All Roll Calls
Yes: 443 • No: 17
Sponsored By: Jon Burns (Republican), Chuck Efstration (Republican), Matt Hatchett (Republican), Jan Jones (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
200 provisions identified: 154 benefits, 28 costs, 18 mixed.
The law sets a $60,000 annual mansion allowance for the named officeholder. This is a direct payment at the stated amount.
Georgia receives $75.13 million in federal LIHEAP funds. Low‑income households that qualify can get help with heating and cooling bills. Apply through local LIHEAP providers to receive assistance.
The law funds elder abuse investigations and prevention with $30.9 million state and $4.74 million federal. It also funds community living services with $52.7 million state (rising to $53.8 million) and $44.55 million federal. These programs help older adults and people with disabilities stay safe and live at home when possible.
The state combines rental and homeownership help into a single Housing Initiatives program. It funds about $177.9 million to support affordable rentals, tenant help, low‑interest loans, mortgages, and down‑payment aid. It adds $4 million for the State Housing Trust Fund and $500,000 for special housing assistance. It creates and grows the Accountable Housing Initiative with about $1.19 million and another $2 million in state funds. This makes it easier to run housing aid and get money out to renters and first‑time buyers.
Behavioral health counselors at the Department of Corrections get an 8% raise. Beginning July 1, 2025, DOC behavioral health counselors see this increase in base pay. The law also funds 8% raises for other DOC counselor positions to improve hiring and retention.
The law raises pay for top state judges. Supreme Court justices earn $189,112 a year on July 1, 2025, and $230,000 on January 1, 2026. Court of Appeals judges earn $187,990 on July 1, 2025, and $227,700 on January 1, 2026. State-wide Business Court judges earn $187,990 on July 1, 2025, and $218,500 on January 1, 2026. The state‑paid part of a superior court judge’s salary is $144,790 on July 1, 2025, and $201,060 on January 1, 2026.
Eligible eligibility caseworkers get an ongoing $3,000 salary increase. The state funds $5,758,228 to annualize this raise.
The state adds $21.4 million for Dual Enrollment so more high school students can earn college credit. It adds $17.2 million for HOPE Grants for diploma and certificate students. It adds $60.1 million for HOPE Scholarships at public colleges and raises HOPE Private awards to match Zell Private with $10.1 million. The Tuition Equalization Grant rises from $1,100 to $1,150 per student. It also adds $100,000 for veterinary service‑cancelable loan repayment under SB20.
Beginning January 1, 2026, the state funds a revised pay scale and a one-step increase for Assistant District Attorneys. It provides $10,148,567 in the first year. This boosts pay to improve hiring and retention.
District Attorneys statewide receive $127,347,084 for trials, appeals, juvenile cases, and staff. The Prosecuting Attorneys Qualifications Commission gets $1,125,000 for panels, investigations, and administration. The Resource Center gets $900,000 to represent death‑sentenced inmates and help recruit habeas counsel.
The state provides $105.26 million in total public funds for public defenders. This includes $73.60 million in state funds, $165,762 in federal funds, and $31.5 million in agency transfers. The money supports legal representation for people who cannot afford a lawyer.
The law adds $110 million for road resurfacing and $102.6 million for capital construction. It also sends $27.5 million to local road and bridge grants, equal to 10% of projected motor fuel excise tax revenue. This boosts statewide maintenance and construction using motor fuel funds.
The law creates a Capital Projects Fund to pay for buildings, equipment, and other state projects. Budget columns show $866.6 million, $545.2 million, $700.5 million, and $715.7 million in state funds, and the fund can defease state debt. It also transfers $2.4 million to the State Properties Commission for property planning and management.
The state funds adoption services ($45.4 million state; $79.8 million federal), child welfare services ($243.8 million state rising to $247.0 million; $268.8 million federal), and child abuse prevention ($4.20 million state rising to $4.35 million; $8.06 million federal). It ends $1.5 million in state match for a wraparound pilot after federal denial. It also shifts some costs to federal funds with updated match rates, cuts $27,469 for adoption insurance premiums, trims $93,233 from the Children’s Trust Fund, and recognizes $10 million from DOE while reducing $2 million in state funds for out‑of‑school care grants.
The law funds pay raises at certain private prisons. Behavioral health counselors get 8% raises. Education, chaplain, food service, and maintenance staff get 4% raises. It also adds facility COLA money: Coffee $712,681; Wheeler $790,763; Jenkins $416,435; Riverbend $646,696. Private prison contractors also receive one-time per diem payments: Coffee $3,033,827; Wheeler $3,208,871; Jenkins $3,654,586; Riverbend $3,750,000.
Georgia receives $19.03 million from the Community Services Block Grant. Local agencies use it for jobs, education, housing, and food help. Low‑income households can access these services through community action agencies.
Georgia funds Child Support Services to help children get financial support. The budget includes $34.20 million in state funds and $112.37 million in federal funds (later columns show $34.39 million and $112.74 million). The program enforces and collects child support for eligible families.
Eligible retirees in the Employees’ Retirement System receive an annual payment by December 1 each year. The budget recognizes $26.75 million and cites $50 million in total funds for these payments. The law does not state the per‑person amount.
The law raises foster care payment rates by 2% for foster parents, relative caregivers, child placing agencies, and child caring institutions. It adds state and federal money to cover higher foster care costs and use, and gives one-time funds for clothing and supplies. It funds programs to place kids closer to family and requires a results report by December 31, 2025. It provides one-time support for youth leaving foster care. It also makes a small technical increase for Child Support Services insurance costs.
The law funds the setup of PACE, a program that lets eligible seniors get care while living at home. Total public funds shown are about $2.60 million for consulting, actuarial work, and staff over two years. This groundwork expands future care options for seniors on Medicaid.
The state expands tools to collect child support, including property and lump‑sum matches and out‑of‑state enforcement. It keeps Court Appointed Special Advocates funded by replacing lost federal dollars. It adds money to expand services for at‑risk girls. These steps help families get owed support and keep kids safe.
Veterans and families get $1 million for PTSD research and wraparound services. The state adds $2.12 million for 40 more beds at Georgia War Veterans Nursing Homes and requires a plan for max occupancy by September 1, 2025. The Veterans Service Department must also work with the U.S. VA on using the Milledgeville therapy unit; $2 million was already provided in Amended FY2025 to open it.
Juvenile Correctional Officers get a 4% raise in Community Services, Secure Commitment, and Secure Detention. Education, chaplain, food service, and maintenance staff in Community Services and Secure Commitment also get 4%. These raises help hiring and retention.
Correctional officers at the Department of Corrections get a 4% raise. DOC education, chaplain, food service, and maintenance staff also get a 4% raise. The state funds these increases to help hiring and retention.
Behavioral health counselors in Secure Commitment and Secure Detention get an 8% raise. The increase aligns pay with statewide levels and helps keep counselors on the job.
The state raises pay rates and hours for psychologists and psychiatrists in Secure Commitment and Secure Detention. This helps hire and keep mental health staff who serve youth in custody.
The law funds a six‑month in‑grade promotion step for correctional officer and Closed Special Mission CO 1 and 2 jobs. It addresses salary compression for these roles. It also creates and funds more correctional officer positions in Detention Centers to ease workloads.
The state sets aside $3.45 million for driver’s education scholarships. Teens ages 15–17 can get help paying for required driver training.
The state adds $1,691,518 for audit staff recruitment and retention. It also funds $974,808 for six new jobs: three data analytics and three quality standards roles. This strengthens audit capacity and pay.
The law funds new and stronger prosecution teams. It adds $289,021 for one conflict‑case prosecutor and $191,289 for one conflict‑case investigator. It adds $828,030 starting January 1, 2026 for recruitment and retention of prosecution support staff. It provides $1,586,960 for a District Attorney, four assistant DAs, an investigator, a victim advocate, two secretaries, and travel in the West Georgia Circuit. It also funds four assistant DA positions moved from Coweta to West Georgia with $903,561.
The state creates 330 new correctional officer jobs. It funds retention pay for experienced officers. It also funds a team to repair locks and security electronics. This helps staffing, safety, and pay in state prisons.
The state adds $141.0 million to fully fund Promise Scholarships under SB233. More scholarship vouchers are available for eligible students at private K-12 schools. Families apply under program rules.
The law gives many Georgia Department of Corrections workers a 4% raise starting July 1, 2025. It also raises pay 4% for education, chaplain, food service, fire, and maintenance staff in secure detention. The state locks in funding for 12 correctional officer jobs hired in 2025. It adds $946,660 to hire more correctional officers and improve staffing levels.
The state boosts funding for prison health care contracts. It provides $14,661,767 for physical health, $6,070,940 for pharmacy, $8,081,370 for mental health, and $2,198,857 for dental care. It also increases funding for Residential Substance Abuse Treatment (RSAT) contracts. Contractors and prison health programs receive these funds to serve inmates.
Audit and Assurance Services receives $39,730,306 in State General Funds for FY2026. This sets the office’s total budget for the year.
The law funds repairs and security upgrades at public safety sites statewide, including $1.4 million for major maintenance, $250,000 for Waycross Post 22, $600,000 for aviation, and $5 million for fencing and security. It builds new training facilities in Forsyth, including a $15.9 million basic training building, a $13.44 million training building and range, an elevator upgrade, a new braking exercise, and vehicles for new positions. These projects expand training and keep facilities safe and working.
The state provides a one‑time $13.6 million to build a new Department of Natural Resources Region 2 office in Gainesville, Hall County. The project consolidates and upgrades regional facilities.
Community Services gets $70,041,546 total (state $8,995,215; federal $58,810,708) for planning, grants, and technical help. Departmental Administration gets $12,888,082 total (state $1,813,085) for central support.
DHS central administration is funded with $62,135,630 in state funds and $47,546,004 in federal funds. This supports DHS divisions and operating offices across the state.
The state raises the daily rate it pays county correctional institutions. The per diem goes from $24 to $29 per inmate per day. Counties receive more money for housing state inmates.
Public safety training and road safety programs get more money. The Peace Officer Standards and Training Council gets $6.28 million for standards, training, and certification. The Public Safety Training Center gets $31.66 million in state funds (up to $36.15 million total public funds) for courses and operations. The Office of Highway Safety gets $21.37 million for education and programs to reduce crashes and deaths.
The state adds maintenance and regional support staff for prisons. It funds skilled crafts ‘tiger teams’ for HVAC, plumbing, electrical, and fabrication work. It also provides $15 million for critical capital repairs at state prisons.
The state provides $20 million one time to design and build a new regulatory lab in Forest Park. A later budget column shows $4 million. This expands state lab capacity for agriculture oversight.
The state adds $9,595,467 to keep community supervision officers on the job. It also pays $133,830 for the Milledgeville Day Reporting Center lease. This helps retain staff and keep facilities open.
The law adds 500 private prison beds (188 at Coffee and 258 at Wheeler). It moves $2,291,168 to maintain detention and transition center buildings, including $1,572,489 for Detention Centers and $718,679 for Transition Centers. It shifts $2,771,395 to Offender Management to support virtual court technology and moves other funds from State Prisons for maintenance. These are internal budget changes and capacity increases, not new household payments.
The state provides about $17.1 million one time to renovate Capitol Hill buildings in Atlanta. A later column shows $15 million. The money pays for major repairs and improvements.
The law funds several prison tech and safety tools. It maintains electronic health records and supports body cameras and tasers. It pays for officer tablet software and off‑site mail screening. It also funds key units: $4,114,511 for the Digital Forensics Unit, $3,805,472 for the OWL Unit, and $1,950,000 for the Data Intelligence system.
The state expands forensic and intelligence capacity. It adds three crime lab staff ($384,591) and an assistant manager (budget lines of $194,857 and $389,714). It funds lab service contracts ($633,593), buys handheld chemical detectors ($545,129 one-time), and supports advanced cold-case DNA testing ($200,000 shown in one column). It pays for eight GISAC analysts ($1,619,157), regional forensic staff ($1,033,531), and system maintenance ($562,135). These steps help process evidence faster and improve public safety.
Counties get $7.78 million to pay juvenile court judges’ salaries. Another $2.23 million funds attorneys, investigators, staff, and operations when a district attorney is disqualified from a case. These funds keep juvenile courts and conflict prosecutions staffed and running.
The state funds stronger utility oversight and safety. The utilities regulator gets about $8.996 million (an adjusted column shows $9.246 million) to monitor rates, handle complaints, and protect customers. The Public Service Commission also receives about $1.99 million for commission administration. The Facility Protection program gets $3.04 million to enforce safety rules for buried utility lines with training and inspections.
The budget office can give advance approval to start interstate highway contracts, up to actual Motor Fuel Tax money on hand. DOT can shift up to 10% among Capital Construction, Capital Maintenance, and Local Road Assistance. DOT can also shift up to 20% among Airport Aid, Ports and Waterways, and Rail. These moves speed projects while keeping totals within state fund limits.
The employer rate for the Teachers Retirement System rises from 20.78% to 21.91%. The budget adds funds across multiple agencies to cover the higher cost. It also adds $4,122,000 for the Public School Employees Retirement System employer contribution.
The law funds $2.6 million to keep the DMV’s DRIVES system running. It pays $315,619 for higher postage on registrations and licenses. It replaces scanners, copiers, vehicles, and key building systems, renovates the Rincon office, and buys 10 self‑service kiosks. These upgrades aim to keep license and tag services reliable and faster.
The state creates the Statewide Equalized Adjusted Property Tax Digest and funds it. The digest helps send state money fairly to public school systems. The budget also covers operations and small admin costs, and adds recruitment and retention funds for digest staff starting July 1, 2025.
Public employers pay more into pensions. The Teachers Retirement System employer rate rises from 20.78% to 21.91% for many state offices and programs, including education agencies and juvenile facilities. The Judicial Retirement System employer rate rises from 6.43% to 8.89%. Agencies cover these higher shares, which support employee retirement funding.
The state issues about $208.6 million in bonds for K–12 needs. This includes $145.8 million for school construction, $32.5 million for low‑wealth districts, $8.26 million for career and ag‑ed equipment, and $20 million for school buses. Another $2 million rewards buying cleaner, alternative‑fuel buses. These funds pay for buildings, equipment, and buses in districts across Georgia.
The law funds a STEM building at the University of North Georgia with $15.5 million in state funds and $31 million in lottery funds. It provides $5.0 million to renovate Valdosta State University’s Education Center. It gives $2.1 million to design a new manufacturing and engineering building at Augusta Technical College. It also provides $3.0 million to build a veterans’ VECTR workforce center at Columbus Technical College.
The state reduces scheduled debt‑service payments by $119.72 million ($106.35 million General Funds and $13.37 million Motor Fuel Funds). It also records prepaid debt service from FY2025 (about $2.08 million and $4.16 million). This improves the state’s fiscal position.
HOPE Grants and Scholarships can use up to 10% more than listed, but extra for one HOPE program means less for the others. The law also creates the Georgia Foster Care Scholarship. Eligible current or former foster youth can get postsecondary grants under SB85 (2025).
The state consolidates community and development funding into the Community Services program. It moves about $64.0 million in total public funds and staff, including cuts to the Federal Community and Economic Development Programs and transfers to Historic Preservation. Money also shifts from Regional Services and from Research and Surveys into Community Services. This changes how grants and technical help are delivered across communities.
The state issues $82,695,000 in 20‑year bonds at 6.5% to add 80 beds at the Macon Youth Development Campus. The Department of Corrections must identify prisoners with federal crimes for federal transfer, and process eligible international prisoner transfers, including to ICE after favorable parole. DOC must report quarterly and find property for new transition centers in Albany and Savannah.
For FY2026, the law caps employer contribution rates to state retirement plans. ERS caps are 29.15% (New Plan) and 24.40% (Old Plan). GSEPS caps are 25.51% for pension and 9.0% for the 401(k) match. The Public School Employees’ Retirement System employer payment is capped at $997.99 per member. This protects agency budgets but can limit pension funding flexibility.
The law provides $3.5 million for local roadway safety projects. It adds $4.76 million from the Transportation Trust Fund for capital projects. It also funds $2.07 million for DOT IT security and covers $239,069 in higher DOT insurance premiums. These steps support safer roads and protect key systems.
Community Health can move up to 10% among Low‑Income Medicaid, Aged/Blind/Disabled Medicaid, and PeachCare; extra for one lowers the others. The state funds a full study of Medicaid provider payment rates and seeks federal approval to let Medicaid support medical training slots. It adds $133,763 to improve disability evaluations for Medicaid applicants. It also updates the federal match rate, slightly raising the federal share of costs.
The state sends $1.995 million to a free universal reading screener. It moves $1.6 million to the Department of Education for Growing Readers literacy coaches. It sends $1.004 million to the Literacy Initiative Coordination program for the Georgia Council on Literacy. It also ends ongoing funding for an older special project after this year.
State money for reinsurance and the health exchange is reduced and replaced with exchange user fees of about $50–$60 million. Total public funding shown stays level, but the source moves from taxes to fees. If you use the exchange, fee changes could affect your costs.
The state shifts $154.96 million from Rental Housing Programs into a new Housing Initiatives program. It also cuts $1.19 million from the Accountable Housing Initiative. Another $8.14 million moves from State Community Development Programs to Community Services and Historic Preservation. These changes may alter how rental help and local projects are delivered.
