All Roll Calls
Yes: 120 • No: 5
Sponsored By: Joint Budget Committee
Enacted
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
17 provisions identified: 17 benefits, 0 costs, 0 mixed.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $75 million in Quick Action Closing Fund business incentives. It also provides $37.5 million in payroll rebates for companies opening or expanding Arkansas facilities. Those companies must hire and maintain specified employment levels; this provision does not list those levels. Another $6 million funds large economic development projects that qualify under Amendment 82 of the Arkansas Constitution.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Arkansas sets aside $142,266 for New Markets Performance Program application-fee refunds and reimbursements. Payments must repay an application fee for that program. The appropriation does not set an applicant’s refund amount or establish an automatic refund for every applicant.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $500,000 through the Minority and Women-Owned Business Loan Mobilization Revolving Fund. The funding supports these Arkansas businesses, including their ability to compete for state contracts. Unspent loan mobilization funds carry into the next fiscal year for the same purposes. These provisions do not state individual loan amounts, interest rates, or repayment terms.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Arkansas provides $800,000 for Fish and Wildlife Conservation Education grants and aid. The money comes from a treasury cash fund. This provision does not specify recipients, individual awards, or eligibility details.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Arkansas provides $5 million in cash-fund grants to law enforcement agencies and associations. The funding goes to agencies and associations, not directly to households. This provision does not set individual grant awards.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Arkansas provides $50,000 from the Animal Rescue and Shelter Trust Fund. Counties and cities can receive grants for animal rescue or shelter infrastructure. Grant decisions must be based only on those infrastructure needs. The provision does not specify individual grant amounts.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Arkansas provides $900,000 for rural fire protection grants. The funding supports rural fire protection, not direct household payments. This provision does not specify grant eligibility details or individual awards.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Arkansas provides about $7.58 million in federal storm recovery grants. It separately provides about $8.93 million for long-term disaster recovery in the state’s most impacted and distressed areas. That funding supports housing, infrastructure repairs, and economic recovery. The Arkansas Economic Development Commission manages the funding; these provisions do not set individual household awards.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $900,000 for global business initiatives. The Arkansas Economic Development Commission can contract with public or private groups to operate foreign offices. Those offices can help Arkansas businesses export goods or bring Arkansas manufacturing businesses home from overseas. They can also attract investment from foreign companies that are not state-owned or state-controlled.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Arkansas provides about $48.262 million in federal Community Development Block Grants. Another $877,588 supports economic infrastructure and regional development grants. The Arkansas Economic Development Commission manages these funds. These provisions do not set household payment amounts or individual grant awards.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Arkansas provides $750,000 for Military Affairs grants; unspent funds carry forward for the same purposes. Before June 30, 2027, the agency must explain its carryover need in writing to the state budget office. That office reports amounts to the Arkansas Legislative Council by its September meeting or to the Joint Budget Committee. The agency must report project, contract, or purpose status at least 30 days before presenting its budget request. These provisions do not specify grant recipients or individual awards.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides about $1.093 million for Arkansas Research Match grants. It also provides $156,975 for technology development. Up to $150,000 in technology development funds already committed but unspent at year-end can carry forward for the same research-grant purpose. Before June 30, 2027, the agency must explain its carryover need in writing to the state budget office. Carryover amounts and project status must also be reported to the Arkansas Legislative Council or Joint Budget Committee.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $500,000 for rural community grants and $10 million for community assistance grants. It also reserves at least $500,000 in federal community development grants exclusively for rural communities defined in the commission’s Consolidated Plan. Applications for that set-aside must meet state and federal guidelines, with grant criteria established by rule. The Rural Services Division recommends awards and gives final approval for payments. Distribution also requires approval from the Governor and the Arkansas Legislative Council or Joint Budget Committee.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $5 million in technology and knowledge-based development grants and incentives. It separately provides $11.6 million for the Arkansas Acceleration Fund Program; unspent program-line funds carry forward for the same purposes. Before June 30, 2027, the agency must explain its carryover need in writing to the state budget office. That office reports amounts to the Arkansas Legislative Council by its September meeting or to the Joint Budget Committee. The agency must also report project, contract, or purpose status at least 30 days before presenting its budget request.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Arkansas provides $1.7148 million for its Industry Training Program. Unspent program money can carry into the next fiscal year for the same purposes. Before June 30, 2027, the agency must explain its carryover need in writing to the state budget office. Carryover amounts and status must also be reported to the Arkansas Legislative Council or Joint Budget Committee. These provisions do not specify participant eligibility or household payments.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $292,653 for seed investments through the Division of Science and Technology. A separate treasury cash fund provides $1.04 million for investments in technology-based businesses. These provisions do not set individual investment amounts or business investment terms.
For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law sets aside $42 million for recycling tax credits. Credits follow the existing rules in Arkansas Code 26-51-506. This funding does not set a new credit amount for each taxpayer or change the stated eligibility rules.
Joint Budget Committee
Affiliation unavailable
There are no cosponsors for this bill.
All Roll Calls
Yes: 120 • No: 5
House vote • 4/27/2026
House Vote - Monday, April 27, 2026 3:42:21 PM
Yes: 87 • No: 5 • Other: 2
Senate vote • 4/23/2026
Senate Vote - Thursday, April 23, 2026 12:21:05 PM
Yes: 33 • No: 0
Notification that SB8 is now Act 129
DELIVERED TO GOVERNOR.
Reported correctly enrolled and ordered delivered to the Governor.
ORDERED ENROLLED
Returned from the House as passed.
Returned to the Senate as passed.
EMERGENCY CLAUSE ADOPTED
Read the third time and passed and ordered transmitted to the Senate.
Read the first time, rules suspended, read the second time and placed on the CALENDAR.
RECEIVED FROM THE SENATE
Ordered Immediately transmitted to the House.
EMERGENCY CLAUSE ADOPTED
Read the third time and passed.
Rules suspended.
Returned by the Committee, with the recommendation that it Do Pass
Read first time, rules suspended, read second time, referred to JOINT BUDGET COMMITTEE
Filed
SB8 - Introduced
4/1/2026
Act Version
SB7, AN ACT FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE - STATE INSURANCE DEPARTMENT APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2026-2027 FISCAL YEAR.
SB59, AN ACT FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION - EDUCATIONAL TELEVISION DIVISION APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2026-2027 FISCAL YEAR.
SB4, AN ACT FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH - LICENSING AND REGULATION BOARDS APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2026-2027 FISCAL YEAR.
SB41, AN ACT FOR THE UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS - FAYETTEVILLE APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2026-2027 FISCAL YEAR.
SB3, AN ACT FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF SHARED ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2026-2027 FISCAL YEAR.
SB24, AN ACT FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES - DIVISION OF DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES SERVICES APPROPRIATION FOR THE 2026-2027 FISCAL YEAR.