannot exceed 20% of the year's available funds. The Secretary can approve larger awards for farm-to-school service providers. Qualifying districts or consortia merged by July 1, 2019, can also receive larger awards to reach additional district schools.

Craft processors lose licensing fee relief

Beginning January 1, 2028, the Cannabis Control Board loses its specified authority to waive or reduce craft processor licensing fees. Craft processor applicants lose access to that fee relief. The provision does not state the underlying licensing fee.

Unregistered hemp shipments face fines and prison

Hemp or cannabis bought by mail, phone, or electronic network cannot be shipped unregistered when registration is legally required. Such material can only be shipped to a licensed Vermont cannabis laboratory. Providing substantial help is also banned when a person knows or has reason to know of the violation. Knowing or intentional violations can bring up to five years in prison, a $5,000 fine, or both. Civil penalties can reach $5,000 per shipment, with court orders, cost recovery, and repayment of unlawful gains also available.

Vermont ends its pest control compact

On July 1, 2026, the law repeals Vermont's Pest Control Compact. The provided text does not identify changes to household costs or pest control services.

Farm lending loses specified credit line authority

Beginning July 1, 2026, the law removes a specified Vermont Jobs Fund credit line authority for agricultural lending. That authority allowed the Vermont Economic Development Authority to lend the Agricultural Credit Program up to $100 million. The text does not state how much of that credit line was used or establish an actual lending reduction.

Pesticide applicants pay fees, get unlimited retakes

Beginning July 1, 2026, commercial, noncommercial, and government pesticide applicators pay $30 per certification category or subcategory, capped at $120. Class A and B dealer licenses cost $50 each, and a pesticide company license costs $75. Covered dealer and applicator exams cost $25 per attempt, not just on the second and third attempts. Applicants can retake private, commercial, noncommercial, government, and dealer exams without an attempt limit.

Large livestock farms get inspection training standards

Beginning July 1, 2026, the law sets steps for concentrated animal feeding operation inspection standards and staff training. The Secretary of Natural Resources must hire a third-party consultant by March 1, 2027. The consultant helps develop standards, trains natural resources and agriculture staff, and joins 10 inspections once inspections begin. Farmers who qualify for these permits can attend training voluntarily. This work depends on a fiscal year 2027 General Fund appropriation to the Agency of Natural Resources.

Bulk seed buyers get clearer labels

Beginning July 1, 2026, bulk seed displays must carry the same information required on seed containers. This covers agricultural, flower, grass, and vegetable seeds, including mixtures. Buyers gain access to product information, while sellers must label bins and other bulk displays. Certain seed-law violations can bring administrative penalties of up to $250 per offense.

Hemp products face safety rules and enforcement

The Cannabis Control Board must set hemp processor rules and prevent contamination from shared hemp-and-cannabis equipment. It can set testing, label, sanitation, insurance, additive, sales, age, and false-claim rules, with exemptions for craft processors when safe. After notice, registered growers and licensed processors must arrange lawful disposal, treatment, or destruction of hemp exceeding federal THC limits. The Board can inspect businesses, records, vehicles, and products and take samples; enforcement inspectors must show credentials. Products that violate hemp rules can face orders stopping sale, processing, or movement, with appeals due within 15 days. The Board can assess administrative penalties, including for missing credentials, and collect final penalties through Superior Court.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsors

There is no primary sponsor on record.

Cosponsors

There are no cosponsors for this bill.

Roll Call Votes

No roll call votes available for this bill.

Actions Timeline

  1. Senate Message: Signed by Governor June 18, 2026

    5/29/2026Senate
  2. Signed by Governor on June 18, 2026

    5/29/2026Senate
  3. Delivered to Governor on June 12, 2026

    5/29/2026Senate
  4. Senate Message: House proposal of amendment concurred in

    5/28/2026Senate
  5. Rules suspended & messaged to House forthwith, on motion of Senator Baruth

    5/28/2026Senate
  6. As passed by Senate and House

    5/28/2026Senate
  7. House proposal of amendment concurred in

    5/28/2026Senate
  8. House proposal of amendment; text

    5/28/2026Senate
  9. House proposal of amendment

    5/28/2026Senate
  10. House proposal of amendment

    5/27/2026Senate
  11. Entered on Notice Calendar

    5/27/2026Senate
  12. House message: House passed bill in concurrence with proposal(s) of amendment

    5/26/2026House
  13. Rules suspended and bill messaged forthwith to the Senate as moved by Rep. McCoy of Poultney

    5/22/2026House
  14. Read third time and passed in concurrence with proposal of amendment

    5/22/2026House
  15. Rules suspended and bill placed in all remaining stages of passage as moved by Rep. McCoy of Poultney

    5/22/2026House
  16. Third Reading ordered

    5/22/2026House
  17. Report of Committee on Agriculture, Food Resiliency, and Forestry, as amended, agreed to

    5/22/2026House
  18. Report of the Committee on Agriculture, Food Resiliency, and Forestry, as amended, amended as recommended by the Committee on Appropriations

    5/22/2026House
  19. Report of Committee on Agriculture, Food Resiliency, and Forestry amended as recommended by Committee on Ways and Means

    5/22/2026House
  20. Rep. Stevens of Waterbury recommended for the Committee on Appropriations

    5/22/2026House
  21. Rep. Kimbell of Woodstock recommended for the Committee on Ways and Means

    5/22/2026House
  22. Rep. Nelson of Derby reported for the Committee on Agriculture, Food Resiliency, and Forestry

    5/22/2026House
  23. Read second time

    5/22/2026House
  24. Rules suspended and taken up for immediate consideration as moved by Rep. McCoy of Poultney

    5/22/2026House
  25. Notice Calendar: Favorable with Amendment

    5/22/2026House

Bill Text

  • As Enacted (ACT 178)Opens in a new window

    6/22/2026

  • As Passed by Both Chambers

    6/5/2026

  • As Passed by Both Chambers (Unofficial)

    6/5/2026

  • House Proposal of Amendment

    6/4/2026

  • House Proposal of Amendment (Unofficial)

    6/4/2026

  • As Passed by the Senate

    3/30/2026

  • As Passed by the Senate (Unofficial)

    3/30/2026

  • As Introduced

    1/28/2026

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation