West VirginiaSB 10652026 Regular SessionSenateWALLET

Reforming licenses related to sale of alcohol and nonintoxicating alcohol products

Sponsored By: Patricia Rucker (Republican)

Failed

§11-16-6B§11-16-6C§11-16-9§11-16-11A§17C-5D-3§60-2-17B§60-3A-12§60-3A-17§60-3A-19§60-4-3A§60-4-3B§60-7-2§60-7-2A§60-7-6§60-7-8B§60-7-8C§60-7-8D§60-7-8E§60-7-8F§60-7-8G§60-7-15§60-8-2§60-8-3§60-8-3A§60-8-6A§60-8-6B§60-8-6C§60-8-6D§60-8-6G§60-8-16§60-8-32§60-8-34§60-8A-5House Finance

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

63 provisions identified: 23 benefits, 8 costs, 32 mixed.

Private venues pay annual license fees

Private venues licensed under West Virginia's private-club article pay $2,000 in annual license fees. Private sports venues licensed under that article pay $3,000 annually.

Lodging businesses get new alcohol license fees

The law removes the old private hotel and resort hotel categories and provides a private accommodation license. Hotels, bed and breakfasts, and short-term rentals may license up to two areas at $2,500 per area yearly. Resort hotels may license three to 20 areas at $2,500 per area yearly. Resort areas beyond 20 cost $1,000 each yearly. The fee includes on-site nonintoxicating beer and craft beer sales without an extra Class A fee.

Food trucks face fewer alcohol barriers

Food trucks no longer need 10 members or $200 in food inventory, and generator-powered kitchens are allowed. Each location needs local approval, defined boundaries, reported locations, and hours within the applicable private club limits. Trucks need a hot plate, air fryer, or microwave; hot and cold running water; utensils; and 10-cubic-foot cold storage separate from alcohol. Food must be available throughout operating hours, and only bona fide employees may sell or serve alcohol. Beer must come from authorized local distributors or resident brewers; wine and cider from authorized distributors or wineries; liquor from retailers in the home or neighboring market zone.

Grocery beer pickup loses yearly fee

Beginning July 1, 2026, qualifying Class B grocery dealers no longer pay the $250 annual parking pickup permit fee. Dealers must be in good standing, apply, qualify, and obtain the permit. Stores must have over $100,000 in fresh produce and saleable food fit for people to eat. Pickup areas must adjoin the licensed premises or be within 500 feet. Staff must verify that the order placer and any different pickup person are at least 21 and not noticeably intoxicated.

More businesses qualify to sell wine

Wine retailer licenses are no longer limited to grocery store or wine specialty shop owners. Qualifying applicants include owners of grocery stores, retailers, private wine venues, and private club types. Licensed retailers and private wine venues can make retail wine sales. Wineries and farm wineries can also sell at retail after obtaining a retailer's license. Applicants and sellers remain subject to the applicable licensing rules.

More venues can seek alcohol licenses

Private accommodations, private venues, and private sports venues can qualify for private club alcohol licenses. Each category has its own facility, food-service, property-size, and floorplan requirements. Alcohol sales, service, and drinking stay within the licensed premises. The Division of Natural Resources and specified public entities can also lease limited park or airport space for private clubs.

Sports complexes gain mobile alcohol sales

Open-air multi-sport complexes used mainly for sports or reserved events can seek private club alcohol licenses. They need 100 members, 50 connected bounded or fenced acres, and a restaurant and full kitchen with fresh-food inventory. The floorplan must cover the licensed land; applicants must identify a property owner and use approved age checks. Temporary food vendors may sell only food in areas not readily reached by the main facility. Licensees can sell liquor and nonintoxicating beer from golf carts or food trucks they own or lease and operate on licensed premises.

Wedding venues can seek alcohol licenses

Wedding venues and barns open only for reserved weddings can apply for private club licenses. They need at least 25 members and two acres, with events primarily booked or contracted in advance. They must provide fresh food through a full kitchen or adequate caterer, with catering documents submitted before event approval. The remote location needs commissioner approval, and the floorplan must include the property and adjoining structures. Operators must identify a property owner, use approved age checks, and meet the remaining private club requirements.