The state creates the Center for Rural Prosperity and Innovation with $2.39 million. It also cuts $3 million from State Economic Development Programs and $6 million from OneGeorgia. Expect fewer state grants or loans even as the new center opens.
Veterans homes receive $2.07 million one time for repairs and upgrades. Projects include roofs, air systems, floors, cameras, drives, and elevator work in Augusta and Milledgeville. The funds serve as a state match to unlock federal help. This improves safety and comfort for residents.
The law uses $3.155 million in prior state matching funds (HB916, 2024) for elevator upgrades and Milledgeville campus fixes. Three of six elevators are replaced, and the state applies for federal matching to finish Augusta and Milledgeville projects.
Secure Commitment and Secure Detention programs receive more funds to cover higher state‐administered insurance premiums. This keeps staff health coverage funded at those youth justice facilities. The law does not set a dollar amount per worker.
The state funds three more caseworkers for the Katie Beckett Medicaid program. Total funding is about $191,476. This helps families of children with disabilities get faster help and better coordination.
The law adds $1,000,000 a year to expand peer support for people with alcohol use disorder. It gives a one-time $50,000 grant to Hope House. It also moves $225,000 to Public Health to run a brain health awareness campaign. These funds grow services and outreach; they are not direct cash to individuals.
The state shifts $232,081 in funding sources to expand Hepatitis C screening at core behavioral health clinics. If you use these clinics, you can get easier access to screening.
The state adds $1,099,200 for home and community services for people who need nursing‑home level care but are not on Medicaid. This helps seniors and adults with disabilities stay at home. You must need that level of care and not be enrolled in Medicaid.
The law funds a 4% raise for listed council employees in FY2025. Each person’s raise is capped at $3,000. The budget adds $39,656 to cover the pay increases.
Georgia Military College Junior Military College gets $3.94 million for operations and student services. If you study there, this funding supports your campus and instruction.
The state pays more into employee pensions. The Teachers Retirement System rate rises from 20.78% to 21.91%. The Judicial Retirement System rate rises from 6.43% to 8.89%. Small budget boosts cover this in several offices, including District Attorneys, Elections, Veterinary Labs, Consumer Protection, and the Medical Cannabis Commission. This supports pensions; it does not state a change to your paycheck.
Starting July 1, 2025, the state provides $137,219 to the Department of Audits and Accounts for hiring and merit‑based retention. This helps DOAA recruit and keep staff.
The state uses $36,000 to start the Public School Employee Memorial Grant program under HB56 (2025). This funds memorial grants for eligible public school employees.
The state adds $125,000 to expand heavy equipment operator certification for high‑risk youth. This pays for training and credentials that can lead to better jobs.
The state adds $522,437 for driver’s education and training tied to Joshua’s Law collections. More grants support training for eligible 15- to 17-year-olds. This helps families cover required driver education.
The school gets $254,726 more based on enrollment and staffing. The employer health insurance payment for certified staff is set at $1,885 per member per month, funded with $304,200. If you work there and are certified, the employer pays more of your premium. Families benefit from steady school funding.
The state covers a small increase in insurance premiums for the Council of Juvenile Court Judges. It raises the state employer pension contribution for these judges from 6.43% to 8.89% and adds county grant money to help cover the higher cost. These changes support judges’ insurance and retirement funding.
Beginning January 1, 2026, attorneys at the Prosecuting Attorneys' Council get a revised pay scale and a one‑step raise. Conflict‑case attorneys also get a revised pay scale and one‑step raise when a district attorney is disqualified under OCGA 15‑18‑5. The law adds funds to hire and keep prosecution support staff and covers related insurance premium costs. It also funds a new Deputy General Counsel position at the Prosecuting Attorneys' Council.
The state raises its employer contribution rate to the Teachers Retirement System from 20.78% to 21.91% for the Student Achievement Special Project. An extra $226 is added to cover this change. This supports pension funding for public school employees tied to that project.
Starting January 1, 2026, listed jobs in the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Business Court, Judicial Council, and Prosecuting Attorneys’ Council (including assistant district attorneys) get salary adjustments. The state applies these under its pay and performance plans. Only the named classes receive these raises.
The law adds $250,000 to raise pay at the state utilities regulator. The money helps recruit and keep agency staff.
Starting July 1, 2025, some staff in Human Services, Juvenile Justice, and the Attorney General’s office receive targeted raises. The Medical Cannabis Commission also gets $121,957 for merit-based retention ($80,000 and $40,000 shown in later columns). These actions aim to keep trained staff.
The state starts a pilot to reduce feral hogs and adds $100,000 for weekly awards. Landowners, hunters, or contractors who take part can get payments. The Department of Natural Resources runs the program.
The state funds refunds owed under law, like taxes collected in error and farmer gasoline tax refunds. It also adds $3.60 million to keep the Integrated Tax System running for audits and collections. This keeps refunds and tax services on track.
The state creates a one‑time $200,000 Georgia Grown Wood Product pilot run by the Department of Agriculture with the Georgia Forestry Association. It also adds $200,000 for marketing and promotion of Georgia wood products. The department must report results by June 30, 2026.
The law creates a $100,000 pilot to pay people who remove feral hogs. Awards are based on how many hogs are eradicated. The law does not list per‑hog rates or full eligibility rules.
The budget raises agency funding to pay higher insurance premiums. The Department of Administrative Services administers these insurance programs. This change updates state agency budgets so premiums are covered. It does not change taxes or household benefits directly.
Agencies can use federal and other non‑state funds for the fund’s stated purpose or any other lawful purpose. Use must follow the fund’s rules and the agency’s legal powers. This flex does not cover attached agencies’ administrative appropriations.
The state provides $2,035,781 to operate the State-wide Business Court. It adds $60,772 for recruitment and retention starting January 1, 2026. The law funds a new salary structure and annualizes pay increases effective January 1, 2026.
The Hazardous Waste Trust Fund gets $11,771,491. The money pays to investigate and clean up abandoned landfills and hazardous sites, meet Superfund cost-sharing, fund oversight staff, and reimburse local governments.
The Engineers and Land Surveyors Board must work with the Georgia Building Authority to choose office space that fits needs and budget. This aims to use space better and save money.
The State Forestry Commission gets one‑time money for buildings and gear. The law pays for major repairs and upgrades to forestry facilities. It also replaces equipment and vehicles and finishes the Liberty‑Long office in Ludowici. These upgrades help keep wildfire and forestry services running.
The Department of Audits and Accounts gets $3.35 million for administration. Legislative Services gets $2.24 million to analyze bills and prepare fiscal notes, including on retirement proposals. This funding supports government oversight and budget analysis.
The state provides $1.12 million to replace Environmental Protection Division vehicles and lab gear. It adds $450,000 one time for avian flu emergency response. It also gives $50,000 to fight invasive plants in southwest Georgia. These steps help protect air, water, wildlife, and farms.
The law pays start‑up costs to open the McRae Women’s Facility and an added dorm at the Smith Transition Center. It also covers one‑time food costs: $101,615 for Smith, $972,055 for McRae, and $103,525 for the Tift cafeteria contract for cadets.
The Office of Highway Safety gets small budget fixes to keep running. The law covers higher agency insurance premiums. It pays extra rent while the office moves during Capitol Hill construction. It also replaces lost federal funds so three staff stay on the job.
Historic Preservation gets $8,135,967 total (state $1,755,694) for grants and technical help. The Agricultural Exposition Authority gets a one‑time $2,100,000 for major facility repairs and planning future capital projects.
The Medical Cannabis Commission gets funds for higher insurance costs and rent during an office move caused by Capitol Hill construction. These dollars keep the agency operating during the relocation.
The state provides $34,310,618 for Department of Natural Resources law enforcement. This supports wildlife laws, boating safety, litter enforcement, education, and help to other agencies.
The law invests in targeted crime prevention. It provides $1,000,000 for a gang case management system and related enforcement. It funds the Georgia Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention program with $750,000. It also gives a one-time $250,000 for gang prevention in Chatham County. These funds support community safety and focused enforcement.
The Outdoor Stewardship Program gets $23,012,109 for grants and loans to conserve land and build parks and trails. The state also gives a one-time $1.3 million to redesign the Tallulah Gorge State Park entrance.
The Lieutenant Governor’s Office gets $50,000 for its field program and $150,000 for legislative operations. The Senate and House each get $350,000 for their general counsel. The Office of Legislative Counsel gets $100,000. The law also adds $51,593 to cover higher insurance premiums for legislative entities.
The state keeps key victim services running. It replaces lost VOCA funds with $8,125,000 so core services continue. It funds two advocate positions and upkeep for the 24/7 End Human Trafficking Georgia hotline ($421,608). It keeps three human trafficking positions with $294,420 and replaces expiring ARPA support for the Receiving Hope Center ($400,312). These dollars help victims reach care and stay supported.
Regional commissions get $902,279 to support required local planning services. The law provides $1,000,000 for downtown projects in southwest Georgia. It also covers small insurance premium increases: $1,668 for Community Services and $2,099 for Departmental Administration.
The Department of Corrections gets extra operating funds. It covers higher utility bills at detention centers. It also funds food and farm operations to supply offender meals based on current counts.
The state funds more assistant district attorneys tied to new judgeships. It adds $201,409 for positions in the Tifton and Houston circuits and $539,239 for three positions in the Alapaha, Augusta, and Douglas circuits. It also adds $19,197 to cover higher insurance premiums for DA offices.
The law funds two victim advocate positions ($127,915). It also adds public defender staff: four positions in West Georgia ($417,813 each year) and two assistant defenders ($74,963 each year), plus small amounts for software billing. This expands legal help and victim support.
The state moves $4,155,057 from Insurance Regulation to Fire Safety. The money funds 45 jobs plus vehicles and equipment to improve fire safety across Georgia.
The State Elections Board receives more money to run its operations. The law also pays for precinct card mailings tied to SB424. These funds help election offices meet required tasks on time.
The law funds Georgia’s parks, wildlife, and recycling programs. Parks and historic sites get $16.16 million to run operations and marketing. Wildlife programs get $24.84 million for hunting and fishing rules, licensing, and education. The Solid Waste Trust Fund gets $9.84 million for scrap tires, waste facility fixes, and recycling. The budget office can use up to half of extra park receipts to replace state money, and send the rest to park needs. This does not include money from park parking passes. The Soil and Water Conservation Commission must report on unpermitted dams by October 31, 2025.
The law funds treatment and accountability courts across Georgia. It supports Juvenile Treatment Courts under HB873 with amounts like $17,250 and $155,375 for implementation and a training coordinator, plus $153,680 for ongoing operations. It also adds money for accountability courts shown as $512,544 and $1,344,476 in different budget columns. The Department of Juvenile Justice receives extra funds to cover higher insurance premiums. These steps help courts manage caseloads and services.
Wildlife programs receive more money. The Wildlife Endowment Trust grows with new lifetime license revenue. The state funds venison processing so donations can reach food banks. It also funds chronic wasting disease control to protect deer and hunting.
The law funds more training and staffing across the justice system. It pays for extra jailer training under SB37 and adds instructors for basic law enforcement training. Chiefs and sheriffs get money for required training, and a law enforcement academy gets support. A Juvenile Conflict Division manager is funded, and three assistant public defenders start January 1, 2026 in Alapaha, Augusta, and Douglas. The state also buys 10 vehicles for the Prosecution Division and covers a higher employer retirement rate at the Public Safety Training Center.
