All Roll Calls
Yes: 260 • No: 0
Sponsored By: Joe Ellington (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
8 provisions identified: 2 benefits, 4 costs, 2 mixed.
Beginning April 10, 2025, PROMISE applicants generally must finish high school in West Virginia and earn at least half their graduation credits there. Students need at least a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale in both core courses and overall required coursework. Home-school applicants also must complete specified core and elective coursework in both grades 11 and 12. Qualifying military dependents and students commuting to out-of-state schools are exempt from the in-state graduation and credit rules. The student and a parent or legal guardian must meet West Virginia residency requirements, subject to exceptions including military dependents. The supplied text does not state the required residency duration.
Beginning April 10, 2025, psychiatric mental health nurse practitioners join the professions eligible to seek mental health loan repayment help. The supplied text does not state repayment amounts or the program's other eligibility requirements.
Beginning April 10, 2025, the degree authorization rule allows one or more listed grounds to establish good cause. The supplied text does not identify those grounds. The rule also preserves due-process and other protections for proprietary schools under state law and existing rules.
Beginning April 10, 2025, West Virginia medical student loan recipients must be U.S. citizens or legal immigrants actively pursuing U.S. citizenship. Other noncitizen students do not meet this requirement. The supplied text does not state loan amounts or other eligibility terms.
Beginning April 10, 2025, one mental health loan repayment provision changes “at least” to “up to.” This turns a stated minimum into a maximum. The supplied text does not identify the amount or measure being limited.
Beginning April 10, 2025, public college boards cannot carry out campus plans or updates without state confirmation or approval. The Higher Education Policy Commission confirms plans for its institutions; the community and technical college council approves its institutions' plans. Acquiring property for a facility outside an existing plan requires an approved or confirmed update before acquisition. This covers purchases and other ways of acquiring property. Project funding priorities must follow those plans, promote efficient space use, and consider facility use rates. Schools gain presumptive priority for new facilities when both net asset value and capacity use meet or exceed annual agency thresholds.
Beginning April 10, 2025, West Virginia repeals both higher education agencies' rules on accepting Advanced Placement credit. These are the commission rule filed January 22, 2019, and the community college council rule filed September 26, 2018. The supplied text does not identify replacement policies or establish whether students receive more or fewer credits.
Beginning April 10, 2025, West Virginia repeals both higher education agencies' Accountability System rules. These are the commission rule filed October 4, 2019, and the community college council rule filed July 26, 2023. The supplied text does not describe their requirements or replacement policies. It does not establish a change in student costs or school performance.
Joe Ellington
Republican • House
Clark, T.
Affiliation unavailable
Kathie Hess Crouse
Republican • House
Lori Dittman
Republican • House
Michael Hornby
Republican • House
D. Rolland Jennings
Republican • House
Phil Mallow
Republican • House
Pritt
Affiliation unavailable
Joe Statler
Republican • House
Christopher W. Toney
Republican • House
Jimmy Willis
Republican • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 260 • No: 0
House vote • 4/10/2025
House concurred in Senate effective date (Roll No. 452)
Yes: 99 • No: 0
Senate vote • 4/8/2025
Effective from passage (Roll No. 368)
Yes: 33 • No: 0
Senate vote • 4/8/2025
Passed Senate (Roll No. 367)
Yes: 33 • No: 0
House vote • 3/20/2025
Passed House (Roll No. 124)
Yes: 95 • No: 0
Chapter 146, Acts, Regular Session, 2025
Approved by Governor 4/25/2025
To Governor 4/15/2025
To Governor 4/15/2025 - House Journal
To Governor 4/15/2025 - Senate Journal
Approved by Governor 4/25/2025 - House Journal
Approved by Governor 4/25/2025 - Senate Journal
House Message received
House received Senate message
House concurred in Senate effective date (Roll No. 452)
Communicated to Senate
Completed legislative action
On 3rd reading
Read 3rd time
Passed Senate (Roll No. 367)
Effective from passage (Roll No. 368)
Senate requests House to concur in changed effective date
On 2nd reading
Read 2nd time
Reported do pass
Immediate consideration
Read 1st time
Introduced in Senate
To Education
To Education
Engrossed
Enrolled
Introduced Version
HB 2451, To facilitate the creation of home-based businesses
SB 464, Creating license plate for recipients of Medal of Valor
SB 138, Enhancing penalties for fleeing officer
SB 270, Declaring sale and manufacture of firearms essential business during declared emergency
SB 196, Lauren's Law
SB 102, Modifying form of certain deeds