Beer retailers pay higher yearly fees

Class A beer retail dealers pay $500 per location each year, up from $150. The former $150 rate for qualifying nonprofit social, fraternal, and private clubs is removed. Class B beer retail dealers pay $250 per location each year, up from $150. Class B licenses cover chilled and unchilled beer sales.

Liquor retailers and clubs pay more

Class A and Class B liquor retail licenses cost $3,000 each year, up from $2,000. New licensees pay the full initial-year fee, even when only part of the license year remains. Covered fraternal groups, veterans' organizations, and nonprofit social clubs pay $1,000 yearly, up from $750. That club fee includes on-site nonintoxicating beer and craft beer sales and related Class A privileges without another fee.

Outdoor businesses face immediate permit loss

The commissioner can immediately suspend or revoke an outdoor-area permit before giving notice or holding a hearing. The commissioner can grant some waivers or exceptions, but cannot waive the requirements of §60-7-12.

Wine retailers and venues face fees

A wine retailer's special wines license costs $500 yearly, up from $250. This fee is added to other license fees. A private wine venue pays $500 yearly for each location where it sells wine. Each location needs a separate license. The venue fee replaces the former fees for private wine bed and breakfasts, restaurants, and spas.

Distilleries gain direct distribution with payments

Beginning July 1, 2030, licensed distilleries, mini-distilleries, and micro-distilleries can distribute directly to licensed private venues. Destinations must be in their own or a neighboring market zone. The commissioner can approve distribution to a zone otherwise locked out because of its location. Distilleries owe a market-zone payment of 2% of gross sales, capped at $15,000 per distillery yearly. Applicable taxes, markups, and fees also remain.

Farmers markets gain licenses and responsibility

Qualifying farmers market associations can obtain licenses for on-site alcohol sales and consumption, including specified special events. Associations need a retailer selling West Virginia-made products, at least two unrelated vendor applicants, and more than one contiguous acre of bounded or fenced property. A member must run a separately licensed private venue restaurant serving fresh food at least 15 hours weekly. Associations need adequate restrooms and security plans covering alcohol service, age and intoxication checks, and public safety; only their employees, contractors, or volunteers can buy, sell, or serve alcohol. Every member business must accept written responsibility for alcohol activity throughout the licensed indoor and outdoor premises.

Food courts gain shared alcohol licenses

Qualifying food court associations can obtain alcohol licenses covering their identified premises. They need a separately licensed private venue restaurant with a full kitchen, capable of serving fresh food at least 15 hours weekly, and an unrelated business applicant. Licensed members must accept written responsibility for alcohol activity throughout the premises. Associations must identify the facility and connected structures on a floorplan and provide adequate restrooms and a security plan. Only employees, contractors, or volunteers can purchase, sell, furnish, or serve alcohol.

Grocery wine pickup requires paid permits

Off-premises grocery wine retailers in good standing can obtain a Class B privilege for sealed wine ordered online or by app. Stores must hold more than $100,000 in fresh produce and saleable food inventory. The annual permit costs $250, with no refund or prorating. Pickup must occur in a licensed parking area beside the store or within 500 feet; the latter needs signs for prior-order customers. Before loading wine, staff must verify that the orderer and any different pickup person are at least 21 and not noticeably intoxicated.

More outdoor drinking options with safeguards

Municipalities can create outdoor drinking areas by ordinance and set zoning, safety, and operating rules. Class A private wine venues can apply for Class S4 permits, generally costing $100 annually, without refunds or prorating. Applicants must submit a certified ordinance; operators need local approval, good standing, restrooms, operating hours, security and alcohol-control plans, floorplans, approved age checks, and non-glass containers. Customers can carry and drink beverages between Class S4 or S4N businesses within the same area; Class S, S1, S2, and S3 licensees can participate with written permission and required permits and fees. Municipalities enforce criminal violations and report them to the commissioner, who handles permit and alcohol-law violations by permit holders.

Out-of-state wineries get limited event licenses

Out-of-state wineries can obtain temporary licenses to sample wine and sell sealed take-home containers at nonprofit one-day events. A $150 fee covers up to two events, with no refund or prorating; attendance is capped at four events annually without West Virginia winery licensure. Wineries must be licensed and in good standing at home and produce no more than 50,000 gallons annually. They must apply for each event, obtain a transportation permit, and pay applicable municipal, local, and sales taxes. Applications need winery and wine details, federal label approvals, and certified laboratory alcohol analyses; each approval is limited to its specified event.