The law provides $1,650,000 to prevent and fight wildfires. It also covers higher insurance costs for forestry programs with small amounts like $5,269, $5,329, and $42,111 and adds $11,932 for TeamWorks billing. Counties with over 20,000 acres of state-owned land receive $641,748 in grants. These funds support forest protection and local communities that host large state lands.
The state issues bonds for facility projects. It authorizes $6.2 million (20 years at 6.5%) for a long‑term care unit at Johnson State Prison. It authorizes $15.5 million (20 years at 6.5%) for more construction at McRae State Prison. It authorizes $3.5 million (20 years at 6.5%) to add 56 beds at the Muscogee Youth Development Campus. It authorizes $5.0 million (5 years at 6.25%) for safety and security system upgrades at juvenile justice facilities statewide.
The law funds two new ethics investigator positions with $221,922 at the Professional Standards Commission. It also funds one position with $46,550 to license and regulate new child‑caring institution types.
The state starts a Strategic Threat Assessment Group with $390,789. It addresses threats to public officials, investigates homeland security issues, and supports critical infrastructure during major events.
The state funds core prison costs and adds space. It pays about $14.1 million for prison and transition center utility bills, plus two more lines of $784,319. It provides $474,500 to move eligible inmates to federal custody. It opens 100 more beds at Smith Transitional Center with $2,708,175. The budget also covers higher agency insurance premiums and TeamWorks billing for Corrections.
The state provides $2 million one time for maintenance, repairs, and renovations at Labor Department buildings. This keeps facilities usable for services to workers and employers.
The Department of Natural Resources receives one‑time funds to repair and improve facilities statewide. These building fixes support parks and natural resource services the public uses.
The state covers a small internal billing adjustment for the Facility Protection program. This keeps projected costs paid without cutting other services.
Audit and Assurance Services gets $656,625 for operations, $8,831 for TeamWorks billings, and $2,081 for insurance premiums. Accounting offices see small changes: $665 for Accounting Office insurance, $384 for TeamWorks billing, $1,342 for Shared Services premiums, and $6,793 for Statewide Accounting premiums.
The budget funds small operations needs in Human Services. It adds $8,096 for Child Welfare and $41,233 for TeamWorks billing. It covers higher insurance premiums with small amounts like $6,356 for DHS, $2,639 for elder abuse programs, and $157 for elder community services. It also adds $31,630 for TeamWorks billings in multiple columns. These changes keep child and elder services running smoothly.
Veterans programs get small funding increases. The state covers a higher employer retirement rate at the Georgia Veterans Memorial Cemetery. It also pays small internal billing costs for the cemetery and the Veterans Benefits program. These changes help keep services steady for veterans and families.
The state provides $300,000 to operate the historic SAM Shortline Railroad. This helps keep local tourism and cultural services running. It does not provide direct cash to households.
The state finishes renovating the Agriculture Building in Atlanta. It also funds renovations to bring the Tifton Laboratory back into service. These projects support testing and services that farmers and the public rely on.
The state pays a small increase in employer retirement costs for the State Board of Workers’ Compensation. This covers a higher actuarial rate so the agency can meet its pension bills.
The state funds $75,000 for new licensing software, $401,377 for up to four staff, $73,920 for protective gear, and $7,734 for retention at the Georgia Board of Dentistry. This speeds license reviews and strengthens oversight.
Victim Services gets $730,035 to notify victims about offender status, support clemency outreach, host visitor days, and act as a liaison with prisons and parole. The state also provides $250,000 to start the Victim Centered Address Confidentiality Program under SB324. This helps protect the location of eligible victims.
The Solid Waste Trust Fund increases based on scrap tire fee collections. The money supports scrap tire cleanup and related programs across the state.
The state adds funds for utility oversight and safety. Pipeline safety inspectors get state support. The Public Service Commission gets money for legal help and small billing needs. Utility regulation billing is covered. The budget also lists private water system regulation but provides $0 now; any funding depends on separate law.
Georgia funds market rules and investigations. The state provides $9.92 million in state funds and $370,147 in federal funds to regulate alcohol and tobacco. The Office of Special Investigations gets $5.98 million in state funds and $416,081 in federal funds to investigate tax fraud and enforce dyed fuel laws.
The state funds two meat inspection supervisor positions ($188,839) to strengthen oversight. It also spends $844,738 one time to replace Consumer Protection equipment at the Department of Agriculture. These steps keep inspections and consumer services working.
The Public Defender Council receives about $11.27 million in total funds. This supports the Georgia Capital Defender, the Mental Health Advocate, central office work, and the Conflict Division. It strengthens statewide indigent defense services.
The state adds $500,000 for the Georgia Environmental Finance Authority. GEFA helps local water, wastewater, energy, and land projects. This boosts support for those community systems.
The law creates a grant program for emergency generators under HB262. The budget line shows $0 now, so it needs future funding to make awards. Program rules follow HB262.
Agencies need OPB approval to adjust programs paid with Motor Fuel Tax funds or to use past balances. Each July 1, the state sets the motor fuel appropriation to last year’s net collections if that amount is higher. General Fund items are tracked separately and stay in addition to required motor fuel appropriations. Departments can keep bus rental income and use it to run, fix, and upgrade buses.
The state sets aside a one-time $24.9 million match to the Clean Water and Drinking Water loan funds. It also adds $150,000 each year to maintain permitted watershed dams. These steps help local water and sewer projects and protect nearby homes.
Georgia War Veterans Nursing Homes receive $1,556,250 to cover rising health care costs. The state also adds $63,638 to pay higher employer pension costs at the homes. These funds support operations and resident care.
The vocational rehabilitation agency moves six positions and $576,042 into administration. This aims to streamline how the agency runs services for people with disabilities.
The state funds building code work and training. It pays for factory‑built building inspections, reviews local code updates, and provides training. Total funding is about $796,860.