Restaurants and wedding venues gain licenses

Restaurants primarily serving freshly prepared meals can qualify as private venues, with full kitchens and fresh food available throughout operating hours. Kitchens need ovens, four-burner ranges, and more than 50 cubic feet of refrigeration or freezer space, or walk-in facilities. Restaurants need approved bar-area age checks and generally two restrooms; authorized health or historic-building waivers can reduce that to one, and unaccompanied people under 18 cannot sit in bars but can dine for food and nonalcoholic drinks. Wedding venues and barns can qualify only for advance-reserved events, without daily or regular hours, and must provide fresh food through their own full kitchen or a caterer. Event venues need floorplans and control of safe, bounded and fenced premises approved by the commissioner; caterer lists or agreements must be submitted before catering-event approval.

Wine gift deliveries carry yearly caps

Active, good-standing retailers offering special wines can obtain a $250 privilege to deliver wine with gift baskets, without refunds or prorating. Deliveries are limited to the retailer's county, exclude dry areas, and cannot exceed two cases per person or address each year. Wine must stay sealed in its original container and be for personal use, not resale. Delivery must be made by the retailer's employee or officer aged at least 21, not an unlicensed third party; recipients must be verified as at least 21 and not noticeably intoxicated. Retailers must file monthly delivery returns and account for applicable sales and municipal taxes.

Wine venues expand with service limits

Commissioner-approved restaurants, spas or health facilities, bed-and-breakfasts, and short-term rentals can qualify as private wine venues. They must meet member-and-guest rules and cannot admit the general public. Restaurants and lodging venues must serve wine with food or meals; qualifying spas can serve up to two glasses with food or meals. Venues generally need two restrooms, but written waivers can reduce that requirement to one. Wineries and farm wineries holding the specified license are exempt from food-service requirements.

Wine venues gain limited take-home sales

Licensed private wine venues and club types can serve wine with food or meals to members and guests over 21. Private wine venues can also hold Class A nonintoxicating-beer licenses without an extra fee and receive Class A privileges. After a meal, customers can take home up to two resealed unfinished wine bottles; sealed-bottle sales are capped at one per person over 21. Businesses must remain in good standing to retain these meal-service and take-home wine privileges. With commissioner approval, a Class A wine venue-restaurant can operate a connected Class B take-home beer and wine shop with separate licenses, cash registers, and separation barriers.

More passengers get open-container exceptions

Passengers on pedal bikes and chartered buses are added to the listed exceptions to open-container prohibitions. The exception applies to passengers, not vehicle operators.

Winery farms keep agricultural property status

Adding a licensed winery or farm winery does not change an otherwise qualifying property's agricultural use. The property keeps its agricultural status for building-code and property-tax purposes. This does not make otherwise ineligible property agricultural.

Alcohol makers gain bar and restaurant licenses

An alcohol manufacturer’s bar or restaurant category replaces the private manufacturer club category, without the former 100-member minimum. Eligible licensed distilleries, wineries, farm wineries, breweries, and resident breweries can serve their own products for on-site drinking. They must offer tours and meet food-service, premises, floorplan, and property-owner disclosure requirements. An approved food truck or portable kitchen can meet required food-preparation needs throughout alcohol sales or sampling hours. Both the commissioner and the appropriate health department must approve that kitchen arrangement.

Beer sellers get six fee-free events

Beer licensees pay no fee for their first six separate events each year that extend their approved sales area. Each later event costs $50. Licensees must submit an application, event certification, and required information at least 15 days before the event.

Club bars lose minimum membership requirement

Private club bars no longer need at least 100 members. Their main function must remain alcohol sales and drinking on the licensed premises. Kitchens need a two-burner hot plate, air fryer, or microwave and a sink with hot and cold running water. They also need 17-cubic-foot refrigerator or freezer storage not used for alcohol. Food inventory must be prepared in the kitchen, and food must be available throughout operating hours.

Farm wineries can skip food service

Farm wineries can serve and sell wine without serving prepared food. That activity is exempt from local health department food-service requirements. Before each sale, staff must check proper identification and verify that the buyer is at least 21 and not visibly intoxicated.

Farmers markets gain event alcohol licenses

Private farmers market associations can seek alcohol licenses for sales and drinking on-site during special events. They need 100 members, two unrelated vendor applicants, and control of more than one connected bounded or fenced acre. A member restaurant must have a full kitchen, serve fresh food 15 hours weekly, and keep food inventory for events. The association must list its property and adjoining structures, provide restrooms and a security plan, and use approved age checks. Only its employees, contractors, or volunteers may buy, sell, furnish, or serve alcohol.

Golf clubs gain alcohol license routes

Private golf clubs can seek licenses covering indoor and outdoor alcohol sales on their listed property and adjoining structures. An 18-hole club needs a clubhouse, at least 100 members, and 80 connected acres; a nine-hole course needs 50 members and 30 connected acres. Each needs a restaurant and full kitchen with ovens serving fresh food at least 15 hours weekly. Property must be bounded or fenced and shown on the floorplan. Applicants must identify a property owner, use approved age checks, and meet the remaining private club requirements.

Growler sellers lose several yearly fees

Authorized craft cocktail growler sellers and covered retail wine growler sellers no longer pay their respective $100 annual growler fees. Authorized wineries and farm wineries selling only hard cider in growlers, with no other wine, avoid the $50 yearly fee. Beginning July 1, 2026, the $100 annual nonintoxicating beer and craft beer growler fee is also removed. Beer growler licensees must remain in good standing when applying and renewing. Licensed brewpubs were already exempt from that beer growler fee.

Liquor sellers can discount stagnant stock

Liquor sellers can request lower minimum prices for stock stagnant for over one year after purchase. The liquor must remain safe and fit to sell. Sellers must submit a written request, document the purchase date with an invoice, and get the commissioner's approval. Approved minimums are 85% of cost for specified licensed businesses and 90% for the public, instead of 115% and 110%. Sellers are not required to lower their prices.

More club lodging can offer mini-bars

Qualifying private clubs can offer locked mini-bars in rented short-term rooms to members and guests verified as 21 or older. Refrigerators cannot exceed 3.2 cubic feet. Stock limits are 144 fluid ounces of beer, 1.5 liters of wine or cider, and 1.5 liters of liquor. Liquor must use the listed bottle sizes; canned or packaged food is also allowed. Operators must use approved sellers, check mini-bars daily, replenish them as needed, and pay applicable markups, fees, and taxes.

Private clubs gain outdoor alcohol service

Private club licensees can serve liquor in clearly marked outdoor dining areas with prior commissioner approval. Areas must be within 300 feet, under the licensee’s control, and have entrances and exits. Outdoor street dining also needs municipal or county approval. Operators must submit revised floorplans and meet outdoor-dining requirements, including approved seasonal enclosure rules. Nonintoxicating beer and craft beer service requires separate licensing for those products.

Private clubs lose 100-member minimum

Clubs no longer need at least 100 approved or elected dues-paying members in good standing to meet this private-club definition. Other licensing requirements still apply.

Retailers gain take-home sales and tastings

Class A and B retail licenses include take-home nonintoxicating beer, craft beer, wine, and hard cider sales without extra fees. Related Class B take-home privileges are included, subject to the applicable beverage laws. Class A and B retail dealers and licensees can hold beer sampling events with written commissioner approval. Dealers must submit proposals at least five business days ahead. Sampling permits up to three servings totaling four ounces per brand; servers must be 21 or older, and events end by 9 p.m.

Tennis clubs gain alcohol license routes

Private tennis clubs can apply for private club licenses covering indoor and outdoor alcoholic-liquor sales on listed property. They need at least 100 members, four separate courts, and a clubhouse or similar building. They also need a restaurant, a full kitchen with ovens able to serve fresh food, and two connected acres. The property must be bounded or fenced and included with adjoining structures on the floorplan. Applicants must identify a property owner, use approved age checks, and meet the remaining private club requirements.

Wineries gain more serving and festival options

Authorized wineries can serve their wine on-site as samples, by the glass, or by the bottle for drinking by the glass. Patrons must be 21 or older and not intoxicated; samples must follow the stated serving limits. Winery and farm winery operators can serve hard cider on-site with a private wine venue or alcohol manufacturer venue license. Licensed West Virginia wineries can sell their own wine at approved private festival booths, with an own-wine agreement submitted five days ahead. Farm wineries can also sell and serve at other fairs and festivals; applicable retail requirements, markups, taxes, and fees remain.