The state redirects about $2.45 million from a prior 20‑year bond to local school construction. This helps fund school building projects across the state.
Public libraries get $2.5 million one time for major repairs and renovations statewide. Libraries also get $1 million for technology grants. Local projects include $900,000 for Macon’s Shurling Library and $1.5 million for South Cobb. Doraville gets $400,000 for renovations; Dalton-Whitfield gets $1 million for construction. Athens East Side branch receives $1–$2 million for construction in different budget columns.
The law adds customer service and finance capacity at the Labor Department. It funds three new accountant positions and two constituent services jobs. It also provides one-time money for staff training. These steps aim to improve service for job seekers and employers.
The state raises contract funding for vocational education. It includes more money for Technical College System of Georgia contracts ($18,685) and added support for Department of Corrections vocational training contracts. This helps keep job training programs running for students and people in custody.
The state provides $600,851 and $32 million in agency funds to start and run a veterinary teaching hospital. The hospital supports clinical training for students and animal health research. It helps address veterinarian shortages over time.
The law funds a literacy coach coordinator with $247,000. This position helps manage literacy coaches and program work to support students and families.
The state adds $10,000 each year to join a regional crisis recovery network for schools. It also gives $2,028,970 one time to design and test standards for literacy coaches. This helps schools respond to emergencies and improve reading support for students.
The Georgia Commission on the Holocaust gets $629,161 for education programs. Georgia Public Telecommunications Commission gets $13.27 million to create and distribute public media and learning content. These funds support statewide education and programming.
The state provides $5 million one time to upgrade Cooperative Extension research and education centers statewide. It also gives $2.35 million for construction at the State Botanical Garden of Georgia in Athens. These projects improve public education and outreach facilities.
The law makes small budget adjustments for licensing agencies. Professional Licensing Boards get a minor billing fix. The Real Estate Commission receives a small increase to cover higher insurance premiums. These changes support day‑to‑day service for license holders.
The state adds $17.3 million to reimburse local governments for timber severance tax changes tied to SB52/HB223. This gives counties and cities more money under the new timber tax rules.
The state adds $1,601 for the Accountancy Board’s insurance premiums. It provides $105,000–$150,000 to maintain the State Ethics Commission’s e-filing system. It also adds $18,386 to cover TeamWorks billing in Consumer Protection. These keep core agency systems running; no new household fees are stated.
The state provides $125,000 to fund an emergency management specialist in the Department of Agriculture. The role coordinates emergency response and works with state emergency partners.
Airport Aid now totals $30 million in state funds for airport planning and upkeep. The law also provides a one-time $2 million for pedestrian safety and traffic projects in the Cumberland Community Improvement District.
The state funds two examiners for merchant acquirer banks and adds staff for non‑depository supervision under SB69. This improves oversight for financial firms and the payments market.
The state adds $250,000 for agricultural projects at the Department of Agriculture. It also records $91,711 in Agricultural Trust Fund fee collections tied to the farm tax‑exemption program. These dollars support farm programs and services.
The state provides about $490,873 to expand the Georgia Hemp Program. It funds an admin assistant, a license coordinator, an investigator, several inspectors, and equipment. This supports licensing and compliance for hemp businesses.
The HERO Scholarship loses $50,000 in state funds. The program serves eligible Georgia Guard and Reserve members and their families. The state directs use of surplus funds to meet needs.
State funding for local tax officials’ employer retirement and FICA drops by $580,168. The final state appropriation is $9,169,007. This slightly reduces state support for those employer costs.
The state cuts $2,061,147 from labor and wage data verification services used for program checks. It also removes $6,000 for actuarial costs tied to a bill that did not pass (HB 472).
The law cuts $61,188 for one Assistant Public Defender in the Douglas Judicial Circuit. The circuit has less money for defense staffing because SB 347 did not pass.
The State Elections Board loses a one‑time $5,000,000 for an audit pilot. The Elections office budget also drops by $1,489 for an insurance premium change. These are funding changes to elections operations.
Forestland Protection Grants are cut by $5,083,799. The final state appropriation is $33,989,695. Counties, cities, and school districts get a smaller pool for reimbursements tied to forestland and qualified timberland property.
The law removes $176,445 that paid for an annuity to compensate a wrongfully convicted person under HR 161 (2009). That payment is no longer funded. No dates are listed.
Juvenile justice adjusts several program budgets to match expected spending. Funding tied to TeamWorks billing is reduced for Departmental Administration, Secure Commitment, and Secure Detention. Departmental Administration is also trimmed to match projected costs. These are internal changes and do not add new fees for families.
The Department of Labor budget is lowered to reflect updated insurance premiums and TeamWorks billing. These trims match spending to expected costs. They do not change unemployment benefits or your taxes.
The Hazardous Waste Trust Fund is cut by $2.9 million to match lower fee and tipping‑fee collections. This leaves less money for cleanup and related work this year.
The Georgia Outdoor Stewardship Program gets less funding this year. The law cuts grants by about $8.6 million to match lower sporting‑goods tax collections. This means fewer dollars for conservation and recreation projects.
One‑time funding for the Medical Examiner’s Office drops by $28,270. This slightly reduces money for startup or equipment costs in that office.
Accountability courts that fail to report or send in all fines and fees cannot use state money. This rule covers drug, DUI, juvenile drug, family dependency, mental health, and veteran courts. It is a funding condition on the courts, not on individuals.
The state removes $79,076 that would have funded one Assistant District Attorney in the Douglas Judicial Circuit. The judgeship that drove this need did not pass, so the position funding is cut.
The state removes a one‑time $4.0 million for outdoor recreation projects. It also makes small insurance‑related cuts in law enforcement, parks, and wildlife budgets. The Georgia State Games Commission loses $45,000. These trims reduce money for some recreation and conservation activities.