College stadiums gain broader alcohol licensing

Qualifying college stadiums or their main food and beverage vendors can apply for private club alcohol licenses. Licenses cover stadium events, including temporarily hosted non-college sporting events. Venues must host NCAA Division I, II, or III sports and reserved events, without regular bar or restaurant hours. Applicants must meet membership, kitchen, property, ownership-disclosure, and approved age-check requirements. Sales stay within the stadium, including approved outdoor areas fenced or blocked against unauthorized entry.

Licensed alcohol businesses need approved age-checks

Businesses licensed under the private-club article must use an age-verification system approved by the commissioner. Applicable private club, club-type, private wine venue, and tavern requirements continue to apply.

Old restaurant and festival licenses end

The law removes the old private club restaurant and private fair and festival categories and their qualification rules. The removed restaurant rules included permission to serve members’ and guests’ wine for a corkage fee. The law also repeals the special alcohol license for multi-vendor private fairs and festivals. Operators can no longer rely on that specific special license for event sales.

Wine sales face overnight hour limits

Covered licensees cannot sell or deliver wine from 2:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. Licensed fair and festival wine tastings, samples, and take-home sales are also barred during those hours, including Sundays. In counties where the specified county approval applies, wineries, farm wineries, and private wine venues cannot sell wine from 2:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Wine clubs get free dinner licenses

Commissioner-approved wine clubs with at least 50 verified dues-paying members can obtain free tasting-dinner licenses. The host private wine venue or club type must agree to let the club bring wine. Wine must be lawfully bought from a retailer, winery, farm winery, or direct shipper. Clubs can serve moderate amounts to members and guests. Open wine can be removed, destroyed, or recorked and resealed.

Restaurant guests can bring limited wine

Qualifying restaurants can let members and guests bring wine for personal use. Each member or group of members and guests can bring no more than two sealed bottles or containers. The wine must come from an authorized wine retailer, retail-licensed winery or farm winery, or licensed direct shipper. Restaurants can charge up to $10 per bottle. Unconsumed wine can be corked and resealed for removal as allowed by law.

Alcohol businesses face revised fee coverage

The $100 annual wine and liquor operations fee, due July 1, applies to a revised license list. The list covers private club types, private wine venues, and wine retailers without the former “private” qualifier. It drops wine specialty shops, wine restaurants, private wine spas, and bed and breakfasts; multiple covered licenses still mean one fee. The law also removes the former semiannual prorating rule for beer licenses shorter than the July 1–June 30 year. This provision does not state the replacement short-period fee calculation.

Alcohol businesses gain limited marketing options

Licensed wineries and farm wineries can advertise the brands and prices of wines they produce. Ads must follow state and federal rules and cannot encourage excessive drinking or target minors. Licensed representatives of brewers, distributors, wine suppliers, wineries, distilleries, and liquor brokers can discuss their products at food truck locations. Those representatives cannot sell, give, or serve alcohol there.

Bakeries can sell alcohol-infused baked goods

Qualifying private bakeries can sell baked goods containing liquor, wine, nonintoxicating beer, or craft beer for on-site or take-home use. They cannot sell those beverages for customers to drink. Preparing baked goods must be the business's main function, with food inventory and edible food available throughout operating hours. Kitchens need a baking oven, four-burner range or hot plate, and a sink with hot and cold water. They also need a 17-cubic-foot refrigerator, freezer, or combination that is not used for alcohol cold storage.

Beer licenses expand but some options end

Selling liquor, allowing liquor consumption, or holding a federal liquor tax stamp does not block a nonintoxicating-beer license. Private club-type licenses include on-site sales of nonintoxicating beer and craft beer without an extra fee. Wine retailers can also obtain Class B nonintoxicating-beer retail licenses. The law removes the earlier Class A license option for certain grocery delicatessens, caterers, and party supply stores. Applicable beer-law requirements still apply.

Cocktail growlers expand but require food

Licensed private venue-restaurants and alcohol manufacturer venues can sell craft cocktail growlers and seek a separate delivery license. Each growler is capped at 128 fluid ounces, with up to one ounce of liquor per four ounces of mixer. Buyers must be 21 or older and not visibly or noticeably intoxicated. Sealed take-home growlers require food picked up in person or by vehicle, or a meal already eaten at the venue. Delivery requires both growler sales and delivery licenses, and orders must include prepared food or a meal.

Distillery barrel sales expand; fees change

Licensed distilleries, mini-distilleries, and micro-distilleries can sell commissioner-approved whole barrels without the usual 10-gallon-per-sale limit. Buyers transporting more than 10 gallons must carry proof of purchase, and other state sale and transport rules remain. The law removes the specified 5% wholesale markup and 80-cent-per-case bailment fee for customer sales. Distilleries still owe markup and handling fees set by commissioner rules and cannot charge below the commissioner’s price. Replacement fee amounts are not stated here, so net savings cannot be calculated.

Lodging businesses gain regulated minibar sales

Qualifying private accommodations can offer sealed alcohol and packaged food in guest-room minibars to members and guests verified as at least 21. Hotel, short-term-rental, and bed-and-breakfast minibars are capped at 1.6 cubic feet; resort hotel minibars at 3.2 cubic feet. Each category also has product quantity limits. Businesses must buy from the specified licensed distributors, authorized farm wineries, or licensed retail liquor outlets and charge required markups, fees, and taxes. Minibars must be checked daily and replenished as needed.

Pedal bars get strict operating limits

Qualified outdoor-area permit holders that also hold Class A licenses can operate commissioner-approved pedal-powered bars. Municipalities must approve alcohol sales and road use and provide the specified passenger exceptions to open-container and impaired-driving laws. Bikes can carry 10 to 16 patrons and use only streets with speed limits of 35 mph or less. Patrons must be verified as at least 21, drinks cannot use glass containers, and drivers cannot drink. Patrons can take designated-area cups off the bike only while staying inside the designated area.

Restaurants can cater alcohol with event limits

Approved private venue-restaurants operating daily can cater food and alcohol at approved unlicensed private venues, with local open-container approval. Caterers must send venue details, contracts, and a controlled-space floorplan to the commissioner at least seven days ahead. Venues need indoor food and drink facilities, adequate restrooms, and health, fire, safety, and zoning compliance. Alcohol must come from specified licensed sellers, and servers need certified training in age checks and recognizing intoxication. Each restaurant is limited to 15 events yearly at one unlicensed venue; before a 16th, that venue needs a permanent license.

Restaurants can host licensed charity liquor auctions

Licensed private venue-restaurants can partner with federally approved nonprofits to auction sealed rare, antique, or vintage liquor for take-home use. Auctions must support athletic, charitable, educational, scientific, or religious purposes, with at least 80% of net proceeds going directly to nonprofits. Joint applications are due at least 15 days ahead; both partners must be in good standing and receive commissioner approval. Each one-day license costs $150, with no refund or prorating. A venue-restaurant can receive no more than 12 such licenses yearly.

Special-wine retailers face stock requirements

Licensed retailers can sell table wine, special wines, wine accessories, and related food. Retailers offering special wines must maintain an inventory with at least 15% vintage or vintage-dated wine by bottle count. They must also stock qualifying port, sherry, and Madeira containing no more than 24% alcohol and aged in wooden barrels or casks. Wine is for take-home use unless tasting or sampling is separately authorized.

Wine and cider get growler options

Covered licensees can sell sealed wine growlers from their licensed premises for take-home personal use, not resale. Sellers must verify that buyers are at least 21 and not visibly intoxicated. Licensed West Virginia wineries and farm wineries can also sell their own hard cider in sealed wine growlers. These cider sales must follow wine-growler requirements and are also limited to personal use, not resale.

Wine sellers gain tastings with limits

Wine retailers pay no fee for tasting or sampling licenses; tasting licenses require at least 50 dues-paying club members in good standing. Retail sampling events need notice and permission 30 days ahead and can last at most six hours daily. Each consumer can receive six free samples daily, each no larger than three fluid ounces, at those events. Separately, authorized sellers can give intended growler buyers three free wine samples daily, each no larger than two fluid ounces. Growler sample recipients must be verified as at least 21 and not visibly or noticeably intoxicated.

Wineries gain approved nonprofit event sales

Licensed wineries and farm wineries in good standing can join nonprofit one-day events with written nonprofit authorization and prior commissioner approval. They can offer free tastings, sell wine by the glass or bottle for on-site use, and sell authorized sealed bottles to take home. Each patron can receive up to six samples of three fluid ounces each, within approved hours and the submitted floorplan. Heritage fairs and festivals can obtain special licenses to sell, serve, and sample wine donated by or purchased from licensed farm wineries. Heritage event applications must include required information and be filed at least 30 days before the event.