Parole and clemency offices receive small budget trims. Board Administration is reduced by $158,533, plus small TeamWorks and insurance adjustments. Clemency funding is also lowered for insurance premium changes. These changes are administrative and do not set new fees.
The Department of Corrections budgets increase to cover higher insurance premiums and TeamWorks billing. These are internal operating costs and do not change household fees or taxes.
The Public Safety Training Center sees several small cuts. One‑time $681,491 for basic‑mandate expansion is removed. Its insurance line is reduced by $23,838, and rent at the Pickens Academy site is lowered by $15,000. The volunteer firefighter program also loses a one‑time $110,000. Training and support have less state funding this year.
The state reduces $10,666 for insurance in a marketing and promotion budget. This is a technical premium adjustment and does not change services for most people.
Several regulatory offices get small insurance‑related budget cuts. The Public Service Commission, Facility Protection, Utilities Regulation, Professional Licensing Boards, and Securities all see premium adjustments. These are internal changes and do not change your utility bills or licensing fees.
The law lowers many agency budgets to match updated insurance premiums and internal TeamWorks billing. Examples include $22,342 less for the Governor’s Office of Student Achievement, $2,730 less for the Governor’s Honors Program, and $14,296 less for the Leadership Academy. It also cuts $214,658 in child welfare, $76,974 in federal eligibility services, and $29,899 at the Legislative Fiscal Office. These are administrative funding changes and do not change household eligibility or payments.
Veterans services have small insurance‑related budget reductions. The Veterans Memorial Cemetery is reduced by $5,572. The Veterans Benefits program is reduced by $43,824. These are administrative premium adjustments.
Victim Services and Public Defender budgets are trimmed by small amounts. These are minor reductions, including insurance‑related adjustments. Services remain but with slightly less state funding.
The state trims agency operating funds to match expected costs. It cuts $1,000,000 from a listed line with no program named. It also lowers budgets tied to statewide billing (TeamWorks) and a Community Service program to match projected spending. These are internal changes and do not change your taxes or fees.
The State Board of Workers’ Compensation budget is reduced for insurance premiums and billing alignment. Cuts include $34,231 for premiums, $8,041 for board administration premiums, and $2,590 to match TeamWorks billing. These are internal changes and do not change benefit rules.
The state reduces the Consumer Protection budget. It cuts $95,180 tied to insurance premium adjustments and removes $850,000 in one‑time operations money (some columns show $150,000). This leaves the office with less money to run.
Youth education programs, including Youth Challenge Academies and Starbase, lose $125,923. The cut reflects lower graduation rates and trims program funds.
The budget raises general‑fund debt service by several amounts across columns, including $8.55 million and $5.55 million. This covers payments on state bonds.
The law moves $540,000 from the Public Safety Memorial Grant program to the Memorial Grants program. One program gets more funding and the other gets less. It does not change who qualifies in this summary.
Lease payments are the first charge on state agency budgets. Agencies must shift other funds if needed to cover leases this fiscal year. This protects lease obligations but can reduce money for other activities.
Parole operations get $21.41 million, including $2.41 million for administration and $18.27 million for clemency and parole decisions. The Board must also work with Corrections to identify nonviolent foreign prisoners for transfer to U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement and send quarterly status updates to budget leaders.
The law trims $900,000 in one‑time agricultural improvements and reduces $24,825 for insurance premiums. It also adds $2,402 to cover TeamWorks billing in Marketing and Promotion. These are small internal funding shifts.
The Department of Audits gets $42,150 for operations, $567 for TeamWorks billing, and $133 for higher insurance premiums. The law also removes a $5,970 general‑fund COLA in the Financial Systems program because costs are covered by TeamWorks billings. These changes keep services funded but move how they are paid for.
The budget makes small changes to match TeamWorks billing across agencies. Examples include adjustments of $983, $4,313, and $22,133. These are accounting updates and do not change household payments.
For State Fiscal Year 2026, the employer rate for the Teachers Retirement System is capped at 21.91%. This intent language limits what employers pay but does not change individual benefit rules.
Jon Burns
Republican • House
Chuck Efstration
Republican • House
Matt Hatchett
Republican • House
Jan Jones
Republican • House
Blake Tillery
Republican • Senate
All Roll Calls
Yes: 443 • No: 17
Senate vote • 4/4/2025
ADOPT CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT
Yes: 54 • No: 1
House vote • 4/4/2025
Adopt Conference Comm. Report
Yes: 170 • No: 5 • Other: 1
Senate vote • 3/28/2025
PASSAGE BY SUBSTITUTE
Yes: 48 • No: 7
House vote • 3/11/2025
PASSAGE
Yes: 171 • No: 4 • Other: 1
House Date Signed by Governor
Act 73
Effective Date
House Sent to Governor
Senate Conference Committee Report Adopted
House Conference Committee Report Adopted
House Disagreed Senate Amend or Sub
Senate Insisted
House Insisted
House Conference Committee Appointed 47th, 104th, 155th
Senate Conference Committee Appointed 18th, 51st, 19th
Senate Third Read
Senate Passed/Adopted By Substitute
Senate Committee Favorably Reported By Substitute
Senate Read Second Time
House Third Readers
House Passed/Adopted By Substitute
House Immediately Transmitted to Senate
Senate Read and Referred
House Committee Favorably Reported By Substitute
House Second Readers
House First Readers
House Hopper
LC 33 9757/db (v2)
SB 160, Reckless Stunt Driving; a motor vehicle involved in a second offense of reckless stunt driving; replace the forfeiture penalty
SB 384, Motor Vehicle; optional five-year motor vehicle registration and revalidation for certain motor vehicles; provide
SB 76, License Plates; specialty license plate benefitting the Georgia Veterans Service Foundation; establish
SB 406, "Georgia Property Owners' Bill of Rights Act"; enact
HB 1391, Specialty license plates; honor public safety officers; establish
HB 1344, Georgia Insurance Affordability and Claims Integrity Act; enact