Wineries gain take-home sales with limits

Licensed wineries and farm wineries based and manufacturing in West Virginia can sell their own wine at their licensed premises. Take-home sales use sealed original-container kegs, bottles, cans, or growlers and are for personal use, not resale. Growler authority covers producers making no more than 10,000 gallons yearly; each growler holds at most 128 fluid ounces. Staff must inspect, sanitize, fill, seal, and label growlers, reject unsafe containers, and keep customers out of filling areas. Retailer taxes, fees, and requirements still apply; samples follow separate legal rules, and other on-site drinking needs separate authority or licensing.

Arena alcohol licenses exclude youth-focused events

Enclosed private coliseums and centers can seek private club alcohol licenses for venue events. They need 5,000 members, 80,000 square feet of event space, and two connected bounded or fenced acres. A restaurant and full kitchen with ovens capable of serving fresh food or meals are required. The land must appear on the floorplan, and the venue must meet its category’s remaining requirements. Alcohol sales are barred at events focused on people under 21—not simply events attended by some younger people.

College stadiums get paid wine licenses

Eligible college or university stadiums can obtain special licenses for on-site wine sales and service. The license costs $250 and lasts from issuance through the next June 30. Stadiums must be primarily used for sports events by Division I, II, or III NCAA member schools. The school or its contracted primary food and beverage vendor must apply at least 30 days before sales begin. Sales must stay within an enclosed stadium area that prevents unrestricted public entry.

Stadium alcohol licenses exclude amateur sports

Professional stadiums can seek private club licenses for association-affiliated or sponsored professional sports and reserved special events. They need 1,000 members, a restaurant and full kitchen with ovens, and three connected bounded or fenced acres. They cannot keep regular bar or restaurant hours. Applicants must list property on a floorplan, identify a property owner, use approved age checks, and meet private club requirements. These licensees cannot sell liquor, nonintoxicating beer, or craft beer while hosting or conducting nonprofessional sporting events.

Wine suppliers gain outlets, face limits

Wine distributors can supply retailers, grocery stores, private wine venues, private clubs, and private club types. They can also supply specified nonfortified dessert wines, port, sherry, and Madeira to authorized special-wine retailers and private venues or club types. Distributors must have their main business location and a distribution warehouse in West Virginia; hard-cider distributors cannot distribute other wine. Direct shippers cannot send wine to licensed suppliers, distributors, retailers, private wine venues, or private club types. That business-recipient ban is not a ban on shipments to individual consumers.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • Patricia Rucker

    Republican • Senate

Cosponsors

There are no cosponsors for this bill.

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 53 • No: 13

Senate vote • 3/3/2026

Passed Senate (Roll No. 307)

Yes: 20 • No: 13

Senate vote • 3/3/2026

Effective July 1, 2026 (Roll No. 308)

Yes: 33 • No: 0

Actions Timeline

  1. House received Senate message

    3/5/2026House
  2. Introduced in House

    3/5/2026House
  3. To Finance

    3/5/2026House
  4. To House Finance

    3/5/2026House
  5. Having been read 3rd time 3/2/2026

    3/3/2026Senate
  6. Passed Senate (Roll No. 307)

    3/3/2026Senate
  7. Title amendment adopted

    3/3/2026Senate
  8. Effective July 1, 2026 (Roll No. 308)

    3/3/2026Senate
  9. Ordered to House

    3/3/2026Senate
  10. On 3rd reading

    3/2/2026Senate
  11. Read 3rd time

    3/2/2026Senate
  12. Laid over on 3rd reading 3/2/2026

    3/2/2026Senate
  13. On 2nd reading

    2/27/2026Senate
  14. Read 2nd time

    2/27/2026Senate
  15. On 1st reading

    2/26/2026Senate
  16. Read 1st time

    2/26/2026Senate
  17. Committee substitute reported

    2/25/2026Senate
  18. Filed for introduction

    2/23/2026Senate
  19. To Finance

    2/23/2026Senate
  20. Introduced in Senate

    2/23/2026Senate
  21. To Finance

    2/23/2026Senate

Bill Text

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation